Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, et al., CN 111366906 A, in view of Wang, et al., CN 111250204 A.
As per Claim 1, Huang teaches an optical processing assembly applied to an illuminating light source (¶¶ 66-67; diffraction optical element 12 of Figure 2), wherein the illuminating light source is configured to transmit detection light to a target field of view (¶ 66), wherein the illuminating light source comprises a plurality of light source units (¶ 67; light source unit 11 of Figures 2 and 5A), and each light source unit of the plurality of light source units is lit according to a predetermined timing (¶ 67; “according to a certain time sequence”); and the optical processing assembly comprises: at least one light shaper, wherein the at least one optical shaper is configured to perform light beam shaping on detection light transmitted by the each light source unit of the illuminating light source to narrow a divergence angle of the detection light (¶ 68; “projecting the incident light into any desired shape and any desired distribution”) and guide a central propagation direction of the each detection light to a preset central angle of a partition (¶ 72; based on a “divergence angle”).
Huang does not expressly teach a light homogenizer, wherein the light homogenizer is configured to homogenize the detection light transmitted by each light source unit and project the detection light outward to form a target field of view interval, and a light homogenizing angle of the light homogenizer is used for adjusting a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting area in the target field of view. Wang teaches a light homogenizer (¶ 39; with diffraction optical element 10 of Figure 1), wherein the light homogenizer is configured to homogenize the detection light transmitted by the each light source unit and project the detection light outward to form a target field of view interval (¶¶ 41; “so as to project a relatively uniform light field”), and a light homogenizing angle of the light homogenizer is used for adjusting a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting area in the target field of view (¶¶ 42-43). At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the optical processor of Huang with the homogenizer of Wang, in order to reduce the likelihood of dark gaps in the middle of a target view field.
As per Claim 13, Huang teaches a ToF transmitting device, the device being configured to transmit detection light to a target field of view (¶ 66) and comprising:
an illuminating light source configured to periodically transmit the detection light in a partition transmitting manner in a certain order to light up the target field of view (¶ 67; light source unit 11 of Figures 2 and 5A); and
an optical processing assembly comprising: at least one light shaper disposed in a lighting direction of the illuminating light source and configured to perform light beam shaping on the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source to narrow a divergence angle of the detection light (¶ 68; “projecting the incident light into any desired shape and any desired distribution”) and guide a central propagation direction of the detection light to a preset central angle of a partition(¶ 72; based on a “divergence angle”).
Huang does not expressly teach a light homogenizer disposed in the lighting direction of the illuminating light source and configured to homogenize the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source and project the detection light outward to form a target field of view interval, wherein a light homogenizing angle of the light homogenizer is used for adjusting a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting area in the target field of view. Wang teaches a light homogenizer disposed in the lighting direction of the illuminating light source (¶ 39; with diffraction optical element 10 of Figure 1) and configured to homogenize the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source and project the detection light outward to form a target field of view interval (¶¶ 41; “so as to project a relatively uniform light field”), wherein a light homogenizing angle of the light homogenizer is used for adjusting a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting area in the target field of view (¶¶ 42-43). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 17, Huang teaches an optical processing method (¶¶ 66-67), comprising the steps: performing, by at least one light shaper, light beam shaping on detection light transmitted by each light source unit of an illuminating light source to narrow a divergence angle of the detection light (¶ 68; “projecting the incident light into any desired shape and any desired distribution”) and guiding, a central propagation direction of the each detection light to a preset central angle of a partition(¶ 72; based on a “divergence angle”).
As per Claims 2 and 15, Huang does not expressly teach that the light homogenizer comprises a plurality of light homogenizing units, and each light homogenizing unit of the plurality of light homogenizing units is configured to homogenize detection light transmitted by a corresponding light source unit of the plurality of light source units; or the light homogenizer comprises a whole sheet of light homogenizing sheet configured to homogenize all detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source. Wang teaches that the light homogenizer comprises a plurality of light homogenizing units, and each light homogenizing unit of the plurality of light homogenizing units is configured to homogenize detection light transmitted by a corresponding light source unit of the plurality of light source units; or the light homogenizer comprises a whole sheet of light homogenizing sheet configured to homogenize all detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source (¶ 44; “the light homogenizing sheet”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 3, Huang teaches that a light homogenizing angle of the each light homogenizing unit of the light homogenizer is equal to a difference between a first angle and a second angle, wherein: the first angle is a minimum lighting angle required for detection light transmitted by adjacent light source units of the plurality of light source units to generate no gap between adjacent lighting areas formed after the detection light is processed by the optical processing assembly (¶ 85; “a small viewing angle”); and the second angle is a lighting angle formed after detection light transmitted by a light source unit of the plurality of light source units is only shaped by the light shaper (¶ 85; “spliced to form a larger viewing angle”).
As per Claims 4 and 22, Huang teaches that the light homogenizing angle of the each light homogenizing unit of the light homogenizer satisfies the following relationship:
θ
H
≥
2
*
tan
-
1
N
X
-
2
*
i
+
2
N
X
*
tan
F
O
V
H
2
-
tan
-
1
N
X
-
2
*
i
+
2
-
x
W
+
x
N
X
*
tan
F
O
V
H
2
and
θ
V
≥
2
*
tan
-
1
N
Y
-
2
*
j
+
2
N
Y
*
tan
F
O
V
V
2
-
tan
-
1
N
Y
-
2
*
j
+
2
-
y
H
+
y
N
Y
*
tan
F
O
V
V
2
(¶¶ 81-82; based on divergence angle and half angle measurements) wherein θH denotes a light homogenizing angle of the each light homogenizing unit of the light homogenizer in a first direction, and θv denotes a light homogenizing angle of the each light homogenizing unit of the light homogenizer in a second direction; Nx denotes a number of light source units of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in the first direction, and Ny denotes a number of light source units of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in the second direction (¶¶ 79-81); W denotes a size of a light source unit of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in the first direction, and H denotes a size of the light source unit of the illuminating light source in the second direction (¶¶ 84-85); x denotes a spacing distance between adjacent light source units in the first direction, and y denotes a spacing distance between adjacent light source units in the second direction (¶ 22; based on “partition space”); FOVH denotes a total field of view angle in the first direction, and FOVv denotes a total field of view angle in the second direction; and i denotes a partition number of the light source unit in the first direction, and j denotes a partition number of the light source unit in the second direction (¶¶ 85-86, 89).
As per Claim 5, Huang teaches that a focal length of the light shaper satisfies the following relationship:
f
x
=
W
+
x
*
N
x
2
*
tan
F
O
V
H
2
and
f
y
=
H
+
y
*
N
y
2
*
tan
F
O
V
V
2
wherein Nx denotes a number of light source units of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in a first direction, and Ny denotes a number of light source units of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in a second direction (¶¶ 73-74); W denotes a size of a light source unit of the plurality of light source units of the illuminating light source in the first direction, and H denotes a size of the light source unit of the illuminating light source in the second direction (¶¶ 66-67, 70); x denotes a spacing distance between adjacent light source units of the plurality light source units in the first direction, and y denotes a spacing distance between adjacent light source units of the plurality light source units in the second direction (¶ 22; based on “partition space”); and FOVH denotes a total field of view angle in the first direction, and FOVv denotes a total field of view angle in the second direction (¶¶ 85-86, 89).
As per Claim 7, Huang teaches that the light shaper is adapted to be disposed between the light homogenizer and the illuminating light source and configured to project the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source to the light homogenizer after the detection light is pre-shaped by the light shaper (¶¶ 75-76; collimating unit 13 of Figure 5A).
As per Claim 8, Huang does not expressly teach that the light homogenizer is adapted to be disposed between the illuminating light source and the light shaper and configured to project the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source to the light shaper after the detection light is homogenized by the light homogenizer. Wang teaches that the light homogenizer is adapted to be disposed between the illuminating light source and the light shaper and configured to project the detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source to the light shaper after the detection light is homogenized by the light homogenizer (¶¶ 44, 46; “the light homogenizing sheet”).
As per Claim 9, Huang does not expressly teach that the light shaper and the light homogenizer are two separate components or form an integral component. Wang teach that the light shaper and the light homogenizer are two separate components or form an integral component (¶ 44; “diffractive optical element” and “homogenizing sheet”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 10, Huang teaches that the light shaper has a light incident surface and a light emitting surface, wherein each light homogenizing unit of the light homogenizer is disposed on the light incident surface of the light shaper (¶¶ 74-75).
As per Claim 11, Huang teaches that the plurality of light homogenizing units of the light homogenizer are disposed on the light incident surface of the light shaper by imprinting (¶ 77; with collimating unit 13 of Figure 5A).
As per Claim 12, Huang does not expressly teach that the light homogenizer is a light homogenizing sheet based on light refraction. Wang teaches that the light homogenizer is a light homogenizing sheet based on light refraction (¶¶ 44, 46; “the light homogenizing sheet” and the “diffractive optical element 10” of Figure 1). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 14, Huang teaches that the illuminating light source comprises a plurality of light source units (¶ 67; “at least two light sources”), and that each of the plurality of light source units is lit according to a predetermined timing, so that the detection light transmitted by the plurality of light source units is projected outward by the light homogenizer to form the target field of view (¶¶ 86-87; based on a “predetermined time interval”).
As per Claim 15, Huang teaches that the light homogenizer comprises a plurality of light homogenizing units, and each of the plurality of light homogenizing units is configured to correspondingly homogenize detection light transmitted by a light source unit of the plurality of light source units; or the light homogenizer comprises a whole sheet of light homogenizing sheet configured to homogenize all detection light transmitted by the illuminating light source.
Huang does not expressly teach homogenizing, by a light homogenizer, the detection light transmitted by each light source unit and adjusting, a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting interval in a target field of view. Wang teaches homogenizing, by a light homogenizer (¶ 39; with diffraction optical element 10 of Figure 1), the detection light transmitted by the each light source unit and adjusting, a lighting range of the detection light to form a continuous and uniform lighting interval (¶¶ 41; “so as to project a relatively uniform light field”) in a target field of view (¶¶ 42-43). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 18, Huang teaches that each light source unit of the illuminating light source is lit according to a predetermined timing, so that each light source unit transmits the detection light according to the predetermined timing, and a target field of view interval formed by the processed detection light is combined to form the target field of view (¶¶ 86-87; based on a “predetermined time interval”).
As per Claim 19, Huang does not expressly teach that the light homogenizer performs light homogenizing based on refraction of light by a microstructure of a surface of the light homogenizer and adjusts a light homogenizing angle, space of a light field, and energy distribution of the light field by changing a shape and arrangement of the microstructure. Wang teaches that the light homogenizer performs light homogenizing based on refraction of light by a microstructure of a surface of the light homogenizer (¶¶ 42-43, 46-47) and adjusts a light homogenizing angle, space of a light field, and energy distribution of the light field by changing a shape and arrangement of the microstructure (¶¶ 44, 49). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 20, Huang does not expressly teach that the light shaper is disposed in a light incident direction of the light homogenizer so that light field pre-shaping is performed, by the light shaper, on the detection light projected by the illuminating light source to the light homogenizer. Wang teaches that the light shaper is disposed in a light incident direction of the light homogenizer so that light field pre-shaping is performed, by the light shaper, on the detection light projected by the illuminating light source to the light homogenizer (¶¶ 48-49). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 21, Huang does not expressly teach that the light shaper is disposed in a light emitting direction of the light homogenizer so that a light beam of each partition of the illuminating light source homogenized by the light homogenizer is guided to a corresponding angle range by the light shaper. Wang teach that the light shaper is disposed in a light emitting direction of the light homogenizer so that a light beam of each partition of the illuminating light source homogenized by the light homogenizer is guided to a corresponding angle range by the light shaper (¶¶ 48-49, 54). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661