DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed 17 November 2025
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are pending;
Claims 1 and 18 are currently amended;
Claims 2-12, 14-17, 19 and 20 were previously presented;
Claim 13 is cancelled;
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 17 November 2025 have been fully considered and they are moot since the new limitations necessitate the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008).
As to Claim 1, Jehanno discloses a clamping device (Every element 2 grouped together) for a vibrating or hammering device for inserting a foundation element (T) having a flange (C) into the ground, the clamping device comprising:
A frame (2);
A first clamp body (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) and a second clamp body (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) that are configured to enable a relative movement, and wherein the first and second clamp bodies are provided with respective first (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of an element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) and second (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of another element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces (Portions of C engaged by clamp body 6 via a respective clamp surface);
A positioning drive (8) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction (The positioning direction is when clamp body 6 moves horizontally via 8 to clamp the flange);
A clamping drive (9, 10) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body to and/or from the first and second flange surfaces in a clamping direction (The clamping direction is when clamp body 6 moves vertically via 9, 10 to clamp the flange); and
Wherein the first (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) and second (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) clamp bodies engage (via the clamp surface of each respective clamp body 6) the first and second flange surfaces (Portions of C engaged by clamp body 6 via a respective clamp surface) in the clamping direction, wherein the clamping direction (The clamping direction is when clamp body 6 moves vertically via 9, 10 to clamp the flange) is substantially transverse to the positioning direction (The positioning direction is when clamp body 6 moves horizontally via 8 to clamp the flange), wherein in an operational position of the foundation element (T) the positioning direction substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction, and wherein the clamping direction substantially corresponds to a vertical direction.
However, Jehanno is silent about a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. Simson discloses that the use of pressure relief valves (27) in foundation clamping devices (Figure 2) is known to allow the release of air from the hydraulic circuit. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. The motivation would have been to release air from the hydraulic system of the apparatus.
As to Claim 18, Jehanno discloses a method for inserting a foundation element into the ground, the method comprising the steps of:
Providing a foundation element (T) with a flange (C);
Providing a vibrating or hammering device with a clamping device (Every Element 2 grouped together) comprising:
A frame (2);
A first clamp body (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) and a second clamp body (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) that are configured to enable a relative movement, and wherein the first and second clamp bodies are provided with respective first (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of an element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) and second (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of another element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces (Portions of C engaged by clamp body 6 via a respective clamp surface) in a clamping direction (The clamping direction is when clamp body 6 moves vertically via 9, 10 to clamp the flange) that substantially corresponds to a vertical direction;
A positioning drive (8) for moving the first clamp body (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) relative to the second clamp body (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) in a positioning direction (The positioning direction is when clamp body 6 moves horizontally via 8 to clamp the flange) that substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction; and wherein the positioning direction is substantially transverse to the clamping direction;
A clamping drive (9, 10) for moving the first clamp body (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) relative to the second clamp body (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) to and/or from the flange surfaces in a clamping direction; and
Clamping the flange (C); and
Inserting the foundation element (T) into the ground.
However, Jehanno is silent about a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. Simson discloses that the use of pressure relief valves (27) in foundation clamping devices (Figure 2) is known to allow the release of air from the hydraulic circuit. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. The motivation would have been to release air from the hydraulic system of the apparatus.
Figure A. Clamp body and surfaces (Jehanno)
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 11 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNeef et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145650) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008) and Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349).
As to Claim 1, DeNeef discloses a clamping device for a vibrating or hammering device for inserting a foundation element having a flange into the ground, the clamping device comprising:
A frame (138);
A first clamp body (126, 129) and a second clamp body (124) configured to enable a relative movement, wherein the first and second clamp bodies are provided with respective first and second clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces (114; Paragraphs 0062 and 0063: “System 102 (FIG. 4) is provided with a lifting system 104, one or more vibrator blocks 106, in the shown embodiment four vibrator blocks 106 positioned adjacently of each other, a box structure 108 and a device 110 according to the invention for clamping a foundation pile 112, and in particular on a flange 114 thereof. In the shown embodiment pile 112 is inserted into the ground 118 at sea 116. Device 110 is provided with a connecting frame 120 and, additionally or alternatively, structure 108 on which diverse clamping elements 122 are arranged. Clamping element 122 (FIGS. 5A-F) comprise in the shown embodiment a fixed outer part 124 and a displaceable inner part 126, wherein parts 124, 126 are provided for displacement by two cylinders 128. When element 122 is arranged, parts 124, 126 are first moved apart and placed over flange 114. Parts 124, 126 are then displaced toward each other by cylinders 128 and secured on pile 112 with movable clamp 129. In the shown embodiment movable clamp 129 is moved using cylinder 130 and an actual clamping is realized on pile 112. In order to prevent displacement of displaceable clamping part 126 fixation elements 132 comprising a separate cylinder are provided in the shown embodiment which fix clamping part 126 relative to T-shaped guide rails 134”);
A positioning drive (128) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction; and
A clamping drive (130) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body to and/or from the first and second flange surfaces in a clamping direction.
However, DeNeef is silent about a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. Simson discloses that the use of pressure relief valves (27) in foundation clamping devices (Figure 2) is known to allow the release of air from the hydraulic circuit. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. The motivation would have been to release air from the hydraulic system of the apparatus.
Futhermore, DeNeef as modified is silent about wherein the first and second clamp bodies engage the first and second flange surfaces in the clamping direction, wherein the clamping direction is substantially transverse to the positioning direction, wherein in an operational position of the foundation element the positioning direction substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction, and wherein the clamping direction substantially corresponds to a vertical direction. Jehanno discloses first (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) and second (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) clamp bodies engaging first and second flange surfaces (Portions of C engaged by clamp body 6 via a respective clamp surface), each clamp body having respective clamping surfaces (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 in each element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A), wherein the clamping direction (The clamping direction is when clamp body 6 moves vertically via 9, 10 to clamp the flange) is substantially transverse to the positioning direction (The positioning direction is when clamp body 6 moves horizontally via 8 to clamp the flange), wherein in an operational position of the foundation element the positioning direction substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction, and wherein the clamping direction substantially corresponds to a vertical direction. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second clamp bodies engage the first and second flange surfaces in the clamping direction, wherein the clamping direction is substantially transverse to the positioning direction, wherein in an operational position of the foundation element the positioning direction substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction, and wherein the clamping direction substantially corresponds to a vertical direction. The motivation would have been to accommodate foundation elements of different diameters and thicknesses.
As to Claim 2, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the positioning drive (128) comprises a sliding cylinder.
As to Claim 3, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the clamping drive (130) comprises a two stage drive system, wherein the first stage provides contact between at least one of the clamp bodies and the respective flange surface, and the second stage provides a clamping force on the flange (Paragraph 0063: “When element 122 is arranged, parts 124, 126 are first moved apart and placed over flange 114. Parts 124, 126 are then displaced toward each other by cylinders 128 and secured on pile 112 with movable clamp 129. In the shown embodiment movable clamp 129 is moved using cylinder 130 and an actual clamping is realized on pile 112.”).
As to Claim 6, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising a pressure system (A pressure system is inherent to operate the hydraulic cylinders) configured for increasing the clamping force in response to lifting and/or up-ending forces.
As to Claim 7, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising slide elements (40) configured for connecting the clamping device with a sliding connection to a base frame of the vibrating or hammering device (Paragraph 0056: “In the shown embodiment adjusting mechanism 40 is embodied with a type of cylinder, wherein an adjusting mechanism 40 is provided on either side of vibrating device 32, therefore a total of two per vibrating device 32. For the rotation of vibrating device 32 during upending use is made of rotation cylinder 44 which enables a rotation between vibrating device 32 and lifting installation 26. Using cylinder 44 vibrating device 32 can make a rotation movement relative to lifting frame 28. This makes possible the upending of vibrating device 32 assembled with a foundation element 12. The stroke of cylinder 44 is preferably limited to a length such that, even when a cylinder 44 malfunctions, no undesired rotation is possible between vibrating device 32 and lifting frame 28”).
As to Claim 8, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the sliding connection is configured to enable the clamp body to make a rotational movement when initiating the clamping (Paragraph 0056: “In the shown embodiment adjusting mechanism 40 is embodied with a type of cylinder, wherein an adjusting mechanism 40 is provided on either side of vibrating device 32, therefore a total of two per vibrating device 32. For the rotation of vibrating device 32 during upending use is made of rotation cylinder 44 which enables a rotation between vibrating device 32 and lifting installation 26. Using cylinder 44 vibrating device 32 can make a rotation movement relative to lifting frame 28. This makes possible the upending of vibrating device 32 assembled with a foundation element 12. The stroke of cylinder 44 is preferably limited to a length such that, even when a cylinder 44 malfunctions, no undesired rotation is possible between vibrating device 32 and lifting frame 28”).
As to Claim 10, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising a pile guide (50) configured for guiding the positioning of the clamping device relative to the foundation element.
As to Claim 11, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 10 (Refer to Claim 10 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the pile guide (50) is arranged to the frame such that in a clamping state of the clamping device the clamp bodies remain in engagement with the respective flange surfaces.
As to Claim 16, DeNeef discloses a vibrating or hammering device for inserting a foundation element into the ground, comprising the clamping device (2) according to claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion).
As to Claim 17, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising two or more clamping devices (14, 18).
As to Claim 18, DeNeef discloses a method for inserting a foundation element into the ground, the method comprising the steps of:
Providing a foundation element (112) with a flange (114);
Providing a vibrating or hammering device with a clamping device comprising:
A frame (138);
A first clamp body (126, 129) and a second clamp body (124) that are configured to enable a relative movement, and wherein the first and second clamp bodies are provided with respective first and second clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces (114; Paragraphs 0062 and 0063: “System 102 (FIG. 4) is provided with a lifting system 104, one or more vibrator blocks 106, in the shown embodiment four vibrator blocks 106 positioned adjacently of each other, a box structure 108 and a device 110 according to the invention for clamping a foundation pile 112, and in particular on a flange 114 thereof. In the shown embodiment pile 112 is inserted into the ground 118 at sea 116. Device 110 is provided with a connecting frame 120 and, additionally or alternatively, structure 108 on which diverse clamping elements 122 are arranged. Clamping element 122 (FIGS. 5A-F) comprise in the shown embodiment a fixed outer part 124 and a displaceable inner part 126, wherein parts 124, 126 are provided for displacement by two cylinders 128. When element 122 is arranged, parts 124, 126 are first moved apart and placed over flange 114. Parts 124, 126 are then displaced toward each other by cylinders 128 and secured on pile 112 with movable clamp 129. In the shown embodiment movable clamp 129 is moved using cylinder 130 and an actual clamping is realized on pile 112. In order to prevent displacement of displaceable clamping part 126 fixation elements 132 comprising a separate cylinder are provided in the shown embodiment which fix clamping part 126 relative to T-shaped guide rails 134”);
A positioning drive (128) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction; and
A clamping drive (130) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body to and/or from the flange surfaces in a clamping direction;
Clamping the flange (114);
Inserting the foundation element (112) into the ground.
However, DeNeef is silent about a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. Simson discloses that the use of pressure relief valves (27) in foundation clamping devices (Figure 2) is known to allow the release of air from the hydraulic circuit. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure relief valve configured to prevent overloading in a driving state wherein the foundation element is inserted into the ground. The motivation would have been to release air from the hydraulic system of the apparatus.
Futhermore, DeNeef as modified (See above paragraph) is silent about wherein the first and second clamp bodies are provided with respective first and second clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces in a clamping direction that substantially corresponds to a vertical direction; a positioning drive for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction that substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction; and wherein the positioning direction is substantially transverse to the clamping direction. Jehanno discloses first (Clamp body 6 of an element 2 in Figure 5) and second (Clamp body 6 of another element 2 in Figure 5) clamp bodies provided with respective first (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of an element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) and second (Lower engaging surface of clamp body 6 of another element 2 also shown in annotated Figure A) clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces (Portions of C engaged by clamp body 6 via a respective clamp surface) in a clamping direction (The clamping direction is when clamp body 6 moves vertically via 9, 10 to clamp the flange) that substantially corresponds to a vertical direction; a positioning drive (8) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction (The positioning direction is when clamp body 6 moves horizontally via 8 to clamp the flange) that substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction; and wherein the positioning direction is substantially transverse to the clamping direction; a clamping drive (9, 10) for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body to and/or from the flange surfaces in the clamping direction. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second clamp bodies with respective first and second clamping surfaces that are configured for engaging with respective first and second flange surfaces in a clamping direction that substantially corresponds to a vertical direction; a positioning drive for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in a positioning direction that substantially corresponds to a horizontal direction; and wherein the positioning direction is substantially transverse to the clamping direction. The motivation would have been to accommodate foundation elements of different diameters and thicknesses.
As to Claim 19, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 18 (Refer to Claim 18 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising the step of up-ending the foundation element (12; Figures 3E and 3F).
Claims 4, 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNeef et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145650) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008) and Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349); and further in view of White (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0071382).
As to Claim 4, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the two stage drive system comprises a hydraulic cylinder (130). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about the hydraulic cylinder having a first chamber configured for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in the first stage, and a second chamber configured for clamping the flange of the foundation element between the first and second clamp bodies in the second stage. White discloses that it is known in the art that hydraulic cylinders (42) contain a pair of chambers divided by a piston (44). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the hydraulic cylinder have a first chamber configured for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in the first stage, and a second chamber configured for clamping the flange of the foundation element between the first and second clamp bodies in the second stage since the use of a well-known configuration of hydraulic cylinders would have yielded the predictable result of moving elements of the apparatus.
As to Claim 5, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches further comprising a controlled non-return valve (White: 54) to maintain pressure in the first and/or second chamber.
As to Claim 20, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). DeNeef as modified also teaches wherein the clamping drive (130) comprises a two stage drive system, wherein the first stage provides contact between at least one of the clamp bodies (124, 126, 129) and the respective flange surface (114), and the second stage provides a clamping force on the flange (114), wherein the two stage drive system comprises a hydraulic cylinder (130). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about the hydraulic cylinder having a first chamber configured for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in the first stage, and a second chamber configured for clamping the flange of the foundation element between the first and second clamp bodies in the second stage, further comprising a controlled non-return valve to maintain pressure in the first and/or second chamber. White discloses a hydraulic cylinder (42) having a first chamber and second chamber divided by a piston (44) and a controlled non-return valve (54) to maintain pressure in the first and/or second chamber. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the hydraulic cylinder have a first chamber configured for moving the first clamp body relative to the second clamp body in the first stage, and a second chamber configured for clamping the flange of the foundation element between the first and second clamp bodies in the second stage, further comprising a controlled non-return valve to maintain pressure in the first and/or second chamber since the use of a well-known configuration of hydraulic cylinders would have yielded the predictable result of moving elements of the apparatus.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNeef et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145650) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008) and Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349); and further in view of Curry (U.S. Patent No. 8,978,768).
As to Claim 9, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about at least one of the clamp bodies is provided with a wedge lock. Curry discloses a clamp body provided with a wedge lock (Claim 6: “wherein the locking means is self activating and arranged to maintain a delivered clamping force as the clamping force load increases incrementally, said self activating locking means being wedge shaped”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the clamp bodies is provided with a wedge lock. The motivation would have been to increase the safety of the clamping mechanism to avoid unintended release of the foundation.
Claims 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNeef et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145650) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008) and Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349); and further in view of Butler et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,584,458).
As to Claim 12, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 10 (Refer to Claim 10 discussion). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about wherein the pile guide comprises a pile guide contact pad. Butler discloses a pile guide comprising a pile guide contact pad (56, 58). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pile guide with a pile guide contact pad. The motivation would have been to provide a buffer.
As to Claim 15, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about wherein at least one of the clamp bodies comprises a contact pad. Butler discloses clamp bodies comprising a contact pad (56, 58). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide at least one of the clamp bodies with a contact pad. The motivation would have been to provide a buffer.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeNeef et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145650) in view of Simson (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,008) and Jehanno (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,059,349); and further in view of Mendler et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0264412).
As to Claim 14, DeNeef as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, DeNeef as modified is silent about a sensor or indicator configured for determining the position of the clamp bodies. Mendler discloses a pile clamping mechanism with one or more sensors installed for determining the position of clamp bodies (Paragraph 0008: “One or more sensors can be installed for monitoring a clamping mechanism of the machine table to clamp the pipe”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide one or more sensors installed for determining the position of clamp bodies. The motivation would have been to monitor the operation of the clamp bodies.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678