DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received April 28, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 4-5 are amended; and claims 7-18 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1-6 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 8, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, et al. (US 2005/0175897 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Jung teaches a positive active material for a rechargeable lithium battery that is a lithium/nickel-based compound with secondary particles having an average diameter of 5 µm to 20 µm (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-6), overlapping the claimed range of 1 µm to 8 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Jung teaches that the lithium/nickel-based compound includes cobalt, and may include additional metals such as manganese, aluminum, chromium, iron, magnesium, strontium, and vanadium (¶ [0024]-[0025]). Specifically, the positive active material of Example 1 is Li1.02Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 (meeting the limitations of claimed Formula 1, wherein a=1.02, x=0.8, y=0.1, M1 is Mn, z=0.1, and w=0), and the material is prepared by a process including a first heat treatment at 700 °C followed by a second heat treatment at 810 °C to form primary particles with an average diameter of 1 µm (¶ [0040], Ln. 1-9).
While it is acknowledged that a number of primary particles/an average particle diameter of the secondary particles in a range of 4 and 21 or a total number of primary particles in a range of 20 to 100 obtained from a cross-sectional SEM image of a single secondary particle is not expressly recited by the reference, Jung teaches the claimed composition and a substantially similar process which the instant specification indicates as essential to achieving the claimed properties. The number of primary particles/an average particle diameter of the secondary particles in a range of 4 and 21 and total number of primary particles in a range of 20 to 100 obtained from a cross-sectional SEM image of a single secondary particle would be implicitly achieved by a positive electrode active material with the same composition formed by substantially the same process. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed properties are only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed properties are inherent to the positive active material taught by Jung, the reference teaches the claimed composition and a substantially similar process. Paragraph [0084] of the published instant specification teaches that for a positive electrode active material having a nickel content of 70 atm% or more, the secondary sintering must be performed at a temperature of 800 to 880 °C to achieve a ratio of a number of primary particles/an average particle diameter of the secondary particles in a range of 4 and 21. Further, paragraph [0052] of the published instant specification teaches that the number of primary particles is in a range of 20 to 100 as an amount greater than 100 does not achieve the effect of reducing the amount of gas generated.
With respect to the composition, Jung teaches a positive active material meeting the limitations of claimed Formula 1, specifically teaching the use of Li1.02Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 in Example 1 (¶ [0040], Ln. 6-9), which has a nickel content of 70 atm% or more.
With respect to the process, Jung teaches that the second heat treatment is preferably performed at a temperature of 800 to 900 °C (¶ [0031], Ln. 1-4), specifically teaching 810 °C in Example 1 (¶ [0040], Ln. 5-6).
With respect to the amount of primary particles, Jung teaches an average particle diameter of primary particles of 1 µm to 4 µm and an average particle diameter of secondary particles of 5 µm to 20 µm (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-7), further teaching that when the average diameter of the secondary particles is over 20 µm, indicating a higher amount of primary particles agglomerated in a secondary particle, the secondary particles break more easily, which generates gas (¶ [0019], Ln. 10-14). Thus, the positive active material taught by Jung would implicitly achieve the claimed properties of a number of primary particles/an average particle diameter of the secondary particles in a range of 4 and 21 and a total number of primary particles in a range of 20 to 100 obtained from a cross-sectional SEM image of a single secondary particle.
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the lithium/nickel-based compound may be represented by the chemical formula LixNi1-y-zCoyMnzMwO2-αAα, further teaching that M may be selected from Al, Cr, Fe, Mg, Sr, V, and rare earth elements and w is within 0 and 0.5, overlapping the claimed range for z2 of 0-0.05 (¶ [0024], Chemical Formula 5). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the lithium/nickel-based compound of Example 1 of Jung to include a compound including aluminum, as taught in Chemical Formula 5 of Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include an additional element such as aluminum as the combination is taught by the reference. As manganese and the additional metal are optional components in the lithium-nickel-based compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the compound of Example 1 to include a small amount of aluminum in addition the manganese, which is included at a molar content of 0.1, and thus, would result in a lithium-nickel-based compound meeting the limitations of claimed Formula 1-1.
Regarding claims 4-5, Jung teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. While it is acknowledged that a particle size change rate and particle size change amount are not expressly taught by the reference, Jung teaches the claimed composition and a substantially similar process which the instant specification indicates as essential to achieving the claimed properties. The particle size change rate of -5 to 4.5 and particle size change amount of 0 to 12 measured after pressurizing the positive electrode active material to 9 tons would be implicitly achieved by a positive electrode active material with the same composition formed by substantially the same process. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed properties are only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed properties are inherent to the positive active material taught by Jung, the reference teaches the claimed composition and a substantially similar process. Paragraph [0058] of the published instant specification teaches that the particle size change rate and particle size change amount equations are satisfied since the particle breakage due to rolling during the preparation of the positive electrode is suppressed, reducing the amount of gas generated. Further, the process taught by the instant specification includes preparing a positive electrode active material meeting the limitations of claimed Formula 1, and performing a primary sintering in a temperature range of 600 to 800 °C followed by a secondary sintering in a temperature range of 800 to 880 °C (¶ [0082]-[0084] of the published instant specification).
With respect to the particle breakage and suppression of gas generated, Jung teaches that the average particle diameter of secondary particles of 5 µm to 20 µm, further teaching that the average diameter is within this range in order to prevent the particles from breaking easily and generating gas (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-14).
With respect to the process of making the positive electrode active material, Jung teaches that the positive active material of Example 1 is Li1.02Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 (meeting the limitations of claimed Formula 1, wherein a=1.02, x=0.8, y=0.1, M1 is Mn, z=0.1, and w=0), and that the material is prepared by a process including a first heat treatment at 700 °C followed by a second heat treatment at 810 °C to form primary particles with an average diameter of 1 µm (¶ [0040], Ln. 1-9). Thus, the positive active material taught by Jung would implicitly achieve the claimed properties of a particle size change rate of -5 to 4.5 and particle size change amount of 0 to 12 measured after pressurizing the positive electrode active material to 9 tons.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, et al. (US 2005/0175897 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Du, et al. (US 2022/0045324 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Jung does not expressly teach a coating layer formed on the surface of the lithium/nickel-based compound.
Du teaches a positive electrode active material with compact structure and good pressure resistance (¶ [0005], Ln. 1-4). Du teaches that the positive electrode active material is a lithium transition metal oxide having a high nickel content ([0030], Ln. 1-4, ¶ [0031], Ln. 1-5). Du further teaches that the positive electrode active material includes an outer coating layer provided on the surface and including any one or a combination of Al, Ba, Zn, Ti, Co, W, Y, Si, Sn, B, and P (¶ [0007], Ln. 1-8). Specifically, the positive electrode active material in the first example is coated with Al2O3 (¶ [0080], Ln. 5-9). Du teaches that the coating layer has ionic conductivity and electronic conductivity, and avoids direct contact between the positive electrode active material and the electrolyte. Du teaches that this reduces side reactions with the electrolyte, avoids gas generation, and ensures lower impedance and better cycle and rate performance (¶ [0045], Ln. 8-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive active material of Jung to include a coating layer on the surface of the lithium/nickel-based compound based on the teachings of Du. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Du to the positive active material of Jung, as both references teach high nickel positive active materials for lithium batteries. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a coating layer taught by Du, such as Al2O3, in order to avoid direct contact between the positive electrode active material and the electrolyte, reducing side reactions with the electrolyte, avoiding gas generation, and ensuring lower impedance and better cycle and rate performance.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 1 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 in the response filed April 28, 2026.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
The previous rejections of claims 1, 3-5, and by dependency 2-6 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 in the response filed April 28, 2026.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
In light of the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 to specify the area captured in the SEM image of the positive electrode active material, the previous rejections of claims 1-3 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) over Ke, et al. (US 2022/0416236 A1) and of claims 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Ke, have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785