DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set and Response to Restriction requirement filed 11/14/2025. Claims 1-14 are pending. Elected claims 1-10 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Non-elected claims 11-14 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Benvenutti et al. (Journal of Molecular Liquids 315 (2020) 113761).
Regarding Claim 1, Benvenutti teaches preparation of natural deep eutectic solvents (NADES). One of the NADES is a mixture of citric acid, glucose and water (ab.). citric acid is a carboxylic acid comprising three carboxylic acid functional groups. Glucose is a C6 compound having five -OH groups. Benvenutti further teaches the NADES has citric acid, glucose and water at 1:1:3 mol ratio (Table 1). Calculated, the water content of the NADES is 12.7 wt.%, falling within the claimed 10 to 50 wt.% of the total weight of the deep eutectic solvent.
Regarding Claims 2-5, citric acid has 6 carbon atoms and three carboxylic acid functional groups and is a saturated aliphatic carboxylic acid.
Regarding Claims 6 and 9, Benvenutti teaches the NADES can be synthesized from natural compounds and the purpose of the research was to use natural food ingredients as substitutes for synthetics additives (Introduction). Therefore, it can be reasonably inferred that one ordinary skilled artisan would use 100% biobased compounds.
Regarding Claims 7, glucose has 6 carbon atoms and five alcohol groups.
Regarding Claim 10, the NADES has citric acid : glucose at 1: 1 molar ratio, falling within the claimed 1:1 molar ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR102276980B1).
Regarding Claims 1-5 and 7-8, Lee teaches deep eutectic solvents made from naturally-derived compounds (ab.). Attention is drawn to Table 2, where Lee discloses that deep eutectic solvents comprising a mixture of citric acid and 1,3-propandiol. citric acid is one of the instant claimed carboxylic acids and 1,3-propandiol is one of the instant claimed alcohols. Lee further teaches when one of the preferred deep eutectic solvents is added water to 50% content, the extraction capacity reaches maximum (lns418-420) and antioxidant activity of the extraction is highest (lns485-487). In view of such benefits, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled artisan in the field, before the effective filing date of instant application, to make a modified deep eutectic solvent containing carboxylic acids, 1,3-propandiol and 50% of water.
Regarding Claims 6 and 9, Lee teaches the deep eutectic solvents made from naturally-derived compounds (ab.).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches the molar ratio of citric acid to 1,3-propandiol being 1: 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenutti, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR102276980B1).
Benvenutti teaches a natural deep eutectic solvents (NADES) being a mixture of citric acid, glucose and water (table 1). The difference between Benvenutti and instant Claim 8 is that the NADES does not contain one of the claimed alcohol.
However, Lee teaches that 1, 3-propanediol is a hydrogen bond donor and can form a deep eutectic solvent with citric acid (Table 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of instant application, to replace glucose with 1, 3-propanediol to obtain a modified deep eutectic solvent because both glucose and 1, 3-propanediol are hydrogen bond donors for citric acid; replacing glucose with 1, 3-propanediol is just a simple substitution of a known compound with another known compound that has the same function for the same purpose.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763