DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 14, and 18 are amended. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 11 and 20 are cancelled. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4 is withdrawn. Claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 are rejected under new grounds as necessitated by applicant’s amendment. A response to applicant’s arguments filed 02 January 2026 can be found at the end of this Office Action. This Office Action is Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schunk (DE 202014007218 U1) in view of Ba (CN 111660819 A).
In regards to claim 1, Schunk teaches a current collector system, comprising:
a lower scissor (18) (Fig. 1) configured to be fastened on a base frame (21) that is mounted on a vehicle (see machine translation, para. [0027], lines 1-2);
an upper scissor (20) fastened on (as seen in Fig. 1) the lower scissor (18) with steering rods (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a current collector rocker (11) fastened on (as seen in Fig. 1) the upper scissor (20), the current collector rocker (11) including contact strips (13) for contacting an energized overhead line (para. [0027], lines 3-5)
a height adjustment device (15) situated on or in (as seen in Fig. 1) the base frame (21), the height adjustment device (15) including an electrical linear drive (27) and configured to pivot (para. [0028], lines 8-9) the lower scissor (18) with respect to the base frame (21);
a sled (see annotated Fig. 2 below) connected to the linear drive (27) (Fig. 2) of the height adjustment device (15) and connected to the lower scissor (18) via a tension spring (23), the sled being displaceable by the linear drive (27) from a park position into a lift position (para. [0028], lines 8-9);
a detent situated on the base frame (as seen in annotated Fig. 1 below)
a detent hook (as seen in annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a spindle (para. [0029], line 2) connected to the sled and configured to be linearly displaceable (para. [0029], lines 3-4) by the linear drive (27), wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 below) is translationally displaceable (para. [0029], lines 3-4) to the base frame (21) by operation of the linear drive (27) on the spindle (para. [0029], line 2).
Schunk does not teach a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips; a detent actuatable by the sled, wherein the detent comprises: a rod; a pivot lever coupled to the rod at one end and the detent hook at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position.
Ba teaches a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips (para. [0056]); a detent (610) (Fig. 10) actuatable by the sled (see machine translation, para. [0055], lines 5-8), wherein the detent comprises: a rod (613) (Fig. 11); a pivot lever (612) coupled to the rod (613) at one end and the detent hook (611) at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook (613) engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position (para. [0056]).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, wherein the tension spring (23) (Fig. 1) is a first tension spring (44, on the right) (Fig. 3), and further comprising at least a second tension spring (44, on the left) situated on the base frame (21) (Fig. 1) and connected to the lower scissor (18), the at least the second tension spring (44, on the left) configured to assist pivoting movement (para. [0031], lines 4-6) of the lower scissor (18) into the lift position (para. [0028], lines 8-9).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) includes at least one guide rail (see annotated Fig. 2 above) configured to be mounted in at least one linear bearing (see annotated Fig. 2 above) on the base frame (21) (Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) is configured to be mounted to the base frame (21) (Fig. 1) via at least one linear bearing (see annotated Fig. 2 above) on at least one guide rail (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 7.
While Schunk does not explicitly teach wherein the sled is configured to be mounted on guide rails of the base frame that are spaced apart from each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include another guide rail spaced apart from the other guide rail wherein the sled is mounted on both guide rails with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the stability of the sled, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 8, wherein the linear drive (27) and the tension spring (23) are configured to be connected to the sled (as seen in Fig. 1).
While Schunk does not explicitly teach the linear drive and tension spring connected to the sled between the guide rails. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the linear drive and tension spring being configured to be connected to the sled between the guide rails with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimizing the space the current collector system consumes, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) is configured to be displaced from the park position (para. [0006], lines 9-11) into the lift position (para. [0028], lines 8-9) in parallel (as seen in Figs. 1-2, the guide rail for the sled is in parallel with the base frame) to the base frame (21) (Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, wherein the lower scissor (18) (Fig. 1) is configured to be mounted on a non-rail vehicle (para. [0002], line 2).
In regards to claim 14, Schunk teaches the current collector system, comprising:
Scissors (18, 20) (Fig. 1) configured to be fastened on a base frame (21) configured to be coupled with a vehicle (para. [0027], lines 1-2);
a current collector rocker (11) fastened on (as seen in Fig. 1) the scissors (18, 20), the current collector rocker (11) configured to engage a conductive pathway line (para. [0027], lines 3-5) that is off-board the vehicle and
a height adjustment device (15) configured to pivot (para. [0028], lines 8-9) at least one of the scissors (18, 20) with respect to the vehicle;
a sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) connected to the height adjustment device (15) and connected to the at least one of the scissors (18, 20), the sled configured to be moved by the height adjustment device (15) from a lower position into a raised position (para. [0028], lines 8-9);
a detent situated on the base frame (as seen in annotated Fig. 1 above)
a detent hook (as seen in annotated Fig. 1 above); and
a spindle (para. [0029], line 2) connected to the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and configured to be moved (para. [0029], lines 3-4) by the height adjustment device (15), the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) configured to be moved (para. [0029], lines 3-4) toward the vehicle by operation of the height adjustment device (15) on the spindle (para. [0029], line 2).
Schunk does not teach a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips; a detent actuatable by the sled, wherein the detent comprises: a rod; a pivot lever coupled to the rod at one end and the detent hook at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position.
Ba teaches a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips (para. [0056]); a detent (610) (Fig. 10) actuatable by the sled (see machine translation, para. [0055], lines 5-8), wherein the detent comprises: a rod (613) (Fig. 11); a pivot lever (612) coupled to the rod (613) at one end and the detent hook (611) at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook (613) engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position (para. [0056]).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system of claim 14, wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) is connected to the at least one of the scissors (18, 20) (Fig. 1) by one or more tension springs (23) (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3-5, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schunk (DE 202014007218 U1) in view of Ba (CN 111660819 A) and Pachler (US 20190105989 A1).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, wherein the height adjustment device (15) (Fig. 1) includes an electrical blocking device (para. [0012]).
Schunk does not teach wherein the electrical blocking device is configured to release the sled in an event of a power failure to enter the sled into the park position and lower the current collector rocker.
Pachler teaches releasing the sled in an event of a power failure (para. [0015], lines 26-32) to enter the sled into the park position (as seen in Fig. 1) and lower (para. [0015], lines 26-32) the current collector rocker (47, 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include releasing the sled when power is lost as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the safety of the current collector system (see, Pachler, para. [0015], lines 31-32).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Schunk as modified by Pachler above teaches the current collector system according to claim 3, wherein the electrical blocking device (Schunk, para. [0012]) is engaged with the electrical linear drive (27) (Schunk, Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1, further comprising: a damping element between the base frame (21) (Fig. 1) and the lower scissor (18) that is configured to slow a lowering speed of the lower scissor (18) during lowering (para. [0006], lines 9-11) of the lower scissor (18).
Schunk does not teach a damping element configured to slow a lowering speed.
Pachler teaches a damping element configured to slow a lowering speed (para. [0018], lines 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include a damping element as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the smoothness of movement of the system (see Pachler, para. [0018], lines 7-9).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system of claim 14.
Schunk does not teach wherein the height adjustment device is configured to release the sled responsive to a power failure and move the sled to the lower position.
Pachler teaches wherein the height adjustment device (28) is configured to release the sled responsive to a power failure (para. [0015], lines 26-32) and move the sled to the lower position (para. [0015], lines 26-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include releasing the sled when power is lost as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the safety of the current collector system (see, Pachler, para. [0015], lines 31-32).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system of claim 14.
Schunk does not teach a damping element configured to be disposed between the vehicle and the scissors, the damping element configured to slow a lowering speed of the at least one of the scissors during lowering of the at least one of the scissors.
Pachler teaches a damping element configured to be disposed between (para. [0018], lines 7-9) the vehicle and the scissors (15, 18), the damping element configured to slow a lowering speed (para. [0018], liens 7-9) of the at least one of the scissors (15, 18) during lowering of the at least one of the scissors (15, 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include a damping element as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the smoothness of movement of the system (see Pachler, para. [0018], lines 7-9).
In regards to claim 18, Schunk teaches a current collector system, comprising:
a lower scissor (18) (Fig. 1) configured to be fastened on a base frame (21) that is mounted on a vehicle (para. [0027], lines 1-2), the lower scissor (18) configured to be fastened to the base frame (21) by one or more first tension springs (44, on the left) (Fig. 3);
an upper scissor (20) fastened on (as seen in Fig. 1) the lower scissor (18) with steering rods (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a current collector rocker (11) fastened on (as seen in Fig. 1) the upper scissor (20), the current collector rocker (11) including contact strips (13) for contacting an energized overhead line (para. [0027], lines 3-5);
a height adjustment device (15) situated on or in (as seen in Fig. 1) the base frame (21), the height adjustment device (15) including an electrical linear drive (27) and configured to pivot (para. [0028], lines 8-9) the lower scissor (18) with respect to the base frame (21), the height adjustment device (15) configured to lower (para. [0028], lines 8-9) the current collector rocker (11);
a sled (see annotated Fig. 2 below) connected to the linear drive (27) (Fig. 2) of the height adjustment device (15) and connected to the lower scissor (18) via a second tension spring (44 on the right) (Fig. 3), the sled being displaceable by the linear drive (27) from a park position into a lift position (para. [0028], lines 8-9), the one or more first tension springs (44, on the left) (Fig. 3) configured to assist (para. [0031], lines 4-6) pivoting movement of the lower scissor (18) (Fig. 1) into the lift position (para. [0028], lines 8-9);
a spindle (para. [0029], line 2) connected to the sled and configured to be linearly displaceable (para. [0029], lines 3-4) by the linear drive (27), wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 below) is translationally displaceable (para. [0029], lines 3-4) to the base frame (21) by operation of the linear drive (27) on the spindle (para. [0029], line 2).
Schunk does not teach wherein the height adjustment device is configured to release the sled responsive to a power failure and move the sled to the lower position.
Pachler teaches wherein the height adjustment device (28) is configured to release the sled responsive to a power failure (para. [0015], lines 26-32) and move the sled to the lower position (para. [0015], lines 26-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include releasing the sled when power is lost as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the safety of the current collector system (see, Pachler, para. [0015], lines 31-32).
Schunk does not teach a damping element configured to be disposed between the vehicle and the scissors, the damping element configured to slow a lowering speed of the at least one of the scissors during lowering of the at least one of the scissors.
Pachler teaches a damping element configured to be disposed between (para. [0018], lines 7-9) the base frame and the scissors (15, 18), the damping element configured to slow a lowering speed (para. [0018], liens 7-9) of the at least one of the scissors (15, 18) during lowering of the at least one of the scissors (15, 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjustment device of Schunk to include a damping element as taught by Pachler with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the smoothness of movement of the system (see Pachler, para. [0018], lines 7-9).
In regards to claim 19, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba and Pachler above teaches the current collector system of claim 17, wherein the sled (see annotated Fig. 2 above) includes at least one guide rail (see annotated Fig. 2 above) configured to be mounted in at least one linear bearing (see annotated Fig. 2 above) on the base frame (21) (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schunk (DE 202014007218 U1) in view of Ba (CN 111660819 A) and Milleville (US 4413710 A).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Schunk as modified by Ba above teaches the current collector system according to claim 1. Schunk does not teach wherein the tension spring is connected to a connector guided on a cam disk.
Milleville teaches wherein the tension spring (13) (Fig. 4) is connected (col. 4, lines 49-56) to a connector guided on a cam disk (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tension spring of Schunk to include a cam disk as taught by Milleville with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the system’s resistance to tension (see Milleville, col. 4, lines 55-56).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schunk (DE 202014007218 U1) in view of Pachler (US 20190105989 A1) and Ba (CN 111660819 A).
In regards to claim 21, the combination of Schunk as modified by Pachler above teaches the current collector system of claim 18, comprising:
a detent situated on the base frame (Schunk, as seen in annotated Fig. 1 above)
a detent hook (Schunk, as seen in annotated Fig. 1 above); and
Schunk does not teach a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips; a detent actuatable by the sled, wherein the detent comprises: a rod; a pivot lever coupled to the rod at one end and the detent hook at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position.
Ba teaches a detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips (para. [0056]); a detent (610) (Fig. 10) actuatable by the sled (see machine translation, para. [0055], lines 5-8), wherein the detent comprises: a rod (613) (Fig. 11); a pivot lever (612) coupled to the rod (613) at one end and the detent hook (611) at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook (613) engages with the detent hook receptable in a locking position (para. [0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10, 12-19, and 21 have been fully considered. Claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 are rejected under new grounds as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the “detent hook receptable on a side of the current collector rocker opposite the contact strips” and “a detent situated on the base frame and actuatable by the sled, wherein the detent comprises: a rod; a detent hook; and a pivot lever coupled to the rod at one end and the detent hook at an opposite end, wherein the detent hook engages with the detent hook receptable in the locking position.” The examiner responds in disagreement and cites the rejections of claims 1, 14, and 21 above.
Applicant argues that Schunk fails to teach the height adjustment device configured to release the sled responsive to a power failures and move the sled to a lower position. The Examiner cites the above rejections of Schunk in view of Ba and Pachler as seen in claims 3, 16, and 21. Pachler teaches the height adjustment device configured to release the sled responsive to a power failure.
Applicant argues that Schunk fails to teach a damping element configured to be disposed between the base frame and the scissors. The Examiner cites the above rejections of Schunk in view of Ba and Pachler as seen in claim 5, 17, and 21. Pachler teaches a damping element configured to be disposed between the base frame and the scissors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jia (CN 111532140 A) discloses an automatic locking and jacking device for a pantograph.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615