DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claims, including claim 1, contain the recitation “preferably in an amount of…” pertaining to each component. “Preferably” does not make clear the metes and bounds of the claims since it is unclear whether the claimed amounts are required. Correction is required for each instance.
Claims 9-12 and 22-25 contain limitations pertaining to a temperature range that do not make clear the metes and bounds of the claims since it is unclear what temperature range meets “of about 200°C”; what about 201°C? 250°C? 299°C? Similarly for “of about 100°C” and “of about 23°C”. It is unclear what range meets “of about”.
Claim 16 recites “has an average aggregate size up to about 55 mm”. It is unclear whether Applicant is attempting to claim an average, which should just be one number, or whether Applicant is attempting to claim a range. If Applicant is attempting to claim a range, it is unclear what Applicant intends as the maximum measurement.
Claim 19 recites “to about 1400 gsm”. It is unclear what Applicant intends as the maximum coat weight.
Claims 21 and 22 recite “about 50% or less, preferably about 1% or less.” This limitation does not make clear the metes and bounds of the range of water penetration.
Claims 23-27 contain recitations “of about”. “Of about” does not make clear the metes and bounds of the limitation, such that one cannot determine what Applicant considers to be the minimum (one number) and/or the maximum (another number).
Correction is required for each instance as detailed above.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 11 and 12 are improper dependent claims because they pertain to and require components and factors of the environment after application, outside of the subcombination of the bond coat system, and therefore fail to further limit the bond coat system of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102011003317 A1 (hereinafter will be referred to as “DE ‘317”) in view of Schoenbrodt et al., US 2021/0309891 A1.
Regarding claim 1, DE ‘317 teaches a reactive cold-applied thermoplastic bond coat system, comprising:
a first component comprising:
a polyacrylate polymer (polymethacrylate or polyacrylate or mixture of both), preferably in an amount of about 1-25% by weight of the composition (bottom half of page 3 of English translation),
acrylate monomers (methacrylates), preferably in an amount of about 20-85% by weight of the composition (top half of page 3 of the English translation),
a plasticizer (dibutyl phthalate or oil; top half of page 7 of the English translation), and
an accelerator, preferably in an amount of about 0-5% by weight of the composition (near the middle of page 3 of the English translation); and
a second component comprising an initiator suspension, such as a peroxide initiator suspension, in an amount of about 1-5% by weight of the composition (bottom half of page 3 of the English translation),
wherein a mixture of the first component and the second component is sprayable or manually appliable and cures to form a solid bond coat (“cold spray plastic”; bottom half of page 3 of the English translation).
While DE ‘317 discloses a polyacrylate polymer in the range of 1-25% by weight of the composition but fails to explicitly disclose the claimed range of about 10-30% and discloses acrylate monomers in the range of about 20-85% by weight of the composition but fails to explicitly disclose the claimed range of 5-45%, it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
While DE ‘317 discloses the use of a plasticizer but fails to disclose the claimed preferred amount of about 0.1-10% by weight of the composition, DE ‘317 discloses that the plasticizer is part of the initiator of the bond coat system and that the initiator is in the range of 0.1-7% by weight of the composition (top half of page 7 of the English translation). Since the claim requires as little as 0.1% and as much as 10% by weight of the composition, it appears that with the initiator being part of the composition that it would be obvious that there would be an overlap of the range disclosed by the prior art.
While DE ‘317 discloses the bond coat system including polymers mixed to form impact-modified molding compositions “in the melt” but fails to disclose a tackifier, preferably in an amount of about 10-50% by weight of the composition, Schoenbrodt teaches a polymer spray for use with concrete and discloses the use of a tackifier in the range of 10-80% by weight of the composition ([0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to include a tackifier preferably in an amount of about 10-50% by weight of the composition in view of Schoenbrodt’s disclosure that a tackifier can enhance the adhesion and/or tackiness of the composition (Schoenbrodt’s [0104]) in a bonding system.
Regarding claim 2, the resulting combination includes the polyacrylate polymer of the first component being a polymethacrylate polymer.
Regarding claim 3, the resulting combination includes the first component further comprising at least one additive, mineral fillers, preferably in an amount of about 50-60% by weight of the composition (sixth to last line on page 3 of the English translation of DE ‘317). While there is no explicit disclosure of the claimed 0-50% by weight of the composition, it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 4, the resulting combination from claim 3 includes the at least one additive being selected from fillers (mineral filler; sixth to last line on page 3 of the English translation of DE ‘317).
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘317 discloses temperature in the temperature window relevant for the application up to 70°C but fails to explicitly disclose temperature of about 200°C or below, the disclosed range is below 200°C, and it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). The resulting combination includes the bond coat, after curing (Abstract) and upon exposure to a temperature of about 200°C or below, becomes a molten liquid (it is melted and sprayable, so must be molten liquid) having a viscosity capable of being effective to permit compaction of a pavement material applied on the bond coat and increase the surface contact. It is noted that the last limitation does not further limit the thermoplastic bond coat system, and instead pertains to the environment in which the bond coat system is applied and outside factors.
Regarding claim 26, the elements of the resulting combination of claim 1 make obvious the “kit” comprising those elements, since a user making the bond coat system would have the elements together, which is a kit, to be able to mix and make it. The resulting combination from claim 1 includes the limitation of a mixture of the first component and the second component being sprayable and cures to form a solid bond coat (“cold spray plastic”; bottom half of page 3 of the English translation of DE ‘317). The limitations following “optional” are not required.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘317 in view of Schoenbrodt as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Okamoto et al., US 10,100,195 B2.
Regarding claim 10, the resulting combination from claim 9 includes the temperature being about 100°C or less (in this case, less than 100°C). While the resulting combination fails to disclose the viscosity is about 6,000 cP or less, Examiner notes that a viscosity of about 6,000 cP is like molasses, and anything above (therefore thicker) would be difficult to spray. Okamoto teaches a curable sprayable resin and discloses a viscosity in the range of 100 to 3,000 cP (column 33 lines 44-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the viscosity of the bond coat system be in the range of 100 to 3,000 cP as suggested by Okamoto so that it is easily sprayable. The viscosity (100-3,000 cP) of the resulting combination is less than 6,000 cP which meets the claim limitation.
Claims 13-15, 18-19, 21-22, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘317 in view of Schoenbrodt as applied to claim 1 and claim 26 above, further in view of Naito, US 2020/0131398 A1.
Regarding claim 13, the resulting combination from claim 1 includes a bond coat system comprising a first component with the claimed limitations of the first component mixed with a second component with the claimed limitations of the second component. While the resulting combination fails to disclose the remaining steps of the claim, Naito teaches a coating and process of constructing roads and discloses forming a road by forming a water-repellant layer which is coating layer on a substrate and then forming an asphalt layer on top of the water-repellant layer ([0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination from claim 1 to apply the mixture (bond coat system from claim 1) onto the substrate without the use of heating elements (since the bond coat system is a “cold spray plastic”; bottom half of page 3 of the English translation of DE ‘317) and applying the pavement material onto the bond coat to form a composite of the bond coat and the pavement material, where the composite binds the pavement material to the substrate and provides for a waterproof bond (Naito’s disclosure of water-repellant) between the pavement material and the substrate.
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose allowing the mixture to cure before applying the pavement material on top, it is an obvious modification to allow the mixture to cure first to allow the resin to form properly; adding pavement material before curing is complete would alter the chemical composition of the resin and the resin would not form as designed.
Regarding claim 14, since Naito suggests forming a road using asphalt as the pavement material ([0038]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the resulting combination to use asphalt as the pavement material.
Regarding claim 15, the resulting combination from claim 14 includes using asphalt. The Examiner takes Official Notice that all of the types of asphalt listed in the claimed group are old and well-known. Examiner notes that the claimed “asphalt protection layer” is not a type of asphalt, unlike the others in the claimed group; rather it appears Applicant is referring to a thin layer of asphalt on the top surface of the pavement, which is a known application rather than a type. It has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use asphalt selected from the group consisting of asphaltic concrete, hot rolled asphalt, stone mastic asphalt, mastic asphalt, porous asphalt, sand carpet, and asphalt protection layer since one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select one based on its suitability.
Regarding claim 18, the resulting combination includes the step of applying the mixture onto the substrate being performed by spraying the mixture onto the substrate since DE ‘317 discloses “cold spray plastic” (bottom half of page 3 of English translation).
Regarding claim 19, the resulting combination from claim 13 includes the claimed mixture being applied on the substrate. While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose the mixture being applied at a coat weight of about 100 gsm to about 1400 gsm, Examiner notes that this is quite a large range in the density/thickness of the coat applied. Further, it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to have the mixture be applied at a coat weight of about 100 gsm to about 1400 gsm based on obvious design choice by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 20, DE ‘317 further discloses the second component comprising an initiator could further comprise a third component (an additional initiator; “a mixture containing one or more initiators”; in the bottom half of page 3 of the English translation), which includes the limitation of mixing a third component (additional initiator) together with the second component (initiator) to form an activated third component, and the resulting combination makes obvious subsequently mixing with the first component since that is required to make the bond coat “cold spray” and applied onto the substrate.
Regarding claim 21, the resulting combination includes the limitation that upon application of the pavement material onto the cured bond coat, the pavement material (asphalt) is capable of compacting on the bond coat, such that a water penetration at the interface of the bond coat and the pavement material is about 50% or less, preferably about 1% or less (since the mixture is a plastic that hardens, water penetration should be about 1% or less which could be 0%).
Regarding claim 22, DE ‘317 discloses temperature in the temperature window relevant for the application up to 70°C but fails to explicitly disclose temperature of about 200°C or below, the disclosed range is below 200°C, and it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). The resulting combination includes the bond coat, after curing (Abstract) and upon exposure to a temperature of about 200°C or below, becomes a molten liquid (it is melted and sprayable, so must be molten liquid) having a viscosity capable of being effective to permit compaction of a pavement material applied on the bond coat and increase the surface contact, such that a water penetration at the interface of the bond coat and the pavement material is about 50% or less, preferably about 1% or less (since the mixture is a plastic that hardens, water penetration should be about 1% or less which could be 0%).
Regarding claim 24, while the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose the bond coat being applied at a coat weight of about 600 gsm to about 1200 gsm, it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to have the bond coat be applied at a coat weight of about 600 gsm to about 1200 gsm based on obvious design choice by routine experimentation. The limitation pertaining to a shear adhesion between the substrate and a pavement material is a property; since the resulting combination meets the components, it would appear obvious that it would have that property.
Regarding claim 25, while the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose the bond coat being applied at a coat weight of about 600 gsm to about 1200 gsm, it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to have the bond coat be applied at a coat weight of about 600 gsm to about 1200 gsm based on obvious design choice by routine experimentation. The limitation pertaining to a tensile adhesion between the substrate and a pavement material is a property; since the resulting combination meets the components, it would appear obvious that it would have that property.
Regarding claim 27, the elements of the resulting combination from claim 26 includes the method step of applying (e.g. spraying) the mixture onto the substrate without the use of heating elements since it is a cold spray and allowing the mixture to cure to form a cured bond coat (since DE ‘317 discloses the bond coat being a spray that cures; Abstract and bottom half of page 3 of English translation). The limitations of transporting the first component and second component and mixing the first component and second component at the jobsite are obvious, since it would not make sense to mix the components prior to being at the jobsite, the bond coat would cure and harden before it could be applied (sprayed).
While the resulting combination fails to disclose the limitation of the last clause of the claim, Naito teaches a coating and process of constructing roads and discloses forming a road by forming a water-repellant layer which is coating layer on a substrate and then forming an asphalt layer on top of the water-repellant layer ([0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination from claim 26 to apply the mixture (bond coat) onto the substrate and apply the pavement material onto the bond coat to form a composite of the bond coat and the pavement material, where the composite binds the pavement material to the substrate and provides for a waterproof bond (Naito’s disclosure of water-repellant) between the pavement material and the substrate.
While the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose allowing the mixture to cure before applying the pavement material on top, it is an obvious modification to allow the mixture to cure first to allow the bond coat/resin to form properly; adding pavement material before curing is complete would alter the chemical composition of the bond coat/resin and the bond coat/resin would not form as designed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘317 in view of Schoenbrodt and Naito as applied to claim 14, further in view of Chaney Enterprises “Aggregate Sizing Explained” as an evidentiary reference (NPL; hereinafter will be referred to as “Chaney”).
Regarding claim 16, while the resulting combination includes asphalt but fails to explicitly disclose the average aggregate size of the asphalt, Chaney discloses that 55 mm (which converts to 2.16 inches) and up to about 55 mm are known sizes of asphalt aggregate (page 2). It has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the average aggregate size be up to about 55 mm based on obvious design choice selecting from known aggregate sizes.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘317 in view of Schoenbrodt and Naito as applied to claim 13, further in view of Jeoffroy et al., US 2018/0087224 A1.
Regarding claim 17, while the resulting combination fails to disclose the substrate comprising a waterproofing membrane, Jeoffroy discusses road pavements ([0002]) and discloses glueing waterproof membranes to the substrate ([0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate to comprise a waterproofing membrane as an additional waterproofing layer (in addition to the water-repellant bond coat of the resulting combination) in view of Jeoffroy’s disclosure that providing one or various layers of waterproof membranes prevents water from infiltrating the substrate ([0074]-[0075]) since water can lead to the substrate cracking.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘317 in view of Schoenbrodt and Naito as applied to claim 22, further in view of Okamoto et al., US 10,100,195 B2.
Regarding claim 23, DE ‘317 discloses temperature in the temperature window relevant for the application up to 70°C but fails to explicitly disclose temperature of about 200°C or below, the disclosed range is below 200°C, and it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). The resulting combination includes the temperature being about 100°C or less (in this case, less than 100°C). While the resulting combination fails to disclose the viscosity is about 6,000 cP or less, Examiner notes that a viscosity of about 6,000 cP is like molasses, and anything above (therefore thicker) would be difficult to spray. Okamoto teaches a curable sprayable resin and discloses a viscosity in the range of 100 to 3,000 cP (column 33 lines 44-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the viscosity of the bond coat system be in the range of 100 to 3,000 cP as suggested by Okamoto so that it is easily sprayable. The viscosity (100-3,000 cP) of the resulting combination is less than 6,000 cP which meets the claim limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. If Applicant amends the claims in a way that changes the scope of the claims, allowability will be reconsidered.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited sheet. Finke et al., US 2015/0197896 A1 is cited for teaching an adhesive promoter between a substrate and a top road layer. Several references are cited for polymer or resin waterproof layers comprising acrylate monomers, initiators, accelerators, and additives.
/KATHERINE J CHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671