DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that by changing the limitation “processing means” to processor 112f is no longer invoked, and they cite to paragraph 72. However, par. 72 is reciting a microcontroller/CPU. The term processor has a commonly understood structure that is capable of computing and calculating. It is unclear how a CPU has the structure that is capable of generating an electromagnetic field for welding or sensing the electromagnetic field. Therefore, 112f is still invoked because it is unclear how a processor can perform welding and sensing simultaneously. And since the specification only defines the processor as a CPU or digital signal processor (par. 72) this results in a 112a written description rejection.
Applicants argue that by changing the limitation “movement means” to movement system 112f is no longer invoked. The Office disagrees. The limitation “system” is a generic placeholder and therefore, the 112f interpretation is maintained.
Applicants argue the PHOSITA would not combine Labordus and Lunden since they teach two different and contradictory technical solutions. Labordus teaches a system with two separate coils, a joining inductor for welding and a sensing inductor for pre-scanning. And these coils perform sequentially not simultaneously.
Applicants further state that Lunden teaches a system with a single, dual-function work coil that both heats a workpiece and simultaneously senses temperature changes by measuring the coil's impedance. Thus, these two prior arts represent competing design philosophies.
The Office disagrees. Applicants are correct that Labordus discloses an embodiment where the two coils operate sequentially. However, in paragraph 22, they state "Measuring the strength of the generated electromagnetic field in the form of eddy currents is carried out by the sensing inductor. Another embodiment however comprises further measuring the field strength generated by the joining inductor in the moulded part(s) and determining a discrepancy between the measured field strength of the joining inductor and the field strength suitable for joining." This requires both the joining inductor and sensing inductor to be simultaneously operating in order for the field strength generated by the joining inductor to be detected by the sensing inductor.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Lunden's teachings and method of welding and sensing simultaneously from the same coil since Labordus' design philosophy is not limited to sequential operation but discloses simultaneous operation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites processor and claim 4 recites movement system.
Processor: A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: specification par. 72 cites “The processing means may comprise a programmable device, such as a microcontroller, central processing unit (CPU), digital signal processor (DSP).” The processor will be interpreted to be as a programmable device such as a microcontroller.
Movement system: The specifications do not cite any particular structure. For examination purposes, “movement system” will be interpreted as any structure capable of movement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 further recites the limitations processor. While applicants disclose that the processing means may comprise a programmable device such as a processor (par. 72), it does not disclose how this programmable device has the structure that is capable of performing the functions of generating an electromagnetic field for welding while simultaneously measuring a parameter of that electromagnetic field.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 further recites the limitations movement systems. The term “system” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a responding structure or technique by which the system produces movement.
A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of movement. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim
Remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “movement system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
“Movement system”. The structure of the particle separation device is not described in the specification and so, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “movement system” will be interpreted as any structure capable of producing movement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labordus (US 20210197497 A1) in view of Lunden (US 5573613 A).
Claim 1. Labordus discloses a system for controlled induction welding (joining inductors, abstract) of at least one weld seam area (weld performed in the area of the contact surface, par. 47, Fig. 1) of at least two surfaces of at least one workpiece (two contact surfaces, Fig. 1) made of a carbon fiber composite material or carbon fiber reinforced plastics (thermoplastic resin reinforced with carbon fiber, par. 47), the system comprising:
an inductor (inductor coil 1, Fig. 1) configured to be arranged in conjunction with the at least one workpiece so that the inductor is electromagnetically coupled to the at least one workpiece (inductor coil heats the contact surface through eddy current in the moulded parts, par. 49) and
a processor (inductor 1) configured to:
generate an electromagnetic field by applying an alternating voltage to the inductor so as to inductively heat at least one of the surfaces to a process temperature so that the weld seam area is welded together (joining inductor 20 has an inductor coil 22 that generates an electromagnetic field 23. This field 23 causes eddy currents 24 to occur in the moulded parts (3, 4), in particular in their contact surface, par. 49),
simultaneously as the inductor heats the at least one workpiece to the process temperature through the generated electromagnetic field, measure at least one parameter of the at least one workpiece at least based on the generated electromagnetic field (sensing inductors can be used to measure the edge effect during welding, par. 50, wherein the sensing inductor is used to measure temperature rise, par. 20),
detect a change of the at least one parameter (sensing inductor is used to measure temperature rise, par. 20), and
determine a temperature estimation of the at least one workpiece based on said detected change of the at least one parameter (sensing inductor can be used to determine the temperature, par. 20).
Labordus does not explicitly disclose that the same processor is used to measure the workpiece and weld the workpieces.
Lunden discloses induction welding of thermoplastic wherein the circuit (Fig. 5a) has two coils, one for heating 30’ and one 30 for sensing the electromagnetic waves (Fig. 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus to incorporate the teachings of Lunden and have the same circuit power both induction coil. Doing so would have the benefit of having an improved control system for continuously and automatically maintain the temperature in the bond line (col 2 liens 30-35, Lunden).
Claim 13. Labordus discloses a method for induction welding (joining inductors, abstract) at least two surfaces of at least one workpiece (weld performed in the area of the contact surface, par. 47, Fig. 1) using the system as defined in any one of the preceding claims, comprising the steps of:
providing an inductor (inductor coil 1, Fig. 1) configured to be arranged in conjunction with the at least one workpiece so that the inductor is electromagnetically coupled to the at least one workpiece (inductor coil heats the contact surface through eddy current in the moulded parts, par. 49),
providing a processor (inductor 1), generating an electromagnetic field by applying an alternating voltage to the inductor so as to inductively heat at least one of the surfaces to a process temperature so that the weld seam area is welded together (joining inductor 20 has an inductor coil 22 that generates an electromagnetic field 23. This field 23 causes eddy currents 24 to occur in the moulded parts (3, 4), in particular in their contact surface, par. 49), and
simultaneously as the inductor heats the at least one workpiece to the process temperature through the generated electromagnetic field, measuring a change of at least one parameter of the at least one workpiece at least based on the generated electromagnetic field (sensing inductors can be used to measure the edge effect during welding, par. 50, wherein the sensing inductor is used to measure temperature rise, par. 20),
detecting a change of the at least one parameter (sensing inductor is used to measure temperature rise, par. 20), and
determining a temperature estimation of the at least one workpiece based on said detected change (sensing inductor can be used to determine the temperature, par. 20),
wherein the at least one workpiece is made of a carbon fiber composite material or carbon fiber reinforced plastics (thermoplastic resin reinforced with carbon fiber, par. 47).
Labordus does not explicitly disclose that the same processor is used to measure the workpiece and weld the workpieces.
Lunden discloses induction welding of thermoplastic wherein the circuit (Fig. 5a) has two coils, one for heating 30’ and one 30 for sensing the electromagnetic waves (Fig. 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus to incorporate the teachings of Lunden and have the same circuit power both induction coil. Doing so would have the benefit of having an improved control system for continuously and automatically maintain the temperature in the bond line (col 2 liens 30-35, Lunden).
Claim 2. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to control, based on said determined temperature estimation, the operation of the system (field strength generated by the joining inductor is adjusted based on the sensing inductor, par. 49).
Claim 3. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 2, wherein the control of the operation of the system at least comprises altering the applied voltage (control of the field strength involves adjusting the voltage supplied to the joining inductor, par. 49), altering the frequency and/or causing a movement of the inductor.
Claim 4. Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a movement system configured to cause a movement of the inductor (inductors can be moved, par. 39), and
wherein the processor is further configured to control the movement of the inductor ().
Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose that the processor control the movement of the inductor.
Lunden further discloses a control system for operating the apparatus (col 3 lines 40-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus in view of Lunden to incorporate the teachings of Lunden and have the control system operate the movement of the inductor. One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of designing a control system to operate the movement of the inductors.
Claim 5. Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose the system according to claim 1, further comprising a pressure member configured to apply a pressure to the system (moulded parts are brought together under pressure, par. 31), and wherein the processor is further configured to control the applied pressure.
Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose that the processor control the applied pressure.
Lunden further discloses a control system for operating the apparatus (col 3 lines 40-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus in view of Lunden to incorporate the teachings of Lunden and have the control system control the applied pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of designing a control system to control the pressure applied to the moulded parts.
Claim 7. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is in operative communication with the inductor (circuit controls the inductor’s operation, Lunden)
Claim 9. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to provide a voltage/current with a certain frequency to the inductor (circuit provides a current at a frequency to the inductors, Fig. 5a, col 5 lines 1-10, Lunden).
Claim 10. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 1 wherein the at least one parameter measured by the processor is at least one of a frequency, a phase angle, a duty cycle, a resistance, an inductance, a peak, mean or root mean square value of a current, a power (control of the field strength involves adjusting the voltage supplied to the joining inductor, par. 49), and/or energy.
Claim 11. Labordus in view of Lunden discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the inductor comprises one single coil (inductor coil 1, par. 47).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labordus in view of Lunden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lucia, O., Navarro, D., Guillen, P., Sarnago, H., & Lucia, S. (2019). Deep learning-based magnetic coupling detection for advanced induction heating appliances. IEEE access, 7, 181668-181677.
Claim 6. Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the temperature estimation by:
using at least one neural network being fed by the at least one parameter, and/or
using at least one transfer function model being fed by the at least one parameter, and/or
using at least one autoregressive model being fed with at least two parameters.
Lucia discloses using inductive coils in an inductive heater to detect electrical parameters (page 5, col. 2, par. 3) wherein a neural network is used to model the electrical parameters to improve thermal performance (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus in view of Lunden to incorporate the teachings of Lucia and use neural networks to model the temperature estimation. Doing so would have the benefit of improving thermal performance of the inductive heater (abstract, Lucia).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labordus in view of Lunden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchida (US 20050199614 A1).
Claim 8. Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a frequency converter.
Uchida discloses an induction heating apparatus wherein multiple coils are connected to a frequency converter (par. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus in view of Lunden to incorporate the teachings of Uchida and have a frequency converter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of designing a circuit wherein a frequency converter are connected to multiple coils.
Claim 12. Labordus in view of Lunden does not disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the inductor comprises a plurality of coils being electromagnetically coupled to each other ().
Uchida discloses an induction heating apparatus wherein there are a plurality of heating coils
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labordus in view of Lunden to incorporate the teachings of Uchida and a plurality of heating coils. Doing so would have the benefit of heating up a larger area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761