DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 4/27/26, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1-13 are pending with claim 1 amended. The following is a complete response to the 4/27/26 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding (US 2017/0181789).
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches a surgical instrument, comprising:
a housing having a shaft extending along a longitudinal axis (housing 12 with shaft 90) and supporting to a pair of jaws that define a knife pathway (jaws 110, 120 with knife pathway 125);
a lever pivotally mounted to and extending into the housing (lever 63 as in Fig. 3);
a knife actuator coupled to the lever at a first end and extending longitudinally within housing to a second end (knife actuator 66 connecting to 63 and extending to a longitudinally moving element within housing to second end at the end effector);
a bearing sleeve coupled to the second end of the knife actuator (156); anda knife positioned in the knife pathway and coupled to the bearing sleeve for movement therewith in response to movement of the lever and knife actuator (knife 152 coupled to 156 and moves in response to movement of the lever and knife actuator).
Regarding claim 10, Ding teaches a method of making a surgical device having a knife blade that
can retract and extend within jaws that are free to continuously rotate, comprising:providing a lever pivotally mounted to a housing and extending partially therein (lever 63 from housing 12 and extending partially within the housing as in Fig. 3);
coupling the lever to a first end of a knife actuator that extends longitudinally within the housing (63 connected to knife actuator 66 that extends longitudinally within the housing);
coupling a second end of the knife actuator to a bearing sleeve that extends around a rotatable shaft of the surgical device (second end of actuator to bearing sleeve 156); and
fixing the knife blade to the bearing sleeve so that movement of the lever from a first position to a
second position advances the knife actuator distally within the housing and drives the bearing sleeve along the shaft to move the knife blade from a retracted position to an extended position within the jaws (knife blade 152 coupled to 156 so that movement of 63 actuates the knife via 63 pushing against 156).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Walberg (US 2020/0008831).
Regarding claim 2, Ding is silent wherein the lever includes a bearing cup mechanically coupling the lever to the knife actuator.
However, Walberg teaches a bearing cup mechanically coupling a lever to an actuator of a forceps (Figs. 2-3 with bearing bracket cupping axis 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding with the cup of Walberg to maintain the articulation direction of the device.
Regarding claim 3, Ding teaches wherein the second end of the knife actuator comprises a fork extending about the bearing sleeve (fork as spaced apart flanges 67).
Regarding claim 4, Ding teaches wherein the bearing sleeve includes a pair of bearing members positioned on either side of the fork of the knife actuator (63 on either side of flanges 67).
Regarding claim 5, Ding wherein the shaft is rotatable through 360 degrees (par. [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Ding teaches wherein pivotal movement of the lever between a first position and a second position will cause the knife actuator to drive the bearing sleeve from a retracted position to an extended position (moving 66 will drive the bearing sleeve from a retracted to an extended position as in par. [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Ding teaches wherein the bearing sleeve is biased toward the first position (biased by biasing member 139).
Regarding claim 8, Ding is silent wherein the bearing cup includes a tab and an aperture formed through the tab.
However, Walberg teaches the bearing cup includes a tab and an aperture formed through the tab (7 with tab as the distal end and aperture through the tab to hold 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding with the cup of Walberg to maintain the articulation direction of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Ding is silent wherein the first end of the knife actuator includes a post engaged with the aperture of the tab of the bearing cup.
However, Walberg teaches a post engaged with the aperture of the tab of the bearing cup (post engages with tab of the bearing cup).
Regarding claim 11, Ding is silent wherein the lever includes a bearing cup mechanically coupling the lever to the knife actuator.
However, Walberg teaches a bearing cup mechanically coupling a lever to an actuator of a forceps (Figs. 2-3 with bearing bracket cupping axis 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding with the cup of Walberg to maintain the articulation direction of the device.
Regarding claim 12, Ding teaches wherein the second end of the knife actuator comprises a fork extending about the bearing sleeve (fork as spaced apart flanges 67).
Regarding claim 13, Ding teaches wherein the bearing sleeve includes a pair of bearing members positioned on either side of the fork of the knife actuator (156 on either side of flanges 67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the lever of Ding does not extend into the housing and is rather fully in the housing. However, the lever of Ding (63) extends into the housing as in Fig. 3 as in the rejection.
Applicant further argues that the knife actuator of Ding does not extend longitudinally. However, as the knife actuator 66 of Ding extends to a longitudinally moving element, the movement of the longitudinally moving element extends 66 in a longitudinal direction.
Applicant further argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Ding with the element of Walberg to arrive at the invention as the mechanism would not work with Ding. However, the cup element of Walberg would still serve allow 63 to move 66 to actuate the knife.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are dependent on arguments addressed above and are not persuasive for the same reasoning.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794