DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112b rejection of claim(s) 1, 13, and 31 have been considered and are not persuasive as the amendments cause new but similar issues as well as antecedent basis issues for “indication information” that render the claims indefinite. Based on the amendments to the claims, 112b rejection(s) have been included below. Further, applicant seems to be stating that the “indication information” included implicitly indicates the sending status of the reference signal, and no indication information is included. However, the claims recite that the third paging message is NOT carrying indication information, then follows with limitations stating that the indication information is used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal. If the third paging message does not include indication information, then there would be no indication information indicating the content unrelated to the sending state. The arguments made by applicant seem to state that the intent was for indication information that is not included is related to the sending state (although the claims do not say this), but there is indication information used to indicate content that is unrelated to the sending state, and this indication information implicitly indicates the sending state status. However, the claims do not recite this. The claims explicitly recite that the paging message does not include indication information (with no more specifics on what indication information, simply that none is included), so how could it include indication information not related to the sending state (if no indication information is included)? The claim appears to be in contradiction and as worded currently includes a negative limitation of not including information, followed by a limitation reciting the non included information, which renders the claim indefinite. The claim also appears to lack antecedent basis for “the paging message” (claim 1 line 10) as it is unclear if that is the same as the “third paging message” (claim 1 line 7) or a different one.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 12, 13, 16-21, 23, 31, and 33 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims thoroughly and argues the previous prior art does not teach the claims as amended. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see the updated rejection below which shows how the prior art is interpreted to read on the amended claims. The interpretation below is based on the examiners best understanding of the intent of the claims as they include 112b rejections that have rendered the claim unclear and indefinite.
Applicant also argues that “3GPP discloses a paging message for informing the UE to activate or deactivate to avoid always on TRS/CSI-RS” and does not teach the paging message used to indicate whether the reference signal is transmitted. In response to applicants arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicants comment about 3GPP teaching a paging message for informing the UE to activate or deactivate to avoid always on TRS/CSI-RS is correct, however this concept reads on the claim language of “third paging message is configured to indicate a change in a sending state of a reference signal”. First, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the paging message is used to indicate whether the reference signal is transmitted”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims recite “paging message is configured to indicate a change in a sending state of a reference signal” (emphasis added). The BRI of this wording does not require the interpretation to be “whether the reference signal is transmitted”, as it simply recites “a change in sending state of a reference signal”. This could simply be activating and deactivating is a change in state. 3GPP teaches activating and deactivating, which starts sending (i.e. activating starts sending and is a change in state) and stops sending (i.e. deactivating stops sending and is a change in state). Therefore, applicants’ argument is not persuasive based on the current claim language.
In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 11-12 that Wu discloses sending indication information to the terminal and does not teach not sending the indication information, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has pointed to paragraphs that show different embodiments (see par 147, i.e. in different embodiments, the downlink information may include at least one of the following). Therefore, pars. 148-149 are embodiments not cited by the examiner, and the noted “identifier” of a reference signal were not used as part of the rejection. Par. 150 shows an embodiment where the downlink indication information is a “transmission resource” used to resend at least one reference signal. Therefore, this downlink information (i.e. transmission resource) is a resource to allow the terminal to learn the transmission resource of the resent reference signal, and unrelated to the actual sending state (i.e. activating or deactivating sending as in 3GPP) of the reference signal. Therefore, applicants’ argument is not persuasive based on the current claim language.
Further, in response to applicants arguments that Tie does not teach “the indication information comprises a user equipment identity”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Tie teaches in par. 77, that the paging messages includes the group identifier (which in Tie is interpreted as the indication information) and the group identifier corresponds to one or more UE IDs (which is interpreted as the user equipment identity). Therefore, the indication information (i.e. group identifier, which is unrelated to the sending state) comprises a UE identity. Therefore, applicants’ argument is not persuasive based on the current claim language.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the DP rejection have been considered and are moot based on the new DP rejection provided below which is necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Applicants remarks with respect to the claim objections of claims 1, 13, and 31 have been considered and provides no actual response to examiners remarks as it simply reiterated the examiners comment. Therefore, it is assumed applicant is being their own lexicographer and naming the “paging message” in claim 1, “third” paging message rather than it indicating there actually being a first, second, and third paging message.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,5,13,20,21,31, and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,6,8,9,13, and 20 of US Patent No. 12526100. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claim limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in claims 1,6,8,9,13, and 20 of US Patent No. 12526100 with obvious word variations. Take an example of comparing claim 1 of the instant application and claims 1+8+9 of US Patent No. 12526100:
Instant Application Claim 1
US Patent No. 12526100 Claim 1+8+9
A method for information notification, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
An information notification method, comprising:
sending notification information to a first terminal,
sending, by a network device, notification information to a first terminal…
wherein the first terminal is in an idle state or in an inactive state, the first terminal shares a reference signal of a second terminal, and the second terminal is at least one terminal in a connected state.
…for the first terminal in an idle or an inactive state…wherein the reference signal…is shared by the first terminal the and at least one second terminal in a connected state.
sending a third paging message not carrying indication information to the first terminal,
(Claim 9)…sending a third paging message not comprising indication information to the first terminal…
wherein the third paging message is configured to indicate a change in a sending state of a reference signal,
(Claim 9)…wherein the third paging message is configured to indicate the sending state change of the reference signal…
the indication information is information in the paging message used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal, and the indication information comprises a user equipment identity.
(Claim 8)… wherein the indication information comprises UE identification
As can be seen above, claims 1+8+9 teach all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application with obvious word variations.
Further the below claims correspond to each other as well:
Instant Application claim 5 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 6
Instant Application claim 13 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 13
Instant Application claim 20 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 6
Instant Application claim 21 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 8
Instant Application claim 31 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 20
Instant Application claim 33 corresponds to Application No. 18/026118 Claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 12, 13,16-21, 23, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 31. Claim 1 (and similarly 13 and 31) recites the limitation "the paging message", however, prior to this, there is mention of only a “third paging message”. It is unclear if this is the same paging message as previously recited, or if this is intended to be a different paging message. The examiner has interpreted this to be the same paging message for rejection purposes as the applicant appears to be referring back with the use of “the” paging message. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-6, 8, 12, 16-21, 23, and 33 depend from claims 1, 13, and 31 and therefore inherit the same issues and are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 31. Further based on the indefinite issue related to antecedent basis noted above, claim 1 (and similarly 13 and 31) recites that the third paging message is NOT carrying indication information, then follows with limitations stating that the indication information is used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal. If the third paging message does not include indication information, then there would be no indication information indicating the content unrelated to the sending state. The claim appears to be in contradiction. The claim as worded currently includes a negative limitation of not including information, followed by a limitation requiring the information, which renders the claim indefinite. Claims 4-6, 8, 12, 16-21, 23, and 33 depend from claims 1, 13, and 31 and therefore inherit the same issues and are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 12, 13,16,19-21, 23, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#102, R1-2006158 (supplied by applicant in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0373993, hereinafter Wu) in further view of Tie et al. (US 20230108137) hereinafter Tie.
Regarding claims 1 and 33. 3GPP teaches a method and computer readable medium for information notification, performed by a network device (first page, section 1, item 1b, means to provide potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions…to idle/inactive UEs, which is provide information to the UE from a network device; page 3, section 2.3, par. 4: discusses “paging reception”, which is from a network device to the UE), the method comprising: sending notification information to a first terminal (page 2, section 2.2, par. 2: discusses configuration of the TRS/CSI-RS broadcast channel is needed, thus reading on sending the notification information (i.e. TRS/CSI-RS) to a first terminal. Further, page 3, section 2.3, pars. 1-4: discusses paging DCI and paging reception at the UE)
wherein the first terminal is in an idle state or in an inactive state (first page, section 1, item 1b, means to provide potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions…to idle/inactive UEs, first terminal in idle or inactive state), the first terminal shares a reference signal of a second terminal, and the second terminal is at least one terminal in a connected state (page 2, section 2.2, par. 2: in order to share the configuration of the TRS-CSI-RS for both connected mode UE (i.e. second terminal is in connected state) and idle/inactive UEs);
wherein sending the notification information to the first terminal comprises (page 2, section 2.2, par. 2: discusses configuration of the TRS/CSI-RS broadcast channel is needed, thus reading on sending the notification information (i.e. TRS/CSI-RS) to a first terminal, page 3, section 2.3, pars. 1-2: method for activation or deactivation of TRS/CSI-RS, include activation or deactivation indication in DCI (i.e. notification information):
sending a third paging message (page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed bits in short message of paging DCI can be used to include the indication), wherein the third paging message is configured to indicate a change in a sending state of a reference signal (page 3, section 2.3, pars. 1-2: method for activation or deactivation of TRS/CSI-RS, include activation or deactivation indication in DCI (i.e. change in the sending state of the reference signal).
However, 3GPP does not specifically disclose the paging message not carrying indication information.
Wu teaches a beam management system and method and is analogous to 3GPP. Wu further teaches a paging message not carrying indication information (par. 147 the downlink indication information may include, par. 150, a transmission resource used to resend the reference signal. In this embodiment, the identifier of the reference signal is not used, therefore, no indication information about the whether the reference signal is sent or not sent is included in the message. Thus the paging message is sent not carrying indication information, reading on the claim as written.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the specific downlink information transmitted as in Wu with the method and system 3GPP. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow for accurate beam recovery and to avoid wasting resources (Wu par. 4-5).
However, 3GPP and Wu do not explicitly recite the indication information in the paging message used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal, and the indication information comprises a user equipment identity. It is noted that 3GPP teaches a paging message as noted in the rejections above, and it would be obvious for the paging message to carry a user ID in order to identify who is paged. However for clarity and obviousness, the following is provided.
Tie teaches a paging indication method and apparatus (abstact) and is analogous to 3GPP (i.e. teaches CSI-RS, idle/inactive states, etc.). Tie teaches sending a paging message (figure 5, S502 carries a paging message) and indication information in the paging message used to (EXAMINERS NOTE: this limitation is written as an intended use limitation. The use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim without needing to state it performs that intended use. In this case, the limitation “indication information in the paging message being used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal” can simply be taught by a paging message that includes indication information as it would be capable of including information being used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state.) indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal, and the indication information comprises a user equipment identity (par. 77, the paging messages includes the group identifier (which reads on the indication information) and the group identifier corresponds to one or more UE IDs (which reads on user equipment identity). Therefore, the indication information (i.e. group identifier which is unrelated to the sending state) comprises a UE identity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the UE IDs in the paging message as in Tie with the combined method and system 3GPP and Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce power consumption (Tie par. 5).
Regarding claims 13 and 31. 3GPP teaches a method and terminal (first page, section 1, item 1b, means to provide potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions…to idle/inactive UEs, which is provide information to the UE from a network device; page 3, section 2.3, par. 4: discusses “paging reception”, which is from a network device to the UE), the method comprising: a processor (inherent component of a UE device in order to transmit, receiver and process the information); and
a transceiver connected to the processor (inherent component of a UE device in order to transmit and receive the information); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (inherent component of a UE device in order to perform the functions of the device);
wherein the first terminal is in an idle state or in an inactive state (first page, section 1, item 1b, means to provide potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions…to idle/inactive UEs, first terminal in idle or inactive state), the first terminal shares a reference signal of a second terminal, and the second terminal is at least one terminal in a connected state (page 2, section 2.2, par. 2: in order to share the configuration of the TRS-CSI-RS for both connected mode UE (i.e. second terminal is in connected state) and idle/inactive UEs);
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a third paging message (page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed bits in short message of paging DCI can be used to include the indication), wherein the third paging message is configured to indicated a change in a sending state of a reference signal (page 3, section 2.3, pars. 1-2: method for activation or deactivation of TRS/CSI-RS, include activation or deactivation indication in DCI (i.e. change in the sending state of the reference signal).
However, 3GPP does not specifically disclose a third paging message not carrying indication information.
Wu teaches a beam management system and method and is analogous to 3GPP. Wu further teaches a third paging message not carrying indication information (par. 147 the downlink indication information may include, par. 150, a transmission resource used to resend the reference signal. In this embodiment, the identifier of the reference signal is not used, therefore, no indication information about the whether the reference signal is sent or not sent is included in the message. Thus the paging message is sent not carrying indication information, reading on the claim as written.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the specific downlink information transmitted as in Wu with the method and system 3GPP. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow for accurate beam recovery and to avoid wasting resources (Wu par. 4-5).
However, 3GPP and Wu do not explicitly recite the indication information in the paging message used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal, and the indication information comprises a user equipment identity. It is noted that 3GPP teaches a paging message as noted in the rejections above, and it would be obvious for the paging message to carry a user ID in order to identify who is paged. However for clarity and obviousness, the following is provided.
Tie teaches a paging indication method and apparatus (abstact) and is analogous to 3GPP (i.e. teaches CSI-RS, idle/inactive states, etc.). Tie teaches sending a paging message (figure 5, S502 carries a paging message) and indication information in the paging message used to (EXAMINERS NOTE: this limitation is written as an intended use limitation. The use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim without needing to state it performs that intended use. In this case, the limitation “indication information in the paging message being used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal” can simply be taught by a paging message that includes indication information as it would be capable of including information being used to indicate content unrelated to the sending state.) indicate content unrelated to the sending state of the reference signal, and the indication information comprises a user equipment identity (par. 77, the paging messages includes the group identifier (which reads on the indication information) and the group identifier corresponds to one or more UE IDs (which reads on user equipment identity). Therefore, the indication information (i.e. group identifier which is unrelated to the sending state) comprises a UE identity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the UE IDs in the paging message as in Tie with the combined method and system 3GPP and Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce power consumption (Tie par. 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 19. 3GPP further teaches wherein sending (and receiving) the notification information to the first terminal comprises:
sending paging downlink control information (DCI) to the first terminal, wherein an indication bit in the paging DCI is configured to indicate the sending state of the reference signal. (page 3, section 2.3, pars. 1-2: method for activation or deactivation of TRS/CSI-RS, include activation or deactivation indication in DCI, thus, the indication of activation or deactivation of the TRS/CSI-RS in the DCI, reads on an indication of the sending state of the reference signal; page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed bits in short message of paging DCI can be used to include the indication). Regarding claims 5 and 20. 3GPP and Wu teach the limitations of claims 4 and 19.
However, 3GPP and Wu do not explicitly recite sending a paging message corresponding to the paging DCI, wherein a user equipment identity is carried in the paging message. It is noted that 3GPP teaches the paging DCI as noted in the rejections above, and it would be obvious for the paging message to carry a user ID in order to identify who is paged. However for clarity and obviousness, the following is provided.
Tie teaches a paging indication method and apparatus (abstact) and is analogous to 3GPP (i.e. teaches CSI-RS, idle/inactive states, etc.). Tie teaches a sending a paging message corresponding to the paging DCI (figure 5, S502 carries a paging message scheduled by DCI sent in S501), wherein a user equipment identity is carried in the paging message (par. 77, the paging messages includes…one or more UE IDs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the UE IDs in the paging message as in Tie with the combined method and system 3GPP and Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce power consumption (Tie par. 5). Regarding claims 6. 3GPP further teaches wherein the indication bit comprises n bits, where n is an integer not less than 1(page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed “bits”, thus N bits not less than 1 since it is plural), wherein the indication bit is a reserved bit in the paging DCI or a custom bit in the paging DCI. (page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed bits in short message of paging DCI can be used to include the indication) Regarding claims 8 and 23. Wu further teaches, wherein sending the notification information to the first terminal further comprises:
sending (and receiving) a supplementary reference signal to the first terminal (Wu par. 150, resend one reference signal), wherein information in the supplementary reference signal is configured to indicate the sending state of the reference signal, and the supplementary reference signal is a signal different from the reference signal (par. 50, transmission resource is used to resend one reference signal that is not sent on the second beam so the terminal learns of the transmission resource of the resent reference signal (i.e. different reference signal indicates the sending state of the reference signal so the device can receive it)). Regarding claim 12. 3GPP further teaches wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) (page 1, section 2: aspects of TRS/CSI-RS for idle/inactive UEs. Examiner notes use of alternative language, which requires only one of the alternatives to satisfy the requirements for rejection). Regarding claim 16. 3GPP further teaches:
determining a time-frequency synchronization behavior corresponding to a current paging occasion or a next paging occasion based on the notification information (page 3, par. 1, section 2.3, par. 3: for synchronization its essential to consider timing alignment between TRS/CSI-RS reception occasion and PO, further, TRS and CSI-RS are well known to be used for time-frequency synchronization); or
determining a time-frequency synchronization behavior corresponding to a current paging occasion or a next paging occasion based on the notification information and a cell channel quality condition of the first terminal (*examiner notes the use of alternative language in this limitation, which requires only one of the alternatives to satisfy the requirements for rejection). Regarding claim 21. 3GPP further teaches wherein the indication bit comprises n bits, where n is an integer not less than 1 (page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed “bits”, thus N bits not less than 1 since it is plural); and
wherein the indication bit is a reserved bit in the paging DCI or a custom bit in the paging DCI (page. 3, section 2.3, par. 2: severed bits in short message of paging DCI can be used to include the indication).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#102, R1-2006158 (supplied by applicant in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Wu, Tie, and further view of Zhang et al. (US 20230019909) hereinafter Zhang and Huang et al. (US 20220352953) hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 17. 3GPP, Wu, and Tie teach the method of claim 16. 3GPP further teaches wherein when the time-frequency synchronization behavior is determined based on the notification information, determining the time-frequency synchronization behavior corresponding to the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, comprises: wherein the time-frequency synchronization comprises at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization (page 3, par. 1, section 2.3, par. 3: for synchronization its essential to consider timing alignment between TRS/CSI-RS reception occasion and PO, further, TRS and CSI-RS are well known to be used for time-frequency synchronization, thus reading on at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization).
However, 3GPP, Wu, Tie do not explicitly teach: determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using a synchronization signal block (SSB) at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information; and
determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using the SSB and the reference signal at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information; Zhang teaches a communication method and apparatus for receiving configuration information from a network device, including TRS, CSI-RS, and SSB (abstract, par. 110), so Zhang is analogous to 3GPP and Wu. Zhang further teaches determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using a synchronization signal block (SSB) at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion (par. 110-115, par. 110 explains the reference signal can be an SSB, and par. 111-115 explains the reference signal configured by the network device may have a plurality of functions, including time/frequency tracking.), and
determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using the SSB and the reference signal at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information (par. 110-115, par. 110 explains the reference signal can be an SSB, and par. 111-115 explains the reference signal configured by the network device may have a plurality of functions, including time/frequency tracking. The reference signal is sent based on the notification information as seen in figure 4 since the network device fist sends the configuration info. (i.e. notification information) in step S101-S102, then sends the reference signal based on this configuration information S103. You can further see Huang below to teach “in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the time-frequency synchronization performed using an SSB as in Zhang with the combined method and system 3GPP, Wu, and Tie. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce signaling overhead (Zhang par. 5). However, the combination of 3GPP, Wu, Tie, and Zhang do not specifically disclose determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information. Huang teaches a communication apparatus and method to reduce power consumption of a terminal including network devices generating CS-RS (abstract), thus is analogous to 3GPP and Zhang. Huang teaches determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB (par. 174, terminal subsequently performs beam training by using the SSB) in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information (par. 174, network device has stopped sending the first CSI-RS). Huang further teaches determining time-frequency synchronization in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information (figure 6 item S306 and S303). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the beam training performed using an SSB as in Huang with the combined method and system of 3GPP, Wu, Tie, and Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce power consumption (Huang par. 7).
Regarding claim 18. 3GPP, Wu, and Tie teach the method of claim 16. 3GPP further teaches wherein when the time-frequency synchronization behavior is determined based on the notification information and the cell channel quality condition of the first terminal, determining the time-frequency synchronization behavior corresponding to the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, and wherein the time-frequency synchronization comprises at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization comprises: (page 3, par. 1, section 2.3, par. 3: for synchronization its essential to consider timing alignment between TRS/CSI-RS reception occasion and PO, further, TRS and CSI-RS are well known to be used for time-frequency synchronization, thus reading on at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization. Examiner notes the “channel quality condition” limitation is not positively recited per the alternative language in claim 16)
However, 3GPP, Wu, and Tie do not explicitly teach: determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using a synchronization signal block (SSB) at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information; and
determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using the SSB and the reference signal at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information; Zhang teaches a communication method and apparatus for receiving configuration information from a network device, including TRS, CSI-RS, and SSB (abstract, par. 110), so Zhang is analogous to 3GPP and Wu. Zhang further teaches determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using a synchronization signal block (SSB) at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion (par. 110-115, par. 110 explains the reference signal can be an SSB, and par. 111-115 explains the reference signal configured by the network device may have a plurality of functions, including time/frequency tracking.), and
determining that time-frequency synchronization is performed by using the SSB and the reference signal at the current paging occasion or the next paging occasion, in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information (par. 110-115, par. 110 explains the reference signal can be an SSB, and par. 111-115 explains the reference signal configured by the network device may have a plurality of functions, including time/frequency tracking. The reference signal is sent based on the notification information as seen in figure 4 since the network device fist sends the configuration info. (i.e. notification information) in step S101-S102, then sends the reference signal based on this configuration information S103. You can further see Huang below to teach “in response to determining that the network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the time-frequency synchronization performed using an SSB as in Zhang with the combined method and system of 3GPP, Wu, and Tie. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce signaling overhead (Zhang par. 5). However, the combination of 3GPP, Wu, Tie, and Zhang do not specifically disclose determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information, determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB in response to determining that a network device send the reference signal based on the notification information and cell quality no less than a threshold, and determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB in response to determining that a network device send the reference signal based on the notification information and cell quality is less than a threshold. Huang teaches a communication apparatus and method to reduce power consumption of a terminal including network devices generating CS-RS (abstract), thus is analogous to 3GPP and Zhang. Huang teaches determining time-frequency synchronization is performed using SSB (par. 174, terminal subsequently performs beam training by using the SSB) in response to determining that a network device does not send the reference signal based on the notification information (par. 174, network device has stopped sending the first CSI-RS). Huang further teaches determining time-frequency synchronization in response to determining that a network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information and cell channel quality is no less than a threshold value, and determining time-frequency synchronization in response to determining that a network device sends the reference signal based on the notification information and cell channel quality is no less than a threshold value (par. 102-103 discusses the use of beam quality corresponding to a CSI-RS resource, therefore time-frequency synchronization ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include the beam training performed using an SSB as in Huang with the combined method and system of 3GPP, Wu, Tie, and Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to help identify the UE and reduce power consumption (Huang par. 7).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474
Michael Thier
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2474