DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on June 26, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 10, 13, 16, 21 and 23 have been amended. No claims have been newly cancelled/added. Thus, Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-21 and 23 are presented for examination.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed on June 26, 2025, with respect to the previous claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed on June 26, 2025, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed on June 26, 2025, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive because the prior art US8311736B2 does not appear to disclose at least the limitation “…the processor can update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes associated with the predicted meshes…” as amended in claim 1. However, further search and consideration of the amended claim scope found that US20100332120A1 (which will be referred to as “Tomobe 2” to further distinguish from US8311736B2 which has been previously referred to as “Tomobe”) discloses at least the limitation (as seen further below).
Examiner notes that Claim 12, which was not previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, is being indicated as allowable subject matter (as seen further below) after overcoming the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata et al. (JP Publication Number US2009128162A; hereinafter Kawamata) in view of Tomobe et al. (US Patent Number US20100332120A1; hereinafter Tomobe 2) and further in view of Sergeev et al. (US Patent Number US11226207B2, effectively filed 12/18/2019; hereinafter Sergeev).
Regarding Claim 1 and Claim 23 (independent), which recite substantially similar subject matter, Kawamata discloses a map data management apparatus (Pages 4-5, Paragraph 0017 of the attached English translation, “The navigation processing device 20 is configured to include, as its functional blocks, a navigation processing unit 200, a map data management unit 210, and the like”) comprising:
a method for use with a vehicle for managing a map database (Page 1, Paragraph 0001 of the attached English translation, “The present invention relates to a map data updating method and a map data updating program for updating map data in a car navigation device, and also to a car navigation device and a car navigation system to which the map data updating method is applied”);
a map database to store a piece of map data of each mesh of a map partitioned in a mesh-shaped design (Page 11, Paragraph 0046 of the attached English translation, “The map data management unit 210 is configured to include processing function blocks such as an update metadata acquisition unit 211, an update data acquisition unit 212, a map data update processing unit 213, a map data access management unit 214, a map data usage status monitoring unit 215, a map data usage prediction unit 216, and an update target selection unit 217, and storage function blocks such as a map data DB 220, an update metadata storage unit 221, an update data storage unit 222, an acquired data table 223, a map data usage status table 224, a map data usage prediction table 225, and an update target selection table 226”; Page 8, Paragraph 0034, “Each of these types of map data [(road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data)] is further divided into data for each predetermined area (for example, administrative divisions such as prefectures, rectangular divisions of a predetermined size (hereinafter referred to as meshes) etc.)”; Examiner notes that map data DB 220 (in car navigation device 2) stores meshes of map data received from master map DB 301 (from map center 3));
a processor to execute a program; and a memory to store the program (Page 4, Paragraph 0015 of the attached English translation, ”In FIG. 1, a car navigation device 2 includes a navigation processing device 20 as a main component. The navigation processing device 20 is made up of a computer including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) (not shown) and storage devices such as a memory and a hard disk device”), which, when executed by the processor, performs processes of:
providing, in response to a request from a map application, the map application with the pieces of map data stored in the map database (Page 12, Paragraph 0050, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200”; Examiner notes that drawing application (navigation processing unit 200) accesses pieces of standard map data from DB 220, which is reasonably equivalent to providing pieces of standard map data to the drawing application);
obtaining, from a map distribution server, a piece of update map data that is a piece of latest map data of each of the meshes (Page 11, Paragraph 0048 of the attached English translation, “The update data acquisition unit 212 , under the control of the map data update processing unit 213, requests the map center processing device 30 to distribute update data, and acquires the update data distributed from the map center processing device 30 in response”);
updating the pieces of map data stored in the map database using the pieces of update map data (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”);
providing the updated pieces of map data stored in the map database to the map application (Page 12, Paragraph 0050, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200”) wherein the processor:
predicts meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application (Pages 12-13, Paragraph 0053 of the attached English translation, “The map data usage prediction unit 216 can know what application is using what map data from the map data usage status table 224, and predicts the map data that will be used in the near future based on the map data usage status of the application. For example, when a guided route to a destination is required and a map drawing application is running, the map data usage prediction unit 216 can predict that the map drawing application will use map data of the area along the guided route in the near future. In other words, the map data usage prediction unit 216 predicts the map data that will be used in the near future in this manner, and records data identifying the predicted map data (area ID, data type ID, and sub-type ID) in the map data prediction table 225”);
identifies meshes whose pieces of map data stored in the map database are not latest as update-necessary meshes, from among the predicted meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested (Page 19, Paragraph 0084 of the attached English translation, “The CPU refers to the map data usage prediction table 225 and the acquired data table 223 to create an update target selection table 226 for selecting map data that is frequently used and has not been updated to the latest version”).
While Kawamata further discloses performing a first map update process of immediately updating pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”), Kawamata does not explicitly recite a condition for initiating the first map update process based on whether the update-necessary meshes can be updated before they are requested by the map application.
Nevertheless, Tomobe 2 teaches a method for updating map data used in a navigation system (see at least Abstract), wherein map data can be represented as meshed information (see at least Figures 20-21), based on:
[determining whether] the processor can update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes associated with the predicted meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes [and determining whether] the processor cannot update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Paragraphs 0131-0135 describe judging whether updates can or cannot be completed in time ( “the CPU prepares to execute judgment for updating guided route data…the CPU compares the necessary time for updating road data with the necessary time for reaching to the updating location. When the necessary time for updating road data is smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location ("Yes", in step S4705), the CPU executes the difference update of the road data. When the necessary time for updating road data is not smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location (“No”, in step S4705), the CPU does not execute the difference update of the road data”); Examiner notes that the “updating location” is a location that the vehicle is planned to travel through (e.g. from the “guided route”) and therefore reasonably indicative of a predicted map data to be requested for guidance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kawamata invention to expand the features for updating pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation) to include a determination on whether an update can be completed in time, as taught by Tomobe 2, for the benefit of ensuring normal operation of a navigation system (Tomobe 2, Paragraph 0018).
While Kawamata as currently modified discloses map update process of updating the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Kawamata, Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”), Kawamata does not explicitly disclose wherein the map application controls a driving control system of a vehicle, based on the provided updated pieces of map data and performs a second map update process at the timing that an operation of the map application satisfies a predefined condition.
Nevertheless, Sergeev teaches a method to prevent inconsistencies during a map update wherein the map application controls a driving control system of a vehicle, based on the provided updated pieces of map data (Column 1, Lines 61-63, “FIG. 3 shows just such an example method for synchronizing map updates for a navigating autonomous vehicle in accordance with some aspects of the present technology”) comprising:
performs a second map update process at the timing that an operation of the map application satisfies a predefined condition (Column 5, Lines 60-67 to Column 6, Lines 1-3, “These updated maps can be synchronized between multiple downstream nodes without halting an autonomous vehicle's navigation by enabling a managing node (e.g., a router or other device) have access to a full version of the map, but only forward a limited-visibility portion of the map to the downstream nodes. To do this, any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited-visibility portion of the map if there is an inconsistency between them—if so, the update can be delayed to another time”; Column 8, Lines 38-47, “Synchronization (306) among the downstream nodes while the autonomous vehicle 402 is navigating and/or using the current LV map 404 can be accomplished by making sure the map version of the current LV map 404 is consistent among the nodes, and only allowing an update to the map when the update will not affect navigation. To do so, map service 216 can define a no updates area 408 that determines whether an update will be applied to the current LV map 404 and/or the next LV map 406”; Examiner notes that an update is not performed until the vehicle is no longer within a specified geographic area (e.g. until the vehicle leaves “no updates area 408”), which is reasonably analogous to delaying an update until an operation of the map application satisfies a predefined condition).
Sergeev is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of performing a map update process upon a predefined condition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Sergeev by including features that allow performing a second map update process upon a predefined condition when it is determined that the update-necessary meshes cannot be updated before they are requested by the map application. Doing so would help reduce the chance of providing inconsistent map information while navigating (Sergeev, Column 2, Lines 46-52, “Any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited area of the map if there is an inconsistency between the previous version and the updated version. This ensures that maps can be updated without version confusion and ensures that the autonomous vehicle avoids undefined data inputs/outputs while it is navigating”).
Regarding Claim 2, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: end of an operation of the map application; start of a next operation of the map application; the fact that all the pieces of map data being provided to the map application have become latest; and the fact that the map application has released the pieces of map data.
Nevertheless, Sergeev further teaches wherein the predefined condition is at least one of the following:
end of an operation of the map application; start of a next operation of the map application; the fact that all the pieces of map data being provided to the map application have become latest; and the fact that the map application has released the pieces of map data (Column 5, Lines 60-67 to Column 6, Lines 1-3, “These updated maps can be synchronized between multiple downstream nodes without halting an autonomous vehicle's navigation by enabling a managing node (e.g., a router or other device) have access to a full version of the map, but only forward a limited-visibility portion of the map to the downstream nodes. To do this, any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited-visibility portion of the map if there is an inconsistency between them—if so, the update can be delayed to another time”; Column 8, Lines 38-48, “Synchronization (306) among the downstream nodes while the autonomous vehicle 402 is navigating and/or using the current LV map 404 can be accomplished by making sure the map version of the current LV map 404 is consistent among the nodes, and only allowing an update to the map when the update will not affect navigation. To do so, map service 216 can define a no updates area 408 that determines whether an update will be applied to the current LV map 404 and/or the next LV map 406”; Examiner notes that only allowing an update to the map when the update will not affect navigation is reasonably analogous to delaying an update until a vehicle leaves a geographic area (e.g. until a vehicle leaves “no updates area 408”), which indicates an end of an operation of that geographic area for a map application).
Sergeev is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of performing a map update process upon a predefined condition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Sergeev by including features that allow performing a second map update process upon end of an operation. Doing so would help reduce the chance of providing inconsistent map information while navigating (Sergeev, Column 2, Lines 46-52, “Any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited area of the map if there is an inconsistency between the previous version and the updated version. This ensures that maps can be updated without version confusion and ensures that the autonomous vehicle avoids undefined data inputs/outputs while it is navigating”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. Kawamata further discloses:
wherein the processor performs the second map update process on meshes in a predefined area including a mesh to which a current position belongs (Page 14, Paragraph 0062 of the attached English translation, “In the update metadata acquisition process (step S02), the CPU of the navigation processing device 20 first sets the data type, area and version of the map data in the update metadata request (step S21). At this time, the update metadata request may include a data type, an area, and a version of a plurality of map data…At this time, the area is set according to the following conditions, for example. (1) The area including the vehicle's position and its neighboring areas”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. Kawamata further discloses: an update map data storage to store the pieces of update map data of the update-necessary meshes until (Page 14, Paragraph 0089 of the attached English translation, “The update data acquired in the update data acquisition process is stored in the update data storage unit 222”). Kawamata does not explicitly recite: the processor performs the second map update process when the processor cannot update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes.
Nevertheless, Sergeev further teaches:
the processor performs the second map update process when the processor cannot update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Column 5, Lines 60-67 to Column 6, Lines 1-3, “These updated maps can be synchronized between multiple downstream nodes without halting an autonomous vehicle's navigation by enabling a managing node (e.g., a router or other device) have access to a full version of the map, but only forward a limited-visibility portion of the map to the downstream nodes. To do this, any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited-visibility portion of the map if there is an inconsistency between them—if so, the update can be delayed to another time”; Column 8, Lines 38-47, “Synchronization (306) among the downstream nodes while the autonomous vehicle 402 is navigating and/or using the current LV map 404 can be accomplished by making sure the map version of the current LV map 404 is consistent among the nodes, and only allowing an update to the map when the update will not affect navigation. To do so, map service 216 can define a no updates area 408 that determines whether an update will be applied to the current LV map 404 and/or the next LV map 406”).
Sergeev is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of performing a map update process upon a predefined condition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Sergeev by including features that allow performing a second map update when it is determined that the update-necessary meshes cannot be updated before they are requested by the map application. Doing so would help reduce the chance of providing inconsistent map information while navigating (Sergeev, Column 2, Lines 46-52, “Any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited area of the map if there is an inconsistency between the previous version and the updated version. This ensures that maps can be updated without version confusion and ensures that the autonomous vehicle avoids undefined data inputs/outputs while it is navigating”).
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Tomobe 2 and Sergeev and further in view of Kim et al. (US Publication Number US20230168102A1, effectively filed 4/27/2020; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: the pieces of map data stored in the map database are pieces of high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane.
Nevertheless, Kim teaches a route providing device (Paragraph 0523-0535 and Figure 14, “The route providing device 800 may provide a route to a vehicle, and may include a communication unit 810, an interface unit 820, and a processor 830 (EHP)…The processor 830, as illustrated in FIG. 14 , may include a map cacher 831, a map matcher 832, a map-dependent APIs (MAL) 833, a path generator 834, a visibility information (Horizon) generator 835, an ADASIS generator 836, and a transmitter 83”) wherein:
the pieces of map data stored in the map database are pieces of high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane (Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400”; Paragraph 0261, “HD map data may include detailed lane-unit topology information of a road, connection information of each lane, and feature information for localization of a vehicle (e.g., traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc)”).
36. Kim is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing high-definition map data that includes road shape information for each lane. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim by including pieces of high-definition map data in the map database. Doing so would allow for the performance of autonomous features that require lane-level mapping information (Kim, Paragraph 0380, “By using such information, the eHorizon (external server) of the present disclosure can provide information necessary for an autonomous driving system and an infotainment system to each vehicle based on a detailed map capable of determining a road situation (or road information) in the lane unit”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. Kawamata further discloses:
wherein the pieces of map data stored in the map database include pieces of standard map data including road shape information for each road (Page 8, Paragraph 0034 of the attached English translation, “Each of these types of map data [(e.g. road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data)] is further divided into data for each predetermined area (for example, administrative divisions such as prefectures, rectangular divisions of a predetermined size (hereinafter referred to as meshes) etc.”),
the pieces of [standard] map data are provided to the map application (Page 12, Paragraph 0050 of the attached English translation, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200”),
the pieces of standard map data are used for map-matching for identifying a current position (Page 23, Paragraph 0105 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 12A, each section of the grid represents a mesh that is a unit of map data, and is, for example, an area of 10 km square. Each mesh is assigned an address in the horizontal and vertical directions, which is identified by a number from 0 to f (hexadecimal). At this time, the vehicle is located at the black triangle position (mesh with address "53"), the destination is located at the flag mark position (mesh with address "cd"), and a guide route like a solid curve from the vehicle position to the destination is being sought”; Examiner notes that placing a current position on a map is reasonably indicates map-matching for identify a current position), and
the processor performs the first map update process and the second map update process on the pieces of standard map data (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”).
However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: pieces of high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane. Nevertheless, Kim teaches a route providing device (Paragraph 0523-0535 and Figure 14, “The route providing device 800 may provide a route to a vehicle, and may include a communication unit 810, an interface unit 820, and a processor 830 (EHP)…The processor 830, as illustrated in FIG. 14 , may include a map cacher 831, a map matcher 832, a map-dependent APIs (MAL) 833, a path generator 834, a visibility information (Horizon) generator 835, an ADASIS generator 836, and a transmitter 83”) comprising:
pieces of high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane (Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400”; Paragraph 0261, “HD map data may include detailed lane-unit topology information of a road, connection information of each lane, and feature information for localization of a vehicle (e.g., traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.)”).
36. Kim is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing high-definition map data that includes road shape information for each lane. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim by including high-definition map data that can be stored in the map database, updated by the first and second map update process in the map database and then provided to the map application. Doing so would allow the map data management apparatus to support the performance of autonomous features that require lane-level mapping information (Kim, Paragraph 0380, “By using such information, the eHorizon (external server) of the present disclosure can provide information necessary for an autonomous driving system and an infotainment system to each vehicle based on a detailed map capable of determining a road situation (or road information) in the lane unit”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Tomobe 2 and Sergeev and further in view of Miyazaki (US Publication Number US20140139354A1; hereinafter Miyazaki).
Regarding Claim 7, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 5. Kawamata as currently modified teaches: wherein the processor cannot update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Tomobe 2, Paragraphs 0131-0135 describe judging whether updates can or cannot be completed in time ( “the CPU prepares to execute judgment for updating guided route data…the CPU compares the necessary time for updating road data with the necessary time for reaching to the updating location. When the necessary time for updating road data is smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location ("Yes", in step S4705), the CPU executes the difference update of the road data. When the necessary time for updating road data is not smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location (“No”, in step S4705), the CPU does not execute the difference update of the road data”)). While Kawamata further discloses an update map data storage to store the pieces of update map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 11, Paragraph 0046 of the attached English translation, “The map data management unit 210 is configured to include processing function blocks such as…storage function blocks such as a map data DB 220, an update metadata storage unit 221, an update data storage unit 222, an acquired data table 223, a map data usage status table 224, a map data usage prediction table 225, and an update target selection table 226”; Page 19, Paragraph 0084 of the attached English translation, “The CPU refers to the map data usage prediction table 225 and the acquired data table 223 to create an update target selection table 226 for selecting map data that is frequently used and has not been updated to the latest version”), Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: when the [data storage] does not have a free capacity large enough to store the pieces of [data], the processor selects a piece of [data] to be stored in the [data storage] with a higher priority than a piece of update [data]with a lower priority and which is already stored in the update [data storage], deletes the piece of update [data] with the lower priority from the update [data storage], and saves the piece of update [data]with the higher priority in the update [data storage].
Nevertheless, Miyazaki teaches a vehicle data storage (Paragraph 0044, “In memory 25, there are stored identification information (ID) for discriminating vehicles and update times of updating data”) comprising:
when the [data storage] does not have a free capacity large enough to store the pieces of [data], the processor selects a piece of [data] to be stored in the [data storage] with a higher priority than a piece of update [data]with a lower priority and which is already stored in the update [data storage], deletes the piece of update [data] with the lower priority from the update [data storage], and saves the piece of update [data]with the higher priority in the update [data storage] (Paragraph 0046 describes prioritization of new information, “Memory 25 has a preset recordable limit capacity, so that it is not possible to record information beyond the recordable limit capacity. Therefore, control section 21 deletes vehicle information having an older update time by checking the update time when the total data quantity of the vehicle information already recorded in memory 25, and the vehicle information and server management information received newly by vehicle-to-vehicle communication section 23 and server communication section 24 is greater than the recordable limit capacity, that is, when new information cannot be stored in memory 25 because of the data quantity exceeding the limit capacity”).
Miyazaki is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of how pieces of map data are stored when it is determined that there is no more capacity to store pieces of update map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Miyazaki by including features that allow deleting older pieces of update map data when the update map data storage reaches full capacity. Doing so would help improve the efficiency of how data is being stored by reducing data overhead of outdated map data (Miyazaki, Paragraph 0046, “Thus, control section 21 can increase a free space in memory 25, and record more recent vehicle information in memory 25”).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Tomobe 2 and Sergeev and further in view of Utsugi et al. (US Publication Number US20160370191A1; hereinafter Utsugi).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 1. While Kawamata further discloses the first map update process (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”) for updating the update-necessary meshes (Page 11, Paragraph 0046 of the attached English translation, “The map data management unit 210 is configured to include processing function blocks such as…storage function blocks such as a map data DB 220, an update metadata storage unit 221, an update data storage unit 222, an acquired data table 223, a map data usage status table 224, a map data usage prediction table 225, and an update target selection table 226”; Page 19, Paragraph 0084 of the attached English translation, “The CPU refers to the map data usage prediction table 225 and the acquired data table 223 to create an update target selection table 226 for selecting map data that is frequently used and has not been updated to the latest version”), Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: the processor updates the pieces of map data in order of increasing proximity from a starting mesh toward a traveling direction, the starting mesh being farthest one of meshes whose pieces of map data have been provided to the map application, from a current position toward the traveling direction.
Nevertheless, Utsugi teaches a map storage (Abstract, “A map information storage unit that stores district map information including a plurality of division areas”) comprising:
the processor updates the pieces of map data in order of increasing proximity from a starting mesh toward a traveling direction, the starting mesh being farthest one of meshes whose pieces of map data have been provided to the map application, from a current position toward the traveling direction (Paragraph 0072 and Figures 8-9, “The map information update unit 52 calculates priority such that higher priority is given to a division area that is close to the first vehicle and includes an optimum route of the division area information which are not updated. Next, the map information update unit 52 calculates priority such that next higher priority is given to a division area that is close to the first vehicle and that includes a route which is derived by the control unit 60 and is not selected as the optimum route”; Examiner notes that priority is given in increasing proximity from a current position of the vehicle toward the direction of the traveling vehicle, as shown in Figures 8-9).
Utsugi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of setting up an order of priority for how map data will be updated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Utsugi by including features that allow a first map update process of updating the pieces of update-necessary meshes in order of increasing proximity starting from a current position of a traveling vehicle toward the direction of the traveling vehicle. Doing so would help optimize navigational guidance by prioritizing updates to the pieces of map data that are most necessary for navigation (Utsugi, Paragraph 0074, “Thereby, it is possible to promptly update map information with respect to a required division area”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Tomobe 2, Sergeev, Kim and further in view of Chen et al. (CN Publication Number CN111102988A; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 9. However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor prioritizes updating the pieces of high-definition map data before updating the pieces of standard map data.
Nevertheless, Chen teaches a map-based path planning framework (Page 2, Paragraph 0007 of the attached English translation, “The purpose of the embodiments of the present application is to disclose a map-based path planning method”) that comprises:
wherein the processor prioritizes updating the pieces of high-definition map data before updating the pieces of standard map data (Page 10, Paragraph 0072 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 6 , the server is pre-arranged with the first navigation map data (SD Map) and the second navigation map data (HD Map), wherein the first navigation map data is updated according to the normal data update frequency (such as once a month), while the second navigation map data is updated in real time (such as updated every time the vehicle terminal uploads data)”; Examiner notes that updating second navigation map data (HD map) in real-time while updating the first navigation map data (SD map) periodically reasonably indicates a prioritized approach of updating high-definition map data before standard map data).
Chen is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of setting up an order of priority between high-definition map data and standard map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen by including features that allow updating the pieces of high-definition map data before the pieces of standard map data. Doing so would help ensure that autonomous driving features that rely on high-definition map data can be performed with the latest available information.
Claims 13, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Kim and Sergeev.
Regarding Claim 13 (Independent), Kawamata discloses a map data management apparatus (Pages 4-5, Paragraph 0017 of the attached English translation, The navigation processing device 20 is configured to include, as its functional blocks, a navigation processing unit 200, a map data management unit 210, and the like) comprising:
a map database to store a piece of map data of each mesh of a map partitioned in a mesh-shaped design (Page 11, Paragraph 0046 of the attached English translation, “The map data management unit 210 is configured to include processing function blocks such as an update metadata acquisition unit 211, an update data acquisition unit 212, a map data update processing unit 213, a map data access management unit 214, a map data usage status monitoring unit 215, a map data usage prediction unit 216, and an update target selection unit 217, and storage function blocks such as a map data DB 220, an update metadata storage unit 221, an update data storage unit 222, an acquired data table 223, a map data usage status table 224, a map data usage prediction table 225, and an update target selection table 226”; Paragraph 0033, “Each of these types of map data [(road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data)] is further divided into data for each predetermined area (for example, administrative divisions such as prefectures, rectangular divisions of a predetermined size (hereinafter referred to as meshes) etc.)”; Examiner notes that map data DB 220 (in car navigation device 2) stores meshes of map data received from master map DB 301 (from map center 3));
a processor to execute a program; and a memory to store the program (Page 4, Paragraph 0015 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 1, a car navigation device 2 includes a navigation processing device 20 as a main component. The navigation processing device 20 is made up of a computer including a CPU (Central Processing Unit) (not shown) and storage devices such as a memory and a hard disk device”), which, when executed by the processor, performs processes of:
providing, in response to a request from a map application, the map application with the pieces of map data stored in the map database (Page 12, Paragraph 0050, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200”; Examiner notes that drawing application (navigation processing unit 200) accesses pieces of standard map data from DB 220, which is reasonably equivalent to providing pieces of standard map data to the drawing application);
obtaining, from a map distribution server, a piece of update map data that is a piece of latest map data of each of the meshes (Page 11, Paragraph 0048 of the attached English translation, “The update data acquisition unit 212 , under the control of the map data update processing unit 213 , requests the map center processing device 30 to distribute update data, and acquires the update data distributed from the map center processing device 30 in response”);
updating the pieces of map data stored in the map database using the pieces of update map data (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”);
providing the updated pieces of map data stored in the map database to the map application (Page 12, Paragraph 0050, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200);
the processor predicts, as meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application, meshes with pieces [of] map data that are connected from a mesh to which a current position belongs or meshes with pieces [of] map data of roads that are connected from a road in the mesh to which the current position belongs (Pages 12-13, Paragraph 0053 of the attached English translation, “The map data usage prediction unit 216 can know what application is using what map data from the map data usage status table 224, and predicts the map data that will be used in the near future based on the map data usage status of the application. For example, when a guided route to a destination is required and a map drawing application is running, the map data usage prediction unit 216 can predict that the map drawing application will use map data of the area along the guided route in the near future. In other words, the map data usage prediction unit 216 predicts the map data that will be used in the near future in this manner, and records data identifying the predicted map data (area ID, data type ID, and sub-type ID) in the map data prediction table 225”);
identifies meshes whose pieces of map data stored in the map database are not latest as update-necessary meshes, from among the predicted meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested (Page 19, Paragraph 0084 of the attached English translation, “The CPU refers to the map data usage prediction table 225 and the acquired data table 223 to create an update target selection table 226 for selecting map data that is frequently used and has not been updated to the latest version”); and
updates pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes associated with the predicted meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation describes updating before providing map data to the map application (“The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”) which reasonably occurs before a map application request).
However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose that the map data may include high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane. Nevertheless, Kim teaches a route providing device (Paragraph 0523-0535 and Figure 14, The route providing device 800 may provide a route to a vehicle, and may include a communication unit 810, an interface unit 820, and a processor 830 (EHP)…The processor 830, as illustrated in FIG. 14 , may include a map cacher 831, a map matcher 832, a map-dependent APIs (MAL) 833, a path generator 834, a visibility information (Horizon) generator 835, an ADASIS generator 836, and a transmitter 83) capable of storing:
pieces of high-definition map data including road shape information for each lane (Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400”; Paragraph 0261, “HD map data may include detailed lane-unit topology information of a road, connection information of each lane, and feature information for localization of a vehicle (e.g., traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc)”).
Kim is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing high-definition map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Kawamata invention to include not just pieces of standard map data in DB 220, but to also include pieces of high-definition map data that include road shape information for each lane, as taught by Kim. Doing so would allow for the performance of autonomous features that require lane-level mapping information (Kim, Paragraph 0380, “By using such information, the eHorizon (external server) of the present disclosure can provide information necessary for an autonomous driving system and an infotainment system to each vehicle based on a detailed map capable of determining a road situation (or road information) in the lane unit”).
However, Kawamata still does not explicitly disclose: the map application controls a driving control system of a vehicle, based on the provided updated pieces of map data. Nevertheless, Sergeev teaches a method to prevent inconsistencies during a map update (see at least Abstract) wherein:
the map application controls a driving control system of a vehicle, based on the provided updated pieces of map data (Column 1, Lines 61-63, “FIG. 3 shows just such an example method for synchronizing map updates for a navigating autonomous vehicle in accordance with some aspects of the present technology”).
Sergeev is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of performing a map update process upon a predefined condition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Sergeev by including features that allow a map application to navigate a vehicle. Doing so would help the vehicle avoid undefined areas (Sergeev, Column 2, Lines 46-52, “Any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited area of the map if there is an inconsistency between the previous version and the updated version. This ensures that maps can be updated without version confusion and ensures that the autonomous vehicle avoids undefined data inputs/outputs while it is navigating”).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim as currently modified teaches claim 13. Kawamata further discloses:
a mesh connection management data storage storing data indicating a mesh and another nearby mesh that correspond to a direction of a road (Page 23, Paragraph 0105 of the attached English translation and Page 22, Figure 12 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 12A, each section of the grid represents a mesh that is a unit of map data, and is, for example, an area of 10 km square. Each mesh is assigned an address in the horizontal and vertical directions, which is identified by a number from 0 to f (hexadecimal)”; Examiner notes that Figure 12 A-B shows provides an indication that a road present in a mesh continues into at least one neighboring mesh in the horizontal or vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 18, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 13. Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: wherein when a road that is connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs has a branching point and a traveling direction at the branching point is not certain the processor in predicting the meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application searches for, from the branching point to each branching direction, the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data that are connected from the mesh to which the current position belongs or the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data of the roads that are connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs and when the road that is connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs has the branching point and the traveling direction at the branching point becomes certain, the processor in predicting the meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application searches for, from the branching point toward the traveling direction, the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data that are connected from the mesh to which the current position belongs or the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data of the roads that are connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs.
Nevertheless, Kim further teaches:
wherein when a road that is connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs has a branching point and a traveling direction at the branching point is not certain the processor in predicting the meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application searches for, from the branching point to each branching direction, the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data that are connected from the mesh to which the current position belongs or the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data of the roads that are connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs (Paragraph 0564, “When a destination is not set or the vehicle has deviated from a path corresponding to path information required for the vehicle to travel to the destination, the Horizon generator 835 may generate an optimal route or a sub path based on the road assigned with the score by the Custom logic module 834 b and generate autonomous driving visibility information corresponding to the optimal route and the sub path…Here, the Horizon graph may refer to information in which roads for which the autonomous driving visibility information has been generated are connected at each intersection to the optimal route and the sub path from the current position of the vehicle to the destination… In addition, since the autonomous driving visibility information is generated not only for the optimal route from the current position of the vehicle to the destination but also to the sub path different from the optimal route (i.e., a road corresponding to a sub path other than a road corresponding to an optimal route at an intersection), the autonomous driving visibility information may be generated for a plurality of paths (an optimal route and a plurality of sub paths), not merely for a single path (the optimal route)”; Paragraph 0467, “The autonomous driving visibility information (eHorizon information) is information (data, or environment) which the vehicle 100 uses for performing autonomous driving in units of lanes”; Examiner notes that before the plurality of paths for “autonomous driving visibility information” was generated, the scoring by Custom logic module 834b reasonably required searching for paths that have pieces of high-definition map data available, since the availability of high-definition map data is required to perform autonomous driving), and
when the road that is connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs has the branching point and the traveling direction at the branching point becomes certain, the processor in predicting the meshes whose pieces of map data will be requested from the map application searches for, from the branching point toward the traveling direction, the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data that are connected from the mesh to which the current position belongs or the meshes with the pieces of high-definition map data of the roads that are connected from the road in the mesh to which the current position belongs (Paragraph 0564-0566, “When a destination is not set or the vehicle has deviated from a path corresponding to path information required for the vehicle to travel to the destination, the Horizon generator 835 may generate an optimal route or a sub path based on the road assigned with the score by the Custom logic module 834 b and generate autonomous driving visibility information corresponding to the optimal route and the sub path…Here, the Horizon graph may refer to information in which roads for which the autonomous driving visibility information has been generated are connected at each intersection to the optimal route and the sub path from the current position of the vehicle to the destination”; Examiner notes that an optimal path is selected which reasonably indicates traveling direction has been confirmed and that the generation of an optimal path reasonably required searching for pieces of high-definition map data along the optimal path, since the availability of high-definition map data is required to perform autonomous driving).
Kim is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing high-definition map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to include searching for pieces of high-definition map data, as taught by Kim. Doing so would allow for the performance of autonomous features that require lane-level mapping information (Kim, Paragraph 0380, “By using such information, the eHorizon (external server) of the present disclosure can provide information necessary for an autonomous driving system and an infotainment system to each vehicle based on a detailed map capable of determining a road situation (or road information) in the lane unit”).
Regarding Claim 20, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 13. Kawamata further discloses:
wherein the pieces of map data stored in the map database further include pieces of standard map data including road shape information for each road (Paragraph 0034, Page 8 of the attached English translation, “Each of these types of map data [(e.g. road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data)] is further divided into data for each predetermined area (for example, administrative divisions such as prefectures, rectangular divisions of a predetermined size (hereinafter referred to as meshes) etc.”),
the pieces [of] map data are provided to the map application (Page 12, Paragraph 0050, “The map data access management unit 214 assists the navigation processing unit 200 in accessing the map data DB 220, and also manages the map data DB 220.The map data access management unit 214 is configured by so-called database management middleware that supports access to the map data DB 220 by the application program of the navigation processing unit 200”; Examiner notes that drawing application (navigation processing unit 200) accesses pieces of standard map data from DB 220, which is reasonably equivalent to providing pieces of standard map data to the drawing application),
the pieces of standard map data are used for map-matching for identifying the current position (Page 23, Paragraph 0105 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 12A, each section of the grid represents a mesh that is a unit of map data, and is, for example, an area of 10 km square. Each mesh is assigned an address in the horizontal and vertical directions, which is identified by a number from 0 to f (hexadecimal). At this time, the vehicle is located at the black triangle position (mesh with address "53"), the destination is located at the flag mark position (mesh with address "cd"), and a guide route like a solid curve from the vehicle position to the destination is being sought”; Examiner notes that placing a current position on a map is reasonably indicates map-matching for identify a current position), and
the processor updates [the] pieces of standard map data (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”).
However Kawamata does not explicitly recite: the pieces of high-definition map data and that the processor updates [the] pieces of high-definition map data.
Nevertheless, Kim further teaches:
the pieces of high-definition map data (Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400”) and
the processor updates [the] pieces of high-definition map data (Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400”).
Kim is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing high-definition map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Kawamata invention to include not just pieces of standard map data in DB 220, but to also include pieces of high-definition map data that include road shape information for each lane, as taught by Kim. Doing so would allow for the performance of autonomous features that require lane-level mapping information (Kim, Paragraph 0380, “By using such information, the eHorizon (external server) of the present disclosure can provide information necessary for an autonomous driving system and an infotainment system to each vehicle based on a detailed map capable of determining a road situation (or road information) in the lane unit”).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Kim and Sergeev and further in view of Wang et al. (US Publication Number US20180216942A1; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 14, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 13. While Kawamata further discloses:
a mesh connection management data storage storing data (Page 8, Paragraph 0033 of the attached English translation, “As shown in FIG. 3A, the master map DB 301 is made up of map data of a plurality of data types, such as road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data Here, road data is data that represents the position, shape, connection relationships, etc. of roads, and background data is data that represents the positions and names of features (mountains, rivers, parks, buildings, etc.) that form the background of the roads”; Examiner notes that map data DB 220 (in car navigation device 2) stores meshes of map data received from master map DB 301 (from map center 3)).
However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: indicating whether one of the pieces of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes. Nevertheless, Wang teaches a map feature space partitioned into meshes (Paragraph 0076 and Figure 6, “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a map feature space 600 corresponding to an ADV feature space, according to one embodiment. Map feature space 600 is used in this example to illustrate how the system determines a confidence score based on spatial completeness of a map feature space such as block 802 of FIG. 8”) that comprises:
indicating whether one of the pieces of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes (Paragraph 0075-0076 and Figure 6, “A third confidence score may be assigned to the collected localization data/real-time pose based on a data to vacancy ratio, i.e., the number of cells with data versus the number of blank cells, or a vacancy rate of the HD map feature space corresponding to an ADV feature space. To determine a similarity score for each candidate cell in the LIDAR localization method, an ADV feature space of approximately 1024×1024 cells surrounding the candidate cell is compared to an HD map feature space. The data to vacancy ratio of this HD map feature space can be determined by traversing the 1024×1024 cells, or portions thereof, to determine if data exists in the cells… Map feature space 600 may be subdivided into a number of map files, in this example, 16 map tiles 1-16. Map tile 602 corresponds to map tile 14. Each map tile is associated with a number of corresponding mean intensity and elevation variance cells such as cell 603. Such information may be stored in a data structure associated with the corresponding map tiles. In this example, map tiles 1-8 are filled with a pattern to highlight that it is occupied with data while map tiles 9-16 are blanks”; Examiner notes shading a tile depending on whether HD map data is available is reasonably analogous to indicating whether one of the pieces of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes).
Wang is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of indicating which meshes contain high-definition map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to include the teachings of Wang by incorporating features that allow the map data management apparatus to indicate which meshes in map data DB 220 contain high-definition map data. Doing so would help a user determine locations where autonomous driving features that would require high-definition data may be performed.
Regarding Claim 15, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 14. Kawamata further discloses:
the data stored in the mesh connection management data storage (Page 8, Paragraph 0033 of the attached English translation, “As shown in FIG. 3A, the master map DB 301 is made up of map data of a plurality of data types, such as road data, background data, POI data, and traffic data Here, road data is data that represents the position, shape, connection relationships, etc. of roads, and background data is data that represents the positions and names of features (mountains, rivers, parks, buildings, etc.) that form the background of the roads)”; Examiner notes that map data DB 220 (in car navigation device 2) stores meshes of map data received from master map DB 301 (from map center 3)) and,
in an address corresponding to an ID of the mesh (Paragraph 0105, Page 23 of the attached English translation and Figure 12A, Page 22 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 12A, each section of the grid represents a mesh that is a unit of map data, and is, for example, an area of 10 km square. Each mesh is assigned an address in the horizontal and vertical directions, which is identified by a number from 0 to f (hexadecimal)”).
However, Kawamata does not explicitly recite: indicating whether the piece of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes is 1-bit data stored.
Nevertheless, Wang further teaches:
indicating whether the piece of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes is 1-bit data stored (Paragraph 0075 and Figure 6, “A third confidence score may be assigned to the collected localization data/real-time pose based on a data to vacancy ratio, i.e., the number of cells with data versus the number of blank cells, or a vacancy rate of the HD map feature space corresponding to an ADV feature space. To determine a similarity score for each candidate cell in the LIDAR localization method, an ADV feature space of approximately 1024×1024 cells surrounding the candidate cell is compared to an HD map feature space. The data to vacancy ratio of this HD map feature space can be determined by traversing the 1024×1024 cells, or portions thereof, to determine if data exists in the cells… Map feature space 600 may be subdivided into a number of map files, in this example, 16 map tiles 1-16. Map tile 602 corresponds to map tile 14. Each map tile is associated with a number of corresponding mean intensity and elevation variance cells such as cell 603. Such information may be stored in a data structure associated with the corresponding map tiles. In this example, map tiles 1-8 are filled with a pattern to highlight that it is occupied with data while map tiles 9-16 are blanks”; Examiner notes that the Boolean process of shading/not shading a tile with/without HD map data is reasonably analogous to indicating whether one of the pieces of high-definition map data exists in each of the meshes with 1-bit data),
Wang is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of indicating which meshes contain high-definition map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to include the teachings of Wang by incorporating features that allow the map data management apparatus to indicate which meshes in map data DB 220 contain high-definition map data. Doing so would help a user determine locations where autonomous driving features that would require high-definition data may be performed.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Kim and Sergeev and further in view of Utsugi.
Regarding Claim 17, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 13. While Kawamata teaches updating the update-necessary meshes (Page 11, Paragraph 0046 of the attached English translation, “The map data management unit 210 is configured to include processing function blocks such as…storage function blocks such as a map data DB 220, an update metadata storage unit 221, an update data storage unit 222, an acquired data table 223, a map data usage status table 224, a map data usage prediction table 225, and an update target selection table 226”; Page 19, Paragraph 0084 of the attached English translation, “The CPU refers to the map data usage prediction table 225 and the acquired data table 223 to create an update target selection table 226 for selecting map data that is frequently used and has not been updated to the latest version”), Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor updates the pieces of map data in order of increasing proximity from a starting mesh toward a traveling direction, the starting mesh being farthest one of meshes whose pieces of map data have been provided to the map application, from the current position toward the traveling direction.
Nevertheless, Utsugi teaches a map storage (Abstract, A map information storage unit that stores district map information including a plurality of division areas) comprising:
wherein the processor updates the pieces of map data in order of increasing proximity from a starting mesh toward a traveling direction, the starting mesh being farthest one of meshes whose pieces of map data have been provided to the map application, from the current position toward the traveling direction (Paragraph 0072 and Figures 8-9, “The map information update unit 52 calculates priority such that higher priority is given to a division area that is close to the first vehicle and includes an optimum route of the division area information which are not updated. Next, the map information update unit 52 calculates priority such that next higher priority is given to a division area that is close to the first vehicle and that includes a route which is derived by the control unit 60 and is not selected as the optimum route”; Examiner notes that priority is given in increasing proximity from a current position of the vehicle toward the direction of the traveling vehicle, as shown in Figures 8-9).
Utsugi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of setting up an order for how map data will be updated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Utsugi by including features that allow a first map update process of updating the pieces of update-necessary meshes in order of increasing proximity starting from a current position of a traveling vehicle toward the direction of the traveling vehicle. Doing so would help optimize navigational guidance by prioritizing updates to the pieces of map data that are most necessary for navigation (Utsugi, Paragraph 0074, “Thereby, it is possible to promptly update map information with respect to a required division area”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Kim and Sergeev and further in view of Tomobe 2.
Regarding Claim 19, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 13. While Kawamata further discloses wherein the processor performs a first map update process of immediately updating the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes, (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”), Kawamata does not explicitly recite a condition for initiating the first map update process based on whether the update-necessary meshes can be updated before they are requested by the map application.
Nevertheless, Tomobe 2 teaches a method for updating map data used in a guidance system (see at least Abstract), wherein map data can be represented as meshed information (see at least Figures 20-21), based on:
[determining whether] the processor can update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes [and determining whether] the processor cannot update the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Paragraphs 0131-0135 describe judging whether updates can or cannot be completed in time ( “the CPU prepares to execute judgment for updating guided route data…the CPU compares the necessary time for updating road data with the necessary time for reaching to the updating location. When the necessary time for updating road data is smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location ("Yes", in step S4705), the CPU executes the difference update of the road data. When the necessary time for updating road data is not smaller than the necessary time for reaching to the updating location (“No”, in step S4705), the CPU does not execute the difference update of the road data”); Examiner notes that the “updating location” is a location that the vehicle is planned to travel through (e.g. from the “guided route”) and therefore reasonably indicative of a predicted map data to be requested for guidance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kawamata invention to expand the features for updating pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation) to include a determination on whether an update can be completed in time, as taught by Tomobe 2, for the benefit of ensuring normal operation of a navigation system (Tomobe 2, Paragraph 0018).
While Kawamata further discloses a map update process of updating the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes (Page 12, Paragraph 0049 of the attached English translation, “The map data update processing unit 213 updates the map data in the map data DB 220 for which an update instruction has been given by the update target selection table 226”), Kawamata does not explicitly teach initiating a second map update process upon a predefined condition when it is determined that the update-necessary meshes cannot be updated before they are requested by the map application.
Nevertheless, Sergeev further teaches:
the processor performs a second map update process of updating the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes at the timing that an operation of the map application satisfies a predefined condition (Column 5, Lines 60-67 to Column 6, Lines 1-3, “These updated maps can be synchronized between multiple downstream nodes without halting an autonomous vehicle's navigation by enabling a managing node (e.g., a router or other device) have access to a full version of the map, but only forward a limited-visibility portion of the map to the downstream nodes. To do this, any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited-visibility portion of the map if there is an inconsistency between them—if so, the update can be delayed to another time”; Paragraph 0049, “Synchronization (306) among the downstream nodes while the autonomous vehicle 402 is navigating and/or using the current LV map 404 can be accomplished by making sure the map version of the current LV map 404 is consistent among the nodes, and only allowing an update to the map when the update will not affect navigation. To do so, map service 216 can define a no updates area 408 that determines whether an update will be applied to the current LV map 404 and/or the next LV map 406”; Examiner notes that an update is not performed until the vehicle is no longer within a specified geographic area (e.g. until the vehicle leaves “no updates area 408”), which is reasonably analogous to delaying an update until an operation of the map application satisfies a predefined condition).
Sergeev is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of performing a map update process upon a predefined condition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Sergeev by including features that allow performing a second map update process upon a predefined condition when it is determined that the update-necessary meshes cannot be updated before they are requested by the map application. Doing so would help reduce the chance of providing inconsistent map information while navigating (Sergeev, Column 2, Lines 46-52, “Any map updates to the full map version cannot be applied to the limited area of the map if there is an inconsistency between the previous version and the updated version. This ensures that maps can be updated without version confusion and ensures that the autonomous vehicle avoids undefined data inputs/outputs while it is navigating”).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Kim, Sergeev, Tomobe 2 and further in view of Chen.
Regarding Claim 21, Kawamata as currently modified teaches claim 20. However, Kawamata does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor updates the pieces of high-definition map data more preferentially than the pieces of standard map data. Nevertheless, Chen teaches a map-based path planning framework (Page 2, Paragraph 0007 of the attached English translation, “The purpose of the embodiments of the present application is to disclose a map-based path planning method”) that comprises:
wherein the processor updates the pieces of high-definition map data more preferentially than the pieces of standard map data (Page 10, Paragraph 0072 of the attached English translation, “In FIG. 6 , the server is pre-arranged with the first navigation map data (SD Map) and the second navigation map data (HD Map), wherein the first navigation map data is updated according to the normal data update frequency (such as once a month), while the second navigation map data is updated in real time (such as updated every time the vehicle terminal uploads data)”; Examiner notes that updating the HD map in real-time while updating the SD map periodically reasonably indicates a prioritized approach of updating high-definition map data before standard map data).
Chen is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of setting up priority between high-definition map data and standard map data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen by including features that allow updating pieces of high-definition map data before pieces of standard map data. Doing so would help ensure that autonomous driving features that rely on high-definition map data can be performed with the latest available information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12, which is dependent on claim 9, recites: wherein when the processor can update pieces of high-definition map data of the update-necessary meshes before the map application requests the pieces of map data of the update-necessary meshes but cannot update pieces of standard map data of the update-necessary meshes, the processor performs the first map update process on the pieces of high-definition map data of the update-necessary meshes and performs the second map update process on the pieces of standard map data of the update-necessary meshes. Although Kawamata as currently modified teaches implementing HD map data (Kim, Paragraph 0535, “The map cacher 831 may store and update map information (HD map data, HD map tiles, etc.) received from a server (cloud server, external server) 1400; Paragraph 0261, “HD map data may include detailed lane-unit topology information of a road, connection information of each lane, and feature information for localization of a vehicle (e.g., traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.)”), the prior art of record does not appear to either explicitly disclose or teach features that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the Kawamata invention to incorporate limitations that allow conditionally performing a first and second map update process based on whether pieces of high-definition and standard map data can be updated in time.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EISEN YIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669