DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 05/11/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-15, 21 and 24 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5-15, 21 and 24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1 line 13, the phrase "such that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, which does not given patentable weight. Examiner suggests that “such that” be changed to “configured to provide” for the purpose of clarity. Similar issue exists in claims 14-15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-15, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US 2021/0227622 A1) in view of Siomina (US 2015/0223085 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kung teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by a first device, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (first device is being configured with a SL DRX configuration from base station see Kung: Fig.10 step 1005; ¶[0391]; ¶[0424]);
receiving, by the first device from a second device, first control information for scheduling a physical shared channel through a physical control channel (Rx UE from Tx UE receiving SL transmission 1 through PSCCH and PSSCH at t1 see Kung: ¶[0391]; Fig.6-9; ¶[0395]),
receiving, by the first device from the second device, second control information including a source identifier (ID) and a destination ID through the physical shared channel (Rx UE receiving from Tx UE at second SL transmission 2 via configured sidelink grant resource, where the timing to monitor PSCCH and/or PSSCH based on configurations see Kung:¶[0401]);
starting the timer, by the first device, the timer related to the active time (A Rx UE applies SL DRX configuration and starts drx on duration timer at t1 see Kung:¶[0391]).
Kung does not explicitly teaches obtaining, by the first device, a first threshold used for determining a value of a time related to active time, wherein the first control information and the second control information are received on a resource among a plurality of resources based on the DRX configuration, and wherein the value of the timer related to the active time is determined by the first device such that: (i) based on a time interval of the plurality of resources being less than or equal to the first threshold, the plurality of resources are included within a time while the timer is running; and (ii) based on the time interval of the plurality of resources being greater than the first threshold, one of the plurality of resources is included within the time while the timer is running.
However, Siomina teaches the obtaining, by the first device, a first threshold used for determining a value of a time related to active time (adapted active time duration include a timer which extend the active time “To adaptively configure the low-activity state configuration and/or the UL radio signal configuration, the configuring node may, for example, adapt the active time duration (e.g., extend DRX ON or a timer which may extend the active time when SRS periodicity does not meet a threshold (box 74-2A). For example, the periodicity may be longer than a threshold, or the number of SRS per one active time, or ON time duration, is below a threshold)” see Siomina: Fig.6B; ¶[0192]), wherein the first control information and the second control information are received on a resource among a plurality of resources based on the DRX configuration (configuring node configure first and second set of UL radio signal based on low-activity state configuration at steps 74-2; 74-2B and 74-2E“The configuring node may also select and configure a first set of UL radio signals when the low-activity state configuration is used (box 74-2B). Otherwise, the configuring node may select a second set of UL radio signals (box 74-2C). The first set and the second set of UL radio signals may be of the same or of a different type of radio signals, but may have at least one different configuration parameter” see Siomina: ¶[0193]), and wherein the value of the timer related to the active time is determined by the first device (timer extend active time when SRS interval does not meet threshold “adapt the active time duration (e.g., extend DRX ON or a timer which may extend the active time when SRS periodicity does not meet a threshold (box 74-2A)” see Siomina: ¶[0192]) such that: (i) based on a time interval of the plurality of resources being less than or equal to the first threshold, the plurality of resources are included within a time while the timer is running; and (ii) based on the time interval of the plurality of resources being greater than the first threshold, one of the plurality of resources is included within the time while the timer is running in order to perform radio measurements based on transmission from a second radio node (see Siomina: ¶[0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Kung to include (or to use, etc.) the obtaining, by the first device, a first threshold used for determining a value of a time related to active time, wherein the first control information and the second control information are received on a resource among a plurality of resources based on the DRX configuration, and wherein the value of the timer related to the active time is determined by the first device such that: (i) based on a time interval of the plurality of resources being less than or equal to the first threshold, the plurality of resources are included within a time while the timer is running; and (ii) based on the time interval of the plurality of resources being greater than the first threshold, one of the plurality of resources is included within the time while the timer is running as taught by Siomina in order to perform radio measurements based on transmission from a second radio node (see Siomina: ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein the DRX configuration is a DRX configuration related to the source ID and the destination ID (DRX configuration on sidelink define timing duration for a UE to monitor PSCCH, where PSCCH related to source ID and destination ID see Kung: ¶[0384]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further comprising: receiving, from the second device, information representing a transition to an inactive state; and transitioning to the inactive state based on the information representing the transition to the inactive state (RX UE is not in active time and may not monitor PSCCH. The Rx UE could start on duration timer at t4 (a timing after t3). The Rx UE may fail to receive SL transmission 2 due to not being in active time at t3 see Kung: ¶[0391]; Fig.6).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein the plurality of resources are resources included in one period (multiple SL transmissions in each time period see Kung: Fig.9; ¶[0405]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 6 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein, based on that a period value of the plurality of resources is less than a value of a configured timer related to the active time , the value of the timer related to the active time is determined as the value of the configured timer (Different SCI format 1 and indicated value X for corresponding when value x is less than a 0 see Fig.5; second row thru fourth rows), and wherein, based on that the period value of the plurality of resources is greater than the value of the configured timer related to the active time, the value of the timer related to the active time is determined as the period value (The Tx UE performs a SL transmission 3 (e.g. new transmission) at t3 via dynamic scheduled grant (e.g. one-shot sidelink grant scheduled by a base station) to the Rx UE. The Rx UE starts the timer in response to SL transmission 3 since it is a new transmission not associated with a periodic transmission see Kung: Fig.9; ¶[0405]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further comprising: based on a subchannel index and a slot index of the resource related to the physical shared channel determining, by the first device a physical feedback channel resource related to the physical shared channel (lowest index of the subchannel allocation and configuration index see Kung: ¶[0346-0353]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 8 as described hereinabove. Kung further comprising wherein, based on that a time interval between the resource related to the physical shared channel and the physical feedback channel resource is less than a second threshold (Different SCI format 1 and indicated value X for corresponding when value x is less than a 0 see Fig.5; second row thru fourth rows), a value of a timer related to an active time of the second device is determined to be greater than or equal to the time interval between the resource related to the physical shared channel and the physical feedback resource (The Tx UE performs a SL transmission 3 (e.g. new transmission) at t3 via dynamic scheduled grant (e.g. one-shot sidelink grant scheduled by a base station) to the Rx UE. The Rx UE starts the timer in response to SL transmission 3 since it is a new transmission not associated with a periodic transmission and PSFCH reception see Kung: Fig.9; ¶[0405]; ¶[0251-0252]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 8 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein, based on that a time interval between the resource related to the physical shared channel and the physical feedback channel resource is greater than the a second threshold (Different SCI format 1 and indicated value X for corresponding when value x is greater than 1 see Fig.5; first row ), a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-round trip time (RTT) timer is started by the second device, and wherein a value of the HARQ-RTT timer is determined to be equal to the time interval between the resource related to the physical shared channel and the physical feedback channel resource (HARQ-RTT starting and expiry timer see Kung: ¶[0057-0072].
Regarding claim 11, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further comprising: stopping the timer related to the active time, based on successfully decoding data (1> if a DRX Command MAC CE or a Long DRX Command MAC CE is received: 2> stop drx-onDurationTimer; 2> stop drx-InactivityTimer see Kung: ¶[0068-0071]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein the timer related to the active time is an inactivity timer or a retransmission timer (drx-InactivityTimer: the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL transmission for the MAC entity see Kung: ¶[0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Kung taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kung further teaches wherein the plurality of resources are resources allocated by a dynamic grant, resources allocated by a configured grant, or resources selected by the second device (dynamic sidelink grant see Kung: Fig.9; ¶[0199]).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 14 recites a first device that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1 as described.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 15 recites a processing device that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1 as described.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 as described hereinabove.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record, but not relied upon includes:
Fujishiro (U.S. 2018/0020502 A1);
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
June 1, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478