DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 14, 15 and 22 have been amended, claims 20 and 24 have been canceled, and therefore claims 14-19, 21-23, 25 and 26 are currently under consideration in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the triangular shape front face of the external casing recited in the amended claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-19, 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slagley (US Patent No. 4,572,487).
Regarding claim 14, Slagley teaches a device (i.e., tuyere (12), see abstract, column 1, lines 5-20, column 3, lines 44-56 and figures 1&2) configured to inject a hot gas into a shaft furnace (see column 3, lines 44-45), the device comprising: an external casing (i.e., main tubular tuyere portion (15), see figure 2 and column 3, lines 58-68) having a rear (i.e., upstream end (16) see figure 2 and column 3, lines 58-68) and a front face (i.e. downstream nose portion (17) , see figure 2 and column 3, lines 58-68), the front face being provided with an outlet for gas injection into the shaft furnace (see in figure 2, the nose portion (17) defines an opening for gas discharge into the furnace reaction space); and an internal casing (i.e., the replaceable liner (20) comprising a metallic liner (22) and a refractory layer (23), see figures 2 and 4 and column 3, lines 58-68) located inside the external casing (15) and made of a steel (i.e., the liner (22) is made of stainless steel, see column 5, lines 27-29) able to resist to a temperature up to 1200°C (see column 4, lines 18-32 and column 5, lines 18-30).
With respect to the amendment to claim 14, calling for the front face of the external casing has a triangular shape, Slagley in figures 2 and 4, shows an injection device in which the front face of the external casing (i.e., main tubular tuyere portion (15), see figure 2 and column 3, lines 58-68) that appears to be circular in shape, but fails to teach said front face being triangular in shape as claimed. However, with reference to MPEP 2144.04. IV.B which pertains to the obviousness of changes in shape, similar to the instantly-claimed shape of the front face of the external casing and that taught by Slagley, the court held that he configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container “was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.” In this instant case the circular shape front face of the external casing of Slagley equally performs hot gas injection into the blast furnace reaction space effective to yield the expected result in the iron ore smelting process. Furthermore, none of the figures in the drawing show said claimed triangular shape front face of the external casing to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand and/or appreciate the structure being claimed for a prior art to be applied to.
Furthermore, it is noted that though the tuyere assembly of Slagley is used for
performing injection of hot gas or hot air blast into the blast furnace and not necessarily for performing reducing gas injection as stated in the preamble of the claim, however, it is capable of injection a reducing gas in that (1) a reducing gas is in the same state of matter as hot gas and (2) it includes substantially all and/or the same structure features as claimed. In addition, the reducing as recited in the instant claim only constitutes an intended use of the claim injection device. In addition, with reference to MPEP 2114.II., the Court held that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and that A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed
apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from
a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the
claim.
Regarding claim 15, Slagley teaches an injection device in which the refractory
layer 23, see figures 2 and 4) is located between the external casing (15) and the internal casing (steel liner 22 of the inner casing, see column 3, lines 62-68).
Regarding claim 16, Slagley teaches an injection device in which the internal steel casing (22) is made of stainless steel (see column 5, lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 17, Slagley teaches an injection device or tuyere (12, see figure 2) which comprises at least an inner casing (22) that is uncooled or in other words has no attached cooling jacket provided (see column 5, lines 14-17); and therefore; Slagley figure 2 substantially reads on the claim.
Regarding claim 18, Slagley teaches an injection device in which the shaft furnace is a blast furnace (see abstract and column 3, lines 44-45).
Regarding claim 19, Slagley teaches an injection device that is fastened or bolted
to the shaft furnace or blast furnace wall (10, see figure 1 and column 4, lines 55 -68).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Slagley in figures 1 and 2, shows a tuyere (12) designed with a downward inclination, and with the internal casing (22&23) also aligned in the same inclination therewith, hence injection of the hot gas into the blast furnace reaction space would necessarily be downward in the same manner as claimed; furthermore, because the internal casing as shown in figure 2 for example is inclined slightly with respect to the horizontal axis at a none zero angle to blast furnace wall, the claimed angle of inclination α between 0 and 30° is met. Thus, Slagley figures 1 and 2
read on both claims 21 and 22.
Claims 25 and 26, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Slagley (US Patent No. 4,572,487) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Stoecker (US Patent No. 1,994,115).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Slagley fails to teach an injection device in which
the front face of the external casing is composed of an upper part and of a lower part,
the lower part being recessed from the upper part and the gas injection outlet being provided in the lower part of the front face or the lower part being inwardly chamfered from the upper part and the gas injection outlet being provided in the lower part of the front face.
Stoecker teaches an injection device in the form of a tuyere configured for gas injection into a shaft furnace (see Stoecker, figures 1 and 3 and the entire disclosure); wherein the tuyere includes an external casing having a front face composed of an upper part (i.e. wedge like insertion 2, see Stoecker , figures 1 and 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 5-20) and of a lower part (i.e., lower inner nozzle plate 3, see Stoecker , figures 1 and 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 5-20) the lower part being recessed from the upper part and the gas injection outlet being provided in the lower part of the front face (see figure 3 shows as such) or the lower part being inwardly chamfered (see in figure 3, the lower part or plate 3 is chamfered) from the upper part; and with and the gas injection outlet being provided in the lower part of the front face.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the injection device or tuyere of Slagley to include lower part being recessed from the upper part and lower part being inwardly chamfered from the upper part as taught by Stoecker to provide the benefit of preventing burden
material from obstructing the tuyere gas injection outlet (see Stoecker, entire
disclosure).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Slagley (US Patent No. 4,572,487) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Miller (US Patent No.1,298,761).
Slagley fails to teach a stone box on the upper part of the front face.
Miller teaches a device (i.e., supplementary tuyere 150, see figures 1 &3, page 2, lines 86-104 and page 3, lines 1-14) for injecting at least a hot gas into a shaft furnace, the device having a nozzle portion (34, see figures 1 and 3) defining an upper part and a lower part (see figures 1 and 3), and a fire brick mass (38, see figure 3) provide at said upper part to reinforce and strengthen said upper part to increase the service life of the front face or hot face of the nozzle portion (34, see page 3, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the injection device or tuyere of Slagley to provide a fire brick mass at said upper part of the front face or hot face of the nozzle portion as exemplified by Miller so as to provide the advantage and/or benefit of reinforcing and/or strengthening said upper part to increase the service life of the front face or hot face of the nozzle portion.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/17/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of copending application serial No. 18/026,061 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal argument is that claim 14 as instantly amended recites the limitation the front face of the external casing has a triangular shape, and that the specification as originally filed states that the shape in the claimed features of the front face of the external casing has a triangular shape is significant, as it results in a different function. Specifically, the triangular shape has the advantages of decreasing the mechanical load on the front face and making the granular materials flow of the front face smoother, and the circular shape of Slagley fails to provide such a function.
In response, it is noted that, while the Examiner recognizes the stated difference
between the claimed triangular shaped front face of the external casing and the circular shape front face of the external casing taught by Slagley, and the stated advantages of the claimed triangular shape over the circular shape of Slagley, it should also be pointed out that none of the figures in the drawing show said claimed triangular shape front face of the external casing to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand and/or appreciate the structure being claimed for a prior art to be applied to. In the absence of said figure showing said triangular shaped front face and any evidence showing the significance and/or advantages thereof, the Examiner in the instant office action has interpreted the claimed triangular shaped front face as a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gammon et al. (US 4,371,151) is also cited in PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
final action.
examiner should be directed to MICHAEL ABOAGYE whose telephone number is (571)272-8165. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-5:00PM.
/M.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759