DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: For English grammar, where Applicant uses the word “inferior” in Claim 18 Line 2, it is asked that Applicant change this term to “less than.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 22 recites “internal wall 5.” For formatting, it is asked that Applicant place parentheses around the reference number. Additionally, “plan” appears to be a misspelling of the word “plane.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “the enlargements are made by using staves having a trapezoidal section.” It is unclear from the claim language whether the enlargements are formed of staves or what nexus the enlargements have to the staves having a trapezoidal section. The word “using” renders the claim indefinite and unclear as to whether the “use” of the enlargements is a method step, whether the enlargements are made of staves, or whether the word “using” indicates some other meaning entirely. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites “an injector designed to inject the reducing gas downwards.” It is unclear whether or not this limitation is a configuration of the apparatus, or whether the word “designed” literally takes on the meaning “intended to.” Appropriate correction is required to establish a tangible feature of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Raick ‘254 Figures 1-3
Claims 15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Raick US 3231254 A.
Regarding Claim 15, Raick ‘254 discloses a blast furnace for ironmaking production where iron ore is at least partly reduced by a reducing gas, the blast furnace comprising: a stack (claim 4), the reducing gas being injected in the stack in an injection zone; an external wall; and an internal wall in contact with matters charged into the blast furnace, the internal wall in the injection zone having local inward recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements), the reducing gas injection locations being below the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements) (Column 1 Lines 9-27).
Regarding Claim 17, Raick ‘254 discloses the reducing gas injection locations are directly below the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements) (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Raick ‘254 discloses the reducing gas injection locations are at a distance equal to a width of the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Raick ‘254 discloses the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements) are protrusions added to the internal wall (Fig. 1) (Column 2, Lines 28-32), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejection above, Raick ‘254 discloses the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements) are formed of a stave having a trapezoidal section (Fig. 1), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim. Generally, changes in shape will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such shape is critical. See MPEP 2141.01(a) I.
Regarding Claim 21, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejection above, Raick ‘254 discloses the reducing gas is injected by an injector designed to inject the reducing gas downwards (Fig. 1), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raick US 3231254 A as applied to Claims 15 and 17-21 above, in view of Zhou et al. CN 204490910 U.
Regarding Claim 16, Raick ‘254 discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the width of its recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements).
However, Zhou et al. ‘910 teaches at [0017] a tuyere for a blast furnace having a truncated protective cone formed over the tuyere end having a length of about 100 to 150 mm “because the effective length of the tuyere (4) is usually about 200 mm.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to form the recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements) of Raick ‘254 to extend from 200 mm to 250 mm in order to deflect falling burden and protect the tuyere nozzle outlet while maintaining an effective length of the tuyere based on the teachings of Zhou et al. ‘910 at [0017] and Raick ‘254 at (Column 1, Lines 52-54), overlapping the instantly claimed range of a width between 50 and 250 mm, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Generally, changes in shape will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such shape is critical. See MPEP 2141.01(a) I. “[A] reference need not be from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention in order to be analogous art.” Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Claims 22 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raick US 3231254 A as applied to Claims 15 and 17-21 above, in view of Keogh et al. EP 0446860 A1.
Regarding Claims 22 and 25, Raick ‘254 discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the width of its recesses (meeting the limitation for enlargements).
However, Keogh et al. ‘860 teaches a blast furnace with tuyeres angled between 10° to 80° degrees downward with respect to a horizontal plane and blowing reducing gas for ironmaking at a speed of about 10 to 150 m/s in order to increase iron reduction efficiency [0020, 0025].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to position the downward angled tuyeres of Raick ‘254 to at an angle between 10° to 80° with respect to a plane perpendicular to the internal wall and blow reducing gas at a speed between about 10 to 150 m/s, overlapping the instantly claimed ranges of 15° and 30° and 75 m/s and 200 m/s in order to increase iron reduction efficiency based on the teachings of Keogh et al. ‘860 at [0020, 0025], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 26, Raick ‘254 modified by Keogh et al. ‘860 teaches the limitations set forth above. Raick ‘254 does not expressly teach reduction gas contains part of top gas exhausted from the blast furnace during the ironmaking process.
However, Keogh et al. ‘860 further teaches the reducing gas contains part of top gas exhausted from the blast furnace during the ironmaking process [0016].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to recycle top gas exhausted from the blast furnace during the ironmaking process as part of the reducing gas in order to increase operation efficiency, based on the teachings of Keogh et al. ‘860 at [0016], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 27, Raick ‘254 modified by Keogh et al. ‘860 teaches the limitations set forth above. Raick ‘254 does not expressly teach reduction temperature.
However, Keogh et al. ‘860 further teaches an advantageous iron reduction temperature range between 800 °C and 1500 °C, overlapping the range of the instant Claim of 850 °C and 1200 °C [0004]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to inject reducing gas at a temperature between 800 °C and 1500 °C in order to efficiently reduce iron based on the teachings of Keogh et al. ‘860 at [0004], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raick US 3231254 A as applied to Claims 15 and 17-21 above, in view of Tleugabulov SU 905288 A1.
Regarding Claims 23 and 24, Raick ‘254 discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the location of reducing gas injection with respect to the working height of the furnace.
However, Tleugabulov ‘288 teaches a blast furnace with tuyeres for injecting reducing gas located at 5-55% of the working height of the furnace for stabilizing iron reduction [0013], overlapping the instantly claimed ranges of between 20% and 70% and between 30% and 60% of the working height.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to position the tuyeres of Raick ‘254 to a position between 5% and 55% of the furnace working height, overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, in order to increase iron reduction stability based on the teachings of Tleugabulov ‘288 at [0013], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raick US 3231254 A as applied to Claims 15 and 17-21 above, in view of Zhang et al. CN 101555532 A.
Regarding Claim 28, Raick ‘254 discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the concentration of reducing gas used in the furnace.
However, Zhang et al. ‘532 teaches a blast furnace for ironmaking utilizing a reducing gas comprising 0-3% CO2, 30-70% CO, 0-10% H2 and 0-10% N2 [0012], overlapping the instantly claimed concentration ranges.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to utilize the reducing gas composition taught in Zhang et al. ‘532 in order to efficiently reduce iron based on the teachings of Zhang et al. [008-0013], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JP 2003171708 A teaches enlargements formed within the blast furnace stave to deflect falling burden.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733