Detailed Office Action
Double Patenting Rejection
3. Claims 2, 3, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 11-15 of copending Application No. 19/106,101(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set is drawn to a heat curable composition comprising the same prepolymer and a hydrazide having the same melting point. One in possession of the method of the copending claims would have been in possession of the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4. Claims 6, 7, 9, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/106,101 in view of Grogler et al. (US 4663,415) or Maeda et al. (US 5,855,668).
Each copending claim set is drawn to a heat curable composition comprising the same prepolymer and a hydrazide having the same melting point. One in possession of the method of the copending claims would have been in possession of the composition. Furthermore, Grogler et al. and Maeda et al. disclose the combination of polyamines having the claimed melting temperature with prepolymers to form one component heat curable compositions (See Examples within each reference). Since it has been held that it prima facie obvious to use a known component for its known function, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to mix the polyamines of the references with the hydrazide curing agent, so as to obtain a curing agent mixture of the hydrazide and the polyamine, and further to combine this mixture with the prepolymer to obtain a curable composition. Regarding claim 6, Grogler et al. disclose particle sizes that meet that claimed, therefore, it would have been obvious to utilize polyamine particles within the claimed composition. Regarding claim 7, the nitrogen compounds of Grogler et al. are in direct contact with the prepolymer; therefore, the claimed limitation would have been obvious. Regarding claim 9, Grogler et al. disclose the use of 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate within column 12, lines 47 and 48; therefore, it would have been obvious to produce the prepolymer using this diisocyanate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
5. Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/106,101 in view of Ludewig et al. (US 2002/0027969 A1).
Each copending claim set is drawn to a heat curable composition comprising the same prepolymer and a hydrazide having the same melting point. One in possession of the method of the copending claims would have been in possession of the composition. Furthermore, regarding claim 10, prepolymers useful for the production of polyurethanes employing the claimed NCO/OH ratio range were known at the time of invention, as evidenced by paragraph [0037] of Ludewig et al. Accordingly, since it has been held that it is prima facie obvious to use a known component for its known function, the position is taken that that it would have been obvious to use this known prepolymer to produce the claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Prior Art Rejection
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grogler et al. (US 4,663,415).
Grogler et al. disclose in Examples 1 and 2 the use of a polyamine having a melting point exceeding that claimed, corresponding to applicants’ nitrogen compound, as a solid curing agent for heat curing a heat-curable polyurethane composition that comprises a prepolymer having isocyanate end groups formed from the reaction of a polyisocyanate with polyol. Polyamines having the clamed melting points are disclosed within column 7.
8. Though the cited examples and specification fail to disclose compositions having the claimed amount contents for the claimed components, the reference does disclose that the compositions may include auxiliary agents and additives and catalysts in addition to the prepolymer and polyamine (see column 18, line 48 through column 20, line 30), Accordingly, the reference provides for the production of compositions containing components in addition to those described within the examples. Therefore, the position is taken that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate compositions having quantities of components falling within those claimed depending on the objective or purpose of the final composition. For example, the addition of quantities of the disclosed fillers to the exemplified compositions would have had the effect of causing the resulting compositions to have component quantities that would have been expected to fall within those claimed. It has not been established that the claimed quantities yield anything unexpected.
9. The previous prior art rejections have been withdrawn in view of applicants’ response and amendment.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4 and 5 are allowed.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765