Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 01/30/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1 and 3 are amended, Claim 2 is canceled/withdrawn, and Claims 1 and 3-8 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/13/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly introduced reference Ueki (US 20150226394 A1) is cited in the rejection below to cure the deficiencies of Toti that the amendments to claim 1 introduced.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2026 and 01/23/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreipe (DE 10 2018 213 061 A1), previously cited, and further in view of Bradski (US 20150178939 A1), previously cited, and Ueki (US 20150226394 A1), newly cited.
Regarding claim 1, Kreipe teaches in Fig. 5: a device for generating a virtual image (“VB”; Fig. 5), comprising:
a display element (100; Fig. 5) for generating an image;
an optical waveguide (“optical waveguide 5”; [0030], Fig. 5) for expanding an exit pupil (“an optical waveguide for widening an exit pupil”; [0010]); and
an anti-glare element (“light direction selector 97”; [0033], Fig. 5) arranged downstream of the optical waveguide (5) in the beam path having at least one one-piece spring (971, Fig. 5) …
wherein the anti-glare element (97) is a shutter which has a plurality of slats (“light direction selector 97 is shown here consisting of many inclined slats 971”; [0033], Fig. 5).
Kreipe fails to explicitly teach: wherein the one-piece spring has a first plane and a second plane, which are connected to one another by transition slants, wherein each transition slat is planar and a first end of each transition slat is attached to the first plane of the one-piece spring and a second end of the transition slat, opposite the first end, is attached to the second plane of the one-piece spring, so that the first plane and second plane are movable with respect to each other, wherein the anti-glare element is a shutter which has a plurality of slats, wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring.
However, in a related invention in the field of virtual and augmented reality systems, Bradski teaches to a configuration such that “One embodiment may comprise an array of directionally-selective occlusion elements, such as a MEMS device featuring a set of louvers that can change rotation such that they pass the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (somewhat akin to the manner in which plantation shutters may be utilized with a typical human scale window). The MEMS/louvers configuration may be placed upon an optically transparent substrate, with the louvers substantially opaque. Ideally such a configuration would have a louver pitch fine enough to selectably occlude light on a pixel-by-pixel basis. In another embodiment, two or more layers or stacks of louvers may be combined to provide yet further controls. In another embodiment, rather than selectively blocking light, the louvers may be polarizers configured to change the polarization state of light on a controllably variable basis” (Bradski, [0195]). Although Bradski does not provide additional detail or a corresponding figure to the idea of paragraph [0195], the reference establishes the connection that MEMs sized louver systems act similarly to plantation shutters (thus also venetian blinds) and can be used in augmented or virtual reality displays. Thus, Bradski provides support that the structure of macro-sized blinds may be used in micro sized devices.
Furthermore, in a related invention in the field of hinge mechanisms for a window cover, Ueki teaches in Figs. 18A and 18B: wherein the one-piece spring (“lighting louver 300”; [0274]; Fig. 18A) has a first plane and a second plane (“two vertical cords 34 and 35”; [0278]), which are connected to one another by transition slants (“lighting film 8”; [0278]),
wherein each transition slat (8) is planar (see Fig. 18A) and a first end of each transition slat is attached to the first plane of the one-piece spring and a second end of the transition slat, opposite the first end, is attached to the second plane of the one-piece spring (“two vertical cords 34 and 35 which hang both sides of the lighting film 8 in the width direction down”; [0278]), so that the first plane and second plane are movable with respect to each other (see the transition from Fig. 18A to Fig. 18B in which the planes associated with 34 and 35 are movable with respect to each other),
wherein the anti-glare element is a shutter which has a plurality of slats (“light which is incident to the lighting film 8 is reflected substantially in a direction of regular reflection and is emitted from the lighting film 8”; [0290], see Fig. 18A), wherein the slats (8) come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring (see Fig. 18B in which the slats come to rest in a closed position in reference to 34 and 35).
Furthermore, Ueki teaches this configuration such that “the horizontal cord 37 is tilted by pulling one of the two vertical cords 34 and 35 up and pulling another down. The lighting film 8 is supported on each of the plurality of horizontal cords 37 and thus the plurality of lighting films 8 are tiltably supported at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction” (Ueki, [0279]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe and Bradski to incorporate the teachings of Ueki to provide a device in which the one-piece spring has a first plane and a second plane, which are connected to one another by transition slants, wherein each transition slat is planar and a first end of each transition slat is attached to the first plane of the one-piece spring and a second end of the transition slat, opposite the first end, is attached to the second plane of the one-piece spring, so that the first plane and second plane are movable with respect to each other, wherein the anti-glare element is a shutter which has a plurality of slats, wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring, for the purpose of tiltably supporting the slats at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction (Ueki, [0279]).
Regarding claim 6, Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki teach the device as claimed in claim 1. Kreipe fails to teach: a plurality of springs are nested in one another or arranged next to one another.
However, Bradski teaches: a plurality of springs are nested in one another or arranged next to one another (“One embodiment may comprise an array of directionally-selective occlusion elements, such as a MEMS device featuring a set of louvers that can change rotation such that they pass the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (somewhat akin to the manner in which plantation shutters may be utilized with a typical human scale window). The MEMS/louvers configuration may be placed upon an optically transparent substrate, with the louvers substantially opaque. Ideally such a configuration would have a louver pitch fine enough to selectably occlude light on a pixel-by-pixel basis. In another embodiment, two or more layers or stacks of louvers may be combined to provide yet further controls. In another embodiment, rather than selectively blocking light, the louvers may be polarizers configured to change the polarization state of light on a controllably variable basis”; [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe to incorporate the teachings of Bradski to provide a device in which a plurality of springs are nested in one another or arranged next to one another, for the purpose of changing the polarization state of light on a controllably variable basis (Bradski, [0195]).
Regarding claim 7, Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki teach the device as claimed in claim 1. Kreipe fails to teach explicitly teach the device wherein the slats have a variably settable setting angle.
However, Bradski teaches: the slats have a variably settable setting angle (““One embodiment may comprise an array of directionally-selective occlusion elements, such as a MEMS device featuring a set of louvers that can change rotation such that they pass the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (somewhat akin to the manner in which plantation shutters may be utilized with a typical human scale window)”; [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe to incorporate the teachings of Bradski to provide a device in which the slats have a variably settable setting angle, for the purpose passing the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (Bradski, [0195]).
Regarding claim 8, Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki teach the device as claimed in claim 1. Kreipe fails to exility teach: wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring.
However, in a related invention in the field of virtual and augmented reality systems, Bradski teaches to a configuration such that “One embodiment may comprise an array of directionally-selective occlusion elements, such as a MEMS device featuring a set of louvers that can change rotation such that they pass the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (somewhat akin to the manner in which plantation shutters may be utilized with a typical human scale window). The MEMS/louvers configuration may be placed upon an optically transparent substrate, with the louvers substantially opaque. Ideally such a configuration would have a louver pitch fine enough to selectably occlude light on a pixel-by-pixel basis. In another embodiment, two or more layers or stacks of louvers may be combined to provide yet further controls. In another embodiment, rather than selectively blocking light, the louvers may be polarizers configured to change the polarization state of light on a controllably variable basis” (Bradski, [0195]). Although Bradski does not provide additional detail or a corresponding figure to the idea of paragraph [0195], the reference establishes the connection that MEMs sized louver systems act similarly to plantation shutters (thus also venetian blinds) and can be used in augmented or virtual reality displays. Thus, Bradski provides support that the structure of macro-sized blinds may be used in micro-sized devices.
Furthermore, in a related invention in the field of hinge mechanisms for a window cover, Ueki teaches in Figs. 18A and 18B: wherein the slats (8) come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring (see Fig. 18B in which the slats come to rest in a closed position in reference to 34 and 35).
Furthermore, Ueki teaches this configuration such that “the horizontal cord 37 is tilted by pulling one of the two vertical cords 34 and 35 up and pulling another down. The lighting film 8 is supported on each of the plurality of horizontal cords 37 and thus the plurality of lighting films 8 are tiltably supported at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction” (Ueki, [0279]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe and Bradski to incorporate the teachings of Ueki to provide a device in which wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring, for the purpose of tiltably supporting the slats at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction (Ueki, [0279]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreipe (DE 10 2018 213 061 A1), as cited in the IDS, and of Bradski (US 20150178939 A1), previously presented, and Ueki (US 20150226394 A1), newly cited, as in claim 1, and furth in view of Toti (US 6223804 B1), previously presented.
Regarding claim 3, Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki teach the device as claimed in claim 1. Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki fail to explicitly teach: having at least two parallel rows of transition slants which are arranged offset from one another.
However, in a related invention in the field of hinge mechanisms for a window cover, Toti teaches in Figs. 12-13: having at least two parallel rows of transition slants (41) which are arranged offset from one another (if planes of adjacent components 41 (see annotated Figure 1 below) are taken to be the transition slants then the plurality of transition slants as depicted in Fig. 13 would result in a plurality of parallel transition slants offset from one another).
Furthermore, Toti teaches this slatted element such that “the slats 15 are joined by alternating hinges 8 and 48 formed along the vertical length of the slats 15” (Toti, col 8 lines 50-52). Furthermore, hinges 48 are made integral with planes 40 in order to connect the slats 15 as depicted in Fig. 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki to incorporate the teachings of Toti to provide a device comprising at least two parallel rows of transition slants which are arranged offset from one another, for the purpose of joining the slants to the planes (Toti, col 8 lines 50-52).
Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 13 of Toti
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreipe (DE 10 2018 213 061 A1), Bradski (US 20150178939 A1), and Ueki (US 20150226394 A1), as in claim 1, and further in view of Meyer Timmerman Thijssen (US 20200144109 A1), hereinafter Meyer, previously presented.
Regarding claim 5, Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki teach the device as claimed in claim 1. Kreipe, Bradski, and Toti fail to teach: the transition slants of the one-piece spring have different lengths.
However, in an invention in the related field of gratings, Meyer teaches: the transition slants of the one-piece spring have different lengths (“slanted gratings are etched in target materials using an ion beam that can accommodate a range of angles to form gratings of different slant angles and with differing depth gradients”; [0024], “multiple gratings can be formed on a single substrate at different slant angles and at different depth gradients”; [0048], {see Fig. 5H-5J where it is clear that the plurality of fins 526 have different lengths}).
Furthermore, Meyer teaches the grating such that “a waveguide combiner may include gratings with different slant angles to adequately control the in-coupling and out-coupling of light, and the slant angles may be at angles different than the grating vector” (Meyer, [0005]). Additionally, “[t]he modulation of grating depth increases optical uniformity in optical devices such as waveguide combiners” (Meyer, [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe, Bradski, and Ueki to incorporate the teachings of Meyer to provide a device in which the slats are different lengths, for the purpose of adequately controlling the optical uniformity (Meyer, [0005] and [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art, Kreipe, teaches in Fig. 5: a device for generating a virtual image (“VB”; Fig. 5), comprising:
a display element (100; Fig. 5) for generating an image;
an optical waveguide (“optical waveguide 5”; [0030], Fig. 5) for expanding an exit pupil (“an optical waveguide for widening an exit pupil”; [0010]); and
an anti-glare element (“light direction selector 97”; [0033], Fig. 5) arranged downstream of the optical waveguide (5) in the beam path,
wherein the anti-glare element (97) is a shutter which has a plurality of slats (“light direction selector 97 is shown here consisting of many inclined slats 971”; [0033], Fig. 5).
Kreipe fails to explicitly teach: wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring, wherein the transition slant in its transition region to at least one of the first plane and the second plane has a perforation, groove or peripheral cutout.
However, in a related invention in the field of virtual and augmented reality systems, Bradski teaches to a configuration such that “One embodiment may comprise an array of directionally-selective occlusion elements, such as a MEMS device featuring a set of louvers that can change rotation such that they pass the majority of light that is coming from a particular angle, but are presenting more of a broad face to light that is coming from a different angle (somewhat akin to the manner in which plantation shutters may be utilized with a typical human scale window). The MEMS/louvers configuration may be placed upon an optically transparent substrate, with the louvers substantially opaque. Ideally such a configuration would have a louver pitch fine enough to selectably occlude light on a pixel-by-pixel basis. In another embodiment, two or more layers or stacks of louvers may be combined to provide yet further controls. In another embodiment, rather than selectively blocking light, the louvers may be polarizers configured to change the polarization state of light on a controllably variable basis” (Bradski, [0195]). Although Bradski does not provide additional detail or a corresponding figure to the idea of paragraph [0195], the reference establishes the connection that MEMs sized louver systems act similarly to plantation shutters (thus also venetian blinds) and can be used in augmented or virtual reality displays. Thus, Bradski provides support that the structure of macro-sized blinds may be used in micro sized devices.
Furthermore, in a related invention in the field of hinge mechanisms for a window cover, Ueki teaches in Figs. 18A and 18B: wherein the slats (8) come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring (see Fig. 18B in which the slats come to rest in a closed position in reference to 34 and 35).
Furthermore, Ueki teaches this configuration such that “the horizontal cord 37 is tilted by pulling one of the two vertical cords 34 and 35 up and pulling another down. The lighting film 8 is supported on each of the plurality of horizontal cords 37 and thus the plurality of lighting films 8 are tiltably supported at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction” (Ueki, [0279]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kreipe and Bradski to incorporate the teachings of Ueki to provide a device in which wherein the slats come to rest in each case on a transition slant of the at least one one-piece spring, for the purpose of tiltably supporting the slats at a predetermined interval in the vertical direction (Ueki, [0279]).
However, the prior art of record fails to explicitly teach: the transition slant in its transition region to at least one of the first plane and the second plane has a perforation, groove or peripheral cutout.
Based on the configuration of Kreipe it would be improper to modify Bradski and Ueki to provide a device in which “the transition slant in its transition region to at least one of the first plane and the second plane has a perforation, groove or peripheral cutout.” Therefore, the combination of features is considered to be allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBY L KAUFFMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/PINPING SUN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872