DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 is/are pending. Claim(s) 14 is/are withdrawn. Claim(s) 12 is/are canceled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-11 are allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/22/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 1 and 5-6 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/22/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 1-12 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully, et al (Cully) (US 2005/0131515 A1) in view of Pavcnik, et al (Pavcnik) (US 7,686,842 B2).
Regarding Claim 13, Cully teaches a graft device (e.g. Figures 1, 4B), comprising:
(a) an inner tubular mesh layer (e.g. [0018], both surfaces are covered; [0033] the permeable embodiment is a mesh) of electro-spinnable fibers (e.g. [0050], the ePTFE is made of fibers that could have been electro-spun to create the cover);
(b) an outer tubular mesh layer (e.g. [0018], both surfaces are covered; [0033] the permeable embodiment is a mesh) of electro-spinnable fibers (e.g. [0050], the ePTFE is made of fibers that could have been electro-spun to create the cover); and
(c) a graft support device (e.g. Figures 1, 4B, #14) defined as a patterned helix (e.g. [0050]) having an inner tubular surface and an outer tubular surface (e.g. Figures 1, 4B),
wherein the inner tubular mesh layer matches the inner tubular surface (e.g. [0018]),
wherein the outer tubular mesh layer matches the outer tubular surface (e.g. [0018]),
wherein together the inner tubular mesh layer and the outer tubular mesh layer sandwich the patterned helix (e.g. Figures 1, 4B; [0018]; [0042]),
Cully discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the sandwiched layers distinguishing laminated areas and non-laminated areas
wherein the laminated areas and the non-laminated areas are both in between the inner and the outer tubular mesh layer[s], and
wherein the non-laminated areas enable bending of the patterned helix, while preventing kinking of the graft support device.
Cully teaches attaching the graft material via sutures (e.g. [0042]), but does not specify the location of the sutures.
Pavcnik teaches a stent frame surrounded on its radially inner and outer sides by graft coverings (e.g. column 1, line 64 – column 2, line 11) where the sandwiched layers distinguish laminated areas and non-laminated areas (e.g. column 1, line 64 – column 2, line 11; the sutures are only at the stent frame; therefore, the laminated areas are immediately adjacent and at the suture locations and the non-laminated areas are the remaining portions of the graft material).
Cully and Pavcnik are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely stent frames that are sandwiched between inner and outer graft layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cully such that the mechanical attachment is as taught by Pavcnik as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of graft material attached to a stent frame.
The combination of Cully and Pavcnik teaches the non-laminated areas enable bending of the patterned helix (the corners allow for compression and expansion of the stent by allowing the struts to be compressed closer to one another and when the compression is released the corners are able to open up upon expansion), while preventing kinking of the graft support device (as the stent is trapped between and attached to the covering layers, it is unable to bend back on itself to form kinks).
Regarding Claim 15, the graft device at one end or at both ends have a circular ring connected to the craft device (here a terminal end ring is considered the circular ring, while the remainder of the stent is the patterned helix; e.g. Cully, Figure 1, the terminal end rings form the tubular body and thus are circular in cross-section).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 9/18/2026