Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/21/24;3/10/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 32-33 are further objected to based on dependence on claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 13-16, 18-19, 30, 36, 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foy et al. (US 2020/0054866) (“Foy”). Foy discloses:
A method for blood vessel embolization in a blood vessel, comprising the steps of: supplying at least one gelling component in liquid form to the lumen of a blood vessel by means of a microcatheter having a first lumen, a second lumen, and a mixing chamber, and wherein the at least one gelling component is biocompatible and biodegradable; and wherein the at least one gelling component forms in situ a deformable solid matrix in the lumen of the blood vessel. Figs.6A-E,7A-C
the first lumen is at least partially disposed inside the second lumen. [0113] see claim 16
the mixing chamber is formed by a section of the second lumen that extends beyond an end of the first lumen. See Figs.6A-E,7A-C
a first gelling component of the at least one gelling component is supplied through the first lumen and a second gelling component of the at least one gelling component is supplied through the second lumen. [0104]
the first lumen is completely surrounded by the second lumen. [0113] see claim 16
the second gelling component is supplied to the blood vessel before the first gelling component. Figs.6A-E
during a release of the first gelling component there is also a release of the second gelling component. Figs.6A-E
the second gelling component consists of at least 50% water or blood. [0062,0108] see abstract (dilution)
Foy further comprising the step of supplying one or more liposomes, virosomes, micro/nano spheres, peptides, proteins, nanorobotics systems, tumor cell bicarbonate neutralizing agents, or therapeutic agents to the blood vessel through the microcatheter. [0073-0074]
the one or more liposomes, virosomes, micro/nano spheres, Peptides, proteins, nanorobotics systems, tumor cell bicarbonate neutralizing agents, or therapeutic agents are supplied together with a gelling component of the at least one gelling component. [0073-0074]
Foy further comprising the step of supplying bicarbonate to the blood vessel together with a gelling component of the at least one gelling component. [0381]
the mixing chamber is a microfluidic mixing chamber. (vessel)
the virosomes are specifically added to the PEG stream. See Figs.6A-E,7A-C
the at least one gelling component is biocompatible, biodegradable, and contains a radiopaque element. [0093-0094,0083-0084,0098]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-12, 17, 34-35, 37-40, 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foy.
Foy discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and including at least one gelling component bonded to a contrast material ([0062-0063,0103] see claim 28) but further, the selection of compositions and form is an element of obvious design choice. Compositions amongst those found in claims 5-12, 34-35,37-40, 43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foy with any of the compositions as in claims 5-12, 34-35,37-40, 43, the form as in claim 17, as a matter of obvious design choice well known to those skill in the art of hemostatic treatment.
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foy in view of Lerouge et al. (US 2017/0360912) (“Lerouge”).
Foy discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but does not directly disclose wherein the therapeutic agents are selected from the group consisting of anti-neoplastic agents falling into the broad classes of cytotoxic chemotherapy, small molecule targeted agents, biologics, anti-viral agents, or nucleotide based therapeutics. Lerouge, in the analogous art, teaches methods for embolizing a blood vessel [0065] comprising Ipilimumab [0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the components used for the same end result of embolization within a vessel as a design consideration.
Claims 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foy in view of Vogel et al. (US 2008/0220077) (“Vogel”).
Foy discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but does not directly disclose wherein the one or more therapeutic agent is bound to a magnetic nano-based material scaffold. Vogel, in the analogous art, teaches embolization compositions (abstract) comprising superparamagnetic nano-based material [0258,0261] for delivery with a therapeutic agent [0032]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of Foy with the compositions as taught by Vogel as a matter of obvious design choice.
Vogel further teaches the magnetic nano-based material scaffold is supraparamagnetic iron oxide that also functions as an MRI contrast agent [0258,0261], platinum or a coating to achieve this iron based contrast agent is also a design choice of Vogel [0291,0258]
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783