DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restriction
Claims 2, 7 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 15, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite in that it is unclear from which claim such is dependent on.
Claim 11 is indefinite for depending on cancelled claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0112501 (Ben-Asher ‘501) as evidenced by US 2017/0349706 (Ben-Asher ‘706).
Ben-Ascher ‘501 discloses a PAI-based coating composition obtained by dissolving a polyamideimide (PAI) resin in a solvent such as N-butylpyrrolidone (NBP) (e.g., abstract, figures, [0025-0030], [0034-0035], [0057], examples, claims).
In Fig. 2A (Examples 1-11), Ben-Ascher ‘501 expressly sets forth coating compositions comprising;
- a PAI per “Inventive Example II”, which per Fig. 2C has a Mw of 32,317 g/mol and a Mw/Mn ratio (PDI) of 1.75 (meets Applicants’ polyamideimide resin, Mw and Mw/Mn ratio thereof); and
- a solvent comprising 100% NBP or 70 to 90% NBP (meets Applicants’ N-n-butyl pyrrolidone),
wherein the PAI solid content ranges from 20.96 to 21.02% (below Applicants’ 25 to 40 pbw content). Specifically, Ben-Ascher ‘501 discloses [0044-0045] that the PAI per “Inventive Example II” is the same PAI per “Inventive Example I” described in “Example II of U.S. provisional patent application 62/346,440”, i.e., Ben-Asher ‘706. Notably, as evidenced by Ben-Asher ‘706 [0046], said PAI of Example II has a Mw of 32 kg/mol (32,000 g/mol), which is consistent with the Mw of 32,317 g/mol defining the “Inventive Example II” PAI per Ben-Asher ‘501 (Fig. 2C).
In essence, claim 1 differs from Examples 1-11 of Ben-Asher ‘501 in that the claimed composition comprises a higher PAI content of from 25 to 40 pbw. Ben-Ascher ‘501, however, discloses [0057] that a PAI solids content of 10 to 60% can be satisfactorily used in accordance with the desired viscosity. Thus, it would have been within the purview of the inventive disclosure of Ben-Asher ‘501 to formulate a composition wherein the PAI content is 25 to 40 wt.% (meets Applicants’ polyamideimide (b) content) in accordance with the ultimate viscosity desired. Case law holds that differences in concentrations do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating criticality for the claimed ranges. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 8, Ben-Acher discloses using the coating composition as wire enamels [0041].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims do not preclude the additional materials, e.g., water, amine compound, present in the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 04, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejection over US 2019/0112501 (Ben-Asher ‘501) or the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicants’ argument that Ben-Asher ‘501 does not include the molecular weight information of the PAI used in Examples 1-11 is not well taken. Examples 1-11 use the PAI from “Inventive Example II” (Fig. 2A), which is the same PAI from “Inventive Example II” used in Example 14 (Fig. 2C) having a Mw of 32,317 g/mol and a Mw/Mn ratio (PDI) of 1.75. Ben-Ascher ‘501 discloses [0044-0045] that the PAI from “Inventive Example II” is the same PAI ”described in Example II of U.S. provisional patent application 62/346,440”, i.e., Ben-Asher ‘706. Notably, Ben-Asher ‘706 [0046] substantiates that said PAI has a Mw of 32 kg/mol (32,000 g/mol).
Applicants’ assertion that the testing results per Table 1 demonstrate unexpected results for Examples 3, 4 and 5, which have a Mw in the claimed range, as compared to comparative Examples 1 and 2, which have a Mw outside the claimed range, is not well taken. Notably, comparative Example 2 is not defined in terms of solid content and, as such, it is unclear whether such is directly comparable to Examples 3-5 in terms of solids content. Moreover, Applicants’ contention that solids content is not a claimed parameter is not understood given that the presently claimed 25 to 40 pbw polyamideimide content appears to reflect a solids content. Furthermore, while Applicants assert that Example 3 with a PAI solid content of 40.3% is an inventive example, such is outside the presently claimed 25 to 40 pbw range. In any event, given that Ben-Asher expressly exemplifies Examples 1-11 comprising a PAI having a Mw of 32,317 g/mol and a Mw/Mn ratio (PDI) of 1.75 with NBP, the molecular weight does not appear to be a distinguishing feature.
As to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, it is noted that a complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321. Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
Applicants’ arguments filed June 04, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejections over JP 2019026769 A (Saito). Specifically, Applicants have provided a declaration showing that, when measured according to DIN 55672, the polyamideimide used in Saito’s example has a Mn of 5727 and a Mw of 7930 g/mol (Mw/Mn=1.38), the Mw being lower than that presently claimed. Saito does not disclose or suggest using a polyamideimide meeting the presently claimed molecular weight limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 9 are directed to allowable subject matter.
The claims require a solvent “consisting of N-n-butyl pyrrolidone”, which precludes the co-solvents required by En Asher ‘501.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765