DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Due to the large number of references (over 1,000 pages) submitted since the 12/05/2025 Non-Final Rejection, and the breadth of the subject matter covered by these references, the references have been given a cursory review. If Applicant is aware that any of the post-Rejection references contain information that is directly related to patentability of the present invention, specific citations to the relevant subject matter should be provided.
Response to 06/05/2026 Amendment
Applicant’s amendments overcome the Specification and Drawing objections, which are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the prior art rejections, which are withdrawn. The search was updated, and new rejections are made herein.
Applicant has amended the dependency of claim 20 so that it is no longer withdrawn. Claim 20 is rejected herein. Following this Final Rejection, claim 20 will have been once rejected.
Applicant’s amendments fix most, but not all, of the 112(b) rejections, the remaining ones being repeated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks dated 06/05/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons detailed below.
Regarding the 101 rejections: Applicant’s invention is directed to a net-energy-producing fusion device, an inoperable invention under 35 USC § 101. No nuclear fusion reactor has ever achieved net energy output, as detailed below.
Accordingly, the 101 rejections are maintained.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by removing the limitation “and thereby produces more of said output electrical power than electrical power input to the electrical power plant” from claim 11.
Regarding the 112(a) rejections: As set forth in MPEP § 2107.01(IV), a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 101 also creates a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Citing In re Brana, the Federal Circuit noted,
“Obviously, if a claimed invention does not have utility, the specification cannot enable one to use it.”
Accordingly, the 112(a) rejections are maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the 101 and 112 rejections of parent claim 1 are resolved.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding prior art: the prior art of record does not teach fusion reactor blanket comprising neutron-absorbing sulfur for heat capture and, ultimately, electricity production. Regarding 101 and 112(a): the invention is directed towards a type of D-D inertial electrostatic confinement (IEC) fusion reactor that produces useful radioisotopes such as tritium. While Applicant’s Specification appears to find said tritium production undesirable (e.g., Spec., ¶¶ 5–9), there is a well- and long-documented need of tritium in industry. In summary, Applicant’s intended utility of the claimed fusion reactor to produce net energy is inadequate for fulfilling the requirements of 35 USC 101. However, producing tritium as a by-product, even if Applicant finds this inconvenient, is a legitimate utility of an IEC fusion reactor, and this utility fulfills the requirements of 35 USC 101.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 recites “negatively charged electrodes.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the latter limitation in the claim because parent claim 1 recites “one or more negatively charged electrodes,” and thus it is improper for claim 3 to assume there are more than one. Because Examiner did not notice this in the FAOM, it is only an objection instead of a rejection. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “said one or more negatively charged electrodes.”
Claim 26 recites “intermediate” vacuum valve, and claim 24 recites “intermediary vacuum valve.” These terms should be standardized to avoid confusion that they might be different valves.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by a well-established utility or a substantial and credible asserted utility.
In Brenner v. Manson, the Supreme Court stated that “[t]he basic quid pro quo contemplated by the Constitution and the Congress for granting a patent monopoly is the benefit derived by the public from an invention with substantial utility. Unless and until a process is refined and developed to this point—where specific benefit exists in currently available form—there is insufficient justification for permitting an applicant to engross what may prove to be a broad field.” 383 U.S. 519, 534-35 (1966). The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) accordingly explains that the purpose of the utility requirement is “to limit patent protection to inventions that possess a certain level of ‘real world’ value, as opposed to subject matter that represents nothing more than an idea or concept, or is simply a starting point for future investigation or research.” MPEP § 2103, A., I.
Thus, the USPTO has the initial burden of setting forth a reason to doubt an Appellant's presumptively correct assertion of utility. In re Swartz, 232 F.3d 862, 864 (Fed. Cir. 2000). “The PTO may establish a reason to doubt an invention's asserted utility when the written description ‘suggest[s] an inherently unbelievable undertaking or involve[s] implausible scientific principles.’” In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (quoting In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1995)).
Here, the claims are directed to an approach for self-sustaining nuclear fusion.
Claim 1, for example, recites
an electrical power plant that produces output electrical power…induce nuclear fusion reactions and thereby produce more of said output electrical power than electrical power input.
The claimed electricity is produced via self-sustaining nuclear fusion, which is known in the art as achieving ignition or breakeven and which means net-energy producing fusion where more power is output than was input2. Applicant confirms this meaning in the Specification at ¶ 60: “…net electrical power generation defined as excess output electrical power beyond the electrical power devoted to operate the power plant.”
In the background of the Specification (¶¶ 2–10), Applicant acknowledges how all previous attempts at achieving net-energy, commercially viable fusion reactors have failed:
“These past attempts have often utilized strong magnetic fields to constrain plasmas of electrons and ions until the ions collide and fuse. Such magnetic containment is prone to instabilities and particle leakage, causing inadvertent and often catastrophic loss of energy that would otherwise be needed to sustain fusion reactions,” ¶ 2
“This photonic radiation is also a large source of energy leakage, robbing the plasma of the energy needed to sustain fusion reactions,” ¶ 3
“In these reactions very little of the energy liberated by the reactions is in the form of kinetic energy in neutrons…post several problems…neutrons…often escape at thermal velocities,” ¶ 4
“Fusion reactors employing DT fusion require large inventories of tritium fuel. In addition, since tritium is very rare and not found in nature, tritium fuel needs to be "bred" in blankets composed of lithium…tritium loss rates far beyond those traditionally deemed acceptable are expected,” ¶ 8
However, despite the failure of all others hitherto, Applicant claims to have overcome the tremendous barriers known in the art and invented an apparatus for producing net-energy nuclear fusion using the same setup (steam-driven turbine) acknowledged in ¶ 2 as being inadequate: “[T]his instant application teaches an electrical power plant configured to produce…more of said output electrical power than electrical power input…by said nuclear fusion reactions…a turbine that converts said steam into rotational energy and a generator coupled to said turbine that converts said rotational energy into said output electrical power,” Specification at ¶ 78. Claim 1 mirrors this mechanism: an electrical power plant that produces…more of said output electrical power than electrical power input…by said nuclear fusion reactions…a turbine that converts said pressurized steam into rotational energy and a generator coupled to said turbine that converts said rotational energy into said output electrical power.” Applicant’s specific asserted utility is therefore an apparatus for generating useful electricity including surge capacity from the excess heat and energy emanating from the world’s first-ever achievement of breakeven DD nuclear fusion, see the Specification at ¶¶ 56–58, ¶ 60, and ¶¶ 135–138 respectively:
“The disclosure includes an apparatus comprising a power plant [002] producing output electrical power [082] in a construction to bring into collision [018] one species of ions so as to induce nuclear fusion reactions and thereby produce more of said output electrical power [082] than electrical power input to the apparatus…. Moreover, this disclosure describes an apparatus [002] which absorbs neutron [032] kinetic energy and then captures said neutrons [032] in order to convert potential energy stored in a blanket [080] into additional nuclear energy available for conversion into output electrical power”.
“One embodiment for net electrical power generation…is to induce fusion events by colliding a beam of deuterons (bare deuterium nuclei) with another beam of deuterons”.
“The problem is that the availability of harvested power does not necessarily coincide with the instantaneous energy demands of consumers….One embodiment is to place an electrical battery between the electrical power plant [002] and an electrical load in order to provide such surge capacity”.
The Specification repeatedly describes the fusion ignition as prophetic3 and does not detail experiments performed by Applicant or adequately relevant experiments performed by others. There is no disclosure of the specific mechanisms or operational parameters that an ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize as capable of creating a self-sustaining fusion reaction on the scale needed to currently achieve the benefits alleged.
The scientific consensus per net-positive energy production via nuclear fusion weighs in favor of finding that the claimed subject matter lacks the real-world value required by 35 U.S.C. 101.
Presently available publications and documents evidence a consensus in the scientific community that there is yet to be a fusion technique capable of producing an energy gain sufficient for practical applications. As noted by Dylla4, as recently as 2020, the largest nuclear fusion project in the world—the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER)—aspired to achieve a successful fusion demonstration “for several minutes duration” by 2026 at the absolute earliest. This is with a projected cost of “greater than $10 billion.”
Further according to the official ITER5 webpage:
“The world record for fusion power in a magnetic confinement fusion device is held by the European tokamak JET. In 1997, JET produced 16 MW of fusion power from a total input heating power of 24 MW (Q=0.67). ITER is designed to yield in its plasma a ten-fold return on power (Q=10), or 500 MW of fusion power from 50 MW of input heating power. ITER will not convert the heating power it produces as electricity, but — as the first of all magnetic confinement fusion experiments in history to produce net energy gain across the plasma (crossing the threshold of Q≥1) — it will prepare the way for the machines that can.”
There currently exist no nuclear fusion reactors capable of producing useful energy gain for practical applications. The National Ignition Facility (NIF) is the largest operational fusion system in the US to date that operates at extreme temperatures. In December 2022, the NIF reportedly achieved a “nuclear fusion breakthrough,” producing 3.15 MJ of fusion energy from 2.05 MJ of laser light. This was the first ever demonstration in the world of a target producing more energy than was delivered to the target. However, the laser system6 itself required 322 MJ of energy to create these fusion reactions, multiple orders of magnitude greater than the energy produced. Thus, while an achievement in fusion, the experiment is far from a demonstration of practical energy production—as stated by experts in the fusion community7,8.
When the most advanced thermonuclear fusion reactors in the world have yet to create more energy than they consume (“net” energy gain), Applicant’s claims (e.g., claims 1 and 18) to already be in possession of a nuclear fusion device that outputs net-positive energy would be considered highly questionable to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Overcoming the Coulomb barrier to achieve critical ignition for nuclear fusion is only known to occur at extremely high kinetic energies, i.e., extremely high temperatures, such as those present on the Sun. Georgia State University9 explains:
“The temperatures required to overcome the coulomb barrier for fusion to occur are so high as to require extraordinary means for their achievement. Such thermally initiated reactions are commonly called thermonuclear fusion. With particle energies in the range of 1-10keV, the temperatures are in the range of 107–108 K.”
Applicants have failed to sufficiently disclose how the claimed fusion device is capable of sustaining a fusion reaction to achieve breakeven. The disclosure provides no mechanism for maintaining the temperatures of hundreds of millions of degrees Kelvin known to be required to achieve nuclear fusion ignition.
For the present invention, which is directed to a way of attempting self-sustaining nuclear fusion at odds with conventional best practices, evidence and acceptance by the scientific community is of crucial importance because the PTO may meet its burden to establish a prima facie case of lack of utility where the written description suggests an unbelievable undertaking or implausible principles. See In re Cortright, 165 F.3d. at 1357.
The claimed invention—a type of nuclear fusion device in its early days of research—for generating and maintaining a fusion reaction sufficient to be used as a viable energy source is too undeveloped to be considered to have a body of existing knowledge associated with it, much less reproducibility of results. See In re Swartz, 232 F.3d at 864 (“Here the PTO provided several references showing that results in the area of cold fusion were irreproducible. Thus the PTO provided substantial evidence that those skilled in the art would ‘reasonably doubt’ the asserted utility and operability of cold fusion”). Reproducibility must go beyond one’s own laboratory. One must produce a set of instructions—a recipe—that would enable a skilled artisan to produce and use the invention. If reproducibility occurs only in one’s own laboratory, errors (such as systematic errors) could reasonably be suspected. Applicant’s disclosure is insufficient as to how the embodiments described therein are based upon valid and reproducible methodology.
The Examiner cannot find, and Applicant has not supplied, any reputable and peer-reviewed papers in which the mainstream scientific community (i.e., outside of Applicant’s own prophecies) has replicated or built upon Applicant’s purportedly revolutionary discovery. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude that the claimed invention has not been independently reproduced.
In view of the above, it is more likely than not that an ordinarily skilled artisan would doubt the effective obtention of fusion ignition, i.e., the causing and the capability to generate net output electricity as claimed, as well the benefits asserted by Applicants as of the effective date of the claims. Rather, the preponderance of evidence supports a finding that as of the effective date, the claimed method was at most at starting point for future investigation or research. See In re Swartz, 232 F.3d at 864, In re Cortright, 165 F.3d at 1357.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks patentable utility for the reasons provided in the above 101 rejection, which are incorporated herein. Applicant alleges the production of useful electricity from a self-sustaining—i.e., ignition or breakeven—nuclear fusion device. In order for such a device to exist, clearly, breakeven/ignition must first be achieved, anywhere in the world; independent scientists would then attempt to verify it via reproduction of the experiment(s). As detailed above, no laboratory on Earth has yet achieved self-sustained nuclear fusion.
The Examiner has provided a preponderance of evidence as to why the asserted operation and utility of Applicant's invention is inconsistent with known scientific principles, making it speculative at best as to whether attributes of the invention necessary to impart the asserted utility are actually present in the invention. See In re Sichert, 566 F.2d 1154, 196 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1977). Accordingly, the invention as disclosed is deemed inoperable, i.e., it does not operate to produce the results claimed by the Applicant.
As set forth in MPEP § 2107.01(IV), a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 101 also creates a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Citing In re Brana, the Federal Circuit noted,
“Obviously, if a claimed invention does not have utility, the Specification cannot enable one to use it.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under U.S.C. 112(a). Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by a well-established utility or a substantial and credible asserted utility for the same reasons set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 (which are incorporated herein), one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, a person skilled in the art at the time the application was filed would not have recognized that the inventor was in possession of the invention as claimed in view of the disclosure for the reasons provided in the above 101 rejections, which are incorporated herein.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the best mode contemplated by the inventor(s) has not been disclosed. Evidence of concealment of the best mode is based upon the disclosure of the Goldberg (US 2018/0102191) publication cited below. Goldberg discloses a fusion reactor that anticipates Applicant’s fusion reactor as claimed in claim 1; however, Goldberg’s device is unworkable for the purposes of net electricity generation. Accordingly, if Applicant's fusion device is operative to produce net output energy, while Goldberg’s is not, then the Examiner must conclude that some essential information is missing from Applicant's disclosure that makes Applicant's invention operative.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
To be enabling, the disclosure, as filed, must be sufficiently complete to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and a use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. It is the Examiner’s position that an undue amount of experimentation would be required to produce an operative embodiment of the claimed invention.
Applicant admits that previous, well-funded and decades-long attempts at producing viable nuclear fusion reactors have been unsuccessful (Specification, ¶¶ 2–10). Even so, Applicant believes they have produced an operative system for achieving nuclear fusion for net energy production, see especially claim 1.
To determine whether a given claim is supported in sufficient detail (by combining the information provided in the disclosure with information known in the art) such that any person skilled in the art could make and use the invention as of the filing date of the application without undue experimentation, at least the following factors should be included:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
This standard is applied in accordance with the U.S. Federal Court of Appeals decision In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also United States v. Telectronics Inc., 857 F.2d 778, 785, 8 USPQ2d 1217, 1223 (Fed. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1046 (1989).
Reviewing the aforementioned Wands factors, the evidence weighs in favor of a finding that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the claimed invention, and therefore, a determination that the disclosure fails to satisfy the enablement requirement. Specifically:
(A) The breadth of the claims: Applicant’s claims (e.g., see claims 1, 27, 28, and 30) are relatively broad: a fusion reaction creates neutrons whose heat powers a turbine, with excess heat being stored in a sulfur-sodium blanket, i.e., the world’s first-ever net-positive nuclear fusion device. The disclosure does not supply adequate guidance for how the claimed result follows from the recited steps.
(B) The nature of the invention: The nature of the invention, i.e., the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, is nuclear fusion.
(C) The state of the prior art: The prior art discloses DD (deuterium-deuterium) nuclear fusion in a chamber surrounded by a blanket; prior art DD fusion devices and methods require more input energy than they produce.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill: The level of ordinary skill in the art is a skilled artisan who can create and operate nuclear fusion reactors that do not produce net positive energy.
(E) The level of predictability in the art: Thermonuclear fusion devices have failed to make serious advances towards practical applications after more than half a century of research. The skilled artisan would not predict any major advances or breakthroughs in the near future.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor: Applicant’s disclosure does not provide the necessary step-by-step guide to actually achieve the claimed end goal of self-sustained/breakeven nuclear fusion. The disclosure simply suggests substituting known blankets with a sulfur-sodium battery-type blanket.
(G) The existence of working examples: No working example or detailed experimental setup is provided; the disclosure repeatedly describes the invention as prophetic.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: The quantity of experimentation needed is unreasonable because the practical guidance provided is insufficient to enable one to build or operate a working prototype of the invention.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 twice recites “a magnetic field.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear how this/these magnetic field(s) relate(s) to the one recited in parent claim 1 as well as to each other.
Claim 2 recites “the electrical power plant is devoid of a magnetic field that constrains a plasma comprised of said ions brought into the collisions without applying a magnetic field to constrain a plasma comprised of said ions.” This limitation appears to be redundant and its meaning is unclear. Additionally, it recites “a plasma” twice, so the second recitation has incorrect antecedent basis.
Claim 25 recites “at least one vacuum pump.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 already introduced “at least one ion sputter vacuum pump.”
Claim 26 recites “said ion sputter vacuum pumps.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 “at least one ion sputter vacuum pump” and so it is improper for claim 26 to presume there is more than one such pump.
Claims 1–2, 4–5, 18–20, and 23–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structures are: the structures that make Applicant’s fusion apparatus operative to produce net output power, while all those in the prior art are not operative. This rejection is related to the above 112(a) best mode rejection. The Examiner can only conclude that if Applicant’s apparatus is operative, but Goldber’s (US 2018/0102191) is not, then there must be omitted elements that are critical or essential to the invention.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 20, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg (US 2018/0102191).
Regarding claim 1, Goldberg discloses an apparatus (fig. 3a) comprising: an electrical power plant (“power plant,” ¶ 74; “transferring the heat energy to a steam vessel to drive a turbine to create an electrical energy,” ¶ 10) that produces output electrical power (e.g., “a 2 GW Nuclear Fusion Power Plant Reactor,” ¶ 104) by bringing particle beams of ions (330, 350) into collisions (“colliding and fusing the cationic first reactant 330 with the cationic second reactant 350 to create a heat energy,” ¶ 37), wherein the ions are ions of one species that induce nuclear fusion reactions (“transport the cationic reactants 330,350 to the target cathode 365 for the collision and fusion,” ¶ 37) and thereby produce more of said output electrical power than electrical power input to the electrical power plant (e.g., “at least substantially continuous electrical energy from a cyclized nuclear fusion reaction,” ¶ 10; “a 2 GW Nuclear Fusion Power Plant Reactor,” ¶ 104; Examiner notes that net-output energy from a fusion reactor would be the ideal state every such commercial reactor like Goldberg’s strives for, but this has never yet been observed), said electrical power plant including: one or more sources of said ions (325, 345); one or more negatively charged electrodes (365) arranged to define an electrostatic field that: accelerates said ions to kinetic energies sufficient to induce said nuclear fusion reactions (“transport the cationic reactants 330,350 to the target cathode 365 for the collision and fusion,” ¶ 37); focuses said ions into the collisions (id.) without additional focusing imposed by a magnetic field (Goldberg’s system does not focus using magnetic fields); and decelerates positively charged particles formed by said nuclear fusion reactions (both injected reactants may be deuterium, ¶ 12, leading to D-D fusion, which produces protons and tritons, as is known in the art); at least one blanket (wall of 305 + surrounding vessel 380) having a material composition (380 has water within it, ¶ 71, and the wall of 305 may be steel, ¶ 46) and thickness that: harvests kinetic energy from neutrons (“neutron,” fig. 3a; some neutrons will deposit thermal energy when they hit the walls of the vessel 305, as is known in the art, but as is also mentioned at the end of ¶ 62, and this thermal energy is absorbed by the water within the exterior vessel 380 which creates steam: “a steam chamber 380 in operable contact with the reaction chamber 305, the steam chamber 380 configured for receiving the heat energy 375 from the fusion 355 reaction in the reaction chamber 305,” ¶ 37) formed by said nuclear fusion reactions, said kinetic energy converted into heat (id.); produces additional nuclear energy by capturing said neutrons (id.); converts said additional nuclear energy into additional heat within the at least one blanket (id.); and accumulates as yet additional heat any remaining kinetic energy of said positively charged particles after said positively charged particles are decelerated (similarly as with the neutrons, any protons and tritons that impact the wall 305 will also deposit thermal energy); and a transformer (as is known in the art, thermal energy from steam goes through a heat exchanger and turns a turbine which produces electricity via a generator, and this electricity is dispersed to the grid via transformers, e.g., see ¶¶ 6, 11, 33, end of 47) configured to transform that transforms said heat, said additional heat, and said yet additional heat within the at least one blanket into said output electrical power, said transformer including: a heat exchanger (id.) that accepts water and produces pressurized steam from the water (id.); a turbine (id.) that converts said pressurized steam into rotational energy; and a generator (id.) coupled to said turbine that converts said rotational energy into said output electrical power (id.).
Regarding claim 2, Goldberg anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the electrical power plant is devoid of a magnetic field that constrains a plasma comprised of said ions brought into the collisions (Goldberg’s system does not use magnetic fields).
Regarding claim 20, Goldberg anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein said positively charged particles comprise protons and tritons (both injected reactants may be deuterium, ¶ 12, leading to D-D fusion, which produces protons and tritons, as is known in the art) while said electrical power plant is generating output electrical power.
Regarding claim 31, Goldberg anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses thermal insulation (867, fig. 12a, which is a detailed example of 380 in fig. 3a) around the at least one blanket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 18, 19, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg.
Regarding claim 4, Goldberg anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses
a vacuum vessel (300) that has a shape, a vessel wall, and a central region (as shown in fig. 3a), the vacuum vessel structured to contain a vacuum (315); said negatively charged electrode (365) constructed arranged as a central, substantially spherical, electrode assembly concentric with said vessel wall, positioned such that said particle beams collide in said central region of said vacuum vessel (“colliding and fusing the cationic first reactant 330 with the cationic second reactant 350 to create a heat energy,” ¶ 37); an electrode charger (“conducting wire,” ¶ 71, used in the steam chamber 850, fig. 12a, that is a detailed version of steam chamber 380 of fig. 3a, that is “operably connected to the target cathode” to charge it with voltage) that maintains a voltage of said electrode assembly; and at least one vacuum pump (“high vacuum pumps,” ¶ 52).
Goldberg therefore discloses the claimed invention except for the spherical shape of the chamber. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have used a spherical shape for the chamber, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Goldberg does not explicitly state that the type of pump may be an ion sputter pump. However, he lists many different available useable types of pumps (“turbomolecular or diffusion high vacuum pumps,” “rotary vane pumps,” “Roots-type blower pump,” “piston-type pump,” ¶ 52). He further states that “one of skill will understand that any appropriate vacuum system can be used,” ¶ 52. Goldberg therefore discloses the claimed invention except for the specific type of ion sputter pump claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have used an ion sputter pump, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known or preferred type of pump on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Any of the pumps listed by Goldberg in ¶ 52, or an ion sputter pump, would be understood in the art to be known equivalents that the skilled artisan is easily able to select among.
Regarding claim 18, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Additionally, Goldberg discloses wherein said vessel wall is at a temperature above 400 degrees Celsius while said electrical power plant is generating output electrical power (as is known in the art, nuclear fusion results in temperatures above 400 degrees Celsius on the first wall, e.g., see Goldberg at ¶ 46, ¶¶ 6–7; additionally, Examiner notes that the resultant temperature of the wall is a desired result-type limitation that Goldberg’s apparatus is clearly capable of achieving).
Regarding claim 19, Goldberg anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the particle beams of ions comprise two particle beams (330, 350), wherein each said particle beam consists essentially of no electrons (330 and 350 are positively charged ions, fig. 3a); each said particle beam has about an equal average kinetic energy (each beam is at 0.5 MeV, as shown in Fig. 1a), each said particle beam comprises deuterons (¶ 12: each injection can be deuterium, which becomes deuterons 330, 350 after they are ionized); and the two said particle beams collide at an angle (as shown in fig. 3a).
Goldberg does not explicitly state that the average kinetic energies of the beams are equal to each other. However, he suggests optimizing this parameter: “the kinetic energy of the reactants traveling to the target cathode for collision is also optimized by the high vacuum condition,” ¶ 52, and he encourages the beam injection parameters to be experimented with and optimized: “The relative amount of each injection, relative timing of each injection, relative pressure of injection, relative frequency of injection, the design of each injector, such as injection nozzle, and the like, are examples of parameters that can be varied and manipulated,” ¶ 53. Paragraph 56 still further details how the injectors can be optimized in both design and operation depending on the desired outcome. Paragraph 55 still further notes that “For example, nozzle flow design can be varied to change the shape and speed of the first reactant from the first reactant port and the shape and speed of the second reactant from the second reactant port.” Goldberg therefore discloses the claimed invention except for setting the particle beam energies to be equal to each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have optimized the average kinetic energy of the first beam relative to that of the second beam, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. As detailed above in Goldberg itself, such experimentation and optimization is routine and encouraged. Goldberg summarizes in ¶ 53: “Such tuning of the “fusion engine” (i.e. any system taught herein), for example, can be used to optimize system performance measured in terms of energy output, economy of operation, life of the fusion engine, frequency of maintenance required, profit from the operation, or any combination thereof.”
In the cited embodiment of fig. 3a, it is unclear if any of the ions are necessarily colliding at an angle of 180 degrees. However, he suggests optimizing this parameter: “One of skill will appreciate that the positioning of the first reactant port and the second reactant port, relative to the placement of the target cathode, can be varied,” ¶ 53. See also ¶ 55: “One of skill will also appreciate that the first reactant port and the second reactant port can include a configured nozzle, designed for a particular embodiment. For example, nozzle flow design can be varied to change the shape and speed of the first reactant from the first reactant port and the shape and speed of the second reactant from the second reactant port.” Specifically, Goldberg encourages optimization of the “direction of injection,” which would obviously immediately impact the angle of injection, detailed in ¶ 56. For example, in the embodiment shown in fig. 4a, Goldberg shows the reactants facing each other at 180 degree angles. Goldberg therefore discloses the claimed invention except for, in the cited embodiment of fig. 3a, explicitly stating that the beams collide at an angle of 180 degrees, although this is disclosed in fig. 4a. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have optimized the angle of collision of the two beams, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. As detailed above in Goldberg itself, such experimentation and optimization is routine and encouraged. Goldberg summarizes in ¶ 53: “Such tuning of the “fusion engine” (i.e. any system taught herein), for example, can be used to optimize system performance measured in terms of energy output, economy of operation, life of the fusion engine, frequency of maintenance required, profit from the operation, or any combination thereof.”
Regarding claim 24, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim and additionally teaches at least one intermediary vacuum valve coupling each vacuum pump (vacuum 315, fig. 3a; “high vacuum pumps,” ¶ 52) to the vacuum vessel (305) are attached to the vacuum via intermediary vacuum valves (implicit). Examiner notes that all vacuum pumps necessarily have valves in between themselves and the chamber for which they provide a vacuum. Goldberg’s apparatus in fig. 3a cannot function if there is no valve permitting and stopping the vacuum pump.
Regarding claim 26, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim and additionally teaches at least one roughing pump (e.g., “rotary vane pumps,” ¶ 52) coupled to said vacuum pump (vacuum 315, fig. 3a; “high vacuum pumps,” ¶ 52) through at least one intermediate valve (implicit). Examiner notes that all vacuum pumps necessarily have valves in between themselves and the chamber for which they provide a vacuum. Goldberg’s apparatus in fig. 3a cannot function if there is no valve permitting and stopping the vacuum pump.
Claims 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Mills (US 2020/0403555).
Regarding claim 5, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim and additionally teaches all the elements of the parent claim including the claimed electrode assembly, as cited above, but does not explicitly disclose a coating. Mills does. Mills is also in the art area of fusion chambers and teaches (Fig. 2l12) an electrode assembly (8) that is coated with a carbon compound (e.g., “graphite coated conductor such as…graphite coated W,” ¶ 465). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize this coating, before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to make a “structure that may be very durable for wear,” as explained by Mills in ¶ 465.
Regarding claim 23, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim and additionally teaches all the elements of the parent claim including the vessel wall, which is made from steel, as cited above, but does not explicitly teach a coating. Mills does. Mills is also in the art area of fusion chambers and teaches (Fig. 2l21) a vessel wall (26) whose inside surface has a graphite coating (¶ 503: “graphite coated high temperature stainless steel”). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize this coating, before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to make the wall “resistant” to “adherence” from the species inside it, as explained in ¶ 503.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Cheatham (WO 2020210837 A2).
Regarding claim 25, Goldberg teaches all the elements of the parent claim and additionally teaches subsystems comprising at least one of: (i) one or more ion sources (320, 340) configured to create said ions, (ii) one or more electron charging accelerators (conducting wire,” ¶ 71) configured to maintain a voltage of said one or more negatively charged electrodes (“conducting wire (not shown) that is operably connected to the target cathode,” ¶ 71), and (iii) at least one vacuum pump (“high vacuum pumps,” ¶ 51) configured to maintain a vacuum within the apparatus, such that electrical power generated from energy released by the nuclear fusion reactions is used to support continued operation of the electrical power plant (e.g. “a method of producing an at least substantially continuous electrical energy from a cyclized nuclear fusion reaction,” ¶ 10).
Goldberg does not explicitly state wherein the electrical power plant is configured such that at least a portion of said output electrical power is provided to one or more subsystems of the electrical power plant to sustain operation thereof.
Cheatham does teach this. Cheatham is also in the art area of nuclear reactors and teaches re-using electricity produced by a nuclear reactor to power that same nuclear reactor: see Figure 8, wherein nuclear reactors 704/706/708 produce power that may be routed to auxiliary power 802 and used to power those same reactors. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize this electrical energy re-use in order to, as described by Cheatham in ¶ 112, “provide the nuclear reactors with dedicated power in the case of a blackout or when starting up the nuclear reactor even when electricity from the electrical grid is unavailable … the auxiliary power system 802 can provide backup power for … any other system that benefits from uninterrupted backup power.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 Examiner made this suggestion in the previous interview, see Interview Summary in the file 06/08/2026.
2 “Fusion “ignition” refers to the moment when a controlled fusion reaction generates more energy than is needed to spark the reaction: as much or more energy “out” than “in.”” <lasers.llnl.gov/science/ignition>. Last accessed October 23, 2025.
3 e.g., see Spec. at ¶ 11, ¶ 56, ¶ 59, ¶ 127, ¶ 129, and ¶ 133.
4 How Long is the Fuse on Fusion? Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2020, pages 85–86.
5 What will ITER do? <iter.org/fusion-energy/what-will-iter-do>. Last accessed October 23, 2025.
6 Achieving Fusion Ignition. <lasers.llnl.gov/science/achieving-fusion-ignition>. Last accessed October 23, 2025.
7 Tollefson, Jeff, and Elizabeth Gibney. "Nuclear-fusion lab achieves ‘ignition’: What does it mean?." Nature 612.7941 (2022): 597-598.
8 Thomas, William. National Ignition Facility Achieves Long-Sought Fusion Goal. Dec 16 2022. AIP News article.
9 Temperatures for Fusion, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Georgia State University webpage. <hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/NucEne/coubar.html>. Last accessed October 24, 2025.