DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit that Wang does not explicitly disclose that Koffset reference point coordinates are quantized values. Wang also does not explicitly involve how to obtain multiple Koffset reference point coordinates. Wang explicitly recites that the value of the TA is quantified into a value NTA, which reduces the signaling length representing
the TA and the signaling overhead. Accordingly, the technical solutions defined by amended claim 1 and taught by Wang are completely different. Therefore, Wang fails to disclose or teach the above claimed feature (1). Nor is there any teaching in Yeo or Yun with respect to the above claimed feature (1).
Examiner submits that Paragraph 0329 of Wang recites of the UE or the base station requiring five bits to send Koffset, where the Koffset is quantized. As discussed below in the rejection, Paragraph 0329 further recites of wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant (a maximum round-trip delay difference of a beam covered by the base station is 2.28 ms. If Koffset is represented by using a slot as a unit of duration, when a subcarrier width is 120 KHz, and a minimum slot length is 0.125 ms, Koffset=2.28/0.125=18.24, Paragraph 0329) and rounding divided results (18.24 is rounded to 18, Table 1), to obtain N quantified values (Table 1), wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship (Table 1).Therefore, the combination of Yeo, Wang and Yun teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Applicants submit that Yeo only discloses a range and does not explicitly disclose how to select an appropriate value from the range as the optimal value of Koffset. Selecting the appropriate value from the range as the optimal value of Koffset requires as defined by amended claim 1 entails creative efforts. In addition, Yeo only discloses two endpoints of the range, i.e. the first value and the last value. Yeo does not involve the concept of "position number." Therefore, those skilled in the art cannot correspond a first position number and a last position number to a first value (e.g. 10ms) and a last value (e.g. 20ms) respectively based on the content disclosed in Yeo. Yeo does not disclose or suggest selecting the second position number between the first position number and the last position number.
Examiner submits that the claims do not recite of “selecting the second position number between the first position number and the last position number” The claim recites of indicating a second position number between a first position number and a last position number. As discussed below in the 112(a) rejection, the concept of "position number” has not been disclosed in Applicants disclosure. Wang teaches of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range (0 to 21, Table 1) is a second position number between a first position number (0, Table 1) and a last position number (21, Table 1) in the compensation duration range (any value between 0 and 21, Table 1). Therefore, the combination of Yeo, Wang and Yun teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 11, 14 – 15, 17 – 18 and 37 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 was amended to recite “the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range is a second position number between a first position number and a last position number in the compensation duration range.” In reviewing Applicants disclosure, the specification in paragraph 0045 of the printed publication recites of “the compensation duration indication information may indicate the compensation duration in a manner of indicating a position of the service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range.” The specification does not further recite of the position being a second position number between a first position number and a last position number in the compensation duration range. Therefore, the amendment to claim 1 after the filing of the original disclosure constitutes new matter. The same rejection applies to claims 11 and 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 11, 14 – 15, 17 – 18 and 37 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo et al (US 2022/0046679) in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0408389) and further in view of Yun et al (US 2020/0178135).
Re claim 1, Yeo teaches of a transmission latency compensation method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a compensation duration (Koffset value, Paragraphs 0303 – 0319) from a compensation duration range associated with a service satellite (a range that may configure the Koffset value may vary according to the type or altitude of the satellite, Paragraphs 0311 and 0315) based on received compensation duration indication information (#3000, Fig.28 and Paragraph 0319) including: determining the compensation duration range corresponding to a characteristic parameter of the service satellite (type and altitude of the satellite, Paragraphs 0303 and 0311) based on a correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (Paragraphs 0303 and 0311); wherein the compensation duration indication information indicates the compensation duration in a manner of indicating a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range (the base station transmits a Koffset value or information for obtaining a Koffset value to the UE through SIB or higher signaling, Paragraph 0319 and Fig.30A) and a second value within the compensation duration range as the compensation duration (the base station transmits a Koffset value or information for obtaining a Koffset value to the UE through SIB or higher signaling, Paragraph 0319); using the determined compensation duration for compensating transmission latency (propagation delay, Paragraph 0303 and Fig.28) of transmission between the UE and a base station (PUSCH transmission, Paragraph 0303 and Fig.28); wherein the characteristic parameter comprises a satellite identifier of the service satellite (type of the satellite (LEO or GEO), Paragraphs 0304 and 0311); and the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range comprises a correspondence relationship between the satellite identifier and the compensation duration range (correspondence relationship between the satellite identifier (type of satellite such as GEO or LEO) and the compensation duration range (K offset value), Paragraph 0311). However, Yeo does not specifically teach of determining the compensation duration corresponding to the quantified value from the compensation duration range based on a quantified value indicated by the compensation duration indication information; wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant and rounding divided results, to obtain N quantified values, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship. Yeo does not specifically teach of wherein the satellite identifier uniquely indicates one satellite. Yeo does not teach of the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range is a second position number between a first position number and a last position number in the compensation duration range.
Wang teaches of determining the compensation duration (Koffset value, Paragraphs 0328 and 0548) based on a quantified value (Table 1) indicated by the compensation duration indication information (the UE or the base station requires five bits to send Koffset. Koffset is quantized, Paragraph 0329), wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant (a maximum round-trip delay difference of a beam covered by the base station is 2.28 ms. If Koffset is represented by using a slot as a unit of duration, when a subcarrier width is 120 KHz, and a minimum slot length is 0.125 ms, Koffset=2.28/0.125=18.24, Paragraph 0329) and rounding divided results (18.24 is rounded to 18, Table 1), to obtain N quantified values (Table 1), wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship (Table 1), the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range (0 to 21, Table 1) is a second position number between a first position number (0, Table 1) and a last position number (21, Table 1) in the compensation duration range (any value between 0 and 21, Table 1).
Yun teaches of a correspondence relationship between a satellite identifier and the altitude, wherein the satellite identifier uniquely indicates one satellite (Paragraphs 0052 – 0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined the compensation duration from the compensation duration range based on a quantified value as obtained by Wang for efficiently reducing latency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have distinguished the satellite by setting a unique satellite ID to avoid any processing errors.
Re claim 4, Yeo teaches of wherein the characteristic parameter comprises at least one of an altitude range of the service satellite (type and altitude of the satellite, Paragraphs 0303 and 0311); and the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range further comprises a correspondence relationship between the altitude range and the compensation duration range (Paragraphs 0303 and 0311).
Re claim 5, Yeo teaches of further comprising: receiving a first indication information for determining the characteristic parameter transmitted by the service satellite (Information such as the kind, altitude, and type of the satellite may also be transmitted through SIB or the like, Paragraph 0311).
Re claim 6, Yeo, Wang and Yun teach all the limitations of claim 5 as well as Yeo teaches of wherein the first indication information for determining the characteristic parameter indicates at least one of: an altitude of the service satellite, wherein, the altitude of the service satellite is to determine an altitude range for the UE where the service satellite is operating; a satellite identifier of the service satellite (Information such as the kind, altitude, and type of the satellite may also be transmitted through SIB or the like, Paragraph 0311). Wang further teaches of a first indication information that indicates an ephemeris of the service satellite, wherein, the ephemeris of the service satellite is to determine the altitude range for the UE where the service satellite is operating (The orbital height of the satellite may be obtained from ephemeris information, Paragraph 0274 and Fig.8a); wherein the first indication information indicates at least the satellite identifier of the service satellite (Information such as the kind, altitude, and type of the satellite may also be transmitted through SIB or the like, Paragraph 0311).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information that indicates an ephemeris of the service satellite for improved computational efficiency.
Re claim 8, Yeo teaches of further comprising: receiving second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (SCS, Paragraph 0307).
Re claim 9, Yeo teaches of wherein receiving the second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range comprises: receiving at least one of system information, high level signaling, or physical layer signaling that carries the second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (SIB, Paragraphs 0307 and 0313).
Re claim 10, Yeo teaches of further comprising: based on numerology (SCS, Paragraph 0307), converting the compensation duration in an absolute time unit to the compensation duration in a logical time unit (Paragraphs 0307 and 0316).
Re claim 11, Yeo teaches of a transmission latency compensation method, performed by a satellite, comprising: transmitting compensation duration indication information (#3000, Fig.28 and Paragraph 0319), wherein the compensation duration indication information is for a user equipment (UE) to determine a compensation duration from a compensation duration range associated with the satellite, and the compensation duration is for compensating transmission latency of transmission between the UE and a base station, wherein the compensation duration indication information indicates a quantified value corresponding to the compensation duration in the compensation duration range; wherein the compensation duration indication information indicates the compensation duration in a manner of indicating a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range; and a second value within the compensation duration range as the compensation duration (see claim 1); wherein the method further comprises: transmitting first indication information (configuration information, Paragraph 0309) indicating a characteristic parameter of the satellite (satellite type, altitude, time and location information of the satellite, Paragraph 0309), wherein, the characteristic parameter is to determine the compensation duration range for the UE corresponding to the characteristic parameter based on a correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (see claim 1); wherein the characteristic parameter comprises a satellite identifier of the satellite; and the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range comprises a correspondence relationship between the satellite identifier and the compensation duration range (see claim 1). However, Yeo does not specifically teach of wherein the compensation duration indication information indicates a quantified value corresponding to the compensation duration in the compensation duration range; wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant and rounding divided results, to obtain N quantified values, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship. Yeo does not specifically teach of wherein the satellite identifier uniquely indicates one satellite. Yeo does not teach of the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range is a second position number between a first position number and a last position number in the compensation duration range.
Wang teaches of determining the compensation duration (Koffset value, Paragraphs 0328 and 0548) based on a quantified value (Table 1) indicated by the compensation duration indication information (the UE or the base station requires five bits to send Koffset. Koffset is quantized, Paragraph 0329), wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant (a maximum round-trip delay difference of a beam covered by the base station is 2.28 ms. If Koffset is represented by using a slot as a unit of duration, when a subcarrier width is 120 KHz, and a minimum slot length is 0.125 ms, Koffset=2.28/0.125=18.24, Paragraph 0329) and rounding divided results (18.24 is rounded to 18, Table 1), to obtain N quantified values (Table 1), wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship (Table 1), the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range (0 to 21, Table 1) is a second position number between a first position number (0, Table 1) and a last position number (21, Table 1) in the compensation duration range (any value between 0 and 21, Table 1).
Yun teaches of a correspondence relationship between a satellite identifier and the altitude, wherein the satellite identifier uniquely indicates one satellite (Paragraphs 0052 – 0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined the compensation duration from the compensation duration range based on a quantified value as obtained by Wang for efficiently reducing latency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have distinguished the satellite by setting a unique satellite ID to avoid any processing errors.
Re claim 14, Yeo teaches of wherein the characteristic parameter comprises an altitude range of the satellite; and the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range further comprises a correspondence relationship between the altitude range and the compensation duration range (see claim 4).
Re claim 15, Yeo, Wang and Yun teach all the limitations of claim 14 as well as Yeo teaches of wherein the first indication information for determining the characteristic parameter indicates at least one of: an altitude of the service satellite, wherein, the altitude of the service satellite is to determine an altitude range for the UE where the service satellite is operating; a satellite identifier of the service satellite (Information such as the kind, altitude, and type of the satellite may also be transmitted through SIB or the like, Paragraph 0311). Wang further teaches of a first indication information that indicates an ephemeris of the service satellite, wherein, the ephemeris of the service satellite is to determine the altitude range for the UE where the service satellite is operating (The orbital height of the satellite may be obtained from ephemeris information, Paragraph 0274 and Fig.8a); wherein the first indication information indicates at least the satellite identifier of the service satellite (Information such as the kind, altitude, and type of the satellite may also be transmitted through SIB or the like, Paragraph 0311).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first indication information that indicates an ephemeris of the service satellite for improved computational efficiency.
Re claim 17, Yeo teaches of further comprising: transmitting second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (see claim 8).
Re claim 18, Yeo teaches of wherein transmitting the second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range comprises: transmitting at least one of system information, high level signaling or physical layer signaling that carries the second indication information indicating the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range (see claim 9).
Re claim 37, Yeo, Wang and Yun teach of a communication device comprising: a processor, a memory and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, wherein the processor executes the executable program to implement determining a compensation duration from a compensation duration range associated with a service satellite based on received compensation duration indication information including: determining the compensation duration range corresponding to a characteristic parameter of the service satellite based on a correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range; and determining the compensation duration corresponding to a quantified value from the compensation duration range based on the quantified value indicated by the compensation duration indication information; wherein the quantified value is obtained by: dividing N compensation durations with predetermined time intervals within the compensation duration range by a quantization constant, and rounding divided results, to obtain N quantified values, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N quantified values and the N compensation durations have a one-to-one correspondence relationship; wherein the compensation duration indication information indicates: the compensation duration in a manner of indicating that a position of a service selected compensation duration in the compensation duration range is a second position number between a first position number and a last position number in the compensation duration range; and the communication device is configured to use the determined compensation duration for compensating transmission latency of transmission with a base station; wherein the characteristic parameter comprises a satellite identifier of the service satellite; and the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range comprises a correspondence relationship between the satellite identifier and the compensation duration range; and wherein the satellite identifier uniquely indicates one satellite (see claim 1).
Re claim 38, Yeo teaches of a communication device comprising a processor, a memory and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, wherein the processor executes the executable program to implement the method according to claim 11 (Paragraphs 0015 – 0016 and 0062).
Re claims 39 – 40, Yeo teaches of wherein the correspondence relationship of the compensation duration range is specified by communication protocols (the higher an altitude of the satellite, the larger a value of Koffset may be determined. Such a value may be determined as a fixed value in the standard, Paragraph 0304).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633