DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 04/30/2026 in which claims 13-16 have been newly added. By this amendment, claims 1-16 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative argues that:
Lee does NOT disclose that the control unit 133 is connected to the node to receive the input voltage from the battery module 20, rather it receives the output voltage of the DC-DC voltage converter 131. Accordingly, Lee does not disclose or suggest the features of claim 1 because Lee discloses that the control unit 133 uses the output voltage of the voltage converter 131. In light of the foregoing, Applicant respectfully submits Lee does not anticipate claim 1.
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that paragraph [0060] states that [T]he driving voltage output on the power output terminal OUT is for the control unit 133 and the watchdog timer 134. Of course, at least one of the sensing unit 110 and the communication unit 120 as well as the control unit 133 and the watchdog timer 134 may operate using a driving voltage. Examiner further submits that the control unit 133 is connected to the node via the sensing unit 110 and/or via the DC-DC voltage converter 131 and/or the power switch 132, as shown in Fig. 2 and [0058] further teaches that: [t]he power switch diagnostic device 130 includes a DC-DC voltage converter 131, a power switch 132, a control unit 133, and a watchdog timer 134. As a result, the control unit 133 is included in the converter driving unit(see [0067],[0069]).
Therefore rejections are maintained where arguments were found not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee at al., (Lee) KR20200051394A(Machine Translation)
Regarding claim 1: Lee at least discloses and shows in Fig. 2: A battery management apparatus(100)(see Fig. 2 and [0047]), comprising: a converter unit(131)(included in power switch diagnostic device 130)(see [0058]-[0062]) electrically connected to a node(construed as junction between 20/B+ and 132/30 respectively; see Fig. 2) between a battery(20) and a first end of a positive electrode relay(30) connected in series to the battery(see Fig. 1), the converter unit(131) being configured to convert a voltage of the battery into a predetermined voltage and output the predetermined voltage based on an operation mode(see [0059]-[0060]); and a converter driving unit(construed as control unit 133 which is included in the power switch diagnostic device 130; see [0058],[0061]-[0063]) connected to the node to receive the battery voltage from the battery(20)(see [0059]), the converter driving unit(133) being configured to control the operation mode of the converter unit(131) to a shutdown mode(construed as turn-off state; see [0062]-[0063])(note- When the voltage of the signal is less than the threshold voltage or when a control signal is not input, the operating state is changed to a turn-off state) in which the converter unit(131) is inactivated or a wakeup mode(construed as turn-on state; see [0062]-[0063])(note-the power switch 132, the operation state is changed to the turn-on state only when the voltage of the control signal input from the control unit 133 is greater than or equal to the threshold voltage (e.g., 5V)) in which the battery voltage is applied to activate the converter unit(131) according to whether a converter driving signal is input to the converter driving unit from the outside(1)(see [0064]-[0065],[0072],[0075],[0098], [0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses, wherein the converter driving unit(133) is configured to control the operation mode of the converter unit(131) to the shutdown mode(construed as turn-off state; see [0062]-[0063]), when the converter driving signal is not input(note- When the voltage of the signal is less than the threshold voltage or when a control signal is not input, the operating state is changed to a turn-off state), and wherein the converter driving unit is configured to control the operation mode of the converter unit(131) to the wakeup mode(construed as turn-on state; see [0062]-[0063]), when the converter driving signal is input(note-in the power switch 132, the operation state is changed to the turn-on state only when the voltage of the control signal input from the control unit 133 is greater than or equal to the threshold voltage (e.g., 5V)).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee discloses, further comprising: a control unit(133) configured to control an operation state of the control unit to an inactive mode(construed as turn-off state; see [0062]-[0063]) or an active mode(construed as turn-on state; see [0062]-[0063]) based on whether a power is applied according to the operation mode of the converter unit(131), and control an operation state of the positive electrode relay(30) according to the controlled operation state(see [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 7. Lee further discloses, wherein the control unit(133) is configured to: control the operation state to the active mode(turn-on state; see [0062]-[0063]) by receiving the power from the converter unit(131), when the operation mode of the converter unit is controlled to the wakeup mode(construed as turn-on state; see [0062]-[0065]), and wherein the control unit(133) is configured to control the operation state to the inactive mode(turn-off state; see [0062]-[0065]) by not receiving the power from the converter unit(131), when the operation mode of the converter unit is controlled to the shutdown mode(construed as turn-off state; see [0016],[0026],[0030],[0063]-[0065],[0082],[0101]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 8. Lee further discloses, wherein the control unit(133) is configured to: control the operation state of the positive electrode relay(30) to a turn-off state, when the operation state is controlled from the active mode to the inactive mode([0016],[0026],[0030],[0063]-[0065],[0082],[0101]-[0102]), and wherein the control unit(133) is configured to control the operation state of the positive electrode relay to a turn-on state, when the operation state is controlled from the inactive mode to the active mode([0062]-[0064],[0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses a battery pack(10)(see [0042]-[0043], [0045], [0051] ,[0123]), comprising the battery management apparatus(100) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses a battery system(see Fig. 2), comprising: the battery pack(10) according to claim 10; and a load(construed as external device 1 which is, e.g., an auxiliary battery for an electric vehicle; see [0059]) connected to a positive electrode terminal(P+)(see [0045]) and a negative electrode terminal(P-)(see [0045]) of the battery pack(10) and configured to output the converter driving signal(as output by OUT signal of 131) to the converter driving unit(133) according to an operation state of a switching unit(132)([0059]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 11. Lee further discloses, wherein the load(1) is configured to switch the operation mode of the converter unit(131) to the wakeup mode by outputting the converter driving signal before starting charging of the battery by being connected to the battery pack(10). (note- the first photo relay 121 may convert a shutdown command from the external device 1 into a shutdown signal. As another example, the first photo relay 121 may convert a wake-up command from the external device 1 into a wake-up signal. The shutdown command is for directing the battery management device 100 from the wakeup mode to the shutdown mode. The wake-up command is for guiding the battery management device 100 from the shutdown mode to the wake-up mode. In the shutdown mode, power consumption by the battery management device 100 is stopped. On the other hand, in the wake-up mode, the battery management apparatus 100 operates using the power supplied from the battery module 20 or an external power source; see [0053], [0059] and [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses, wherein the converter driving unit(133) is directly connected to the node(via sensing unit 110 via voltage sensor 111) to receive(via sensing terminals S1) the voltage of the battery(20)(see [0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 13. Lee further discloses, wherein the voltage of the battery(20) and the predetermined voltage(output of DC-DC voltage converter 131) have different voltage values(obviously the output voltage from the DC-DC converter is either step-up or step-down depending on the characteristics of the converter).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses, wherein the converter driving unit is configured to generate and output a control signal for controlling the operation mode of the converter unit(131), to the converter unit according to whether the converter driving signal is received by the converter driving unit from a load(see [0059],[0060],[0067],[0069])(note- The power output terminal OUT outputs a driving voltage generated from the input voltage. That is, the DC-DC voltage converter 131 may generate a driving voltage using the input voltage applied on the power input terminal IN, and output the generated driving voltage on the power output terminal OUT).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Lee further discloses, wherein the converter driving unit includes an element(132) directly connected between the node(construed as junction between 20/B+ and 132/30 respectively; see Fig. 2) and the converter unit(131) and configured to control the operation mode of the converter driving unit by sending the battery voltage input from the node to the converter unit according to an operation state of the element(132)(see [0060]-[0065]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest, wherein the converter driving unit includes: a field effect transistor (FET), connected between the node and the converter unit and configured to control the operation mode of the converter driving unit by sending the battery voltage input from the node to the converter unit according to an operation state of the FET; and a FET control unit configured to control the operation state of the FET to a turn-on state or a turn-off state according to whether the converter driving signal is input to the converter driving unit.
Claims 4-6 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1 and therefore are allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 May 26, 2026