DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2016/0243773, “Wang”) in view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0290078, “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a liquid crystal variable transmission glazing ([0012], [0034] varying voltage adjust transmission of light) having first and second glass substrates (e.g., Fig. 2, layers 230, [0040]), having a liquid crystal cell therebetween (Fig. 2, liquid crystal layer 100, [0040]) and having interlayers between the glass layers and the liquid crystal layer ([0040], [0041]). The interlayers may be made of a polymeric resin or clear adhesive compositions ([0039] – [0044]). While Wang teaches a liquid crystal layer that may comprise microdroplets that exist in a single layer, and thus may be considered to be contained in a single volume of liquid crystal, nonetheless alternative switchable liquid crystal layers are well known in the prior art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of switchable liquid crystal windows ([0003] – [0006], [0008], [0009]), Yang teaches a liquid crystal layer that is polymer stabilized but wherein the liquid crystals exist in a single volume (i.e., not as dispersed droplets, [0008], [0009], Fig. 3). Such structures are shown to have improved control over the transmission of light ([0008]) and therefor the substitution of the liquid crystal layer or element of Yang for that of Wang would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another that would provide predictable results (in this case substituting one known liquid crystal cell for another, both of which effectively act as light shutters when a voltage is applied or removed from the layer) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, Wang additionally teaches that the first interlayer may be made of PVB ([0040]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination remains as applied to claim 1, above, and Wang additionally teaches that the glazing may include additional functional interlayer films (e.g., [0007], e.g., electrode layers, necessary to modify voltage applied to liquid crystalline layer, the inclusion of which would be both necessary and obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan in order to functionalize the liquid crystalline component of the laminate).
Regarding claim 5, the combination remains as applied to claim 1, above, and Wang additionally teaches that the glazing may comprise a frame which may be made of a polymeric material ([0045]). Further, Wang teaches that such laminates may be used in various applications that would require a frame, such as windows that are conventionally made of a polymeric material ([0066]) and thus the inclusion of a frame in order to fit the laminate in an application such a window for use in a building would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 6, Wang additionally teaches that the adhesive may be a polyurethane adhesive (e.g., [0040], [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang additionally teaches that the glazing may include peripheral seals, which may be considered to be encapsulation substrates (that is, they help to encapsulate the liquid crystal layer, see e.g., [0042], may be an adhesive and thus polymeric).
Regarding claim 13, Wang additionally teaches the interlayer may be made of PVB ([0040]).
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yang as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 102935746, “Liu,” a machine copy of which has been provided and is used as the citation copy).
Regarding claim 3, the combination remains as applied above however Wang fails to specifically teach the inclusion of an ultraviolet filter. However, in the same field of endeavor of laminated liquid crystal glazings ([0001] – [0010]), Liu teaches that a PVB layer may include an anti-ultraviolet agent in order to, for example, protect an underlying vehicle from ultraviolet radiation when the glazing is used in a vehicular application and thus the inclusion of such a layer in the laminate of Wang would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing ([0014], [0037]).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Wang fails to specifically teach the inclusion of an infrared protection layer. However, in the same field of endeavor of laminated liquid crystal glazings ([0001] – [0010]), Liu teaches to include an infrared protection layer in order to, for example, provide the glazing with a heat insulation effect and thus the inclusion of such a layer in the laminate of Wang would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing ([0088], [0069]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yang as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Hakemi et al. (US 2018/0311937, “Hakemi”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang fails to specifically teach that the glazing should include multiple liquid crystal cells however in the same field of endeavor of liquid crystal cells for use in glazing applications (e.g., [0094], [0120]), Hakemi teaches that it is known to include multiple layers of liquid crystalline components ([0012] – [0015], and may be liquid or cured to form a solid film, [0012], [0096]) and wherein the liquid crystalline may include a dichroic dye ([0018]). Hakemi teaches that at least one of its cells may be a PDLC cell (e.g., [0012]). Hakemi teaches that its layers provide an improvement in cost and thinness while providing multiple liquid crystal layers to a glazing ([0004], [0048]). It therefore would have been obvious to have included a multilayer liquid crystal layer as described by Hakemi to the glazing of Wang for its improved light transmission, thinness, and cost for multilayer liquid crystal laminates which may provide the ability to produce display characteristics via the glazing ([0004], [0044], [0048], [0100] – [0110]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/9/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Therefore, claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 13-15 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782