DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The Amendments and Remarks filed 16 September 2026 in response to the Office Action 30 June 2026 are acknowledged and have been entered. Claims 1 and 30 are amended. Claims 2-5, 12, 14-15 and 17-29 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 6-11, 13, 16 and 30-34 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been overcome by applicant’s claim amendments. The claims have been searched and reconsidered for allowance, and new objections and rejections are set forth below partially in view of the new claim amendments.
Priority
This application is a 371 PCT of IB2021/058282 filed 08/12/2021 which claims priority to application 63079164 filed 9/16/2020.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 and 13 recites “ resulting from a single point mutation” and “wherein said point mutation is a cytosine (C) to thymine (T) mutation”, respectively; whereas claim 1 introduces a “single base pair mutation” and does not expressly introduce the term “point mutation.” Because the intended referent is reasonably apparent and “point mutation” in claims 11 and 13 is referring to the “single base pair mutation” in claim 1, claims 11 and 13 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1 and 6, respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 30: Step (c) presently recites: “maintaining said culture comprising said C. tyrobutyricum bacterium having said single base pair mutation in an exponential growth phase wherein said culture at least partially comprising an asporogenous strain of C. tyrobutyricum is produced.” The phrase “wherein said culture at least partially comprising ... is produced” is grammatically defective and obscures the relationship between maintaining the culture and producing the culture containing the asporogenous strain. It is suggested that step (c) be amended to read: “maintaining said culture comprising said C. tyrobutyricum bacterium having said single base pair mutation in an exponential growth phase, thereby producing a culture at least partially comprising an asporogenous strain of C. tyrobutyricum;”.
Claim 30 recites periods in the body of the claim It is suggested that each step should be designated as (a) vs. a. Each claim must start with a capital letter and end with a period, and periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8. 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites that “said mutation is within a DNA-binding domain.” The antecedent “said mutation” is the “single base pair mutation” recited in claim 1, i.e., a mutation at the nucleotide level in a gene. A DNA-binding domain, however, is ordinarily a structural or functional region of the protein encoded by the gene. Thus, it is unclear what relationship claim 8 requires between the nucleotide mutation and the protein DNA-binding domain. Specifically, it is unclear whether claim 8 requires (i) that the single-base-pair mutation occur within the portion of the gene encoding the DNA-binding domain, (ii) that the mutation alter an amino acid located within the DNA-binding domain, or (iii) that the mutation cause premature termination such that all or part of the DNA-binding domain is absent from the resulting protein. These interpretations impose different structural requirements on the claimed bacterium. Although the specification states that a mutation in spo0A may be “within a DNA-binding domain” [0046] and separately describes a truncated transcription factor devoid of an active DNA-binding domain [0048], those disclosures do not resolve which of the foregoing relationships is required by the language of claim 8. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim are not reasonably certain.
Claim 9 recites “wherein said mutation is an amino acid residue that interacts with DNA.” The antecedent “said mutation” in claim 1 is a single-base-pair mutation in a gene. A base-pair mutation is an alteration of a nucleotide sequence and cannot itself be an amino acid residue. Accordingly, it is unclear whether claim 9 requires (i) a nucleotide mutation within a codon encoding an amino acid residue that interacts with DNA, (ii) an amino acid substitution at a DNA-interacting residue, or (iii) a nucleotide mutation producing premature termination that eliminates a DNA-interacting residue or region. These interpretations impose materially different requirements. The specification does not cure the ambiguity. Paragraph [0047] describes “a substitution or deletion of at least one amino acid that interacts with DNA,” whereas paragraphs [0048]–[0049] separately describe a single point mutation producing a truncated transcription factor. Example 2 describes the C475T nucleotide substitution producing a premature termination codon. Claim 9 does not state which of these relationships is intended.’
Claims 1, 6-11, 13, 16 and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 30 are directed to an isolated mutant bacteria strain comprising a gene “wherein said gene comprises a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” and encodes a truncated transcription factor. The recitation of “a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” encompasses a subsequence comprising two or more consecutive nucleotides of the identified SEQ ID NO. rather than requiring the complete nucleotide sequence identified by that SEQ ID NO. As a result, the claims encompass a genus vastly broader than the particular sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 that encodes a truncated transcription factor. The specification teaches that SEQ ID NO: 1 is the nucleic acid sequence of spo0A in ASM#19 [0015]. The specification does not provide a representative number of species across the much broader genus encompassed by the claims, nor does it identify structural characteristics common to substantially all nucleic acids containing or sharing identity with any two-or-more nucleotide subsequence of the disclosed SEQ ID NO: 1 Possession of the disclosed complete nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 which encodes a truncated transcription factor does not reasonably demonstrate possession of the vastly large genus of nucleic acids that happened to contain, or have sequence to, a short subsequence thereof as these subsequences may also occur in unrelated nucleic acids that would not necessarily result in a truncated transcription factor. Accordingly, the specification does not demonstrate that the Applicant was in possession of the full genus mutant bacterium encompassed by the claims.
Dependent claims 6-11, 13, 16 and 33-34 do not limit further limit the sequence to SEQ ID NO: 1, a particular fragment, or a particular identity of SEQ ID NO: 1 and are hereby similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1 (Accession NZ_APMH01000026 Region: 51561..52344; 4/1/2017) in view of Blanchard (US 2010/0105114 Al), Kudoh (Kudoh et al. Proc. Nadl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 82, pp. 2665-2668, May 1985), Connor (Connor et al. Scientific Reports 9.1 (2019): 13722), Minton (WO2020/157487 A2) and Hatt and Youngman (Hatt and Youngman. Journal of Bacteriology 182.24 (2000): 6975-6982) as evidenced by Lewis (Lewis et al. Molecular Microbiology (2000) 38(2), 198-212), UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot: P06534.1 (2017) and UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot: P52934.2 (2017).
Regarding claim 1, the NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1 discloses the genomic sequence of Clostridium tyrobutyricum DSM 2637, also designated ATCC 25755, including the wild-type spo0A coding sequence [NZ_APMH01000026.1; insert coding-sequence coordinates and strand]. The wild-type coding sequence contains the glutamine codon CAA at codon 159, corresponding to nucleotides 475–477, numbered from the translation-initiation codon. Comparison with the claimed SEQ ID NO:1 establishes that SEQ ID NO:1 corresponds to the first 477 nucleotides of this wild-type coding sequence except for substitution of thymine for cytosine at nucleotide 475. This substitution converts CAA to the premature termination codon TAA and would terminate translation after 158 amino acids [coding-sequence nucleotides 1–477; instant application, SEQ ID NO:1]. This comparison identifies the structural difference between the claimed sequence and the prior-art sequence.
The NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1 does not expressly disclose the C475T mutation or an isolated asporogenous strain containing that mutation and encoding the resulting truncated transcription factor.
Blanchard teaches producing modified Clostridium strains having reduced sporulation activity by modifying genes involved in sporulation. Blanchard expressly identifies point mutations and codon substitutions as means of modifying such genes and further identifies premature stop codons as mutations capable of reducing their activity [[0010]–[0011], [0062]]. Blanchard also identifies Spo0A as a phosphorylation-activated transcription factor and describes identification of its clostridial homolog through sequence comparison [[0123]].
Connor teaches nonsporulating C. difficile isolates having nonsense mutations in spo0A. One isolate contains a stop codon at residue 7, whereas another contains stop codons at residues 162 and 227. Connor explains that the stop at residue 162 would permit expression of the N-terminal domain while eliminating the C-terminal domain responsible for DNA binding and transcription activation [p. 5, paragraphs 1-3; p. 7, Fig. 9]. The nonsporulating isolates yielded no viable colonies following alcohol-shock treatment, indicating the absence of spores under the tested conditions [p. 3, paragraphs 3].
Kudoh demonstrates that a single C-to-T substitution in spo0A can introduce premature termination. Specifically, substitution at nucleotide +184 converts the glutamine codon CAG at residue 62 into the termination codon TAG [p. 2667-2668, col. 1, Fig. 4A].
Hatt and Youngman distinguish the larger C-terminal effector domain of Spo0A from its smaller DNA-recognition region, identifying a putative helix-turn-helix region at residues 198–218 in B. subtilis Spo0A [Fig. 1A–B]. Hatt and Youngman teaches that the C-terminal 113 residues are known to contain the DNA-binding activity of Spo0A [abstract]. Hatt and Youngman teaches that the C-terminal half of Spo0A is highly conserved among species of endospore-forming Bacillus and Clostridium and encodes a putative helix-turn-helix DNA-binding domain [abstract]. Hatt and Youngman teaches that the R214G and R214A mutations abolished both DNA binding and transcriptional activation.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to introduce a single-base-pair nonsense mutation into the known C. tyrobutyricum spo0A sequence to produce an asporogenous strain. Blanchard provides an express reason to introduce premature termination into a sporulation-associated gene to reduce its activity, while Connor identifies Spo0A truncation before its C-terminal DNA-binding region as a mechanism associated with a nonsporulating clostridial phenotype. Kudoh further demonstrates the suitability of a single C-to-T substitution for introducing a termination codon into spo0A. In selecting a nonsense-mutation site, the artisan would have considered codons in the known sequence that could be converted to termination codons while preventing expression of the downstream DNA-recognition region. The CAA codon at position 159 provides such a single-substitution target. Alignment of the translated C. tyrobutyricum spo0A sequence disclosed in NCBI Reference Sequence NZ_APMH01000026.1 (protein WP_017895576.1) with B. subtilis Spo0A (UniProt P06534) places C. tyrobutyricum Q159 opposite B. subtilis A155, within the larger C-terminal effector domain. The conserved helix-turn-helix DNA-recognition region identified at B. subtilis residues 198–218 maps to C. tyrobutyricum residues 202–222 [Fig. 1A; accompanying sequence alignment]. An independent alignment with B. stearothermophilus Spo0A (UniProt P52934; PDB 1FC3) places C. tyrobutyricum Q159 opposite A147, likewise within the experimentally characterized C-terminal domain of Lweis [p. 199, “Structure solution and overall structure”; Fig. 1]. Accordingly, conversion of C. tyrobutyricum codon 159 from CAA to TAA by the C475T substitution terminates translation after residue 158, preventing expression of the entire downstream DNA-recognition region at residues 202–222. This alignment supports loss of that region from the encoded protein. Connor’s residue-162 truncation supports the functional consequence of truncating Spo0A before that region; the proposed modification does not depend merely on numerical proximity between residues in different species. The artisan would therefore have had reason to select the C475T substitution, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting loss of the downstream DNA-recognition region would disable Spo0A-dependent initiation of sporulation and produce an asporogenous strain. The resulting gene would contain the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 and encode a truncated Spo0A transcription factor comprising 158 amino acids. Retention of genomic DNA downstream of the premature termination codon would not prevent the gene from comprising SEQ ID NO:1. Accordingly, the proposed modification would provide the isolated asporogenous C. tyrobutyricum strain recited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the modification explained in the rejection of claim 1 replaces cytosine with thymine at nucleotide 475 of the spo0A coding sequence. Accordingly, the proposed modification expressly provides the claimed cytosine-to-thymine single-base-pair mutation [coding-sequence nucleotide 475; comparison with SEQ ID NO:1]. Kudoh further demonstrates introduction of a premature termination codon into spo0A through a single cytosine-to-thymine substitution [p. 2667, Fig. 4A].
Regarding claim 7, the proposed C475T substitution converts the glutamine codon CAA at coding-sequence nucleotides 475–477 into the termination codon TAA. Thus, the single-base-pair mutation creates a stop codon as claimed. Blanchard expressly identifies premature stop codons as mutations suitable for reducing the activity of sporulation-associated genes [0062].
Regarding clam 8, the nucleotide substitution occurs in the portion of spo0A encoding the C-terminal DNA-binding/effector domain. Hatt and Young distinguish this larger effector domain from the smaller DNA-recognition located within it [Fig. 1A-B]. According the C475T substitution described above occurs within the coding region for the DNA-binding domain, although the resulting premature termination prevents expression of the downstream DNA-recognition region.
Regarding claim 10, Connor explains that premature termination of Spo0A at residue 162 would eliminate the C-terminal domain responsible for DNA binding and transcription activation [p. 5, paragraphs 1-3; p. 7, Fig. 9]. Hatt and Youngman identify a smaller DNA-recognition region within the larger C-terminal effector domain [Fig. 1A–B]. For the structural reasons explained in the rejection of claim 1, the proposed C475T substitution would terminate translation after residue 158 and prevent expression of the downstream DNA-recognition region. Thus, the resulting truncated transcription factor would therefore lack an active DNA-binding domain.
Regarding claim 11, the truncated transcription factor of claim 10 results from the single C475T point mutation in the spo0A gene encoding that protein. No additional mutation is required to create the premature termination codon or terminate translation after residue 158. Thus, the modification explained for claims 1 and 10 also provides the additional limitation of claim 11.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1 (Accession NZ_APMH01000026 Region: 51561..52344; 4/1/2017) in view of Blanchard (US 2010/0105114 Al), Kudoh (Kudoh et al. Proc. Nadl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 82, pp. 2665-2668, May 1985), Connor (Connor et al. Scientific Reports 9.1 (2019): 13722) and Hatt and Youngman (Hatt and Youngman. Journal of Bacteriology 182.24 (2000): 6975-6982) as evidenced by Lewis (Lewis et al. Molecular Microbiology (2000) 38(2), 198-212), UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot: P06534.1 (2017) and UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot: P52934.2 (2017) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Tracy (WO 2019/200103).
The teachings of NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1, Blanchard, Kudoh, Connor and Hatt and Youngman are discussed above as applied to claim 1 and similarly apply to claim 16.
These references do not expressly teach using that strain as a food ingredient.
Tracy teaches a feed ingredient comprising at least 20% by weight C. tyrobutyricum and further teaches embodiments in which the C. tyrobutyricum is genetically modified. [[003]; claims 1 and 19.] The reference further teaches producing the feed ingredient by culturing C. tyrobutyricum to form cell mass and mechanically separating, washing, drying, pulverizing, extruding, or pelletizing the cell mass [[008], [0032]–[0034]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ the asporogenous C. tyrobutyricum strain rendered obvious by the combination as applied to claim 1 as the C. tyrobutyricum component of the feed ingredient taught by Tracy. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Tracy expressly contemplates genetically modified C. tyrobutyricum as the bacterial component of such feed ingredients and teaches harvesting and processing C. tyrobutyricum cell mass for that purpose. Substitution of the known genetically modified/asporogenous strain for the C. tyrobutyricum biomass already used in the prior-art feed ingredient would have represented the predictable use of the modified strain in an expressly taught end use.
Claims 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over NCBI Reference Sequence: NZ_APMH01000026.1 (Accession NZ_APMH01000026 Region: 51561..52344; 4/1/2017) in view of Blanchard (US 2010/0105114 Al), Kudoh (Kudoh et al. Proc. Nadl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 82, pp. 2665-2668, May 1985), Connor (Connor et al. Scientific Reports 9.1 (2019): 13722) and Hatt and Youngman (Hatt and Youngman. Journal of Bacteriology 182.24 (2000): 6975-6982), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lee (Lee et al. mBio 7(3):e00743-16. doi:10.1128/mBio.00743-16).
Regarding claim 30, the modification explained in the rejection of claim 1 provides the claimed single-base-pair mutation in the sporulation-control gene, the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, and the resulting truncated transcription factor. Blanchard teaches introducing mutations into clostridial cells and describes replacement-type mutations prepared using PCR with mismatched primers [0083]. Thus, the combined teachings provide a method of producing the claimed mutant strain, rather than merely identifying an existing strain.
Lee supplies additional teachings concerning cultivation and harvesting of C. tyrobutyricum. Specifically, Lee describes growing C. tyrobutyricum in 2× YTG medium and harvesting the cells at late exponential phase [p. 9, right column, “Isolation of genomic DNA and genome sequencing,” first paragraph]. Although Lee harvests those cells for genomic-DNA isolation, the disclosed cultivation and harvesting steps provide a known method of obtaining C. tyrobutyricum cells from an exponentially growing culture.
It would have been obvious to cultivate the modified C. tyrobutyricum strain using the known cultivation procedure and harvest the resulting cells to obtain the isolated mutant bacterium. The artisan would have been motivated to do so to propagate and recover the strain produced by the mutagenesis step. Connor provides additional support for expecting that a spo0A nonsense mutant could remain capable of vegetative growth: the nonsporulating isolates did not exhibit a statistically significant difference in growth rate from their corresponding sporulating isolates [p. 3, paragraph 4]. Accordingly, the combined teachings support providing a culture, creating the claimed mutation, cultivating the resulting mutant during exponential growth, and harvesting the asporogenous bacteria.
Regarding claims 31-32, Blanchard teaches introducing mutations through exposure to chemical agents, including nitrous acid, hydroxylamine, acridine dyes, and ethidium bromide and UV radiation [0092]. It would have been obvious to use a known chemical mutagen or UV radiation as a known alternative mutagenesis technique to generate sporulation-deficient mutants and screen for the desired phenotype of having altered sporulation activity.
Regarding claim 33, Blanchard expressly teaches screening mutagenized clostridial cells for altered sporulation activity, including mutants blocked at stages 0 or 1 that do not initiate sporulation [0092]. Connor likewise tests recovered cells for sporulation by comparing viable counts before and after alcohol-shock treatment [p. 3, paragraph 3; Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to screen a sample of the harvested mutant bacteria for an asporogenous phenotype to confirm that the intended disruption of sporulation had been achieved.
Regarding claim 34, Hatt and Youngman teach determining sporulation frequency by comparing the number of chloroform-resistant spores with the total viable-cell count before chloroform treatment. The assay includes incubation with chloroform followed by dilution and plating [Materials and Methods, “Sporulation frequency assay,” first paragraph; Table 3]. It would have been obvious to employ this known differential-survival assay when screening the harvested bacteria to distinguish spore-forming cultures from cultures exhibiting the intended asporogenous phenotype. The chloroform-treatment alternative expressly recited in claim 34 is thereby provided.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/TIFFANY NICOLE GROOMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637