DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/028643 08/02/2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent JAPAN 2020-168496 10/05/2020
JAPAN 2020-168494 10/05/2020 filed on 03/14/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 03/27/23, 03/27/24, 10/10/24 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-9 and species: a mixture of a urethane oligomer having a (meth)acrylamide group at one end of a urethane bond and a urethane oligomer having (meth)acrylamide groups at both ends of a urethane bond in the reply filed on 03/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 10-11 are directed to a non-elected invention and claims 3-4 are directed to a non-elected species. Accordingly, claims 3-4, 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. §1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention/species. Claims 1-2, 5-9 are examined in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bishop (US 4844604).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bishop discloses a resin composition for coating of an optical fiber (column 1, lines 7-10), wherein the resin composition comprising: a photopolymerizable compound including a urethane (meth)acrylamide; and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein the urethane (meth)acrylamide includes a urethane oligomer having a (meth)acrylamide group at one end of a urethane bond, a urethane oligomer having (meth)acrylamide groups at both ends of a urethane bond, or a mixture of the urethane oligomers (column 2, lines 25-44, column 4, lines 49-68, column 5, lines 30-, column 7, lines -35), meeting the requirements of claims 1-2.
Regarding claim 5, Bishop discloses the content of urethane (meth)acrylamide is 20 to 85 wt% (column 7, lines 35-39), fall into claimed range of 10 parts by mass to 90 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of a total amount of the resin composition.
Regarding claim 7, Bishop discloses (meth)acrylic acid ester such as 2-hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate or 2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate (column 3, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 8, Bishop discloses N-vinyl compound such as N-vinylpyrrolidone or N-vinylcaprolactam (column 3, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 9, Bishop discloses (meth)acrylamide (column 39-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop as applied to claim 1 above.
Bishop includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Bishop discloses the number average molecular weight of 1,000 to 10,000 (column 3, lines 25-28), overlapping at end point the claimed range of 10,000 to 37,000.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of number average molecular weight of 1,000 to 10,000 overlaps the claimed range of 10,000 to 37,000 at an end point. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766