DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 3-4, 7-10 and 13-14 have been amended.
Claims: 2, 5-6 and 10-12 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER NOTES:
The examiner notes that the previous claim objection for claim 1, 8, 12 and 14 indicated in pages 2-3 of the previous office action filed on 05/15/25 has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s current amendments.
In addition, the examiner also notes that the applicant’s amendments have changed the scope of the claims which necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NINGLEKHU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0052699 herein after referenced as Ning) in view of MURRAY et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0156583 herein after referenced as Murray).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 14, Ning discloses:
A wireless terminal of a radio access network (RAN), and A method for a wireless terminal of a radio access network (RAN), (Ning, Fig. 8A & [0381] discloses the example communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units WTRUs (i.e. reads on wireless terminal), a Radio Access Network RAN (i.e. reads on a RAN), etc. and each of the WTRUs may be any type of apparatus or device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment including by way of example only, user equipment UE).
the RAN supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service within a public land mobile network (PLMN), (Ning, [0195] discloses first RAN node may trigger inter-frequency cell change to second RAN node (i.e. reads on the RAN) which supports requested NSSAIs (i.e. reads on supporting one or more network slices) and is in UE’s location / TA; Ning, [0088]-[0089] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) which may comprise a Slice/Service Type SST and a Slice Differentiator SD and the SST refers to the expected Network Slice behavior in terms of features and services (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) and discloses an S-NSSAI with a non-standard value identifies a single Network Slice within the PLMN (i.e. reads on within a PLMN) with which it is associated).
the wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive, from a first cell of the RAN, a message comprising network slice band association information, (Ning, Fig. 5B & [0233] discloses a UE (i.e. reads on the wireless terminal) may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI Frequency Band combination (i.e. reads on network slice band association information) and with the Registration Accept message (i.e. reads on a message), the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node (i.e. reads on receive from a first cell of the RAN) provisions the UE with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and Fig. 5B shows the UE receives the registration message that includes NSSAI, with each S-NSSAI and FR band relation, RFSP index, alternative allowed NSSAI from the RAN; Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell, the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band; Ning, Fig. 8C & [0406] discloses the RAN may include Node-Bs which may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs over the air interface and the Node-Bs may each be associated with a particular cell within the RAN; Ning, Fig. 8B & [0396] discloses the example WTRU may include a processor, a transceiver, a transmit/receive element, etc.).
the network slice band association information comprising one or more network slice identifiers, each of the one or more network slice identifiers identifying a network slice and being associated with at least one radio frequency, the at least one radio frequency indicating at least one frequency domain interval on which a network slice identified by each of the one or more network slice identifiers is supported, (Ning, Fig. [0233]-[0234] discloses a UE may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on one or more network slice identifiers, each of the one or more network slice identifiers identifying a network slice) Frequency Band (i.e. reads on and being associated with at least one radio frequency) combination (i.e. reads on network slice band association information comprising) and with the Registration Accept message, the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node provisions the UE with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and discloses a UE may need to be camped on a proper PLMN for which, frequency bands and corresponding slices accessible through those bands (i.e. reads on the at least one radio frequency indicating at least one frequency domain interval on which a network slice identified by each of the one or more network slice identifiers is supported) are configured so that UEs could have access and therefore, UE route selection policy may be enhanced to indicate a relation among the PLMN where UE is camped, the slice(s) that UE is able to access and the operating frequency band that UE needs to use to reach the network slice; Ning, [0088] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI which may comprise a Slice/Service Type SST and a Slice Differentiator SD and the SST refers to the expected Network Slice behavior in terms of features and services; Ning, [0236] discloses having PLMN ID and OFB information along with a network slice information forms a relation between these three components of RSD and having PLMN ID and Operating frequency band in the Route Selection Components can ensure that the UE moves to a desires PLMN/Frequency band combination and having PLMN ID and OFB in the Route Selection Validation Criteria can be used to configure the UE to only attempt to establish the route if the UE is already camping in the PLMN and using the Frequency Band; Ning, [0108] discloses each network slice may support or operate in the different radio frequency range based on the type of service it offers; Ning, [0004] discloses a UE may receive from the network an allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information NSSAI and Operating Frequency Band OFB for each Single Network Slice Selection Assistance which the network configures as a part of UE access and mobility subscription, during a UE registration procedure).
the first cell being operated on a first radio frequency; (Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell (i.e. reads on the first cell), the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band (i.e. reads on being operated on a first radio frequency); Ning, [0195] discloses first RAN node may trigger inter-frequency cell change to second RAN node which supports requested NSSAIs and is in UE’s location / TA).
and processor circuitry configured to: select at least one network slice of a serving PLMN; (Ning, [0376] discloses the UE may be allowed to trigger PLMN reselection when the UE evaluates a URSP rule and finds that a route cannot be established for a piece of traffic because the desired S-NSSAI’s (i.e. reads on select at least one network slice) are not available in the UE's current location in the PLMN (i.e. reads on of a serving PLMN); Ning, [0101] discloses an allowed NSSAI is an NSSAI provided by the serving PLMN; Ning, [0371] discloses the network may configure the UE with information about what PLMN slice such as S-NSSAI is available in and the regions within a PLMN where a slice is available and once the UE is aware of the availability of a slice within a PLMN, the UE, may consider this information during PLMN selection and PLMN reselection; Ning, [0374] discloses two different network slices may be available in two different PLMNs and Mapping of S-NSSAIs for both the S-NSSAIs may be available and in such a case, UE may use a pre-defined slice priority to select the slice and hence, select the PLMN where it is available; Ning, [0435] discloses any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions such as program code stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform and/or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein).
based on the message, make a determination of whether the at least one network slice is not supported (Ning, [0376] discloses the UE may be allowed to trigger PLMN reselection (i.e. reads on initiate a PLMN selection procedure to select a PLMN different) when the UE evaluates a URSP rule (i.e. reads on based on the message) and finds (i.e. reads on make a determination of whether) that a route cannot be established for a piece of traffic because the desired S-NSSAI’s are not available (i.e. reads on the at least one network slice is not supported and reads on in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported) in the UE's current location in the PLMN (i.e. reads on from the serving PLMN; Ning, [0147] discloses if the UE attempts to access a slice via a PLMN that does not allow access to the slice and is rejected, should the UE attempt to switch to a different PLMN; Ning, [0233]-[0234] discloses a UE may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI Frequency Band combination and with the Registration Accept message, the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node provisions the UE with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and discloses a UE may need to be camped on a proper PLMN for which, frequency bands and corresponding slices accessible through those bands are configured so that UEs could have access and therefore, UE route selection policy may be enhanced to indicate a relation among the PLMN where UE is camped, the slice(s) that UE is able to access and the operating frequency band that UE needs to use to reach the network slice).
Ning discloses the UE determining when the desired slice is not available in the current location of the PLMN and triggering PLMN reselection and in addition, Ning, [0028] discloses the RAN may identify the requested slice and the OFB associated with the requested slice and based on the requested slice and the UE’s current OFB, the RAN may allow to further the PDU session establishment process, otherwise may direct UE to change OFB before continuing the PDU session establishment procedure but fails to explicitly disclose that the UE makes the determination for performing the reselection by determining that the desired slice is not supported by the radio frequencies and therefore fails to disclose “based on the message, make a determination of whether the at least one network slice is not supported on any radio frequencies” and “in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported in any radio frequencies”.
In a related field of endeavor, Murray discloses:
based on the message, make a determination of whether the at least one network slice is not supported on any radio frequencies; in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported in any radio frequencies (Murray, [0123] discloses NAS or AS signaling may be used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN such as the frequency or frequencies, cells, RNAs, TAs, or RAs that support a given network slice and for example, Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided (i.e. reads on based on the message) by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer and after being informed of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, the UE may determine (i.e. reads on make a determination) whether or not a given cell supports the network slice (i.e. reads on whether the at least one network slice is not supported and reads on in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported) based on the cell's Physical Cell ID PCI; corresponding RNA, TA, or RA; or the frequency layer (i.e. reads on on any radio frequencies) on which the cell is operating and awareness of which network slices are available in a given cell may then be used enable slice-based cell selection and reselection in accordance with the subject matter described herein; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ning to incorporate the teachings of Murray for the purpose of providing the system with a means to perform slice aware PLMN reselection when it is determined that a current slice is not supported in the frequency corresponding to the UEs current location within the PLMN in order to allow the UE to receive the desired service (Murray, [0123] & [0236]-[0237]) at another PLMN and providing the system with a means to inform the UEs with regards to the slice based reselection parameters (Murray, [0200]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice as taught by Ning) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice, wherein the determining that the current location does not support the desired slice is performing by determining whether the frequency supports the desired slice and wherein the slice based reselection information is transmitted via system information or dedicated RRC release messages as taught by Murray) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice as taught by Ning & Murray) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The wireless terminal of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the message comprises at least one system information message (Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select).
Regarding claim 4, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The wireless terminal of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the message comprises a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Release message (Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select).
Regarding claim 7, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The wireless terminal of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the at least one network slice is not supported on the any radio frequencies, in a case that the network slice band association information does not include a network slice identifier, among the one or more network slice identifiers, of the at least one network slice (Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell, the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band and the scheme by which a UE can only access the network slices if the slices are available in UE's current OFB can be referred to as UE-OFB3 policy and there could be a scenario where the UE might request slices that may not be all available in the UE's current OFB and in such a case, the Registration Request may be rejected by the network with a cause code and the cause code in the Registration Reject message may provide the reason for rejection and further information to the UE or to the RAN node about the OFBs where all the requested slices are available triggering the UE to move to a different operating frequency band; Ning, [0028] discloses the RAN may identify the requested slice and the OFB associated with the requested slice and based on the requested slice and the UE’s current OFB, the RAN may allow to further the PDU session establishment process, otherwise may direct UE to change OFB before continuing the PDU session establishment procedure; Murray, [0123] discloses NAS or AS signaling may be used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN such as the frequency or frequencies, cells, RNAs, TAs, or RAs that support a given network slice and for example, Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer and after being informed of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, the UE may determine whether or not a given cell supports the network slice based on the cell's Physical Cell ID PCI; corresponding RNA, TA, or RA; or the frequency layer on which the cell is operating and awareness of which network slices are available in a given cell may then be used enable slice-based cell selection and reselection in accordance with the subject matter described herein).
Regarding claim 8, Ning discloses:
An access node of a radio access network (RAN), (Ning, Fig. 8C & [0406] discloses the RAN (i.e. reads on a RAN) may include Node-Bs (i.e. reads on access node) which may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs over the air interface and the Node-Bs may each be associated with a particular cell within the RAN; Ning, Fig. 8A & [0381] discloses the example communications system may include wireless transmit/receive units WTRUs, a Radio Access Network RAN, etc. and each of the WTRUs may be any type of apparatus or device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment including by way of example only, user equipment UE).
the RAN supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service within a public land mobile network (PLMN), (Ning, [0195] discloses first RAN node may trigger inter-frequency cell change to second RAN node (i.e. reads on the RAN) which supports requested NSSAIs (i.e. reads on supporting one or more network slices) and is in UE’s location / TA; Ning, [0088]-[0089] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on each of the one or more network slices) which may comprise a Slice/Service Type SST and a Slice Differentiator SD and the SST refers to the expected Network Slice behavior in terms of features and services (i.e. reads on providing a designated service) and discloses an S-NSSAI with a non-standard value identifies a single Network Slice within the PLMN (i.e. reads on within a PLMN) with which it is associated).
the access node comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate a message comprising network slice band association information, (Ning, Fig. 5B & [0233] discloses a UE may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI Frequency Band combination (i.e. reads on network slice band association information) and with the Registration Accept message, the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node provisions (i.e. reads on access node generate a message) the UE with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and Fig. 5B shows the UE receives the registration message that includes NSSAI, with each S-NSSAI and FR band relation, RFSP index, alternative allowed NSSAI from the RAN; Ning, [0329] discloses the RAN identifies the OFB where the requested slice is available and sends a NAS message back to the UE suggesting the OFB via which the slice may be accessible; Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell, the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band; Ning, [0435] discloses any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions such as program code stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform and/or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein).
the network slice band association information(Ning, Fig. [0233]-[0234] discloses a UE may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI (i.e. reads on one or more network slice identifiers, each of the one or more network slice identifiers identifying a network slice) Frequency Band (i.e. reads on and being associated with at least one radio frequency) combination (i.e. reads on network slice band association information comprising) and with the Registration Accept message, the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node provisions the UE (i.e. reads on transmit, to a wireless terminal, the message in a first cell) with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and discloses a UE may need to be camped on a proper PLMN for which, frequency bands and corresponding slices accessible through those bands (i.e. reads on the at least one radio frequency indicating at least one frequency domain interval on which a network slice identified by each of the one or more network slice identifiers is supported) are configured so that UEs could have access and therefore, UE route selection policy may be enhanced to indicate a relation among the PLMN where UE is camped, the slice(s) that UE is able to access and the operating frequency band that UE needs to use to reach the network slice; Ning, [0088] discloses a network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI which may comprise a Slice/Service Type SST and a Slice Differentiator SD and the SST refers to the expected Network Slice behavior in terms of features and services; Ning, [0236] discloses having PLMN ID and OFB information along with a network slice information forms a relation between these three components of RSD and having PLMN ID and Operating frequency band in the Route Selection Components can ensure that the UE moves to a desires PLMN/Frequency band combination and having PLMN ID and OFB in the Route Selection Validation Criteria can be used to configure the UE to only attempt to establish the route if the UE is already camping in the PLMN and using the Frequency Band; Ning, [0108] discloses each network slice may support or operate in the different radio frequency range based on the type of service it offers; Ning, [0004] discloses a UE may receive from the network an allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information NSSAI and Operating Frequency Band OFB for each Single Network Slice Selection Assistance which the network configures as a part of UE access and mobility subscription, during a UE registration procedure; Ning, Fig. 8C & [0406] discloses the RAN may include Node-Bs which may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs over the air interface and the Node-Bs may each be associated with a particular cell within the RAN).
the first cell being operated on a first radio frequency, (Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell (i.e. reads on the first cell), the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band (i.e. reads on being operated on a first radio frequency); Ning, [0195] discloses first RAN node may trigger inter-frequency cell change to second RAN node which supports requested NSSAIs and is in UE’s location / TA).
wherein the message is used by the wireless terminal to make a determination of whether at least one network slice selected by the wireless terminal is not supported (Ning, [0376] discloses the UE may be allowed to trigger PLMN reselection (i.e. reads on initiate a PLMN selection procedure to select a PLMN different) when the UE (i.e. reads on by the wireless terminal) evaluates a URSP rule (i.e. reads on wherein the message is used) and finds (i.e. reads on make a determination of whether) that a route cannot be established for a piece of traffic because the desired S-NSSAI’s are not available (i.e. reads on the at least one network slice is not supported and reads on in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported) in the UE's current location in the PLMN (i.e. reads on from the serving PLMN; Ning, [0147] discloses if the UE attempts to access a slice via a PLMN that does not allow access to the slice and is rejected, should the UE attempt to switch to a different PLMN; Ning, [0233]-[0234] discloses a UE may receive Allowed NSSAI and OFBs for each S-NSSAIs and additionally, URSP rules may be enhanced to steer the UE towards a proper S-NSSAI Frequency Band combination and with the Registration Accept message, the RAN node is also provided with several important pieces of information such as RFSP index, RAT restrictions, Forbidden Area, Service Area Restrictions, Core Network type restriction and Closed Access Group information, RFSP index and corresponding frequency spectrum information allows RAN to manage resources suitable for the UE and the RAN node provisions the UE with operating frequency band information according to RFSP index received and discloses a UE may need to be camped on a proper PLMN for which, frequency bands and corresponding slices accessible through those bands are configured so that UEs could have access and therefore, UE route selection policy may be enhanced to indicate a relation among the PLMN where UE is camped, the slice(s) that UE is able to access and the operating frequency band that UE needs to use to reach the network slice).
Ning discloses the UE determining when the desired slice is not available in the current location of the PLMN and triggering PLMN reselection and in addition, Ning, [0028] discloses the RAN may identify the requested slice and the OFB associated with the requested slice and based on the requested slice and the UE’s current OFB, the RAN may allow to further the PDU session establishment process, otherwise may direct UE to change OFB before continuing the PDU session establishment procedure but fails to explicitly disclose that the UE makes the determination for performing the reselection by determining that the desired slice is not supported by the radio frequencies and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the message is used by the wireless terminal to make a determination of whether at least one network slice selected by the wireless terminal is not supported on any radio frequencies;” and “in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported in any radio frequencies.”
In a related field of endeavor, Murray discloses:
wherein the message is used by the wireless terminal to make a determination of whether at least one network slice selected by the wireless terminal is not supported on any radio frequencies; in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported in any radio frequencies (Murray, [0123] discloses NAS or AS signaling may be used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN such as the frequency or frequencies, cells, RNAs, TAs, or RAs that support a given network slice and for example, Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided (i.e. reads on wherein the message) by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer and after being informed of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, the UE may determine (i.e. reads on is used by the wireless terminal to make a determination) whether or not a given cell supports the network slice (i.e. reads on whether the at least one network slice selected by the wireless terminal is not supported and reads on in a case that the at least one network slice is not supported) based on the cell's Physical Cell ID PCI; corresponding RNA, TA, or RA; or the frequency layer (i.e. reads on on any radio frequencies) on which the cell is operating and awareness of which network slices are available in a given cell may then be used enable slice-based cell selection and reselection in accordance with the subject matter described herein; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ning to incorporate the teachings of Murray for the purpose of providing the system with a means to perform slice aware PLMN reselection when it is determined that a current slice is not supported in the frequency corresponding to the UEs current location within the PLMN in order to allow the UE to receive the desired service (Murray, [0123] & [0236]-[0237]) at another PLMN and providing the system with a means to inform the UEs with regards to the slice based reselection parameters (Murray, [0200]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice as taught by Ning) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice, wherein the determining that the current location does not support the desired slice is performing by determining whether the frequency supports the desired slice and wherein the slice based reselection information is transmitted via system information or dedicated RRC release messages as taught by Murray) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing reselection when the current location does not support the desired slice as taught by Ning & Murray) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The access node of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the message comprises at least one system information message (Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select).
Regarding claim 10, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The access node of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein a dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) message comprises an RRC Release message (Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling; Murray, [0202] discloses the RRCRelease message may include information that can be used to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers; Murray, [0138] discloses RAN signaling such as system information or dedicated signaling such as an RRCrelease message may be used to configure or override some or all of the CRS-NSSAI; Murray, [0134] discloses an S-NSSAI may only be available on a specific frequency and the upper layers may provide an indication of the frequency on which an S-NSSAI is available and for example, a field may be included in the CRS-NSSAI to indicate the frequency or frequencies on which an S-NSSAI is available; Murray, [0236]-[0237] discloses to enable slice-aware PLMN selection, information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may also be reported to the NAS and network slice availability may be defined on a cell, RNA, TA, RA, or frequency layer basis and discloses the NAS may use the slice availability information, on its own or in combination with other information that may be reported by the UE, e.g. RSRP of the cell, when determining which PLMN to select).
Regarding claim 13, Ning in view of Murray discloses:
The access node of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the at least one network slice is not supported on the any radio frequencies, in a case that the network slice band association information does not include a network slice identifier, among the one or more network slice identifiers, of the at least one network slice (Ning, [0172] discloses for a UE that is camped in a cell, the Allowed NSSAI received by the UE in a Registration Accept message shall only contain a set of S-NSSAIs that are all available in the current operating frequency band and the scheme by which a UE can only access the network slices if the slices are available in UE's current OFB can be referred to as UE-OFB3 policy and there could be a scenario where the UE might request slices that may not be all available in the UE's current OFB and in such a case, the Registration Request may be rejected by the network with a cause code and the cause code in the Registration Reject message may provide the reason for rejection and further information to the UE or to the RAN node about the OFBs where all the requested slices are available triggering the UE to move to a different operating frequency band; Ning, [0028] discloses the RAN may identify the requested slice and the OFB associated with the requested slice and based on the requested slice and the UE’s current OFB, the RAN may allow to further the PDU session establishment process, otherwise may direct UE to change OFB before continuing the PDU session establishment procedure; Murray, [0123] discloses NAS or AS signaling may be used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN such as the frequency or frequencies, cells, RNAs, TAs, or RAs that support a given network slice and for example, Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer and after being informed of the availability of a network slice within a PLMN, the UE may determine whether or not a given cell supports the network slice based on the cell's Physical Cell ID PCI; corresponding RNA, TA, or RA; or the frequency layer on which the cell is operating and awareness of which network slices are available in a given cell may then be used enable slice-based cell selection and reselection in accordance with the subject matter described herein).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645