DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Gao and Ramasubramonian (Ram) does not explicitly teach converting first cartesian coordinates for reconstructed geometry data from the encoded geometry data to second angular coordinates and obtaining third coordinates based on the second angular coordinates and scale factors.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gao teaches in some embodiments, point cloud with Lidar raw data information can be compressed using 3D polar coordinate system. In some examples, the final point cloud (e.g., constructed based on Lidar raw data, calibration and motion compensation) and the original Lidar raw data information are available. The final point cloud can be directly compressed in 3D polar coordinate system. In an example that the final point cloud is represented in Cartesian coordinate, the final point cloud can be converted into 3D polar coordinate system. For example, a point in a point cloud can be represented as polar coordinate (d, rp, θ) and attribute (i) where d denotes the distance and i denotes the intensity. [0184].
To compress the point cloud in 3D polar coordinate system, four major steps can be performed. In a first step, the Cartesian coordinate {x.sub.k, y.sub.k, z.sub.k} can be converted to polar coordinate (θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k, d.sub.k) for k=1, . . . , K. In a second step, the polar coordinate (θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k, d.sub.k) is quantized to integer with predefined precision by multiplying by a predefined scalar and taking rounding operations, for k=1, . . . , K. In a third step, {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} can be compressed using quadtree. In some examples, this step can be performed similarly to the concept of octree for point cloud compression. Specifically, in an example, the point P.sub.min={(θ.sub.min, φ.sub.min)} where θ.sub.min<=θ.sub.k, φ.sub.min<=φ.sub.k for k=1, . . . , N can be found. Then, {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} can be shifted by moving the point P.sub.min to the origin to obtain {(θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.k)} where θ′.sub.k=θ.sub.k−θ.sub.min, φ′.sub.k=φ.sub.k−φ.sub.min for k=1, . . . , K. Further, the bounding box in {(θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.k)} can be found. For example, θ′.sub.max and φ′.sub.max can be determined where θ′.sub.max>=θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.max<=φ′.sub.k for k=1, . . . , N. The bound box includes the four points {(0,0), (0, φ′.sub.max), (θ′.sub.max, 0), (θ′.sub.max, φ′.sub.max)}. In some examples, for simplicity, a square bound box is chosen {(0,0), (0, b.sub.max), (b.sub.max, 0), (b.sub.max, b.sub.max)} where b.sub.max>=θ′.sub.max, b.sub.max>=θ′.sub.max is often chosen as 2 to integer power. Further, the bound box is partitioned into 4 quadrants. If there is at least one point in a quadrant, the corresponding occupancy flag is 1, otherwise the occupancy flag is 0, thus 4-bit occupancy code can be obtained after one partition. The occupied quadrants can be further partitioned until unit square where each side is 1 is reached. The 4-bit occupancy code can be encoded using binary or non-binary arithmetic code with context adaptation. It is noted that in a unit square, multiple points with same coordinate may exist. I some embodiments, the information of all the points in the unit square can be merged for one point. In an example, the distance values and attribute values are respectively averaged to form the distance and attribute of the merged point. In some examples, when a quadrant contains a small number of points, e.g., 2, the partition can be stopped and the coordinate information of these points can be coded. For simplicity, this mode is referred to as direct mode. In an embodiment, a flag at frame level or sequence level is used to indicate whether direct mode is allowed. At a leaf node of the quad-tree partition, a flag is used in indicate whether direct mode is on. In some examples, the flag can be omitted by introducing a condition when the direct mode may be chosen and only under that condition. The condition is often chosen based on neighbor node occupancy situation. In a fourth step, the distance {d.sub.k} and attribute information {i.sub.k} can be compressed. In some examples, prediction from neighboring points in {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} plane can be chosen and only the differences of the distance value and attribute value to their corresponding predictor are encoded. In some examples, a 2D region adaptive hierarchical transform (RAHT) can be used to encode the distance information and the attribute information. [0191] – [0198].
In a first step, the Cartesian coordinate {x.sub.k, y.sub.k, z.sub.k} can be converted to polar coordinate (θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k, d.sub.k) for k=1, . . . , K. This step is considered as “converting first cartesian coordinates for reconstructed geometry data from the encoded geometry data to second angular coordinates.”
In a third step, {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} can be compressed using quadtree. In some examples, this step can be performed similarly to the concept of octree for point cloud compression. Specifically, in an example, the point P.sub.min={(θ.sub.min, φ.sub.min)} where θ.sub.min<=θ.sub.k, φ.sub.min<=φ.sub.k for k=1, . . . , N can be found. Then, {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} can be shifted by moving the point P.sub.min to the origin to obtain {(θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.k)} where θ′.sub.k=θ.sub.k−θ.sub.min, φ′.sub.k=φ.sub.k−φ.sub.min for k=1, . . . , K. Further, the bounding box in {(θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.k)} can be found. For example, θ′.sub.max and φ′.sub.max can be determined where θ′.sub.max>=θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.max<=φ′.sub.k for k=1, . . . , N. The bound box includes the four points {(0,0), (0, φ′.sub.max), (θ′.sub.max, 0), (θ′.sub.max, φ′.sub.max)}. In some examples, for simplicity, a square bound box is chosen {(0,0), (0, b.sub.max), (b.sub.max, 0), (b.sub.max, b.sub.max)} where b.sub.max>=θ′.sub.max, b.sub.max>=θ′.sub.max is often chosen as 2 to integer power. This step is considered as “obtaining third coordinates based on the second angular coordinates and scale factors” because {(θ.sub.k, φ.sub.k)} are shifted to obtain {(θ′.sub.k, φ′.sub.k)} where θ′.sub.k=θ.sub.k−θ.sub.min, φ′.sub.k=φ.sub.k−φ.sub.min for k=1, . . . , K, and the scale factors are considered to be 1. The claim requires only that a third coordinates are obtained based on the second angular coordinates and scale factors. The claim does not recite what type of coordinates (cartesian, angular, etc.) the third coordinates must be, the value of the scale factors, and how the scale factors are applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 12, 14, 16, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2020/0394822 A1) in view of Ramasubramonian et al. (US 2021/0409778 A1) (hereinafter “Ram”).
Consider claim 1, Gao teaches a method of encoding point cloud data ([0045]), the method comprising: acquiring point cloud data based on a set of beams ([0048], [0118] – [0122]); encoding a geometry data of the point cloud data ([0041], [0052] – [0057], [0200] – [0204]); converting first cartesian coordinate for reconstructed geometry data from the encoded geometry data to second angular coordinate ([0184], [0191] – [0198]); generating third coordinates based on the second angular coordinates and scale factors ([0184], [0191] – [0198]); encoding an attribute data of the point cloud data in a bounding box for the third coordinates ([0057] – [0062]; [0184], [0191] – [0198]), wherein the encoded geometry data and the encoded attribute data are included in a bitstream including information for the scale factors ([0052] – [0064], [0184], [0191] – [0198]).
However, Gao does not explicitly teach information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams, and information for representing a number of steps per rotation of the each of the set of beams.
Ram teaches information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams (when the location of a point is coded using the azimuthal coding mode, the G-PCC encoder may determine a context based on an azimuthal sampling location of a laser beam within a node. The G-PCC encoder may apply CABAC using the determined context to encode a syntax element indicating an azimuthal offset of the point. Use of the angular and azimuthal modes may deliver higher coding efficiency in some circumstances because information about how the laser beam intersects a node may improve the selection of contexts for encoding syntax elements indicating vertical and azimuthal offsets. Improved selection of contexts may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. Some examples of the developing G-PCC standard provide for syntax elements related to angular and azimuthal modes. These syntax elements include syntax elements indicating laser angles for individual laser beams (or laser angle deltas between adjacent laser angles) and syntax elements indicating numbers of probes in an azimuth direction, e.g., during a full rotation of a laser beam or in another range of angles of the laser beam (e.g., less than or more than a full rotation). This disclosure describes techniques that may improve coding efficiency of such syntax elements. In particular, this disclosure describes techniques for encoding and decoding syntax elements that indicate laser angles in a sorted order. In this way, decoder side sorting may be avoided and certain coding tools that use laser angles may be performed more quickly. [0024] – [0026]. See also [0079] – [0089] and Table 1), and information for representing a number of steps per rotation of the each of the set of beams (when the location of a point is coded using the azimuthal coding mode, the G-PCC encoder may determine a context based on an azimuthal sampling location of a laser beam within a node. The G-PCC encoder may apply CABAC using the determined context to encode a syntax element indicating an azimuthal offset of the point. Use of the angular and azimuthal modes may deliver higher coding efficiency in some circumstances because information about how the laser beam intersects a node may improve the selection of contexts for encoding syntax elements indicating vertical and azimuthal offsets. Improved selection of contexts may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. Some examples of the developing G-PCC standard provide for syntax elements related to angular and azimuthal modes. These syntax elements include syntax elements indicating laser angles for individual laser beams (or laser angle deltas between adjacent laser angles) and syntax elements indicating numbers of probes in an azimuth direction, e.g., during a full rotation of a laser beam or in another range of angles of the laser beam (e.g., less than or more than a full rotation). This disclosure describes techniques that may improve coding efficiency of such syntax elements. In particular, this disclosure describes techniques for encoding and decoding syntax elements that indicate laser angles in a sorted order. In this way, decoder side sorting may be avoided and certain coding tools that use laser angles may be performed more quickly. [0024] – [0026].
laser_numphi_perturn[i] for i in the range 0 . . . number_lasers_minus1, specify the number of probe in the azimuth direction for one full rotation of the i-th laser. When not present, laser_numphi_perturn[i] is inferred to be 0. [0079] – [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams because such incorporation would improve the selection of contexts that may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. [0025].
Consider claim 2, Gao teaches generating third coordinates includes: projecting a point of the point cloud data based on the angular coordinates ([0052] – [0057], [0184], [0191] – [0205]).
Consider claim 3, Gao teaches wherein the projecting the point of the point cloud data includes: adjusting an azimuthal angle of the point ([0191] – [0205]), wherein the adjustment comprises: adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point based on azimuthal angles of the each of the set of beams ([0191] – [0205]).
Consider claim 7, claim 7 recites the device for encoding point cloud data, the device comprising: a memory ([0108] and [0224]); at least one processor connected to the memory ([0108] and [0224]), the at least one processor configured to: performs the method recited in claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Consider claim 8, claim 8 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 2. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 9, claim 9 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 3. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 12, Gao teaches a method comprising: decoding a geometry of point cloud data in a bitstream (Fig. 4; [0065] – [0074], [0205] – [0209]), wherein the geometry data is coded based on a set of beams ([0048], [0118] – [0122]); converting first cartesian coordinate for reconstructed geometry data from the encoded geometry data to second angular coordinate ([0184], [0191] – [0198]); obtaining third coordinates based on the second angular coordinates and scale factors ([0184], [0191] – [0198]); and decoding attribute data of the point cloud data in a bounding box for the third coordinates (Fig. 4; [0065] – [0074], [0184], [0191] – [0198]) the bitstream includes information for the scale factors (Fig. 4; [0065] – [0074], [0184], [0191] – [0198]).
However, Gao does not explicitly teach information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams, and information for representing a number of steps per rotation of the each of the set of beams.
Ram teaches information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams (when the location of a point is coded using the azimuthal coding mode, the G-PCC encoder may determine a context based on an azimuthal sampling location of a laser beam within a node. The G-PCC encoder may apply CABAC using the determined context to encode a syntax element indicating an azimuthal offset of the point. Use of the angular and azimuthal modes may deliver higher coding efficiency in some circumstances because information about how the laser beam intersects a node may improve the selection of contexts for encoding syntax elements indicating vertical and azimuthal offsets. Improved selection of contexts may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. Some examples of the developing G-PCC standard provide for syntax elements related to angular and azimuthal modes. These syntax elements include syntax elements indicating laser angles for individual laser beams (or laser angle deltas between adjacent laser angles) and syntax elements indicating numbers of probes in an azimuth direction, e.g., during a full rotation of a laser beam or in another range of angles of the laser beam (e.g., less than or more than a full rotation). This disclosure describes techniques that may improve coding efficiency of such syntax elements. In particular, this disclosure describes techniques for encoding and decoding syntax elements that indicate laser angles in a sorted order. In this way, decoder side sorting may be avoided and certain coding tools that use laser angles may be performed more quickly. [0024] – [0026]. See also [0079] – [0089] and Table 1), and information for representing a number of steps per rotation of the each of the set of beams (when the location of a point is coded using the azimuthal coding mode, the G-PCC encoder may determine a context based on an azimuthal sampling location of a laser beam within a node. The G-PCC encoder may apply CABAC using the determined context to encode a syntax element indicating an azimuthal offset of the point. Use of the angular and azimuthal modes may deliver higher coding efficiency in some circumstances because information about how the laser beam intersects a node may improve the selection of contexts for encoding syntax elements indicating vertical and azimuthal offsets. Improved selection of contexts may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. Some examples of the developing G-PCC standard provide for syntax elements related to angular and azimuthal modes. These syntax elements include syntax elements indicating laser angles for individual laser beams (or laser angle deltas between adjacent laser angles) and syntax elements indicating numbers of probes in an azimuth direction, e.g., during a full rotation of a laser beam or in another range of angles of the laser beam (e.g., less than or more than a full rotation). This disclosure describes techniques that may improve coding efficiency of such syntax elements. In particular, this disclosure describes techniques for encoding and decoding syntax elements that indicate laser angles in a sorted order. In this way, decoder side sorting may be avoided and certain coding tools that use laser angles may be performed more quickly. [0024] – [0026].
laser_numphi_perturn[i] for i in the range 0 . . . number_lasers_minus1, specify the number of probe in the azimuth direction for one full rotation of the i-th laser. When not present, laser_numphi_perturn[i] is inferred to be 0. [0079] – [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including information for representing a horizontal offset for each of the set of beams because such incorporation would improve the selection of contexts that may result in greater compression in the CABAC encoding process. [0025].
Consider claim 14, Gao teaches obtaining third coordinates includes: projecting a point of the point cloud data based on the second angular coordinates ([0052] – [0057], [0184], [0191] – [0198]).
Consider claim 16, Gao teaches the projection comprises: adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point based on azimuthal angle of a beam of the set of beams ([0191] – [0198]).
Consider claim 19, claim 19 recites the device for decoding point cloud data, the device comprising: a memory ([0108] and [0224]); at least one processor connected to the memory ([0108] and [0224]), the at least one processor configured to performs the method recited in claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12).
Consider claim 20, Gao teaches the device, wherein to obtain the third coordinates, the at least one processor is further configured to: projecting a point of the point cloud data based on the angular coordinates ([0052] – [0057], [0184], [0191] – [0205]).
Consider claim 21, claim 21 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 16. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 5-6, 10-11, 17-18, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2020/0394822 A1) in view of Ramasubramonian et al. (US 2021/0409778 A1) (hereinafter “Ram”) and Taquet et al. (US 2022/0398784 A1).
Consider claim 5, Gao teaches all the limitations in claim 3 but does not explicitly teach the adjustment comprises: adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of the laser having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point.
Taquet teaches the adjustment comprises: adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of a beam of the set of beams having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point ([0040] – [0041], [0160], [0173] – [0183], [0213] – [0217], [0236] – [0239], [0265] – [0276]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of the laser having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point because such incorporation would improve the compression of information representative of the occupancy of a current node. [0174].
Consider claim 6, Taquet teaches the adjustment comprises: based on the azimuthal angle of the point being greater than an average of k−1-th and k-th azimuthal angles of a beam of the set of beams and less than an average of k-th and k+1-th azimuthal angles of the beam, adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to the k-th azimuthal angle of the beam ([0040] – [0041], [0173] – [0183], [0185] – [0205], [0213] – [0217], [0236] – [0239], [0248] – [0261], [0265] – [0276]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of the laser having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point because such incorporation would improve the compression of information representative of the occupancy of a current node. [0174].
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 11, claim 11 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 17, Taquet teaches the projecting the point of the point cloud data comprises: adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of a beam of the set of beams having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point ([0040] – [0041], [0160], [0173] – [0183], [0213] – [0217], [0236] – [0239], [0265] – [0276]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of the laser having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point because such incorporation would improve the compression of information representative of the occupancy of a current node. [0174].
Consider claim 18, Taquet teaches the projection comprises: based on the azimuthal angle of the point being greater than an average of k−1-th and k-th azimuthal angles of a beam of the set of beams and less than an average of k-th and k+1-th azimuthal angles of the beam, adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to the k-th azimuthal angle of the beam ([0040] – [0041], [0173] – [0183], [0185] – [0205], [0213] – [0217], [0236] – [0239], [0248] – [0261], [0265] – [0276]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of adjusting the azimuthal angle of the point to an azimuthal angle of the laser having a value closest to the azimuthal angle of the point because such incorporation would improve the compression of information representative of the occupancy of a current node. [0174].
Consider claim 22, claim 22 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 17. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 23, claim 23 recites the device that performs the method recited in claim 18. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486