DETAILED ACTION
Petition
The following is in reply to the applicants petition filed under 37 CFR 1.182, which was granted1.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I: Claims 1 through 11, drawn to a functional textile.
Group II: Claims 12 through 19, drawn to a process of making a functional textile.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II each lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical features of Claim 1, these technical features are not special technical features as they do not make a contribution over the prior art in view of U.S. Patent 10,480,106 to Krajewski et al (hereinafter “Krajewski”).
Krajewski discloses a functional textile comprising a textile substrate (e.g. Fig. 4) having a plurality of metallic functional conductors (e.g. 410) provided with insulation, and at least one metallic first feed conductor (e.g. 420) provided with insulation, the functional conductors being connected to the first feed conductor at contact points (e.g. 450) spaced from one another along the first feed conductor, characterized in that the improvement wherein:
the insulation of the functional conductors and the insulation of the first feed conductor are at least partially removed at the contact points, and the functional conductors and the first feed conductor are electrically bonded together at the contact points by a metal/metal bond (e.g. soldering, see col. 7, line 47 to col. 8, line 18).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
During a telephone conversation with ANDREW WILFORD, Attorney of Record, on October 9, 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, Claims 1 through 11. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 12 through 19 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they appear to be informal drawings. For example, the figure numbers and element numbers appear to be written by hand. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --Functional Textile--.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of phrases that can be implied, e.g. “The invention relates to a functional textile…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825).
A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification of record appears to be an English Translation of applicants publication, WO 2022/101000. As such, the specification does not include headings, as previously mentioned in the Arrangement of Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities.
In Claim 1, “metal/metal” (line 14) should be changed to –metal--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 5, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication 2005/0156015 to Jayaraman et al (hereinafter “Jayaraman”).
Claim 1: Jayaraman discloses a functional textile comprising a textile substrate (e.g. fabric or garment 110, Figs. 1, 5, ¶¶ [0021], [0022]) having a plurality of metallic functional conductors provided with insulation (e.g. horizontal conductive fibers in Figs. 3 or 4, or 154 in Fig. 5, ¶ [0026]), and at least one metallic first feed conductor (e.g. vertical conductive fibers in Figs. 3 or 4, or 156 in Fig. 5) provided with insulation, the functional conductors being connected to the first feed conductor at contact points (e.g. electrical junction points, Fig. 4) spaced from one another along the first feed conductor, the improvement wherein:
the insulation of the functional conductors (e.g. textile material of substrate itself, or insulation of wire) and the insulation (of wire) of the first feed conductor are at least partially displaced or removed at the contact points (e.g. ¶ [0038]), and the functional conductors and the first feed conductor are electrically bonded together at the contact points by a metal bond (e.g. welding, ¶¶ [0043] to [0045]).
Claim 2: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 1, further comprising insulation material (e.g. reinsulating with resin) is applied separately at the contact points (e.g. ¶ [0050]).
Claim 3: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 2, wherein the insulation material (e.g. polyester/urethane based resin) differs materially from the insulation (e.g. polyvinyl chloride) of the functional conductors and of the insulation (e.g. nylon) of the first feed conductor (e.g. polyethylene sheath over copper wire, ¶¶ [0025], [0026]) .
Claim 4: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 1, wherein the functional conductors extend substantially along a first direction (e.g. X-direction), and the first feed conductor extends at an angle (e.g. 90⁰) thereto along a second direction (e.g. Y-direction, Figs. 3 or 4).
Claim 5: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 4, wherein the functional conductors are connected (e.g. at junction point, Fig. 4) between the first feed conductor and a second feed conductor, and the second feed conductor is spaced in the first direction (e.g. X-direction) at a spacing from the first feed conductor.
Claim 9: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 1, wherein the first feed conductor is formed by a metallic conductor strand that has a jacket of thermoplastic material as insulation (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0026]).
Claim 11: Jayaraman discloses the functional textile according to claim 1, wherein the functional conductors or the first feed conductor are essentially formed from copper or a copper alloy (e.g. ¶ [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaraman in view of U.S. Publication 2020/0263334 to Mueller et al (hereinafter “Mueller”).
Jayaraman discloses a functional textile as relied upon above in Claim 1, further including that the textile substrate is a knitted spacer fabric (e.g. ¶ [0027]) and that the first feed conductor is on the textile substrate.
Jayaraman does not teach that the knitted spacer fabric includes a first flat knitted layer, a second flat knitted layer, and spacer filaments connecting the knitted layers, with the functional conductors being in sections in the first knitted layer [as required in Claim 6]. Also, Jayaraman does not mention that the functional conductors extend out of the textile substrate [as required in Claim 10].
Mueller teaches that a textile substrate can be a knitted spacer fabric (e.g. 1, Fig. 1) that includes a first flat knitted layer (e.g. 2), a second flat knitted layer (e.g. 3), and spacer filaments (e.g. 4) connecting the knitted layers, with functional conductors e.g. 5a) being in sections in the first knitted layer and extending out of the textile substrate in a region of the first feed conductor. Such an arrangement taught by Mueller allows the textile substrate to have elastic properties in a whole host of applications, e.g. electrical connections, terminal contacts, in mattress covers, seat covers, etc. (e.g. ¶¶ [0003]-[0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the textile substrate of Jayaraman by utilizing the arrangement taught by Mueller, to positively allow the textile substrate to be used in a whole host of applications disclosed by Mueller.
Regarding Claim 7, Jayaraman does not mention any stitch formation or does not even recite the term of “stitch”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the functional conductors of Jayaraman are incorporated into the textile substrate without stitch formation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaraman in view of U.S. Publication 2020/0081046 to Pechstein et al (hereinafter “Pechstein”).
Jayaraman discloses a functional textile as relied upon above in Claim 1, further including that the insulation of the functional conductors is formed by an insulating material.
Jayaraman does not teach that the insulating material is a lacquer.
Pechstein teaches that functional conductors (e.g. L2, Fig. 4) can be electrically insulated with an insulation material of lacquer, as lacquer also has the benefits of moisture protection (e.g. ¶ [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material insulation of the functional conductors of Jayaraman by utilizing the material of lacquer, as taught by Pechstein, to provide an alternative electrically insulating material and to add the benefit of moisture protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Japanese Patent Publication JP 2006-332647 discloses a textile substrate (e.g. 1, Fig. 1) having conductors (e.g. 3, see SOLUTION).
Non-Patent Literature IEEE Publication to Zysset et al, "Integration Method for Electronics in Woven Textiles", discloses a textile substrate (e.g. Fig. 3) having conductors (e.g. Bus lines, see entire document).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3729
1 Petition Decision, mailed on July 28, 2026.