DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/29/2025, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed on 10/29/2025, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1 and 8-20 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of associating different hemodynamic states with regions of the scatterplot with a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude from claim 10, and the superimposing a label of the names of the hemodynamic states corresponding to the plurality of regions in the scatter plot with a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude from claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitation “setting a plurality of regions in each quadrant of the scatter plot according to values of the baseline change rate and the pulse wave amplitude change rate; associating different hemodynamic states with each of the regions, including a region showing the identified hemodynamic state; and displaying the identified hemodynamic state so as to be visually identifiable according to the region in which the point is plotted” in lines 3-8, which is not described in the originally filed claims, specification, or drawings to support this newly added limitation. The specification and drawings show the identified regions on a plot with a first axis representing a blood volume change rate and a second axis representing a beating change rate, however the identified regions are not shown or described on a plot with a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate, therefore the claim fails the new matter requirement and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Claims 11 and 15-18 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “superimposing, as labels, names of the hemodynamic states corresponding to the plurality of regions in the scatter plot for reach quadrant” in lines 3-4, which is not described in the originally filed claims, specification, or drawings to support this newly added limitation. The specification and drawings show the superimposed labels on a plot with a first axis representing a blood volume change rate and a second axis representing a beating change rate, however the superimposed labels are not shown or described on a plot with a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate, therefore the claim fails the new matter requirement and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Claims 17-18 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “issuing a notification prompting remeasurement” in line 5, which is not described in the originally filed claims, specification, or drawings to support this newly added limitation. The specification describes providing a message indicating the electronic device was unable to identify a hemodynamic state in paragraph [0080], however there is no mention of a notification prompting remeasurement, therefore the claim fails the new matter requirement and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Claims 19-20 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa (US 20180042486) in further view of Aoki (JP 2016159108), Hashimoto (WO 2013161074), and Denney (US 20180125376). Citations to JP 2016159108 and WO 2013161074 will refer to the English Machine Translations that accompany this Office Action.
Regarding independent claim 1, Yoshizawa teaches an electronic device (Abstract: “A biological information measuring apparatus according to an embodiment includes a calculating unit and a measuring unit.”) comprising:
at least one processor that executes a program stored in a memory ([0115]: “the storage unit 140 includes a picture storage unit 141, a measured result storage unit 142, and a reference information storage unit 143. The storage unit 140 may be, for example, a storage device such as a hard disk, an optical disk, or the like or a semiconductor memory device such as a Random Access Memory (RAM), a flash memory, or the like. The storage unit 140 is configured to store therein various types of computer programs executed by the biological information measuring apparatus 100, and the like”),
wherein the processor is configured to execute processing including
acquiring first pulse wave information indicating a first pulse wave from a first video obtained through imaging of a specific part of a subject's body during a first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value “; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in a body position of the user observed before the user action will be referred to as ‘first blood flow information’”), and acquiring second pulse wave information indicating a second pulse wave from a second video obtained through imaging of the specific part of the subject's body during a second period later than the first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in the body position of the user observed after the user action will be referred to as ‘second blood flow information’”);
acquiring, from the first pulse wave information, a first baseline of the first pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the first pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a first pulse wave amplitude of the first pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.), acquiring, from the second pulse wave information, a second baseline of the second pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the second pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a second pulse wave amplitude of the second pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.).
Yoshizawa discloses calculating a change between the blood flow information from the first period and the second period ([0358]: “the “health forecast” illustrated in FIG. 1 is configured to provide information about the condition of health analyzed on the basis of the fluctuation of the blood flow of the user. For example, the “health forecast” is provided on the basis of how much the blood flow fluctuates between before and after a user action when the first blood flow information is compared with the second blood flow information, and further, on the basis of an evaluation made on a significant fluctuation of the blood flow”; [0369]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 may start the image taking process by using the user's being reflected on the predetermined mirror as a trigger. The scene SN1c in the right section of FIG. 40 illustrates the situation where the user is in the dressing room of the bath after taking a bath. In the scene SN1c in FIG. 40, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 calculates second blood flow information that is the blood flow information in the body positions of the user observed after the user takes a bath, on the basis of the luminance information of picture signals of the body obtained by imaging the user from the front.”), however Yoshizawa does not describe the blood flow information specifically being a baseline change rate and a pulse wave amplitude change rate.
Aoki discloses a pulse measurement device. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a baseline change rate, the baseline change rate indicating a rate of change from the first baseline to the second baseline ([0027]: “The image of each region obtained by two wavelet transforms shows a feature corresponding to the rate of change (second derivative) of the spatial distribution of brightness. Therefore, the time-series fluctuation of the average luminance value of the luminance detection region in the second converted image data has a feature corresponding to the subject's pulsation”). Yoshizawa and Aoki are analogous arts as they are both related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the baseline change rate from Aoki into the device from Yoshizawa as Yoshizawa is silent on the specific parameters of the blood flow information, and Aoki discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous device.
Hashimoto discloses a physical condition monitoring device and method. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a pulse wave amplitude change rate, and the pulse wave amplitude change rate indicating a rate of change from the first pulse wave amplitude and to the second pulse wave amplitude (Page 33-34: “the blood flow rate BF measured by the blood flow measuring unit 12 at the time when the blood pressure measuring unit 11 measures the blood pressure BP may be used as a reference value when calculating the rate of change ΔBF of the blood flow rate BF. The same applies to the calculation of the rate of change ΔBP of blood pressure BP described above, the rate of change ΔHR of heart rate HR described below, and the rate of change ΔPA of pulse wave amplitude PA described below”). Yoshizawa and Hashimoto are analogous arts as they are both related to devices that measure the pulse wave of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the pulse amplitude change rate from Hashimoto into the Yoshizawa/Aoki combination as it allows the combination to further analyze the blood flow information, and Yoshizawa is silent on the exact blood flow information used, and Hashimoto discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous device.
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches identifying a hemodynamic state based on a relationship between the baseline change rate and the pulse wave amplitude change rate (Yoshizawa, [0301]: “when the various types of settings have been made as explained above, the analysis is started, and the analysis screen illustrated in FIG. 34E is sequentially updated. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 34H, the output controlling unit 154 causes an analysis screen to be displayed in which the following pieces of information are occasionally updated: the picture of the subject, the green signals (original), the information related to image-based photoplethysmograms of predetermined regions, the heart rate, the pulse transit time difference, and the like … As a result, it is possible to visually recognize the propagation of the pulse wave for each of the ROIs and to visually understand the state of the blood circulation”; [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”).
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches a display screen (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”), however, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point.
Denney discloses a method and system for evaluating a blood vessel. Specifically, Denney teaches displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point (Fig. 14A). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Denney are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plot from Denney into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the device to visualize the calculated results and present them to the user in an easily viewable format.
Regarding independent claim 8, Yoshizawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for an electronic device for measuring blood flow based on a video obtained through imaging of a subject’s body, the electronic device including at least one processor, the storage medium storing a program causing the at least one processor to implement functions comprising ([0115]: “the storage unit 140 includes a picture storage unit 141, a measured result storage unit 142, and a reference information storage unit 143. The storage unit 140 may be, for example, a storage device such as a hard disk, an optical disk, or the like or a semiconductor memory device such as a Random Access Memory (RAM), a flash memory, or the like. The storage unit 140 is configured to store therein various types of computer programs executed by the biological information measuring apparatus 100, and the like”):
a video processing function of acquiring first pulse wave information indicating a first pulse wave from a first video obtained through imaging of a specific part of the subject's body during a first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value “; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in a body position of the user observed before the user action will be referred to as ‘first blood flow information’”), and acquiring second pulse wave information indicating a second pulse wave from a second video obtained through imaging of the specific part of the subject's body during a second period later than the first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value “; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in the body position of the user observed after the user action will be referred to as ‘second blood flow information’”);
a data processing function of acquiring, from the first pulse wave information, a first baseline of the first pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the first pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a first pulse wave amplitude of the first pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.), acquiring, from the second pulse wave information, a second baseline of the second pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the second pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a second pulse wave amplitude of the second pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.).
Yoshizawa discloses calculating a change between the blood flow information from the first period and the second period ([0358]: “the “health forecast” illustrated in FIG. 1 is configured to provide information about the condition of health analyzed on the basis of the fluctuation of the blood flow of the user. For example, the “health forecast” is provided on the basis of how much the blood flow fluctuates between before and after a user action when the first blood flow information is compared with the second blood flow information, and further, on the basis of an evaluation made on a significant fluctuation of the blood flow”; [0369]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 may start the image taking process by using the user's being reflected on the predetermined mirror as a trigger. The scene SN1c in the right section of FIG. 40 illustrates the situation where the user is in the dressing room of the bath after taking a bath. In the scene SN1c in FIG. 40, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 calculates second blood flow information that is the blood flow information in the body positions of the user observed after the user takes a bath, on the basis of the luminance information of picture signals of the body obtained by imaging the user from the front.”), however Yoshizawa does not describe the blood flow information specifically being a baseline change rate and a pulse wave amplitude change rate.
Aoki discloses a pulse measurement device. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a baseline change rate, the baseline change rate indicating a rate of change from the first baseline to the second baseline ([0027]: “The image of each region obtained by two wavelet transforms shows a feature corresponding to the rate of change (second derivative) of the spatial distribution of brightness. Therefore, the time-series fluctuation of the average luminance value of the luminance detection region in the second converted image data has a feature corresponding to the subject's pulsation”). Yoshizawa and Aoki are analogous arts as they are both related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the baseline change rate from Aoki into the device from Yoshizawa as Yoshizawa is silent on the specific parameters of the blood flow information, and Aoki discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous device.
Hashimoto discloses a physical condition monitoring device and method. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a pulse wave amplitude change rate, and the pulse wave amplitude change rate indicating a rate of change from the first pulse wave amplitude and to the second pulse wave amplitude (Page 33-34: “the blood flow rate BF measured by the blood flow measuring unit 12 at the time when the blood pressure measuring unit 11 measures the blood pressure BP may be used as a reference value when calculating the rate of change ΔBF of the blood flow rate BF. The same applies to the calculation of the rate of change ΔBP of blood pressure BP described above, the rate of change ΔHR of heart rate HR described below, and the rate of change ΔPA of pulse wave amplitude PA described below”). Yoshizawa and Hashimoto are analogous arts as they are both related to devices that measure the pulse wave of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the pulse amplitude change rate from Hashimoto into the Yoshizawa/Aoki combination as it allows the combination to further analyze the blood flow information, and Yoshizawa is silent on the exact blood flow information used, and Hashimoto discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous device.
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches an identification processing function of identifying a hemodynamic state based on a relationship between the baseline change rate and the pulse wave amplitude change rate (Yoshizawa, [0301]: “when the various types of settings have been made as explained above, the analysis is started, and the analysis screen illustrated in FIG. 34E is sequentially updated. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 34H, the output controlling unit 154 causes an analysis screen to be displayed in which the following pieces of information are occasionally updated: the picture of the subject, the green signals (original), the information related to image-based photoplethysmograms of predetermined regions, the heart rate, the pulse transit time difference, and the like … As a result, it is possible to visually recognize the propagation of the pulse wave for each of the ROIs and to visually understand the state of the blood circulation”; [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”).
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches a display screen (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”), however, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point.
Denney discloses a method and system for evaluating a blood vessel. Specifically, Denney teaches displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point (Fig. 14A). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Denney are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plot from Denney into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the device to visualize the calculated results and present them to the user in an easily viewable format.
Regarding independent claim 9, Yoshizawa teaches a control method for an electronic device for measuring blood flow based on video obtained through imaging of a subject’s body, the control method comprising ([0002]: “Embodiments described herein relate generally to a biological information measuring apparatus and a biological information measuring method”) comprising:
acquiring first pulse wave information indicating a first pulse wave from a first video obtained through imaging of a specific part of a subject's body during a first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value “; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in a body position of the user observed before the user action will be referred to as ‘first blood flow information’”), and acquiring second pulse wave information indicating a second pulse wave from a second video obtained through imaging of the specific part of the subject's body during a second period later than the first period ([0092]: “the biological information measuring apparatus according to the first embodiment calculates an index value corresponding to a PTT, by extracting pulse wave information from the picture signals of the face and the site other than the face of the subject and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure on the basis of a fluctuation of the calculated index value “; [0093]: “a principle used for extracting the pulse wave information from the picture signals will be explained. For example, image taking apparatuses such as video cameras are configured to record the light reflected by a subject as a picture that has passed through filters corresponding to different wavelengths while using the light in the three colors of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) as primary colors and to express various colors in accordance with luminance values thereof”; [0094]: “The biological information measuring apparatus extracts the aforementioned luminance values of the green light as the pulse wave information and estimates the fluctuation of the blood pressure”; [0353]: “the blood flow information in the body position of the user observed after the user action will be referred to as ‘second blood flow information’”);
acquiring, from the first pulse wave information, a first baseline of the first pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the first pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a first pulse wave amplitude of the first pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.), acquiring, from the second pulse wave information, a second baseline of the second pulse wave ([0145]: “the calculating unit 152 extracts a green signal expressed in a temporal-change curve obtained by calculating an average luminance value of the green light for each of the frames, with respect to the skin region of the face and the skin region of the site other than the face”. The average value is the baseline, and the average value is based on the luminance value from the pulse wave, therefore the baseline is the baseline of the second pulse wave. Fig. 7 shows the average luminance values over time, indicating that the baselines are determined at the first and second periods.) and a second pulse wave amplitude of the second pulse wave (Fig. 8; [0148]: “The lower section of FIG. 8 illustrates a pulse wave signal, while the vertical axis expresses “amplitude”, whereas the horizontal axis expresses ‘time [s]’”. Fig. 8 shows the amplitude over time, indicating that the pulse wave amplitudes are determined at the first and second periods.).
Yoshizawa discloses calculating a change between the blood flow information from the first period and the second period ([0358]: “the “health forecast” illustrated in FIG. 1 is configured to provide information about the condition of health analyzed on the basis of the fluctuation of the blood flow of the user. For example, the “health forecast” is provided on the basis of how much the blood flow fluctuates between before and after a user action when the first blood flow information is compared with the second blood flow information, and further, on the basis of an evaluation made on a significant fluctuation of the blood flow”; [0369]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 may start the image taking process by using the user's being reflected on the predetermined mirror as a trigger. The scene SN1c in the right section of FIG. 40 illustrates the situation where the user is in the dressing room of the bath after taking a bath. In the scene SN1c in FIG. 40, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 calculates second blood flow information that is the blood flow information in the body positions of the user observed after the user takes a bath, on the basis of the luminance information of picture signals of the body obtained by imaging the user from the front.”), however Yoshizawa does not describe the blood flow information specifically being a baseline change rate and a pulse wave amplitude change rate.
Aoki discloses a pulse measurement device. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a baseline change rate, the baseline change rate indicating a rate of change from the first baseline to the second baseline ([0027]: “The image of each region obtained by two wavelet transforms shows a feature corresponding to the rate of change (second derivative) of the spatial distribution of brightness. Therefore, the time-series fluctuation of the average luminance value of the luminance detection region in the second converted image data has a feature corresponding to the subject's pulsation”). Yoshizawa and Aoki are analogous arts as they are both related to methods that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the baseline change rate from Aoki into the method from Yoshizawa as Yoshizawa is silent on the specific parameters of the blood flow information, and Aoki discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous art.
Hashimoto discloses a physical condition monitoring device and method. Specifically, Hashimoto teaches calculating a pulse wave amplitude change rate, and the pulse wave amplitude change rate indicating a rate of change from the first pulse wave amplitude and to the second pulse wave amplitude (Page 33-34: “the blood flow rate BF measured by the blood flow measuring unit 12 at the time when the blood pressure measuring unit 11 measures the blood pressure BP may be used as a reference value when calculating the rate of change ΔBF of the blood flow rate BF. The same applies to the calculation of the rate of change ΔBP of blood pressure BP described above, the rate of change ΔHR of heart rate HR described below, and the rate of change ΔPA of pulse wave amplitude PA described below”). Yoshizawa and Hashimoto are analogous arts as they are both related to devices that measure the pulse wave of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the pulse amplitude change rate from Hashimoto into the Yoshizawa/Aoki combination as it allows the combination to further analyze the blood flow information, and Yoshizawa is silent on the exact blood flow information used, and Hashimoto discloses a suitable parameter in an analogous art.
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches identifying a hemodynamic state based on a relationship between the baseline change rate and the pulse wave amplitude change rate (Yoshizawa, [0301]: “when the various types of settings have been made as explained above, the analysis is started, and the analysis screen illustrated in FIG. 34E is sequentially updated. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 34H, the output controlling unit 154 causes an analysis screen to be displayed in which the following pieces of information are occasionally updated: the picture of the subject, the green signals (original), the information related to image-based photoplethysmograms of predetermined regions, the heart rate, the pulse transit time difference, and the like … As a result, it is possible to visually recognize the propagation of the pulse wave for each of the ROIs and to visually understand the state of the blood circulation”; [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”).
The Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches a display screen (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences”), however, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point.
Denney discloses a method and system for evaluating a blood vessel. Specifically, Denney teaches displaying, on a display screen, an image of a scatter plot in which a first axis representing the baseline change rate and a second axis representing the pulse wave amplitude change rate are arranged, and in which the calculated baseline change rate and pulse wave amplitude change rate are plotted as a point (Fig. 14A). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Denney are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plot from Denney into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the device to visualize the calculated results and present them to the user in an easily viewable format.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mneimne (“Emotional valence and arousal effects on memory and hemispheric asymmetries”).
Regarding claim 10, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: setting a plurality of regions in each quadrant of the scatter plot according to values of the baseline change rate and the pulse wave amplitude change rate; associating different hemodynamic states with each of the regions, including a region showing the identified hemodynamic state (The hemodynamic states are determined based on the values of the baseline change rate and the amplitude change rate, therefore it is clear that the different regions are associated with the different hemodynamic states.).
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach displaying the identified hemodynamic state so as to be visually identifiable according to the region in which the point is plotted.
Mneimne discloses a study examining emotion effects on memory. Specifically, Mneimne teaches displaying the identified state so as to be visually identifiable according to the region in which the point is plotted (Fig. 1). Yoshizawa and Mneimne are analogous as they are both related to determining responses of a user and displaying them graphically.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the labeling technique from Mneimne into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the plot to clearly identify where the regions are on the graph to the user, allowing for easy comprehension of the results.
Regarding claim 11, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: superimposing, as labels, names of the hemodynamic states corresponding to the plurality of regions in the scatter plot for each quadrant (Mneimne, Fig. 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Proud (US 20160220198).
Regarding claim 12, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: determining an abnormality when the baseline change rate or the pulse wave amplitude change rate deviates from a predetermined threshold; and issuing a notification prompting remeasurement.
Proud discloses a device that monitors an individual’s activities and health parameters. Specifically, Proud teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: determining an abnormality when the baseline change rate or the pulse wave amplitude change rate deviates from a predetermined threshold; and issuing a notification prompting remeasurement ([0232]: “If the signal is not acceptable to the monitoring device user or patient, or not adequately measured by a sensor 14 to facilitate closed-loop feedback of the signal, as determined at block 814, one or more feedback or alert signal control parameters is adjusted at block 816, and the process at blocks 808 through 814 repeats until an acceptable feedback or alert signal is established. The feedback or alert signal settings and the sensor signal characteristic(s) associated with the acceptable feedback or alert signal are stored at block 818 to establish a threshold range of the magnitude and/or frequency characteristics of the sensor signal for the given feedback or alert signal”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Proud are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the determination of an abnormality and notification from Proud into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the device to determine when a result will not be able to produce an accurate result and alert the user to remeasure, which can provide a more accurate result.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Berkow (US 20130267858), Raines (WO 0057776), and Ding (CN 205597907). Citations to CN 205597907 will refer to the English Machine Translation that accompanies this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively.
Berkow discloses a system and method for characterizing circulatory blood flow. Specifically, Berkow teaches calculating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively ([0004]: “changes in the circulatory stress and circulatory blood volume are extrapolated from changes in the frequency and frequency strength, respectively, of the arterial pulse wave in order to characterize changes in circulatory blood volume over contiguous, finite time intervals”; [0112]: “The pulse wave form is a measure of the density of total red blood cells (oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin) in the underlying arterial bed from the changes in absorption of the near infrared frequency. As illustrated in FIG. 24, the relative changes of the red blood cells from a baseline value in the first 7 minutes indicates that, when red blood cells are diluted through transfusion, the effective circulatory volume (or pulse strength) signal indicates how well the cardiovascular system is able to maintain a constant perfusion of red blood cells in the tissue”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Berkow are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the calculation of blood volume and pulse strength from the pulse wave from Berkow into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto combination as it allows the combination to calculate more important and relevant information related to blood flow, and create a more comprehensive analysis of the user’s health.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow combination does not teach displaying the average blood volume and pulse strength as bar graphs.
Raines discloses a method for characterizing blood flow in a limb. Specifically, Raines teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume (Page 44, lines 16-17: “Maximum blood volume Vm (averaged) and blood flow is shown in each quintile with a bar graph”_. Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, and Raines are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating average blood volume from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Ding discloses a vital sign monitor. Specifically, Ding teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating pulse strength ([0024]: “The display screen 2 also includes at least one spare auxiliary display screen 28, which can be used to display other necessary parameters or waveforms, such as pulse intensity bar graphs”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, Raines, and Ding are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating pulse strength from Ding into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow/Raines combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Regarding claim 14, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: further displaying a notification indicating increase or decrease in blood flow (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences. In FIG. 40, as blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates an image in which the larger the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the darker the hatching is. Further, in FIG. 40, as the blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates the image in which the smaller the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the lighter the hatching is”).
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination does not teach displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength.
Raines teaches displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength (Fig. 13 shows the values displayed next to the bar graphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the numerical values being displayed near the bar graphs from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination as it allows the user to be able to quickly read the numbers, and allows for an easily identifiable measurement.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination as applied to claims 10 and 11 above, and further in view Berkow, Raines, and Ding.
Regarding claim 15, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 10.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively.
Berkow discloses a system and method for characterizing circulatory blood flow. Specifically, Berkow teaches calculating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively ([0004]: “changes in the circulatory stress and circulatory blood volume are extrapolated from changes in the frequency and frequency strength, respectively, of the arterial pulse wave in order to characterize changes in circulatory blood volume over contiguous, finite time intervals”; [0112]: “The pulse wave form is a measure of the density of total red blood cells (oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin) in the underlying arterial bed from the changes in absorption of the near infrared frequency. As illustrated in FIG. 24, the relative changes of the red blood cells from a baseline value in the first 7 minutes indicates that, when red blood cells are diluted through transfusion, the effective circulatory volume (or pulse strength) signal indicates how well the cardiovascular system is able to maintain a constant perfusion of red blood cells in the tissue”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Berkow are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the calculation of blood volume and pulse strength from the pulse wave from Berkow into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination as it allows the combination to calculate more important and relevant information related to blood flow, and create a more comprehensive analysis of the user’s health.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow combination does not teach displaying the average blood volume and pulse strength as bar graphs.
Raines discloses a method for characterizing blood flow in a limb. Specifically, Raines teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume (Page 44, lines 16-17: “Maximum blood volume Vm (averaged) and blood flow is shown in each quintile with a bar graph”_. Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, and Raines are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating average blood volume from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Ding discloses a vital sign monitor. Specifically, Ding teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating pulse strength ([0024]: “The display screen 2 also includes at least one spare auxiliary display screen 28, which can be used to display other necessary parameters or waveforms, such as pulse intensity bar graphs”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, Raines, and Ding are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating pulse strength from Ding into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Regarding claim 16, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: further displaying a notification indicating increase or decrease in blood flow (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences. In FIG. 40, as blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates an image in which the larger the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the darker the hatching is. Further, in FIG. 40, as the blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates the image in which the smaller the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the lighter the hatching is”).
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination does not teach displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength.
Raines teaches displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength (Fig. 13 shows the values displayed next to the bar graphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the numerical values being displayed near the bar graphs from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination as it allows the user to be able to quickly read the numbers, and allows for an easily identifiable measurement.
Regarding claim 17, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 11.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively.
Berkow discloses a system and method for characterizing circulatory blood flow. Specifically, Berkow teaches calculating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively ([0004]: “changes in the circulatory stress and circulatory blood volume are extrapolated from changes in the frequency and frequency strength, respectively, of the arterial pulse wave in order to characterize changes in circulatory blood volume over contiguous, finite time intervals”; [0112]: “The pulse wave form is a measure of the density of total red blood cells (oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin) in the underlying arterial bed from the changes in absorption of the near infrared frequency. As illustrated in FIG. 24, the relative changes of the red blood cells from a baseline value in the first 7 minutes indicates that, when red blood cells are diluted through transfusion, the effective circulatory volume (or pulse strength) signal indicates how well the cardiovascular system is able to maintain a constant perfusion of red blood cells in the tissue”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Berkow are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the calculation of blood volume and pulse strength from the pulse wave from Berkow into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne combination as it allows the combination to calculate more important and relevant information related to blood flow, and create a more comprehensive analysis of the user’s health.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow combination does not teach displaying the average blood volume and pulse strength as bar graphs.
Raines discloses a method for characterizing blood flow in a limb. Specifically, Raines teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume (Page 44, lines 16-17: “Maximum blood volume Vm (averaged) and blood flow is shown in each quintile with a bar graph”_. Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, and Raines are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating average blood volume from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Ding discloses a vital sign monitor. Specifically, Ding teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating pulse strength ([0024]: “The display screen 2 also includes at least one spare auxiliary display screen 28, which can be used to display other necessary parameters or waveforms, such as pulse intensity bar graphs”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, Raines, and Ding are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating pulse strength from Ding into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Regarding claim 18, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: further displaying a notification indicating increase or decrease in blood flow (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences. In FIG. 40, as blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates an image in which the larger the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the darker the hatching is. Further, in FIG. 40, as the blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates the image in which the smaller the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the lighter the hatching is”).
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination does not teach displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength.
Raines teaches displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength (Fig. 13 shows the values displayed next to the bar graphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the numerical values being displayed near the bar graphs from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Mneimne/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination as it allows the user to be able to quickly read the numbers, and allows for an easily identifiable measurement.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud combination as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view Berkow, Raines, and Ding.
Regarding claim 19, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 12.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively.
Berkow discloses a system and method for characterizing circulatory blood flow. Specifically, Berkow teaches calculating an average blood volume and pulse strength based on the first and second pulse wave information, respectively ([0004]: “changes in the circulatory stress and circulatory blood volume are extrapolated from changes in the frequency and frequency strength, respectively, of the arterial pulse wave in order to characterize changes in circulatory blood volume over contiguous, finite time intervals”; [0112]: “The pulse wave form is a measure of the density of total red blood cells (oxygenated and deoxygenated hemoglobin) in the underlying arterial bed from the changes in absorption of the near infrared frequency. As illustrated in FIG. 24, the relative changes of the red blood cells from a baseline value in the first 7 minutes indicates that, when red blood cells are diluted through transfusion, the effective circulatory volume (or pulse strength) signal indicates how well the cardiovascular system is able to maintain a constant perfusion of red blood cells in the tissue”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, and Berkow are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the calculation of blood volume and pulse strength from the pulse wave from Berkow into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud combination as it allows the combination to calculate more important and relevant information related to blood flow, and create a more comprehensive analysis of the user’s health.
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow combination does not teach displaying the average blood volume and pulse strength as bar graphs.
Raines discloses a method for characterizing blood flow in a limb. Specifically, Raines teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating an average blood volume (Page 44, lines 16-17: “Maximum blood volume Vm (averaged) and blood flow is shown in each quintile with a bar graph”_. Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, and Raines are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating average blood volume from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Ding discloses a vital sign monitor. Specifically, Ding teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: displaying, together with the scatter plot, bar graphs indicating pulse strength ([0024]: “The display screen 2 also includes at least one spare auxiliary display screen 28, which can be used to display other necessary parameters or waveforms, such as pulse intensity bar graphs”). Yoshizawa, Aoki, Hashimoto, Berkow, Raines, and Ding are analogous arts as they are all related to devices that measure the pulse of a user and provide analysis of the user’s health state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bar graph indicating pulse strength from Ding into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow/Raines combination as it allows the combination to present the information in a clear visual way, allowing the user to easily identify the parameter.
Regarding claim 20, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to execute processing including: further displaying a notification indicating increase or decrease in blood flow (Yoshizawa, [0373]: “the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates blood circulation information indicating a blood flow state in each of the body positions, on the basis of the blood flow differences. In FIG. 40, as blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates an image in which the larger the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the darker the hatching is. Further, in FIG. 40, as the blood circulation information IB11, the biological information displaying apparatus 500 generates the image in which the smaller the blood flow difference in each of the body positions is, the lighter the hatching is”).
However, the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination does not teach displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength.
Raines teaches displaying, near the bar graphs, numerical values representing multiples of the average blood volume and pulse strength (Fig. 13 shows the values displayed next to the bar graphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the numerical values being displayed near the bar graphs from Raines into the Yoshizawa/Aoki/Hashimoto/Proud/Berkow/Raines/Ding combination as it allows the user to be able to quickly read the numbers, and allows for an easily identifiable measurement.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant amended the drawings and claims to overcome the objections and 112(b) rejections, however the claim amendments have introduced new drawing and 112(a) rejections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791