DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 24-27, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20220117032 (hereinafter Han) in view of Liu et al. US 20180074520 A1 (hereinafter Liu) and Guerrini et al. US 2019080621 A1 (hereinafter Guerrini).
Regarding claims 1 and 24; Han teaches a first vehicle user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (paragraph 0002 discloses UE for wireless communication; paragraph 0032 discloses each UE may be a vehicle having a transceiver), comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph 0093 "non-transitory computer-readable medium"); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the first vehicle UE to perform a method (paragraph 0093 discloses a processor which is used by the memory to perform a method; a coupling to the memory is required for the memory to utilize the processor to perform the method), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (BS), one or more incident reports (paragraph 0058 discloses transmitting a report of radio link failure to a base station);
receiving, from the BS, a recovery command that indicates a recovery operation (paragraph 0058 discloses receiving, from a base station, a release of sidelink configuration in response to the radio link failure report); and
performing, responsive to the recovery command, the recovery operation (paragraph 0058 discloses, upon receiving the transmission from a base station, performing a release of sidelink connection and establishing a new sidelink connection).
Han does not teach that the first vehicle is an unmanned aerial UAV; receiving a recovery command based at least in part on a condition associated with the position of the first UAV UE relative to the at least one second UAV UE being met, wherein the recovery command comprises the expected position at a time; and performing, responsive to the recovery command, a recovery operation to update the position of the first UAV UE by moving the first UAV UE to the expected position relative to the at least one second UAV UE based at least in part on the time.
Liu teaches that the first vehicle is an unmanned aerial UAV (Figure 1 shows com modules 38 onboard UAVs 21; also see paragraph 0035);
receiving a recovery command that indicates a recovery operation based at least in part on a condition associated with the position of the first UAV UE relative to the at least one second UAV UE being met (paragraph 0021 discloses receiving formation commands including positional information and processing the commands to generate corrective operations for a UAV position based on desired location indicated in the positional information and current relative position being lower than a threshold; see also paragraph 0025 wherein the formation commands are detailed as including the desired separation distances between UAVs), wherein the recovery command comprises the expected position at a time (paragraph 0021 discloses received commands include positional information; paragraph 0025 discloses commands can include various positions along a flight path including an expected separation distance between adjacent UAVs); and
performing, responsive to the recovery command, a recovery operation to update the position of the first UAV UE by moving the first UAV UE to the expected position relative to the at least one second UAV UE based at least in part on the time (paragraph 0021 discloses that a follower drone implements propulsion control to correct for a determined relative distance error by acting on received commands).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Liu such that, subsequent to transmitting the report of Han, required positioning of UAVs can be received, a distance deviation can be calculated, and controls to correct this deviation can be implemented according to the teachings of Liu wherein the received command data can originate from a base station as taught by Han. This modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success to avoid collisions between drones flying too closely.
Han does not teach transmitting one or more incident reports corresponding to a position of the first UAV UE relative to at least one second UAV UE.
Guerrini teaches transmitting one or more incident reports corresponding to a position of the first UAV UE relative to at least one second UAV UE (paragraph 0096 discloses sending relative position of sending drone to a close drone).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Guerrini such that the incident report transmitted to a base station as taught by Han can include not only the radio link failure disclosed in Han, but also can include relative position information as taught by Guerrini. This modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success to avoid collisions between drones by ensuring safety maneuvers can be performed to correct the incident and improve accuracy of incident reporting.
Regarding claims 2 and 25, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 1 and 24 as detailed above. Han further teaches each incident report comprises sidelink power received by the first UAV UE from the second UAV UE (paragraph 0008 discloses that the report is of a radio link failure between a first and second UE).
Han does not teach that each incident report may further comprise at least one of:
a location of the first UAV UE;
a first identifier (ID) associated with the first UAV UE;
a distance between the first UAV UE and the at least one second UAV UE;
at least one second ID associated with the at least one second UAV UE;
at least one cell ID associated with the at least one second UAV UE.
Guerrini further teaches that that each incident report may further comprise at least one of:
a location of the first UAV UE (paragraph 0094 discloses sending instantaneous position of the sending drone);
a first identifier (ID) associated with the first UAV UE (paragraph 0093 discloses sending ID of the sending drone);
a distance between the first UAV UE and the at least one second UAV UE (paragraph 0096 discloses sending relative position of sending drone to a close drone); and
at least one second ID associated with the at least one second UAV UE (paragraph 0095 discloses sending IDs of neighboring drones).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Guerrini with a reasonable expectation of success to improve ease of identification of drones within a swarm.
Regarding claims 3 and 26, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 2 and 25 as detailed above.
Han does not teach that the at least one second UAV UE comprises one or more of a neighboring UAV UE of the first UAV UE, a member UAV UE in a UAV swarm, or a master UAV UE in the UAV swarm.
Guerrini further teaches that the at least one second UAV UE comprises a neighboring UAV UE of the first UAV UE (paragraph 0092-0096 discloses a neighboring drone).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the further teachings of Guerrini with a reasonable expectation of success to improve ease of identification of drones within a swarm by comparing with neighbors.
Regarding claims 4 and 27, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 2 and 25 as detailed above. Han further teaches transmitting the one or more incident reports based at least in part on an incident detection condition being met (paragraph 0055 discloses transmitting a report only once radio link failure is detected), and wherein the incident detection condition comprises a sidelink radio link failure between the first UAV UE and the at least one second UAV UE (paragraph 0008 discloses that the report is transmitted when there is a radio link failure between a first and second UE).
Regarding claim 36, the modified Han reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above.
Han does not teach that the expected position is relative to the at least one second UAV UE.
Liu teaches that the expected position is relative to the at least one second UAV UE (paragraph 0021 discloses commands include relative distances thresholds between UAVs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Liu such that relative distances between UAVs can be commanded and maintained. This modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success to avoid collisions between drones flying too closely.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as modified by Liu and Guerrini as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. US 20200252941 A1 (hereinafter Schmidt).
Regarding claims 5 and 28, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 1 and 24 as detailed above.
Han does not teach receiving an incident detection configuration from one or more of a master UAV UE or the BS.
Schmidt teaches receiving an incident detection configuration from a BS (Figure 3 shows transmitting, from a base station to a UE, an altitude measurement and reporting configuration; paragraph 0056 discloses that this may include a threshold altitude at which reporting stops and drone has returned to a "usual" state; given context from paragraph 0051 of the applicant's spec where the configuration may include detection conditions, examiner interprets this as applicable).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of an abnormal drone by requesting frequent reports with qualifying conditions for potential signal failure or reduced signal quality.
Regarding claims 6 and 29, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 1 and 24 as detailed above.
Han does not teach that the recovery command comprises a timer for triggering a location report, and wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the first UAV UE to: start the timer based at least in part on receiving the recovery command and transmit, upon expiry of the timer, the location report.
Schmidt teaches that the recovery command comprises a timer for triggering a location report (paragraph 0056 discloses a periodic location report; examiner considers each period, especially the initial period after receiving the command, for transmitting the report equivalent to a timer), and wherein the at least one processor is operable to cause the first UAV UE to: start the timer based at least in part on receiving the recovery command and transmit, upon expiry of the timer, the location report (paragraph 0056 discloses reporting measurement periodically after receiving a command to initiate reporting; examiner considers each period, especially the initial period after receiving the command, for transmitting the report equivalent to a timer wherein the start of the first period is the start of the timer and the end of the first period is the expiration of the timer for the first period, resulting in the transmission of the first location report).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Schmidt such that along with the release and reestablishment of radio link as taught by Han, the recovery command would also require the UE to periodically transmit the location of the UE according to the teachings of Schmidt. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of an abnormal drone by requesting frequent reports of location to aid in the anticipation of further signal failure and/or to aid in guidance of the drone to a location with higher quality signal with less interference and/or to aid the base station in reducing interference within the location of the drone to improve signal quality (paragraph 0021 discloses received commands include positional information).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as modified by Liu and Guerrini as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Schmidt and "Radio Repeater" by Wikipedia (hereinafter Wiki).
Regarding claims 7 and 30, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 1 and 24 as detailed above. Han further teaches receiving the one or more additional incident reports from the one or more UAV UEs in a UAV swarm (Figure 7 902 shows UE2 receiving an incident report from UE1; examiner understands that the labels UE1 and UE2 are exemplary and can be replaced with any UE number indicating that any number of additional reports can be reported between UAVs in the system; see paragraph 0032 where it is detailed that terminology used is meant to be exemplary);
receiving a recovery indication indicating an abnormal UAV UE in the UAV swarm from the BS (paragraph 0058 discloses receiving, from a base station, a release of sidelink configuration; considering context from claim 8 and paragraph 0021 of the applicant's disclosure, examiner interprets the received recovery indication and transmitted recovery command to be one and the same instruction, just in different contexts from reception and transmission); and
performing the recovery command on the abnormal UAV UE (paragraph 0077 discloses that UE1 can also perform the release and reestablishing of a radio link connection).
Han does not explicitly teach transmitting an additional recovery command to the abnormal UAV UE based at least in part on the recovery indication.
Wiki teaches retransmitting received signals (page 1 paragraph 1 discloses receiving and retransmitting signals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Wiki such that the release sidelink configuration received from a base station as taught in Han can be forwarded from UE2 to UE1 using the teachings of Wiki such that UE1 can perform the recovery command according to the teachings of Han. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to allow radio signals to cover longer distances such that out of range of communicators can still communicate with each other as disclosed in Wiki (page 1 paragraph 1).
The modified Han reference does not teach receiving an incident detection configuration associated with one or more UAV UEs in a UAV swarm from a base station (BS).
Schmidt further teaches receiving an incident detection configuration associated with one or more UAV UEs in a UAV swarm from a base station (BS) (Figure 3 shows transmitting, from a base station to a UE, an altitude measurement and reporting configuration; paragraph 0056 discloses that this may include a threshold altitude at which reporting stops and drone has returned to a "usual" state; given context from paragraph 0051 of the applicant's spec where the configuration may include detection conditions, examiner interprets this as applicable).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the further teachings of Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of abnormal drone by requesting frequent reports with qualifying conditions for potential signal failure or reduced signal quality.
Regarding claims 8, the modified Han reference teaches all of claim 7 as detailed above.
Han does not teach that the recovery command comprises at least one of: a direction information associated with the abnormal UAV UE; a velocity information associated with the abnormal UAV UE; an additional expected position associated with the abnormal UAV UE; or a timing for triggering the abnormal UAV UE to transmit a location report.
Schmidt further teaches the recovery command comprises a timing for trigger for the abnormal UAV UE to transmit a location report (paragraph 0056 discloses receiving a request to report altitude measurements periodically).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Schmidt such that along with the release and reestablishment of radio link as taught by Han, the recovery command would also require the UE to periodically transmit the location of the UE according to the teachings of Schmidt. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of an abnormal drone by requesting frequent reports of location to aid in the anticipation of further signal failure and/or to aid in guidance of the drone to a location with higher quality signal with less interference and/or to aid the base station in reducing interference within the location of the drone to improve signal quality.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as modified by Liu and Guerrini, Schmidt, and Wiki as applied to claims 8 and 31 above, and further in view of Wang CN 106023653 A (hereinafter Wang; a translated copy has been provided which the examiner relies upon).
Regarding claims 9, the modified Han reference teaches all of claims 8 and 31 as detailed above. Han further teaches communicating with a BS (Figure 1 shows communication with a base station).
Han does not teach receiving the location report from the abnormal UAV UE in response to the additional recovery command.
Schmidt further teaches receiving the location report from the abnormal UAV UE in response to the additional recovery command (paragraph 0056 discloses transmitting altitude measurements periodically in response to a request to do so; transmission requires a reception at another device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the further teachings of Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of the abnormal drone as detailed above.
The modified Han reference does not teach transmitting the location report to the BS.
Wiki teaches retransmitting received signals (page 1 paragraph 1 discloses receiving and retransmitting signals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Wiki such that the received location report taught by Schmidt can be forwarded according to the teachings of Wiki to the BS taught by Han. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to allow radio signals to cover longer distances such that out of range communicators can still communicate with each other as disclosed in Wiki (page 1 paragraph 1).
Han does not teach vehicle to vehicle communication.
Wang teaches vehicle to vehicle communication (translated page 5 second to last paragraph discloses transmitting location information to another vehicle).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Wang such that location reports of Schmidt can be communicated between vehicles as taught by Wang. This modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tracking of location of each vehicle throughout the swarm and improve each vehicle’s knowledge of surrounding vehicles.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as modified by Liu and Guerrini, Schmidt, and Wiki as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wajnberg et al. US 11513233 B2 (hereinafter Wajnberg).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Han reference teaches all of claim 8 as detailed above. Han further teaches communicating with a BS (Figure 1 shows communication with a base station).
Han does not teach determining whether recovery of the abnormal UAV UE is successful based at least in part on at least one of a measured sidelink power received by the first UAV UE from the abnormal UE or the one or more additional incident reports.
Wajnberg teaches determining whether recovery of the abnormal UAV UE is successful (column 5 lines 24-27 disclose determining if an escorted drone has reached its final destination) based on the received one or more additional incident reports (column 1 lines 30-34 discloses determining if drone is at the desired destination by comparing the desire destination to a present location).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Wajnberg such that the reported location of the drone as taught by Schmidt can be compared with a desired location to determine if a drone has been fully recovered as taught by Wajnberg. This modification can be done with a reasonable expectation of success to improve accuracy of recovery determination by utilizing received location pings such that the vehicle can be known to be in a good signal coverage area.
The modified Han reference does not teach transmitting a recovery result to the BS.
Wiki teaches retransmitting received signals (page 1 paragraph 1 discloses receiving and retransmitting signals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Han to incorporate the teachings of Wiki such that the location information received indicating that the drone has reached a desired location as taught by Wajnberg can be forwarded according to the teachings of Wiki to the base station of Han. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to allow radio signals to cover longer distances such that out of range communicators can still communicate with each other as disclosed in Wiki (page 1 paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Guerrini, Liu, Schmidt, and Wiki.
Regarding claims 34 and 35, examiner understands these claims to be no more than mere incorporations of the limitations of claim 7 written in independent form and therefore the same grounds of rejection apply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that Liu does not teach that “the recovery command comprises an expected position at a time” and updating “the position of the first UAV UE by moving the first UAV UE to the expected position relative to the at least one second UAV UE based at least in part on the time.” Examiner respectfully asserts that this argument is factually incorrect. Reviewing Liu, it is clear that Liu teaches a recovery command comprising an expected position at a time. As the applicant adequately stated, “Liu describes that a formation command of the GCS includes a geographical starting position for the ground, a geographical ending position for the ground, one or more altitude positions for the groups along a flight path, the flight path itself for the group between the starting and ending positions, separation distances between adjacent UAVs, and one or more speed or velocities for the group”. Since the formation commands, as the applicant as adequately pointed out, are directed towards expected positions of a group of UAVs at different times (i.e. starting, ending, and multiple times along the route), Liu adequately teaches that “the recovery command comprises the expected position at a time”. Regarding implementation of the commands, paragraph 0021 of Liu adequately describes implementing control operations in response to received formation commands. Applicant merely states that this group commanding and controlling is “different from an expected position at a time” without adequate articulated reasons as to what exactly makes a planned route including expected positions at multiple times along the route (i.e. during start, end, and in the middle of the route) is different than the claimed invention. Thus, Liu adequately teaches the claim as amended.
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong et al. US 12230145 B2 details transmitted information to a base station when an effect occurs and receiving positioning information from the base station.
Conclusion
/A.T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669