DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on December 8, 2025 was received and has been entered. Claims 17, 19-26, and 30 were amended. Claims 16 and 18 were cancelled. Claims 17 and 19-29 are in the application and pending examination. Claim 30 has been previously withdrawn. Replacement Paragraphs were submitted on page 7, line 12 and page 28, line 32 to page 29, line 9 to correct minor typographical errors. A replacement paragraph was submitted to amend the title.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said switching device is configured to acts as a heating unit” and “said switching device is configured to acts as a plasma unit” in claim 27 and “configured to integrate the workpiece holder during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit, and during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits” in claim 29.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“said switching device is configured to acts as a heating unit” and “said switching device is configured to acts as a plasma unit” in claim 27;
“configured to integrate the workpiece holder during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit, and during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits” in claim 29;
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a process gas” and “with at least one process gas”.
A suggested revision is as follows:
“a process gas” and “with the process gas”.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a process gas”
A suggested revision is as follows: “ the process gas”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The previous rejection of claims 26-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 26.
The previous rejection of claim 26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) . (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210090863 A1 to Boehm is being used as a translation for DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) ) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 26
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) .
Regarding claim 26, Boehm teaches a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, the system comprising: a workpiece holder (115).
Additionally regarding claim 26, Boehm teaches the workpiece holder (115) configured to generate a plasma ( igniting a plasma) from a process gas (process gas) surrounding the workpiece holder (115) and to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature (heating phase) provided to a process temperature for vapor deposition. (See Boehm, Abstract, Figs. 6-9, and paragraphs 2-4, 6, 31-33, 86-87, 90, 95-96 .)
Further, regarding claim 26, a process chamber (210) configured to be charged with at least one process gas ( gas supplied from gas sparger or gas supply lines), said process chamber (210) configured for receiving the workpiece holder (115). (See Boehm, Abstract, Figs. 6-9, and paragraphs 2-4, 6, 12-13, 27, 60, 71-72, 75, 78, 82, 85, 89, 99-100, 102 .)
Regarding claim 26, Boehm does not explicitly teach multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement.
Watlow is directed to a support pedestal.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Examiner is considering a thermal array system to be equivalent to multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include said workpiece holder configured to include multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Regarding claim 26, Boehm does not explicitly teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits.
Diener teaches circuits for use in a plasma system. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b)
Diener teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits, because Diener teaches this structure would enable the desired alternating current at the predetermined voltage to be supplied at the desired time and location. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b.)
Regarding claim 17, Boehm does not explicitly teach the workpiece holder is configured to conduct electric heating current in a heating circuit that at least partially includes a part of the electrode arrangement.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the workpiece holder is configured to conduct electric heating current in a heating circuit that at least partially includes a part of the electrode arrangement, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Regarding claim 19, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a plurality of electrodes disposed in parallel and operating as electric heating resistors.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a plurality of electrodes disposed in parallel and operating as electric heating resistors, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200335378 A1 to Eric A. Pape (hereinafter Pape).
Regarding claim 19, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a plurality of electrodes include at least a part of said plurality of electrodes being connected electrically in series.
Pape is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Pape teaches the heaters may be connected in series or in parallel. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a plurality of electrodes include at least a part of said plurality of electrodes being connected electrically in series as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160155617 A1 to Kusumoto et al (hereinafter Kusumoto).
Regarding claim 21, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another.
Kusomoto is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Kusomoto teaches the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another. (See Kusomoto, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 4, 41 and 60.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Kusomoto, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 4, 41 and 60.)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220139670 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 22, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder; a first distributor assembly disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma.
Kim is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Kim teaches the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder (pedestal 140) ; a first distributor assembly (416a) disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor (416b) assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma. (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10B and paragraphs 8, 14, 58, 63-64, 72, 74, 77-78, 82, 86, 90, 93-94, and 99.) (Kim teaches the AC energy can be adjusted relative to thermocouple reading in paragraph 82, Examiner is considering increasing voltage to be equivalent to high frequency AC voltage and decreasing voltage equivalent to low frequency AC voltage supplied by the power supply in Kim.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder; a first distributor assembly disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma, because Kim teaches this would allow the desired temperature in the desired area to be reached. (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10B and paragraphs 8, 14, 58, 63-64, 72, 74, 77-78, 82, 86, 90, 93-94, and 99.)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220139670 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 22 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200335378 A1 to Eric A. Pape (hereinafter Pape).
Regarding claim 23, Boehm does not explicitly teach which further comprises a plurality of parallel electrodes, at least one of said distributor assemblies electrically conductively connecting at least a part of said plurality of electrodes to one another.
Pape teaches the heaters may be connected in series or in parallel. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to further comprise a plurality of parallel electrodes, at least one of said distributor assemblies electrically conductively connecting at least a part of said plurality of electrodes to one another as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20080186647 A1 to Kawajiri et al (hereinafter Kawajiri).
Regarding claim 24, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder.
Kawajiri is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Kawajiri teaches the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder. (See Kawajiri, Abstract, Figs. 1-7 and paragraph 22.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder, because Kawajiri teaches this would allow the voltage to be applied individually to the ESC electrodes E1 and E2 and the heating resistor 2. (See Kawajiri, Abstract, Figs. 1-7 and paragraphs 20-27.)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080186647 A1 to Kawajiri et al (hereinafter Kawajiri) as applied to claim 24 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 6,329,711 B1 to Kawahara et al (hereinafter Kawahara).
Regarding claim 25, Boehm does not explicitly teach wherein said contact points have conical boreholes for receiving contact pins.
Kawahara is directed to mounting structure for connecting conductive parts.
Kawahara teaches said contact points have conical boreholes (422) for receiving contact pins (419A). (See Kawahara, Abstract, Fig. 150 and col. 1, lines 49- 67; col. 2, lines 18-38; col. 10, lines 1-5; col. 43, lines 10-57.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include wherein said contact points have conical boreholes for receiving contact pins, because Kawahara teaches this would allow mounting structure to have reduced size and an increased number of terminals for external connections. (See Kawahara, Abstract, Fig. 143-153, 157, 159, 161, 163-164, 167, 169-170, and paragraph 22.)
The previous rejection of claims 27-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 26.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick).
Regarding claim 27, Boehm does not explicitly teach a switching device; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder.
Klick teaches a switching device (electrical control unit) ; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder (heating of the spacer elements) to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit (high frequency voltage) to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a switching device; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder, because Klick teaches this would enable advantageous heating to be reached much more quickly in the desired location without negatively affecting the plasma generation. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100, 103-105.)
Regarding claim 28, Boehm does not explicitly teach a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit; said switching device configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source to the workpiece holder.
Klick teaches a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage (high-frequency AC voltage source) for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit (spacers- resistance heater units); said switching device (electrical control unit) configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source (low DC voltage source) from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source (high-frequency AC voltage source) to the workpiece holder (1). (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit; said switching device configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source to the workpiece holder, because Klick teaches this would enable advantageous heating to be reached much more quickly in the desired location without negatively affecting the plasma generation. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100, 103-105.)
Claim 28 recites an intended use clause (i. e. source for providing, source for providing, ). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Klick is capable of peforming these intended use and as a result meets these claim limitations.
The previous rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20040026385 A1 to Koulik et al (hereinafter Koulik) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 26.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) as applied to claim 26 and US Pat. Pub. No. 20040026385 A1 to Koulik et al (hereinafter Koulik) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson).
Regarding claim 29, Boehm does not explicitly teach said switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit.
Koulik is directed to process for treating an atmosphere with plasma.
Koulik teaches plasma generators may be used in series. (See Koulik, Abstract, paragraphs 72, 75, 7, 81, 84 106, and Figs. 1-13c.) (Examiner is considering use in series to be equivalent to a single circuit.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit, because Koulik teaches this is an effective way to provide uniformity of treatment with plasma along the surface to be treated. (See Koulik, Abstract, paragraph 106, and Figs. 1-13c.)
Regarding claim 29, Boehm does not explicitly teach said switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits.
Johnson is directed to process for treating an atmosphere with plasma.
Johnson teaches use of parallel configuration to provide the desired power in a circuit for plasma generation. (See Johnson, Abstract, paragraphs 23, 27, 31, 66, and 88, and Figs. 1-9.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits, because Johnson teaches use of structures located in parallel is a useful way to match impedance. (See Johnson, Abstract, paragraphs 23, 27-29, 31, 66, and 88, and Figs. 1-9.)
Claim 29 recites an intended use clause (i. e. during operation as a plasma unit, during operation as a heating unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Boehm in view of Koulik and Johnson is capable of performing these intended use and as a result meets these claim limitations.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson). (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210090863 A1 to Boehm is being used as a translation for DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) ).
Regarding claim 26, Boehm teaches a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, the system comprising: a workpiece holder (115).
Additionally regarding claim 26, Boehm teaches the workpiece holder (115) configured to generate a plasma ( igniting a plasma) from a process gas (process gas) surrounding the workpiece holder (115) and to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature (heating phase) provided to a process temperature for vapor deposition. (See Boehm, Abstract, Figs. 6-9, and paragraphs 2-4, 6, 31-33, 86-87, 90, 95-96 .)
Further, regarding claim 26, a process chamber (210) configured to be charged with at least one process gas ( gas supplied from gas sparger or gas supply lines), said process chamber (210) configured for receiving the workpiece holder (115). (See Boehm, Abstract, Figs. 6-9, and paragraphs 2-4, 6, 12-13, 27, 60, 71-72, 75, 78, 82, 85, 89, 99-100, 102 .)
Regarding claim 26, Boehm does not explicitly teach multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement.
Johnson is directed to a circuit for impedance matching between a generator and a load at multiple frequencies.
Johnson teaches multiple circuits (C2, C’2, C3, C’3) at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement. (See Johnson, Abstract, Figs. 2-3, 5 and paragraphs 27, 31, 66, 88, and 146.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include said workpiece holder configured to include multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement, because Johnson teaches this renders the circuit more versatile for loads for different types of plasma reactors. (See Johnson, Abstract, Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs 27, 31, 66, 88, and 146.)
Regarding claim 26, Boehm does not explicitly teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits.
Johnson teaches said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits. (See Johnson, Abstract, Figs. 2-3, 5 and paragraphs 5, 127-129, 134-135, 139, and 141.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits, because Johnson teaches this renders the circuit more versatile for loads for different types of plasma reactors. (See Johnson, Abstract, Figs. 2-3, 5 and paragraphs 5, 127-129, 134-135, 139, and 141.)
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow).
Regarding claim 17, Boehm does not explicitly teach the workpiece holder is configured to conduct electric heating current in a heating circuit that at least partially includes a part of the electrode arrangement.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the workpiece holder is configured to conduct electric heating current in a heating circuit that at least partially includes a part of the electrode arrangement, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Regarding claim 19, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a plurality of electrodes disposed in parallel and operating as electric heating resistors.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a plurality of electrodes disposed in parallel and operating as electric heating resistors, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200335378 A1 to Eric A. Pape (hereinafter Pape).
Regarding claim 19, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a plurality of electrodes include at least a part of said plurality of electrodes being connected electrically in series.
Pape teaches the heaters may be connected in series or in parallel. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a plurality of electrodes include at least a part of said plurality of electrodes being connected electrically in series as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow)) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160155617 A1 to Kusumoto et al (hereinafter Kusumoto).
Regarding claim 21, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another.
Kusomoto teaches the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another. (See Kusomoto, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 4, 41 and 60.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises said plurality of electrodes include adjacent electrodes being electrically isolated from one another as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Kusomoto, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 4, 41 and 60.)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220139670 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 22, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder; a first distributor assembly disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma.
Kim is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Kim teaches the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder (pedestal 140) ; a first distributor assembly (416a) disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor (416b) assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma. (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10B and paragraphs 8, 14, 58, 63-64, 72, 74, 77-78, 82, 86, 90, 93-94, and 99.) (Kim teaches the AC energy can be adjusted relative to thermocouple reading in paragraph 82, Examiner is considering increasing voltage to be equivalent to high frequency AC voltage and decreasing voltage equivalent to low frequency AC voltage supplied by the power supply in Kim.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises first and second mutually opposite ends of the workpiece holder; a first distributor assembly disposed at said first end of the workpiece holder; and a second distributor assembly disposed at said second end of the workpiece holder; said first and second distributor assemblies configured to distribute low- frequency and high-frequency electric AC voltage to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder or to generate the plasma, because Kim teaches this would allow the desired temperature in the desired area to be reached. (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10B and paragraphs 8, 14, 58, 63-64, 72, 74, 77-78, 82, 86, 90, 93-94, and 99.)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220139670 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 22 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200335378 A1 to Eric A. Pape (hereinafter Pape).
Regarding claim 23, Boehm does not explicitly teach which further comprises a plurality of parallel electrodes, at least one of said distributor assemblies electrically conductively connecting at least a part of said plurality of electrodes to one another.
Pape teaches the heaters may be connected in series or in parallel. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to further comprise a plurality of parallel electrodes, at least one of said distributor assemblies electrically conductively connecting at least a part of said plurality of electrodes to one another as an art recognized equivalent structures. (See Pape, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraphs 17, 19-20, and 40-41.)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20080186647 A1 to Kawajiri et al (hereinafter Kawajiri).
Regarding claim 24, Boehm does not explicitly teach the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder.
Kawajiri is directed to heaters used in a susceptor.
Kawajiri teaches the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder. (See Kawajiri, Abstract, Figs. 1-7 and paragraph 22.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include the system comprises a power connection having at least four spatially separated contact points for electrically contacting the workpiece holder, because Kawajiri teaches this would allow the voltage to be applied individually to the ESC electrodes E1 and E2 and the heating resistor 2. (See Kawajiri, Abstract, Figs. 1-7 and paragraphs 20-27.)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080186647 A1 to Kawajiri et al (hereinafter Kawajiri) as applied to claim 24 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 6,329,711 B1 to Kawahara et al (hereinafter Kawahara).
Regarding claim 25, Boehm does not explicitly teach wherein said contact points have conical boreholes for receiving contact pins.
Kawahara teaches said contact points have conical boreholes (422) for receiving contact pins (419A). (See Kawahara, Abstract, Fig. 150 and col. 1, lines 49- 67; col. 2, lines 18-38; col. 10, lines 1-5; col. 43, lines 10-57.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include wherein said contact points have conical boreholes for receiving contact pins, because Kawahara teaches this would allow mounting structure to have reduced size and an increased number of terminals for external connections. (See Kawahara, Abstract, Fig. 143-153, 157, 159, 161, 163-164, 167, 169-170, and paragraph 22.)
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick).
Regarding claim 27, Boehm does not explicitly teach a switching device; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder.
Klick teaches a switching device (electrical control unit) ; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder (heating of the spacer elements) to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit (high frequency voltage) to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a switching device; said switching device configured to act as a heating unit to initially operate the workpiece holder to heat the surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, and said switching device configured to act as a plasma unit to then generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder, because Klick teaches this would enable advantageous heating to be reached much more quickly in the desired location without negatively affecting the plasma generation. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100, 103-105.)
Regarding claim 28, Boehm does not explicitly teach a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit; said switching device configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source to the workpiece holder.
Klick teaches a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage (high-frequency AC voltage source) for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit (spacers- resistance heater units); said switching device (electrical control unit) configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source (low DC voltage source) from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source (high-frequency AC voltage source) to the workpiece holder (1). (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plasma voltage source for providing high-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a plasma unit; and at least one heating voltage source for providing low-frequency electric AC voltage for operating the workpiece holder as a heating unit; said switching device configured, after heating the surroundings of the workpiece holder to the process temperature, to disconnect said at least one heating voltage source from the workpiece holder and to connect said plasma voltage source to the workpiece holder, because Klick teaches this would enable advantageous heating to be reached much more quickly in the desired location without negatively affecting the plasma generation. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100, 103-105.)
Claim 28 recites an intended use clause (i. e. source for providing, source for providing, ). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Klick is capable of performing these intended use and as a result meets these claim limitations.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) as applied to claim 26 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20040026385 A1 to Koulik et al (hereinafter Koulik).
Regarding claim 29, Boehm does not explicitly teach said switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
Koulik is directed to process for treating an atmosphere with plasma.
Koulik teaches plasma generators may be used in series. (See Koulik, Abstract, paragraphs 72, 75, 7, 81, 84 106, and Figs. 1-13c.) (Examiner is considering use in series to be equivalent to a single circuit.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a plasma unit in a single circuit, because Koulik teaches this is an effective way to provide uniformity of treatment with plasma along the surface to be treated. (See Koulik, Abstract, paragraph 106, and Figs. 1-13c.)
Regarding claim 29, Boehm does not explicitly teach said switching device is configured to integrate the workpiece holder: during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 100-102.)
Johnson is directed to process for treating an atmosphere with plasma.
Johnson teaches use of parallel configuration (C1, C2, C’2 in Fig. 3 or Fig. 5) to provide the desired power in a circuit for plasma generation. (See Johnson, Abstract, paragraphs 23, 27-29, 31, 66, and 88, and Figs. 1-9.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include during operation as a heating unit in at least two parallel circuits, because Johnson teaches use of structures located in parallel is a useful way to match impedance. (See Johnson, Abstract, paragraphs 23, 27-29, 31, 66, and 88, and Figs. 1-9.)
Claim 29 recites an intended use clause (i. e. during operation as a plasma unit, during operation as a heating unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Boehm in view of Koulik and Johnson is capable of performing these intended use and as a result meets these claim limitations.
Double Patenting
The previous rejection of claim 26 of this application as being patentably indistinct from claim 29 of Application No. 18/245,390 (reference application to Fuchs hereinafter Fuchs) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 26.
Claim 26 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 29 of Application No. 18/245,390 (reference application to Fuchs hereinafter Fuchs) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20180076071 A1 to Klick et al (hereinafter Klick) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener). (The claim set filed 6-5-2025 is being used as the claim set for this application.)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because Fuchs teaches a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition) , the system comprising: a workpiece holder according to claim 16 ( the system comprising: device according to claim 16 and workpiece carrier in claim 29 ) ; and a process chamber (a process chamber in claim 16), said process chamber configured for receiving the workpiece holder (said workpiece carrier receivable by said process chamber of the device in claim 29).
Regarding claim 16 (from which claim 26 depends), Fuchs teaches a workpiece holder for a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition ( a workpiece carrier receivable by said process chamber of the device in claim 29) ,; and the workpiece holder configured to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition ( the workpiece holder configured to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition ) . (See Fuchs, claims 16 and 26.)
Fuchs does not explicitly teach a process chamber configured to be charged with at least one process gas.
Klick teaches a process chamber configured to be charged with at least one process gas (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 13, 16, 61, 63, 101, and 104.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a process chamber configured to be charged with at least one process gas, because Klick teaches this would allow the gas to be provided with the desired composition and flow and the plasma to be formed in the desired and provide deposition in the desired deposition on the wafer in the time required for the requisite coating thickness. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraph 48, 51, 61-63, 65, 67-68, 73, 77-78, 99-104, and 106 .)
Fuchs does not explicitly teach the workpiece holder configured to generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder.
Klick teaches a workpiece holder (1) for a system for plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, the workpiece holder (1) configured to generate a plasma from a process gas (process gas) surrounding the workpiece holder (1). (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 2, 5-7, 9-16, 48, 51, 62, 65, 67-68, 73, 77-78, 99-100,102-103, and 106.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the workpiece holder configured to generate a plasma from a process gas surrounding the workpiece holder, because Klick teaches this would allow the plasma to be formed in the desired and provide deposition in the desired deposition on the wafer in the time required for the requisite coating thickness. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 2, 5-7, 9-16, 48, 51, 62, 65, 67-68, 73, 77-78, 99-100,102-103, and 106.)
Fuchs does not explicitly teach the workpiece holder configured to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition.
Klick teaches the workpiece holder configured to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature (heating phase) provided for vapor deposition. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 2, 5, 12-13, 48, 51, 62, 65, 67-68, 73, 77-78, 99-100,102-103, and 106.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the workpiece holder configured to heat surroundings of the workpiece holder to a process temperature provided for vapor deposition, because Klick teaches this is an effective way to control the temperature of the process chamber. (See Klick, Abstract, Figs. 4-8, and paragraphs 62, 99-100,102-103, and 106.)
Regarding claim 26, Fuchs does not explicitly teach multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement.
Watlow teaches each zone of thermal array system includes resistive heating elements that can also be used as temperature sensors and are arranged as multi-parallel circuits. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Examiner is considering a thermal array system to be equivalent to multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to include said workpiece holder configured to include multiple circuits at least partially formed by at least part of said electrode arrangement, because Watlow teaches this structure reduces the number of wires and the complexity of the system. (See Watlow, Abstract, Figs. 1-10 and paragraph 38.)
Regarding claim 26, Fuchs does not explicitly teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits.
Diener teaches circuits for use in a plasma system. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b)
Diener teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to teach said workpiece holder configured to conduct electric alternating current in multiple circuits, because Diener teaches this structure would enable the desired alternating current at the predetermined voltage to be supplied at the desired time and location. (See Diener, paragraphs 6-7, 11, 26, 65-66, and 93 and Figs. 1-6b.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17 and 19-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190153598 A1 to Watlow Electric Manufacturing Company (hereinafter Watlow) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170011888 A1 to Christof-Herbert Diener (hereinafter Diener) are being used in a first set of rejections.
DE 102017223592 A1 to Boehm (hereinafter Boehm) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190393018 A1 to Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) are being used in a second set of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717