DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters 704 and 711, in Fig. 7, point to the same structure (see 7). The specification describes feature 704 as a "channel" (see para [0060]) and feature 711 as a "third trench formed in a sidewall of the protuberance 710" (see para [0066]). It is unclear how these structures are distinguished.
Further, reference characters 701b and 701 appear to point to the same structure; reference characters 707 and 707a point to the same structure; and reference characters 706 and 706a appear to point to the same structure; therefore, a skilled artisan would not be able to determine what structure is described by each of these reference characters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larkin (U.S. Pat. 9,878,129 B2, hereinafter “Larkin”).
Regarding claim 1, Larkin discloses an infusion site retainer configured to maintain tubing coupled to an infusion port (See Abstract; even so, the limitation “configured to maintain tubing coupled to an infusion port” covers the intended use of the device, and does not require the structure of tubing itself or an infusion port), the infusion site retainer comprising:
a base 102 (see Fig. 9) configured to be secured to a patient and comprising a patient surface (the bottom surface of the base that rests against the skin surface) opposite a first surface (the top surface shown in Figs. 1-2 ) and comprising a sidewall surface combination of 150 and 148; see Figs. 1-2) substantially perpendicular to the patient surface and the first surface (see Figs. 1-2);
at least a first trench formed in the first surface of the base to secure the tubing to the base, first trench includes a first trench portion 134 that extends linearly from a proximal end of the base toward a distal end of the base, and a second trench portion 136 that extends from the first trench portion and curves laterally away from the first trench portion, wherein the second trench portion terminates at a first lateral side 118 of the base (see Fig. 1);
a second trench formed in the sidewall surface of the base to secure the tubing to the base, wherein the second trench includes a first trench portion 140 that extends linearly from the proximal end of the base toward the distal end of the base, and a second trench portion 142 that extends from the first trench portion and curves laterally away from the first trench portion, wherein the second trench portion of the second trench terminates at a second lateral side 120 of the base (see Fig. 1)..
Regarding claim 4, Larkin discloses at least a third trench 132 (see Fig. 1) formed in the patient surface of the base to secure the infusion port in place.
Regarding claim 6, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 1, and further comprising a cover 104 (see Fig. 1) attached to the base via a hinge 116 (see Fig. 1), wherein the cover is configured to be pivoted via the hinge between an open position (see Fig. 1) in which the first surface of the base is exposed and a closed position to cover the first surface of the base (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 6, wherein the cover includes a locking mechanism (clip 156; see Fig. 2) to lock the cover to the base in the closed position, and a push button (angled surface of the clip which is pressed laterally outwardly to open the cover; see Fig. 2) to unlock the locking mechanism.
Regarding claim 8, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 6, wherein the base includes a viewing window (tunnel 210 formed in the base; see Fig. 2), wherein the cover includes a viewing window (semi-cylindrical protrusion 120 formed in the cover; see Fig. 2), and wherein the viewing window of the base is aligned with the viewing window of the cover when the cover is in the closed position to allow viewing through the infusion site retainer (see Fig. 2, showing the cover in the closed position and the two windows permitting complete viewing from one side of the infusion site retainer to the other side).
Regarding claim 9, Larkin discloses that the base includes a cross bar 124 (see Fig. 2) formed on a bottom surface of the base, and wherein the cross bar extends across the viewing window of the base (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 1, and further comprising a flexible base pad attached to the patient surface of the base (see film dressing disclosed in col. 2, lines 15-20 and col. 4, lines 53-58), wherein the flexible base pad includes an adhesive layer covered by a cover layer, and wherein the cover layer is removable to allow the flexible base pad to be adhesively attached to a patient (see col. 2, lines 15-20, col. 4, lines 53-58 and col. 8, lines 50-55 disclosing an adhesive surface on the underside of the film dressing and a removable cover layer covering the adhesive).
Regarding claim 15, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 1, and further including at least one vertical strain relief feature to help immobilize the tubing (see Fig. 4, showing locking features 424 help to lock the tubing 414 in place in the trenches 127 and 130; these locking features extend over the trenches; see also col. 3, lines 39-43 and col. 5, lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 16, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 15, wherein the at least one vertical strain relief feature is formed in the at least one trench (see Fig. 4, showing the locking features 424 positioned on alternating sides of the trenches; see also col. 4, lines 39-43 and col. 5, lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 17, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 1, and further including at least one arc strain relief feature 114 (see Fig. 2); the limitation “to help immobilize the tubing and help prevent kinking of the tubing at an arc in an apex area of the body” recites the function of the arc strain relief feature, and it appears that the feature 114 is capable of performing this function in its unmodified state.
Regarding claim 19, Larkin discloses a method of securing tubing coupled to an infusion port, the method comprising:
attaching a base 102 (see Fig. 2) to the patient (see col. 9, lines 65-66);
retaining the tubing in at least one trench formed in a first surface of the base (see col. 9, lines 66-67); and
covering the first surface of the base with a cover 104 (see Fig. 2 showing the first surface of the base covered with the cover), wherein the base and the cover each include a viewing window to allow viewing through the base and the cover (see Fig. 2 showing the tunnel 210 and the cylindrical protrusion 114 forming a window through which a user can view from one side of the base and cover to the other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin view of Burkholz (U.S. Pub. 2018/0289922 A1, hereinafter “Burkholz”).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 4, but does not disclose a stabilizer element formed at a proximal end of the base adjacent to the trench formed in the patient surface (the limitation “wherein the stabilizer element is configured to engage a tab on the infusion port to help secure the infusion port in place” covers the function of the stabilizer element and does not appear to impart a structural limitation thereto).
Burkholz discloses a stabilizer element formed at a proximal end of the base of its infusion site retainer, adjacent to the trench formed in the patient surface (the recess 34 on the side facing the skin of the patient, as discussed above) and a stabilizer element in the form of an adhesive layer 38 within the recess 34 (see Abstract, Fig. 3B and paras [0023] and [0045]-[0046]; the recess 34 comprising the adhesive layer 38 would be capable of securing the one or more stabilization elements of a catheter, such as a tab on an infusion port).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin to incorporate a stabilizer element formed at a proximal end of the base of its infusion site retainer, adjacent to the trench formed in the patient surface, capable of securing the one or more stabilization elements of a catheter, such as a tab on an infusion port, in order to better secure the catheter, with a reasonable expectation of success (see Larkin at col. 3, lines 53-67 and Burkholz at Abstract, paras [0003], [0023] and [0045]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin view of Lee et al (U.S. Pub. 2010/0217201 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 10, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 6, but does not appear to disclose that the retainer further comprises at least one bracket extending outward from a bottom surface of the cover and extending longitudinally beyond a proximal end of the cover to hold the tubing flush against skin of a patient when the cover is in the closed position.
Lee discloses a cover 20 (see Fig. 2) for an infusion site retainer, comprising at least one bracket 80 (see Fig. 2) extending outward from a bottom surface of a cover and extending longitudinally beyond a proximal end of the cover to hold the tubing flush against skin of a patient when the cover is in the closed position (i.e., the bracket provides stabilization when the cover is in the closed position; see Fig. 2 and para [0031]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin to incorporate at least one bracket extending outward from a bottom surface of the cover and extending longitudinally beyond a proximal end of the cover to hold the tubing flush against skin of a patient when the cover is in the closed position, as taught in Lee, in order to provide improved stabilization to the cover (see Lee at para [0031]), and thus the retainer, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin in view of Cindrich et al (U.S. 9,597,450 B2, hereinafter “Cindrich”).
Regarding claim 11, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 6, but does not appear to disclose that the hinge includes a cylindrical shaft and a semicircular-shaped clip configured to be snapped into place over the cylindrical shaft to pivotally connect the base and the cover.
Cindrich discloses a hinge, comprising a cylindrical shaft and a semicircular-shaped clip configured to be snapped into place over the cylindrical shaft (a pivot mechanism 327 includes a cylindrical shaft and an opening 329 which has a semi-circular shape into which the pin is snapped; see Fig. 13 and col. 13, lines 35-45).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin to modify the hinge to include a cylindrical shaft and a semicircular-shaped clip configured to be snapped into place over the cylindrical shaft to pivotally connect the base and the cover, as a well-known and easy way to assemble the elements of the hinge together, with a reasonable expectation of success (see Cindrich at col. 13, lines 35-45).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin in view of Appy et al (U.S. Pub. 2021/0196900 A1, hereinafter “Appy”).
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that Larkin discloses that the at least one trench formed in the sidewall surface of the base (see Figs. 1-2 ; see also col. 3, lines 29-38; see also col. 4, lines 9-11 and 33-38), but does not disclose the infusion site retainer of claim 1, wherein a distal portion of the base includes a protuberance that has a semi-circular shape, and wherein the trench is formed in a sidewall surface of the protuberance.
Appy discloses a syringe holder with a base, having has at its distal end a semi-circular protrusion (in the form of a U-shape element) with a peripheral wall surface that has a trench formed therein (ribs with cutouts; see para [0193]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin so that a distal portion of the base includes a protuberance that has a semi-circular shape, and wherein the trench is formed in a sidewall surface of the protuberance, in order to better position a component attached to the retainer, and to reduce the possibility of strain-related stress to the patient interface (see Appy at para [0193] and [0497]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin in view of Hartmann et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0091446 A1, hereinafter “Hartmann”).
Regarding claim 14, Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 1, but does not appear to disclose that the infusion site retainer is substantially disc-shaped.
Hartmann discloses a substantially disc-shaped infusion site retainer 38 (see Fig 3).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin so that the infusion site retainer is substantially disc-shaped, because a disc was a well-known shape for forming infusion site retainers at the time the invention was made (as taught in Hartmann), and a skilled artisan could have chosen this shape as a matter of design choice, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin in view of Maguire et al (U.S. Pub. 2014/0190487 A1, hereinafter “Maguire”).
Regarding claim 18, it is noted that Larkin discloses the infusion site retainer of claim 6, but does not disclose that the cover further includes a luer guard extending from a base end portion of the cover, wherein the luer guard is configured to cover and secure a luer/IV hub connection when the cover is in the closed position (instead, Larkin discloses a guard 114, but does not disclose the luer guard is configured to cover and secure a luer/IV hub connection when the cover is in the closed position).
Maguire discloses an infusion site retainer comprising a luer guard (see paras [0033]-[0034]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious, at the time of the invention, to have modified the device of Larkin so that the infusion site retainer has a luer guard, as taught in Maguire, in order to retain a well-known medical device (i.e., a luer connector) that is compatible with various securement mechanisms, with a reasonable expectation of success (see also Maguire at para [0034] and Larkin a col. 3, lines 60-62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 08/14/2026