DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: on Line 7, Claim 2 recites “a pore volume of 0.50m2/g”. Appropriate correction is required. The unit for pore volume should be cm3/g.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0053], it states “a pore volume of 0.50m2/g or more”, the unit for pore volume should be cm3/g.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2016/0214858 A1) in view of Furuta (JP-2016000679 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Cooper et al. reference discloses a hydrogen station, comprising:
a dehydrogenation reactor that produces hydrogen by dehydrogenation reaction of a hydrogenated aromatic in presence of a dehydrogenation catalyst (Abstract, Paragraph [0044] – liquid organic hydrogen carrier being catalytically dehydrogenated by a dehydrogenation reactor and Figure 1, numeral 101 – feed, 103 – dehydrogenation reactor);
a heat supply device that supplies heat to the dehydrogenation reactor by a heater (Figure 2, numeral 207 – heater); and
a PSA device that purifies a reaction product gas containing hydrogen produced by the dehydrogenation reactor (Figure 1, numeral 107), by using an adsorbent according to a pressure swing adsorption method (process limitation and does not add additional structure to the PSA device), and
the purge gas discharged from the PSA device being used as the fuel for the dehydrogenation heater (Figure 1, numerals 113 – purge gas and 103 – dehydrogenation reactor).
However, Cooper et al. does not disclose that the heat supply device that supplies heat to the dehydrogenation reactor via heat medium heated by using fuel, wherein the PSA device is supplied with a purge gas containing hydrogen used in regeneration of the adsorbent, and the heat supply device comprises a storage tank that stores the heat medium and a catalytic combustion tube that is disposed in the storage tank to catalytically combust the fuel in presence of a combustion catalyst. Furuta reference discloses a hydrogen production apparatus comprising a dehydrogenation reactor having a dehydrogenation catalyst, a boiler (same as claimed heat supply device) that supplies heat to the dehydrogenation reactor via heat medium heated by using fuel (Figure 1, numeral 10 – dehydrogenation reactor, 21 – boiler, L11 – heat medium), produced hydrogen is purified in a separator which in one embodiment may be a pressure swing adsorption system (Figure 7, numerals 30 – separator and 40 – pressure swing adsorption system [0052],[0053]) and during regeneration, part of hydrogen stream is input to adsorption columns of the PSA system and the adsorbed components are de-sorbed in the off- gas and the off-gas may be used as a fuel for the heat transfer medium boiler (Figure 1, numerals V31 – hydrogen stream, 41/43 – adsorption column, G31- off-gas and 21 – boiler and paragraph [0049]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boiler as taught by Furuta in place of the heater of Cooper, since Furuta states at Paragraph [0001] that such a modification would suppress a decrease in activity of a dehydrogenation catalyst and maintain a high conversion rate for a long period of time. However, neither Cooper et al. nor Furuta reference disclose the claimed catalytic combustion tube. The boiler (21) of Furuta is a tube-shell heat exchanger wherein the combustion reaction located in the shell side and the heat medium is located in the tube side. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the combustion tube for the fuel and the shell side for the heat medium, since applicant has not disclosed that having the fuel in the combustion tube solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with either one.
Regarding Claim 5, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein the heat medium is hot oil (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 6, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1 except for air is supplied to the catalytic combustion tube at multiple different parts in a divided manner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply air at different parts, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 8, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein in the dehydrogenation reaction, hydrogen and toluene are produced by dehydrogenation of cyclohexane as the hydrogenated aromatic, the hydrogen station further comprises:
a first tank storing the cyclohexane (Furuta – Figure 1, numeral 35 – first gas-liquid separator – cyclohexane is intended use); and
a second tank storing the toluene (Furuta – Figure 1, numeral 36 – second gas-liquid separator – toluene is intended use). However, neither Cooper et al. nor Furuta reference disclose that the first tank and the second tank are each disposed underground. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the first and second tanks underground since it was known in the art to store the fuel underground.
Regarding Claim 9, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 8, wherein at least one of a gas-phase gas in the first tank and a gas-phase gas in the second tank is supplied to the catalytic combustion tube as the fuel together with the purge gas discharged from the PSA device (Cooper et al. - Figure 1, numerals 113 – purge gas and 103 – dehydrogenation reactor).
Regarding Claim 10, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 9 except for at least one of the gas- phase gas in the first tank and the gas-phase gas in the second tank is introduced, together with air, to a fuel inlet part of the catalytic combustion tube to which the fuel is introduced. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use toluene and/or cyclohexane as fuel since it was known in the art to use toluene/cyclohexane as fuel.
Regarding Claim 11, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein the catalytic combustion tube is a coil filled with the combustion catalyst (Furuta – Figure 1, numeral 21 – tube coil).
Regarding Claim 12, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein the hydrogenated aromatic is one member or a mixture of two or more members selected from the group consisting of a hydride of monocyclic aromatic, a hydride of bicyclic aromatic, and a hydride of compound having 3 or more aromatic rings (Furuta – Paragraphs [0022]-[0024] – organic hydride - methylcyclohexane).
Regarding Claim 13, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein the hydrogenated aromatic is one member or a mixture of two or more members selected from the group consisting of methylcyclohexane, cyclohexane, trimethylcyclohexane, decalin, and dibenzotriol (Furuta – Paragraphs [0022]-[0024] – organic hydride - methylcyclohexane).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2016/0214858 A1) in view of Furuta (JP-2016000679 A) and Okada et al. (JP-4652695B2) and JP-4142733B2 as Admitted Prior Arts.
Regarding Claim 2, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, wherein the dehydrogenation catalyst comprises a platinum-loaded alumina catalyst (Furuta – Paragraph [0026], and the platinum-loaded alumina catalyst comprises: an alumina carrier; and platinum loaded on the alumina carrier, wherein the alumina carrier comprises a y-alumina carrier that has a surface area of 200 m2/g or more, a pore volume of 0.50 cm3/g or more, and an average pore diameter in a range of 60 to 150 A, with pores having a pore diameter in a range of+30 A from the average pore diameter occupying 60 % or more of a total pore volume, particles of the platinum are loaded on the y-alumina carrier in a range of 0.1 to 1.5 % by weight calculated as elemental platinum (Pt), and 70 % or more of the particles of the platinum have a size of 8 to 15 A by direct observation using a transmission electron microscope (Paragraphs [0047]-[0049] – admitted prior arts - JP4652695B2 and JP4142733B2).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2016/0214858 A1) in view of Furuta (JP-2016000679 A) and Zheng et al. (CN-110282600A).
Regarding Claim 3, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1 except for the combustion catalyst includes a catalyst having an identical structure as the dehydrogenation catalyst. Zheng et al. reference discloses that the hydrogen combustion catalyst and the dehydrogenation catalyst is both metal platinum catalyst with structure made of alumina as substrate (Descriptions, Page 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same catalyst structure for both combustion catalyst and dehydrogenation catalyst as taught by Zheng et al., since Zheng et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would improve energy conversion and utilization efficiency.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2016/0214858 A1) in view of Furuta (JP-2016000679 A), Zheng et al. (CN-110282600A) and Messenger (CN-1208292C).
Regarding Claim 4, Cooper et al.,Furuta, and Zheng et al. references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 3 including a catalyst having an identical structure as the dehydrogenation catalyst (Zheng et al. – Description, Page 1). However, Cooper et al. Furuta nor Zheng et al. disclose that the catalytic combustion tube having a first and second catalysts wherein the second catalyst having a structure different from the first catalyst and packed in a part of the catalytic combustion tube downstream of the fuel inlet part. Messenger reference discloses a catalyst zone comprising at least a first catalyst bed and a second catalyst bed, in which a first catalyst bed comprises one can support more fuel rich flammability limit combustion of the catalyst, and the catalyst comprises a Group VIII metal, and wherein the second catalyst bed is located downstream of the first catalyst bed has a composition different from the first catalyst bed and comprises: (i) a substantially cannot support more fuel rich flammability limit combustion catalyst, and the catalyst is a dehydrogenation catalyst, comprising at least one selected from Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Hg, Sc, Y, La, Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Ni, and Co, Ir metal and mixtures thereof, Fe and Ru, or (ii) a catalyst, the catalyst is VIII group metal promoted catalyst and wherein mol ratio of hydrocarbon to oxygen-containing gas for complete combustion to form hydrocarbon needed by the carbon dioxide and water with 5 to 16 times the stoichiometric ratio of oxygen-containing gas and wherein the first catalyst bed comprises VIII group metal or mixtures thereof from rhodium, platinum and palladium (Claims 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two different catalyst beds for the hydrogen catalytic combustion reaction tube as taught by Messenger, since Messenger states at Claim 1 that such a modification would complete combustion to form hydrocarbon needed by the carbon dioxide and water with 5 to 16 times the stoichiometric ratio of oxygen-containing gas.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2016/0214858 A1) in view of Furuta (JP-2016000679 A) and Segawa et al. (CN-103958955A)
Regarding Claim 7, Cooper et al. and Furuta references disclose the hydrogen station according to claim 1, further comprising:
plurality of coolers for cooling the produced hydrogen from the dehydrogenation reactor (Furuta – Figure 1, numerals 13, 31, 32, and 33);
first and second gas-liquid separators for removing toluene from the produced hydrogen (Furuta – Figure 1, numerals 35 and 36); and
a precooler that cools the hydrogen supplied from the dispenser by use of a coolant (Furuta – Figure 1, numeral 32 and Paragraph [0042]).
However, neither Cooper et al. nor Furuta reference discloses a dispenser that supplies the hydrogen purified by the PSA device to a moving body equipped with a fuel cell. Segawa et al. reference discloses a hydrogenation station comprising a dehydrogenation reactor, a dispenser for storing pure hydrogen in the refining device and supplied to a fuel cell station (Figure 1, numerals 3A – dehydrogenation, 9 – pure hydrogen refining device and Paragraph [0027]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dispenser for supply the pure hydrogen to a fuel cell system, since Segawa et al. states at Paragraph [0021] that such a modification would supply hydrogen to fuel cell hydrogen automobile, engine.
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774