DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more latching grooves, one or more undercuts, and external thread of claim 8; the one or more further latching grooves, one or more further latching beads, one or more further undercuts, and internal thread of the mating connection means of claim 12; and the sealing element being screwed to the cartridge as per claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On pg. 2, line 5, the specification refers to claim 1. The specification should not refer to the claims as the claims are subject to change.
On p. 24, l. 23 of the submitted specification, “a error tolerance” should be “an error tolerance.”
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses implied phraseology and refers to the purported merits, i.e. “Proposed is a cartridge system for making a beverage”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(c).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The sealing element in claims 1 and 31 (element 18 in the disclosure, numerous similar embodiments provided all including a sheet-like portion).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The connecting means in claim 8 (sufficient structure provided in the claim).
The mating connection means in claim 12 (sufficient structure provided in the claim).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 112
Claims 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the cartridge base,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no dependency from either of claims 6 and 7.
Claim 10 recites “the secondary region” and “the cartridge base,” each of which lack antecedent basis because there is no dependency from claim 7.
Claim 10 recites that “the connecting means is arranged adjacent to the secondary region, offset in a direction of the cartridge base.” The language renders the claim indefinite because it’s unclear what “offset” means here. While the direction of the cartridge base is understandable (ignoring the antecedent basis issue), the claim does not adequately explain what the connecting means is offset from.
Claim 11 recites “the connecting means,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no dependency from claim 8.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8–12, 14–16, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krüger et al. (US Pub. 2019/0023552).
Claim 1: Krüger discloses a cartridge system for making a beverage (see title), wherein the cartridge system can be inserted into a beverage preparation machine (¶ 16, “a dispenser”), the cartridge system comprising:
a cartridge (1) comprising a reservoir filled with a beverage substance (¶ 39, “beverage substrate”); and
a cartridge receptacle (10) connected to the cartridge, wherein the cartridge receptacle comprises:
a mixing chamber (13), which can be brought into fluidic connection with the reservoir (as described in at least ¶ 39); and
a fluid feed (15) opening into the mixing chamber (see figs. 2, 5, and 6);
wherein the cartridge has a cartridge wall (6);
wherein the cartridge wall comprises a flange (5, see fig. 5) for mounting a sealing element (flange 5 is capable of mounting a sealing element; see the comment below); and
wherein the flange is designed as a radially outward-projecting region of the cartridge wall (visible in fig. 5).
Comment: Given that the claim recites that “the cartridge wall comprises a flange for mounting a sealing element,” the claim does not positively recite the sealing element, and all that is required is that the flange be capable of mounting a sealing element. Strictly speaking, Krüger does not disclose its flange being used for mounting the sealing element, since, for example, the lateral scope of the sealing element does not go beyond the basic thickness of the cartridge wall. However, should Applicant amend the claim to positively recite such a sealing element, the Office finds that, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount an enlarged sealing element to the flange 5 of Krüger to provide its edge with greater surface area to be sealed to the cartridge with a more secure connection.
Claim 2: Krüger discloses that the flange is designed as a mouth region of the cartridge wall at an edge of the cartridge wall (ascertainable from fig. 5).
Claim 4: Krüger discloses that the flange is formed in a fully circumferential manner on the cartridge wall around an entire circumference of the cartridge wall (ascertainable from 5 in fig. 8).
Claim 6: Krüger discloses that the cartridge comprises a main body of a cup-shaped design (understood to be broad enough to be defined by 6 and 7), wherein the main body is formed with the aid of the cartridge wall (6), which is closed on one side by a cartridge base (7), wherein the main body comprises the reservoir (see ¶ 39).
Claim 8: Krüger discloses that the cartridge wall has a connecting means (20) for connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle (see ¶ 42), wherein the connecting means comprises one or more latching grooves, and/or one or more latching beads (20 qualifies as a latching bead), and/or one or more undercuts, and/or an external thread.
Claim 9: Krüger discloses that the connecting means is formed at a distance from the flange (see 20 and 5 in fig. 5), wherein the connecting means is arranged offset from the flange in a direction of the cartridge base (appreciable from fig. 5).
Claim 10: Krüger discloses that the connecting means is arranged adjacent to the secondary region (i.e. the secondary region as explained in claim 7, see fig. 5 of Krüger; see the § 112(b) rejection above), offset in a direction of the cartridge base (the connecting means 20 is plainly offset from the cartridge base; see the § 112(b) rejection above).
Claim 11: Krüger discloses that the connecting means for connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle comprises the flange and/or wherein the flange comprises the connecting means for connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle (fig. 6 and ¶ 42 effectively collectively disclose that the connecting means comprises the flange since both work together to fasten the cartridge receptacle 10 to the cartridge 1).
Claim 12: Krüger discloses that the cartridge receptacle comprises a mating connecting means complementary to the connecting means wherein the mating connecting means includes one or more further latching grooves (fig. 6 clearly shows complementary grooves interacting with 20 and 5), and/or one or more further latching beads, and/or one or more further undercuts, and/or an internal thread, wherein the mating connecting means is connected to the connecting means positively, nonpositively, and/or materially (fig. 6 shows a positive connection given how the grooves wrap around the connecting means and flange).
Claim 14: Krüger discloses that the sealing element is crimped, adhesively bonded, sealed, welded, and/or screwed to the cartridge with the aid of the flange (given that the sealing element is not positively recited, these limitations have limited patentable weight; the flange of Krüger is capable of mounting a sealing element by sealing thereto, just as Krüger’s closure 14 is (see ¶ 39, “by sealing”)).
Claim 15: Krüger discloses that the sealing element comprises a crimp cap (again, the sealing element is not positively recited, and the claim only requires that the flange be capable of mounting a sealing element that is a crimp cap, which it is).
Comment: MacGill (US Pat. 1,983,381) discloses an example of a beverage-related container with a crimp cap over a flange, see fig. 1 and p. 2, ll. 90–94.
Claim 16: Krüger discloses that the crimp cap comprises a metal (again, the sealing element is not positively recited, and is capable of being a metal foil).
Claim 30: Krüger discloses a beverage preparation machine (¶ 16, “dispenser”), comprising the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 13, and 31–33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krüger.
Claim 5: Krüger does not disclose that the flange is formed with the aid of a thickened region of the cartridge wall.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to thicken the cartridge wall adjacent to the flange in Krüger to give it more structural rigidity.
Claim 7: Krüger discloses that the cartridge wall comprises a secondary region which is arranged adjacent to the flange in a direction of the cartridge base (the region around 20 and 21 in fig. 5).
Krüger does not disclose that the cartridge wall has a smaller wall thickness in the secondary region than in a region of the flange.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to thicken the cartridge wall adjacent to the flange in Krüger to give it more structural rigidity.
Claim 13: Krüger discloses that the cartridge has a sealing element (14), wherein, the main body is closed off by the sealing element on its side opposite the cartridge base (appreciable from fig. 2 showing an analogous embodiment) in an initial state of the cartridge system (cf. figs. 5 and 6).
Krüger does not disclose that the cartridge has a sealing element that is mounted to a flange (as per claim 1).
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount an enlarged sealing element to the flange 5 of Krüger to provide its edge with greater surface area to be sealed to the cartridge with a more secure connection.
Claim 31: Krüger discloses a process for manufacturing the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1 comprising:
in a first process step, forming the cartridge wall of the cartridge comprising the flange (¶ 39, “The cartridge is manufactured . . . by injection-molding or by a blow-molding technique”);
in a second process step, securing a sealing element on the cartridge (¶ 39, “The cavity of the cartridge is hermetically sealed by a closure 14”); and
in a third process step, connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle (depicted in figs. 5 and 6).
Krüger does not disclose securing a sealing element on the cartridge with the aid of the flange. Instead, Kruger’s sealing element 14 seems to lie away from the flange (as per fig. 5).
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount an enlarged sealing element to the flange 5 of Krüger to provide its edge with greater surface area to be sealed to the cartridge with a more secure connection.
Claim 32: Krüger discloses that, in an intermediate step carried out before the third process step, the cartridge receptacle is produced by injection molding of plastic (¶ 21, “the cartridge receptacle is made of plastic, in particular by injection-molding”).
Claim 33: Krüger discloses that a piercing spike (16) is produced in a further intermediate step, which is carried out before or after the third process step, and is introduced into a spike guide (29) of the cartridge receptacle (see ¶ 50).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krüger as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Glucksman et al. (US Pub. 2009/0007793).
Krüger discloses that, in a further intermediate step carried out before the second process step, the sealing element and/or a sealing body of the sealing element (14) made of a sealing film comprising a plastic film (¶ 39, “membrane 14, in particular a plastic foil”).
Krüger does not disclose that the sealing element is punched out and/or cut out from a sealing film.
However, it is well-known to manufacture such sealing foils by punching or cutting them out of sheets, as suggested by Glucksman (¶ 67, “foil 42 can be punched or otherwise cut from sheets or the like”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the punch or cutting of sheets taught by Glucksman to produce the sealing elements of Krüger as a known and effective means to do so.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krüger as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Feldman et al. (US Pub. 2007/0062972).
Krüger does not disclose that the sealing element is formed around the flange of the cartridge wall before or during the second process step. Indeed, Krüger explicitly provides that “Preferably, the outer circumference of the membrane is less than the outer circumference of the flange.” This likely because the flange is used to affix the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle, and the sealing element at the flange edge could interfere with that.
However, Feldman discloses a similar system with a cartridge (116) having a flange (at 158) that has a sealing element formed therearound (156, via 174). Feldman’s cartridge interfaces with a similar cartridge receptacle (160, 167, part of the beverage system), and has the edge of the sealing element press against the receptacle rather than the flange itself.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the flange and closure design of Krüger with the flange and cap design of Feldman since this allows the cap to be removable (since it’s selectively attached by sealing member 174) rather than being sealingly attached (¶ 39 of Krüger implies this is done by adhesive or similar), and obviates the concern about the sealing element interfering with the connection between the cartridge and cartridge receptacle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 31, and 33 of copending Application No. 18/025,691 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims disclose every element of the pending claims with one-way distinctness (MPEP § 804.II.B.4.).
Pending Claims
Reference Claims
Claim 1: A cartridge system for making a beverage, wherein the cartridge system can be inserted into a beverage preparation machine, the cartridge system comprising:
a) a cartridge comprising a reservoir filled with a beverage substance; and
b) a cartridge receptacle connected to the cartridge, wherein the cartridge receptacle comprises:
a mixing chamber, which can be brought into fluidic connection with the reservoir; and
a fluid feed opening into the mixing chamber;
wherein the cartridge has a cartridge wall;
wherein the cartridge wall comprises a flange for mounting a sealing element; and
wherein the flange is designed as a radially outward-projecting region of the cartridge wall.
Claim 1: A cartridge system for making a beverage, wherein the cartridge system can be inserted into a beverage preparation machine, the cartridge system comprising:
a. a cartridge comprising a reservoir filled with a beverage substance; and
b. a cartridge receptacle connected to the cartridge,
wherein the cartridge receptacle comprises:
a mixing chamber, which can be brought into fluidic connection with the reservoir; and
a fluid feed opening into the mixing chamber;
wherein the cartridge has a cartridge wall; wherein the cartridge system has a sealing element for closing the reservoir;
wherein a seal is formed between the cartridge and the cartridge receptacle with the aid of a sealing means;
wherein the sealing element is formed with the aid of or by a screw cap;
wherein the screw cap has a seal and a bore;
wherein a mouth region of the cartridge has a thread for screwing on the screw cap;
wherein the screw cap is screwed onto the cartridge; and
wherein the cartridge receptacle is secured on the cartridge and/or the screw cap after the screw cap has been screwed on.
Claim 5: The cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cartridge wall comprises a flange for mounting the sealing element.
Claim 7: The cartridge system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the flange is designed as a radially outward-projecting region of the cartridge wall.
Claim 31: A process for manufacturing the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1 comprising:
in a first process step, forming the cartridge wall of the cartridge comprising the flange;
in a second process step, securing a sealing element on the cartridge with the aid of the flange; and
in a third process step, connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle.
Claim 31: A process for manufacturing the cartridge system as claimed in claim 1, comprising:
in a first process step, forming the cartridge wall of the cartridge;
in a second process step, securing a sealing element on the cartridge; and
in a third process step, connecting the cartridge to the cartridge receptacle;
wherein a seal is formed between the cartridge and the cartridge receptacle before, during and/or after the third process step with the aid of a sealing means.
Claim 33: The process as claimed in claim 31, wherein, in the first process step, the cartridge wall of the cartridge, comprising a flange, is formed, and wherein, in the second process step, the sealing element is secured on the cartridge with the aid of the flange.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Cafaro et al. (US Pub. 2019/0077586) discloses a cartridge with a flange and a sealing element at least proximate to the flange.
Bisaro et al. (IT 201600112071 A1), Lee et al. (US Pub. 2019/0212179), and Wauters et al. (GB 2446396 A) all disclose beverage-related containers with a flange formed along with a thickened wall region.
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761