DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments filed 05/03/2026.
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group II in the reply filed on 09/29/2025.
Claims 3-7 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 9-11 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS—MODIFIED
Applicant’s IDS submission has resulted in the below modified rejection.
The 35 USC 103 rejections in the previous Office Action, over Herbig in view of Wrobleski and Pandi, and Herbing in view of Wrobleski and Pandi, and further in view of Tonglairoum, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(New) Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1027888 to Appel (published 2009, IDS of 05/03/2026) in view of Wrobleski (Highly Selective Inhibition of Tyrosine Kinase 2 (TYK2) for the Treatment of Autoimmune Diseases: Discovery of the Allosteric Inhibitor of BMS-986165, J. Chem, published 2019, PTO-892 of 02/02/2026)
Appel teaches osmotic systems for delivery of solid amorphous dispersions of drugs.
Appel teaches a controlled release dosage form comprising a core comprising an osmotic agent and a drug in the form of a spray-dried solid dispersion of an amorphous drug in a dispersion polymer, wherein the drug has an aqueous solubility of 40 mg/mL or less, and a substantially water permeable coating around the core (pg. 19, claims 1-3; pg. 21, claim 29).
Appel teaches a dosage form wherein the osmotic agent is in a first layer and the solid dispersion is in a second layer (pg. 20, claim 21).
Appel exemplifies a tablet bilayer design, wherein the core comprises a drug layer comprising a solid amorphous dispersion comprising the drug, polyethylene oxide (osmogen & polymer), and HPMC (osmogen & polymer), and wherein the sweller layer comprises polyethylene oxide (osmogen) and HPMC (osmogen). The bilayer core is then coated with a semipermeable coating comprising 50-98% cellulose acetate and 2-50% polyethylene glycol (pg. 15, Example 4, and pg. 13, Example 2 for the drug). See also Example 7 on pg. 17.
Appel differs from that of instant claim 9 in that it does not teach BMS-986165 as the drug.
Appel further teaches the drug as an autoimmune disorder agent (pg. 20, claim 33), and teaches that any beneficial therapeutic agent that meets the solubility criteria can be used as the drug ([0025]).
Appel teaches its dosage forms as specifically designed to provide controlled release by an extrusion-type mechanism of low solubility drug that utilizes a core of such a drug in the form of an amorphous solid dispersion ([0013]). The dosage form provides controlled delivery of the drug and in turn, the bioavailability of the drug is enhanced ([0018]).
Wrobleski teaches BMS-986165, also referenced as “11,” as a small molecule JAK inhibitor that has emerged as a major therapeutic advancement in treating autoimmune diseases, (abstract).
Wrobleski teaches Triazole 11, which is BMS-986165 (see Table 5 on pg. 8980, and the abstract of Wrobleski) as having an aqueous solubility at pH 7.4 of 5.2µg/mL (pg. 8981, Table 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select the BMS-986165 of Wrobleski as the drug in Appel, to arrive at instant claim 9. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Wrobleski teaches BMS-986165 for the treatment of autoimmune diseases (abstract) and Appel teaches the drug in its formulations as an autoimmune disorder agent,
-Appel teaches its drugs as having an aqueous solubility of 40 mg/mL or less and that any beneficial therapeutic agent that meets the solubility criteria can be used as the drug, and
-Wrobleski teaches BMS-986165 as having an aqueous solubility at pH 7.4 of 5.2µg/mL, which is less than 40 mg/mL.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection to predictably arrive at a dosage form that provides controlled delivery and enhanced bioavailability of BMS-986165.
Regarding claim 10, Appel teaches its bilayer core is as coated with a semipermeable coating comprising 50-98% cellulose acetate and 2-50% polyethylene glycol (pg. 15, Example 4, and pg. 13, Example 2 for the drug).
Regarding claim 11, Appel exemplifies its tablet bilayer core is as coated with a semipermeable coating comprising 50-98% cellulose acetate and 2-50% polyethylene glycol, as discussed above, and teaches that the coating as in an amount ranging from 5-30% of the core weight ([0049]); in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
The above rejection is new. The arguments directed toward Herbig are not persuasive to overcome the above prior art rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in on 05/03/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622