DETAILED ACTION
2. The election with traverse filed 01/05/2026 in response to the Office Action of 11/04/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group V, claims 80 and 98, drawn to a method of treating cancer involving administering to a cancer patient an antibody drug conjugate (ADC) that includes an ADC payload and an ADC antibody that targets a protein on a cancer cell, wherein the protein is B7-H4, the method comprising:
staining a tissue sample of the cancer patient immunohistochemically, using a dye linked to a diagnostic antibody, wherein the diagnostic antibody binds to the protein on the cancer cells in the tissue sample;
acquiring a digital image of the tissue sample;
detecting cancer cells in the digital image;
computing for each cancer cell a single-cell ADC score based on the
staining intensities of the dye in the membrane;
generating a treatment score by aggregating all single-cell ADC scores of the tissue sample using a statistical operation; and
administering a therapy involving the ADC to the cancer patient if the
treatment score exceeds a predetermined threshold.
3. Claims 1-20, 39, 59, 80 and 98 are pending in the application. Claims 1-20, 39 and 59 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claims 80 and 98 are currently under prosecution.
Election/Restrictions
5. Applicant's traversal of the propriety of the restriction and election requirement set forth in the Office action mailed 11/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but not found persuasive for the following reasons:
For the reasons set forth in the preceding Office action mailed 11/04/2025, the different inventions or different species thereof listed, as listed therein, do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2.
Then, in light of the grounds of rejection of the claims directed to the elected invention that follow, it is apparent that although the inventions appear to be linked by a common concept, or special technical feature, namely an anti-B7-H4 antibody drug conjugate, because the prior art, Hua et al. (CA 3142641, filed on 06/08/2020) teach an anti-B7-H4 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and a method of treating cancer in a subject, comprising administering an anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate to the subject (see entire document, e.g., abstract, Examples 12-14). Thus, any minor differences in the subject matter claimed in the instant application would be seen as an obvious variation of subject matter described by the prior art, this technical feature that appears to link the inventive concepts of the different inventions does not constitute a special technical feature as defined by PCT Rule 13.1, as it does not define a contribution over the prior art.
Accordingly, the restriction and election requirement set forth in the Office action mailed 11/04/2025 is deemed proper and therefore made FINAL.
Priority
6. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e) and/or 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
9. Claims 80 and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 80 and 98 are indefinite because claims recite “a diagnostic antibody”. It is unclear what the diagnostic antibody refers, is it anti-B7-H4 antibody or other anti-cancer antigen antibodies? If B7-H4 protein is not overexpressed on cancer cells, the claimed anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate should be no target for the cancer cells. For these reasons, it is submitted that the claims fail to delineate the metes and bounds of the subject matter that is regarded as the invention with the requisite clarity and particularity to permit the skilled artisan to know or determine infringing subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 80 and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua et al. (CA 3142641, filed on 06/08/2020) in view of Chukka et al. (WO 2015/124777, published on 27 August 2015, IDS).
Claims 80 and 98 are herein drawn to a method of treating cancer involving administering to a cancer patient an antibody drug conjugate (ADC) that includes an ADC payload and an ADC antibody that targets a protein on a cancer cell, wherein the protein is B7-H4, the method comprising:
staining a tissue sample of the cancer patient immunohistochemically, using a dye linked to a diagnostic antibody, wherein the diagnostic antibody binds to the protein on the cancer cells in the tissue sample;
acquiring a digital image of the tissue sample;
detecting cancer cells in the digital image;
computing for each cancer cell a single-cell ADC score based on the
staining intensities of the dye in the membrane;
generating a treatment score by aggregating all single-cell ADC scores of the tissue sample using a statistical operation; and
administering a therapy involving the ADC to the cancer patient if the
treatment score exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Hua et al. teach an anti-B7-H4 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, and a method of treating cancer in a subject, comprising administering an anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate to the subject; see entire document, e.g., abstract, Examples 12-14.
Hua et al. do not teach a method of detecting a cancer antigen on a cancer cell.
However, this deficiency is remedied by Chukka et al.
Chukka et al. teach a method of identifying biomarker-positive cancer cells and generating a response score to predict a response of a cancer patient to an antibody that targets a protein on cancer cells (see figures 1A and 3A; see page 1-lines 10-12), comprising:
staining a tissue sample immunohistochemically using a dye linked to a diagnostic antibody, wherein the diagnostic antibody binds to the protein on the cancer cells in the tissue sample (see from page 28, line 21, to page 29, line 11);
acquiring a digital image of the tissue sample (see figure 1A, ref. 102);
detecting cancer cells in the digital image (see figure 1A, ref. 114, 115, and, figure 3A, ref. S302, S303);
computing for each cancer cell a single-cell ADC score based on staining intensities of the dye in the membrane and the cytoplasm of the cancer cell (see figure 1A, ref. 117; see also page 46, lines 23-28, where a score is calculated for each cell based
on staining intensities in the membrane and in the cytoplasmic region; see also page 45, lines 9-12); and
generating the response score by aggregating all single-cell ADC scores of the tissue sample using a statistical operation (see figure 1, ref. 118, and figure 3A, ref. S305; see pages 48-49, TABLE 1, and page 49, lines 1-5, where a statistical operation is performed on the single-cell scores in order to generate a clinical score per slide).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the references so as to determining B7-H4 expression on a cancer cell of a patient and then treating the patient using an anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate. One would have been motivated to do so because Hua et al. teach an anti-B7-H4 antibody and a method of treating cancer in a subject, comprising administering an anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate to the subject; Chukka et al. teach a method of identifying biomarker-positive cancer cells and generating a response score to predict a response of a cancer patient to an antibody that targets a protein on cancer cells. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that by combining the teachings of the references so as to determining B7-H4 expression on a cancer cell of a patient and then treating the patient using an anti-B7-H4 antibody-drug conjugate, because it is obvious to treat the patient once the cancer was diagnosed, and a response score to predict a response of a cancer patient to an antibody that targets a protein on cancer cells has been generated.
Conclusion
14. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642