7/09/2026DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12, 14, 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baron et al. (US 2010/0176155A1).
Baron discloses in reference to claim:
1. A cartridge system for making a beverage, wherein the cartridge system can be inserted into a beverage preparation machine 10, the cartridge system comprising:
a. a cartridge 16/100 comprising a reservoir filled with a beverage substance 11 wherein the cartridge has a cartridge wall 16; and
b. a cartridge receptacle 90 connected to the cartridge 16, wherein the cartridge receptacle comprises: a mixing chamber 94, which can be brought into fluidic connection with the reservoir 16; and a fluid feed opening (at 84) into the mixing chamber;
wherein the cartridge system has:
a sealing element 19 for closing the reservoir; wherein a seal is formed between the cartridge 16 and the cartridge receptacle 90 with the aid of a sealing means 19; wherein the sealing element is formed with the aid of or by a screw cap 80; wherein the screw cap 80 has a seal 85 and a bore 83; wherein a mouth region 18 of the cartridge 16 has a thread A for screwing on the screw cap 80; wherein the screw cap 80 is screwed onto the cartridge 16; and wherein the cartridge receptacle 90 is secured on the cartridge and/or the screw cap after the screw cap has been screwed on.
2. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sealing means 19 is designed as part of the sealing element, and/or wherein the sealing means is an element which is separate from the sealing element and is arranged, between the cartridge and the cartridge receptacle.
3. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sealing means has a sealing ring 19, a full-area sealing means with a bore, and/or a foam.
4. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sealing element 120 can be mounted on the cartridge wall 100, wherein the cartridge wall comprises, no flange for mounting the sealing element.
5. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cartridge wall 16 comprises a flange 18 for mounting the sealing element 19 .
6. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the flange 18 is designed as a mouth region of the cartridge wall 16 at an edge of the cartridge wall. See figure 5
7. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the flange is designed as a radially outward-projecting region of the cartridge wall. See figure 5
10. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cartridge comprises a main body 16 of a cup-shaped design, wherein the main body is formed with the aid of the cartridge wall 16, which is closed on (at least) one side by a cartridge base C, and wherein the main body comprises the reservoir. Note that no special meaning is associated with the phrase “cup-shaped”. Note further that cartridge 16 is closed on one side by a base wall and the main body comprises a reservoir.
12. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the cartridge wall 16 has a connecting means 89 for connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle, wherein the connecting means comprises one or more latching grooves, and/or one or more latching beads, and/or one or more undercuts, and/or an external thread.
Claim 13. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the connecting means B is formed at a distance from a flange of the cartridge wall, wherein the connecting means is arranged offset from the flange in a direction of the cartridge base.
14. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the connecting means B is arranged adjacent to a secondary region of the cartridge wall D, offset in the direction of the cartridge base C.
30. A beverage preparation machine 10/20, comprising the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1.
31. A process for manufacturing the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, comprising: in a first process step, forming the cartridge wall 16 (implied) of the cartridge; in a second process step, securing a sealing element 19 on the cartridge; and in a third process step, connecting the cartridge to the cartridge 16 receptacle 90; wherein a seal 19 is formed between the cartridge 16 and the cartridge receptacle 90 before, during and/or after the third process step with the aid of a sealing means 80.
32. The process as claimed in claim 31, wherein the sealing means (surface of 19) is formed and/or arranged on an upper side of the sealing element 19 facing away from the cartridge 16 before the third process step and/or during the third process step and before, during, and/or after the second process step.
33. The process as claimed in claim 31, wherein, in the first process step, the cartridge wall 16 of the cartridge 16, comprising a flange 18, is formed, and wherein, in the second process step, the sealing element 19 is secured on the cartridge with the aid of the flange 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 8-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al. (US 2010/0176155A1) in view of Cafaro et al. (US 2018/0155091A1).
Baron discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
8. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the flange is formed in a fully circumferential manner on the cartridge wall around the entire circumference of the cartridge wall.
9. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the flange is formed with the aid of a thickened region of the cartridge wall.
11. The cartridge system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the cartridge wall 16 comprises a secondary region D which is arranged adjacent to a flange 18 in a direction of the cartridge base C, and wherein the cartridge wall 16 has a smaller wall thickness in the secondary region than in a region of the flange.
Cafaro discloses a similar cartridge for a beverage device including a cartridge 16, a seal 31 and a cartridge receptable wherein a flange is formed in a fully circumferential manner on the cartridge wall 32 around the entire circumference of the cartridge wall, and wherein the flange is formed with the aid of a thickened region 12 (see figure) of the cartridge wall.
.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art given the knowledge of Cafaro, to substitute the known configuration of Cafaro for the similar configuration of Baron as a matter of design choice where the shape of the reservoir 16 requires more symmetry.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al. (US 2010/0176155A1).
Baron discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
34. The process as claimed in claim 31, wherein, in an intermediate step carried out before the third process step, the cartridge receptacle is produced by injection molding of plastic.
Note that the use of injection molding as a method of manufacturing plastic parts is well known in the art and the use thereof to produce any component for which such a molding process would be suitable would be an obvious design choice by a skilled artisan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Baron only discloses a cap 80 attached to the cartridge 16 but fails to show wherein a mouth region 18 of the cartridge 16 has a thread A for screwing on the screw cap 80; wherein the screw cap 80 is screwed onto the cartridge 16. Applicant appears to argue that the thread A as shown in the annotated figure does not read on a thread since it extends perpendicularly to the central axis, without any visible axial progression in a circumferential direction, whereas a thread, by definition, requires precisely such a helical, axially-progressing structure to enable a rotational, screw-type engagement. It is noted that no such special definition of “thread” is provided in the original disclosure and further that a threaded fastener frequently has a single thread. The single thread shown at A reads on the broadest reasonable definition supported by the original disclosure, i.e. at thread that engages the cap to attach it.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc