Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Document ID CN 103714738 A; 2014-04-09) in view of Li et al. (Document ID CN 113192400 A; 2021-07-30).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al. teaches:
A human cervical vertebra simulation device oriented to rotation-traction manipulation training, comprising: a neck motion simulation module (i.e. head movement stimulation device 5, para. [0070]), comprising a rotating housing (i.e. axial rotating housing 52, para. [0071]), a neck connecting plate (i.e. adapter plate 50, para. [0071]), a rotating drive (i.e. axial rotating device 51, para. [0071]), a pitching drive (i.e. buckling/flexing rotating device 53, para. [0071]), and a head mounting plate, wherein the neck connecting plate is located below the rotating housing (fig. 8, shows that the axial rotating housing 52 is above the adapter plate 50), the rotating drive is arranged on the neck connecting plate (para. [0071] and figure 8, show that the rotary motor 511, i.e. a component of axial rotating device 51, is connected to, i.e. arranged on, the adapter plate 50) and is connected to a lower part of the rotating housing (para. [0071] and figure 8 show that the axial rotating device 51 is affixed to the lower part of the axial roaring shell 52, i.e. the portion below the rotary motion force plate 513); the rotating drive is configured to drive the rotating housing to rotate so as to simulate rotation action of a neck of a patient during rotation-traction manipulation (para. [0071] shows that the axial rotating shell 52 is connected to the axial rotating device 51 to create axial rotation; para. [0070] shows that the device simulates the rotation of cervical vertebra, i.e. the neck); the pitching drive is mounted at an upper part of the rotating housing by a fastener (para. [0073], para. [0086], and figure 8, show that the flexion motor 531, i.e. a component of buckling/flexing rotating device 53, is fastened to upper portion axial rotating shell 52, i.e. the portion above rotary motion force plate 513), is connected to the head mounting plate and configured to drive the head mounting plate to rotate with respect to the rotating housing , thus simulating pitch action of the neck of the patient during the rotation-traction manipulation (para. [0070], para. [0085], para. [0073]-[0074], and para. [0086, show that the rotating shell 54, i.e. a component of buckling/flexing rotating device 53, is connected to head mounting plate 18; para. [0070] further shows that the device mimics the flexion, i.e. pitch, of the simulated head); and a cervical vertebra pre-traction and lifting-pulling simulation module (i.e., preloading simulation component 2, para. [0026] and fig. 1), comprising a shell (i.e. shell 10, para. [0026] and fig. 3), a pre-traction module (i.e. adjustable variable stiffness mechanism 20, para. [0026] and fig. 5), and a lifting-pulling module (i.e., rocker simulation component 3, para. [0026] and fig. 1); the pre-traction module is arranged in the shell (Para. [0026] and fig. 3, shows that mechanism 20 is disposed withing shell 10), and comprises a pre-traction damping mechanism (i.e. adjustable variable stiffness mechanism 20, para. [0026] and fig. 2), and a neck connecting plate (i.e. transfer support 13, para. [0049] and fig. 3), an adapter plate (i.e. adapter plate 50, para. [0070] and fig. 8), a tension and pressure detection device (i.e., tension and compression sensor 14) and a pre-traction slide block (i.e., elastic rocker slide block 21, para. [0026]) connected in sequence from top to bottom (figures 1, 2, 3, and 8); an upper part of the neck connecting plate penetrates through the housing and is connected to the neck connecting plate (fig. 3, shows item 13 extending through, i.e. penetrating, housing shell 10); the pre-traction damping mechanism is arranged on the shell and configured to apply pre-traction resistance on the pre-traction slide block (Para. [0052]-[0057] and para. [0091], shows that damper 15 will limit the upward pull, i.e. pre-traction resistance, of the elastic rocker 21); the lifting-pulling module is arranged in the shell (fig 1, shows that the rocker simulation component 3 is contained withing the shell) and comprises a lifting-pulling slide block (driven member 31, para. [0032]) and a lifting-pulling damping mechanism (driving member 30, para. [0032]); the lifting-pulling slide block is located below the pre-traction slide block (fig. 3 shows that driven member 31 is below elastic rocker slide block 21), the pre-traction slide block is connected to the lifting-pulling slide block by means of a pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin (Para. [0088], para. [0031], and fig. 3, show that the driven member 31 is connected to the elastic rocker slide block 21 via both a fastener, i.e. a pin, and the driving member 30); a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle (i.e., axial preload 23, para. [0088]; fig. 3 shows that a pin penetrate through driving member 30 and is connected to the lifting-pulling baffle 23); when the pre-traction slide block is not in a pre-traction state, the lifting-pulling baffle is located below the lifting-pulling slide block and spaced from the lifting-pulling slide block (Para. [0088] and fig. 3, show that when the pre-traction slide block 31 is not in a pre-traction state the axial preload 23 is below elastic rocker slide block 21); when the pre-traction slide block is in a pre-traction completing state, the lifting-pulling baffle abuts against the lifting-pulling slide block and continues to pull the pre-traction slide block (Para. [0088], para. [0052] and fig. 3, show that when the elastic rocker slide block 21 is in the pre-traction state, the axial preload abuts against driven member 31); the lifting-pulling slide block can be lifted and pulled by the lifting-pulling baffle so as to simulate rigidity sudden change of cervical vertebra in the lifting-pulling process; and the lifting-pulling damping mechanism is arranged on the shell and configured to apply lifting-pulling resistance to the lifting-pulling slide block (Para. [0088], shows that the lifting-pulling slide block can be lifted to simulate the sudden change of cervical vertebra in the lifting pulling process; fig. 3, shows that the lifting-pulling damping mechanism is arranged on the shell).
Zhu et al. fails to explicitly teach:
a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle.
Li et al. teaches:
a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle (Page 6 paragraphs 2-4, show the utilization of a baffle block to prevent a first rod 23 from sliding out of a hole).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known techniques regarding the utilization of a baffle in order to prevent a rod from sliding out of its socket, present in Li et al., to the similar device of Zhu et al., a system for simulating cervical vertebra traction, in order to create a durable simulation of the human spine. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known techniques of Li et al. with the similar device of Zhu et al. as the utilization of a baffle would help insure that the pin affixed to driving part 30 (see figure 3 or Zhu et al) does not slip out of its socket
Regarding claim 2, Zhu et al. teaches:
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to claim 1, wherein the rotating drive comprises a rotating part rotating transformer (i.e., axial rotating device 51, para. [0070]), and a rotating motor (i.e., rotary motor 511, para. [0071]), a rotating part reducer (i.e., shaft 512, para. [0086] and fig. 8), a rotating torque detection device and a rotating driving plate connected in sequence (i.e. rotary motion force plate 513, para. [0071]); the rotating motor is arranged on the neck connecting plate (see fig. 8 items 511 and 50), and the rotating driving plate is connected to the rotating housing (see fig. 8 items 52 and 513), and the rotating part rotating transformer is connected to a rotating shaft of the rotating motor so as to measure a rotation angle of the rotating shaft (see para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu et al. teaches:
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to claim 2, wherein the pitching drive comprises a pitching part rotating transformer (i.e., buckling roaring device 53, para. [0070]), and a pitching motor (i.e. motor 531), a pitching part reducer (i.e. axial rotating fixing joint, para. [0073), a pitching torque detection device and a pitching driving plate (i.e. the force transmitting plate of joint 532, para. [0073]) which are connected in sequence; the pitching motor is arranged on an inner wall of the rotating housing (see fig. 8, items 531 and 54), the pitching driving plate is connected to a side of the head mounting plate (see para. [0073]), and a pitching follower plate (i.e. one of the two sides of the buckling rotating shell 54, para. [0074] and fig. 8) and a driven support (i.e., follower support 5350, para. [0074] and fig. 8) are connected to an other side of the head mounting plate in sequence; the driven support is rotatably connected to an other side of the rotating housing by means of a pitching driven shaft (i.e., follower shaft 5351, para. [0074] and fig. 8), and the pitching part rotating transformer is connected to the pitching driven shaft so as to measure a pitching angle of the pitching driven shaft (Para. [0070] shows that buckling rotating device 53 is provided with a bending rotary locating device for locating the buckling rotating angle).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu et al. teaches:
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to any one of claim 1, wherein loading curved surfaces are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the pre-traction slide block and gradually incline outwards from top to bottom (see para. [0026] and fig. 5 item 210); the pre-traction damping mechanism comprises a variable-stiffness driving mechanism (i.e., variable stiffness mechanism 20) and a first roller (i.e., roller 201, para. [0035]); the variable-stiffness driving mechanism is mounted on the shell (See figures 3 and 5), the first roller is rotatably mounted on the variable-stiffness driving mechanism, the first roller is pressed against each loading curved surface by the variable-stiffness driving mechanism (see figure 5); two sides of the pre-traction slide block are arranged on the pre-traction damping mechanism, and pre-traction resistance applied to the pre-traction slide block by the pre- traction damping mechanism is adjusted by adjusting pressing force of the first roller to the loading curved surface (see figure 5 and para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 7,
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to claim 6, further comprising a longitudinal polished shaft, wherein two ends of the longitudinal polished shaft are fixedly connected to an upper part and a lower part of the shell respectively (Para. [0029] and fig. 3, show that the two vertical axis shafts 11 are fixedly connected to an upper and lower part of housing 10); the adapter plate, the pre-traction slide block and the lifting-pulling slide block are slidingly sleeved on the longitudinal polished shaft (see fig. 3); a base sliding supporting plate (i.e., mass block 38, para. [0088] is connected to a lower part of the lifting-pulling base (i.e. the bottom of housing 10, fig. 3), the base sliding supporting plate is slidingly sleeved on the longitudinal polished shaft; a base stop block is fixedly arranged on the longitudinal polished shaft between the lifting-pulling base and the base sliding supporting plate, and the base stop block is able to limit a lower limit of downward movement of the lifting-pulling plate base and an upper limit of upward movement of the base sliding supporting plate (see fig. 3).
Claims 11 and 12 are all mirrored claims to claim 4 and are rejected in like manner.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Document ID CN 103714738 A; 2014-04-09) in view of Li et al. (Document ID CN 113192400 A; 2021-07-30) and in further view of Shim et al. (Document ID US 20140272878 A1; 2014-09-18).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu et al. fails to teach:
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to any one of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the lifting-pulling baffle is provided with a rubber gasket, and the lifting-pulling baffle abuts against the lifting-pulling slide block by means of the rubber gasket.
Shim et al. teaches:
The human cervical vertebra simulation device according to any one of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the lifting-pulling baffle is provided with a rubber gasket, and the lifting-pulling baffle abuts against the lifting-pulling slide block by means of the rubber gasket (Para. [0026]-[0066] and para. [0077] show the utilization of rubber gaskets with the movement of parts such as pistons).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known techniques regarding the utilization of a gaskets to reduce system wear, present in Shim et al., to the similar device of Zhu et al., a system for simulating cervical vertebra traction, in order to create a durable simulation of the human spine. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known techniques of Shim et al. with the similar device of Zhu et al. as the utilization of a rubber gaskets would reduce wear caused by friction and aid in keeping the system sealed (para. [0077] of Shim et al.).
Claims 9, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Document ID CN 103714738 A; 2014-04-09) in view of Li et al. (Document ID CN 113192400 A; 2021-07-30) and in further view of Wang et al. (Document ID WO 2020061572 A1; 2020-03-26).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu et al. teaches:
A teaching robot oriented to rotation-traction manipulation training, comprising a cloud platform, a control system, and a human cervical vertebra simulation device oriented to rotation-traction manipulation training, wherein the human cervical vertebra simulation device comprises: a neck motion simulation module (i.e. head movement stimulation device 5, para. [0070]), comprising a rotating housing (i.e. axial rotating housing 52, para. [0071]), a neck connecting plate (i.e. adapter plate 50, para. [0071]), a rotating drive (i.e. axial rotating device 51, para. [0071]), a pitching drive (i.e. buckling/flexing rotating device 53, para. [0071]), and a head mounting plate, wherein the neck connecting plate is located below the rotating housing (fig. 8, shows that the axial rotating housing 52 is above the adapter plate 50), the rotating drive is arranged on the neck connecting plate (para. [0071] and figure 8, show that the rotary motor 511, i.e. a component of axial rotating device 51, is connected to, i.e. arranged on, the adapter plate 50) and is connected to a lower part of the rotating housing (para. [0071] and figure 8 show that the axial rotating device 51 is affixed to the lower part of the axial roaring shell 52, i.e. the portion below the rotary motion force plate 513); the rotating drive is configured to drive the rotating housing to rotate so as to simulate rotation action of a neck of a patient during rotation-traction manipulation (para. [0071] shows that the axial rotating shell 52 is connected to the axial rotating device 51 to create axial rotation; para. [0070] shows that the device simulates the rotation of cervical vertebra, i.e. the neck); the pitching drive is mounted at an upper part of the rotating housing by a fastener (para. [0073], para. [0086], and figure 8, show that the flexion motor 531, i.e. a component of buckling/flexing rotating device 53, is fastened to upper portion axial rotating shell 52, i.e. the portion above rotary motion force plate 513), is connected to the head mounting plate and configured to drive the head mounting plate to rotate with respect to the rotating housing , thus simulating pitch action of the neck of the patient during the rotation-traction manipulation (para. [0070], para. [0085], para. [0073]-[0074], and para. [0086, show that the rotating shell 54, i.e. a component of buckling/flexing rotating device 53, is connected to head mounting plate 18; para. [0070] further shows that the device mimics the flexion, i.e. pitch, of the simulated head); and a cervical vertebra pre-traction and lifting-pulling simulation module (i.e., preloading simulation component 2, para. [0026] and fig. 1), comprising a shell (i.e. shell 10, para. [0026] and fig. 3), a pre-traction module (i.e. adjustable variable stiffness mechanism 20, para. [0026] and fig. 5), and a lifting-pulling module (i.e., rocker simulation component 3, para. [0026] and fig. 1); the pre-traction module is arranged in the shell (Para. [0026] and fig. 3, shows that mechanism 20 is disposed withing shell 10), and comprises a pre-traction damping mechanism (i.e. adjustable variable stiffness mechanism 20, para. [0026] and fig. 2), and a neck connecting plate (i.e. transfer support 13, para. [0049] and fig. 3), an adapter plate (i.e. adapter plate 50, para. [0070] and fig. 8), a tension and pressure detection device (i.e., tension and compression sensor 14) and a pre-traction slide block (i.e., elastic rocker slide block 21, para. [0026]) connected in sequence from top to bottom (figures 1, 2, 3, and 8); an upper part of the neck connecting plate penetrates through the housing and is connected to the neck connecting plate (fig. 3, shows item 13 extending through, i.e. penetrating, housing shell 10); the pre-traction damping mechanism is arranged on the shell and configured to apply pre-traction resistance on the pre-traction slide block (Para. [0052]-[0057] and para. [0091], shows that damper 15 will limit the upward pull, i.e. pre-traction resistance, of the elastic rocker 21); the lifting-pulling module is arranged in the shell (fig 1, shows that the rocker simulation component 3 is contained withing the shell) and comprises a lifting-pulling slide block (driven member 31, para. [0032]) and a lifting-pulling damping mechanism (driving member 30, para. [0032]); the lifting-pulling slide block is located below the pre-traction slide block (fig. 3 shows that driven member 31 is below elastic rocker slide block 21), the pre-traction slide block is connected to the lifting-pulling slide block by means of a pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin (Para. [0088], para. [0031], and fig. 3, show that the driven member 31 is connected to the elastic rocker slide block 21 via both a fastener, i.e. a pin, and the driving member 30); a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle (i.e., axial preload 23, para. [0088]; fig. 3 shows that a pin penetrate through driving member 30 and is connected to the lifting-pulling baffle 23); when the pre-traction slide block is not in a pre-traction state, the lifting-pulling baffle is located below the lifting-pulling slide block and spaced from the lifting-pulling slide block (Para. [0088] and fig. 3, show that when the pre-traction slide block 31 is not in a pre-traction state the axial preload 23 is below elastic rocker slide block 21); when the pre-traction slide block is in a pre-traction completing state, the lifting-pulling baffle abuts against the lifting-pulling slide block and continues to pull the pre-traction slide block (Para. [0088], para. [0052] and fig. 3, show that when the elastic rocker slide block 21 is in the pre-traction state, the axial preload abuts against driven member 31); the lifting-pulling slide block can be lifted and pulled by the lifting-pulling baffle so as to simulate rigidity sudden change of cervical vertebra in the lifting-pulling process; and the lifting-pulling damping mechanism is arranged on the shell and configured to apply lifting-pulling resistance to the lifting-pulling slide block (Para. [0088], shows that the lifting-pulling slide block can be lifted to simulate the sudden change of cervical vertebra in the lifting pulling process; fig. 3, shows that the lifting-pulling damping mechanism is arranged on the shell);
wherein the control system is in communication connection with the cloud platform, the rotating drive, the pitching drive, the pre-traction damping mechanism, the tension and pressure detection device and the lifting-pulling damping mechanism (Para. [0093], shows the utilization of motor drivers and detecting systems, force sensors, angle sensors, position sensors, and an accelerometer; Para. [0093] further shows that the aforementioned components may controlled via the computer); the cloud platform is configured to display, process and analyze operating parameters of the rotating drive, the pitching drive, the pre-traction damping mechanism, the tension and pressure detection device and the lifting-pulling damping mechanism (Para. [0093], shows the utilization of motor drivers and detecting systems, force sensors, angle sensors, position sensors, and an accelerometer; Para. [0093] further shows that data from the aforementioned components may be displayed, processed, and judged via the computer).
Zhu et al. fails to explicitly teach:
a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle; the control system is in communication connection with the cloud platform.
Li et al. teaches:
a lower part of the pre-traction-lifting-pulling connecting pin penetrates through the lifting-pulling slide block and is connected to a lifting-pulling baffle (Page 6 paragraphs 2-4, show the utilization of a baffle block to prevent a first rod 23 from sliding out of a hole).
Wang et al. teaches:
The control system is in communication connection with the cloud platform (Para. [0081]-[0084], shows the control of a local device via a cloud computing service).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known techniques regarding the utilization of a cloud system in communication with a local devices control system, present in Wang et al., to the similar device of Zhu et al., a system for simulating cervical vertebra traction that makes use of a local control system, in order to create a readily modifiable simulation of the human spinal movement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known techniques of Wang et al. with the similar device of Zhu et al. as the utilization of a cloud system would allow the system’s parameters to be modified from a variety of devices without needing to go to the local control system.
Claims 15, 16, and 17 are all mirrored claims to claim 4 and are rejected in like manner.
Claim 13 is a mirrored claim to claim 2 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 14 is a mirrored claim to claim 3 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 20 is a mirrored claim to claim 7 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Document ID CN 103714738 A; 2014-04-09) in view of Li et al. (Document ID CN 113192400 A; 2021-07-30) and Wang et al. (Document ID WO 2020061572 A1; 2020-03-26) and in further view of Liu et al. (Document ID CN 107507503 A; 2017-12-22) and Shim et al. (Document ID US 20140272878 A1; 2014-09-18).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu et al. teaches:
The teaching robot according to claim 9, further comprising a base (i.e., base 4, para. [0063] and fig. 9), wherein a lower part of the shell is connected to the base by means of a mechanical interface (see fig. 9 item 40 and fig. 1),
Zhu et al. fails to explicitly teach:
a simulated human head, wherein the simulated human head is arranged on the head mounting plate, and the control system is arranged in the base.
Liu et al. teaches:
A simulated human head, wherein the simulated human head is arranged on the head mounting plate (see fig. 1).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known techniques regarding the mounting of a synthetic head on a head mounting plate, present in Li et al., to the similar device of Zhu et al., a system for simulating cervical vertebra traction that has a head mounting plate, in order to create a more realistic simulation of the human spinal movement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known techniques of Li et al. with the similar device of Zhu et al. as the utilization of a synthetic head would allow for a more complete human dummy with which to practice rotation-traction manipulation.
Shim et al. teaches:
the control system is arranged in the base (Para. [0008], shows that a control system may be disposed within the model itself).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known techniques regarding the placement of a local control system, present in Shim et al., to the similar device of Zhu et al., a system for simulating cervical vertebra traction that makes use of a local control system, in order to create a self-contained simulation of the human spinal movement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known techniques of Shim et al. with the similar device of Zhu et al. as placing the local control system within the simulation device would allow the user to control the devices without the need for an external computer.
Summary
Claims 5, 6, 18, and 19 are objected to
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715