DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/026958 application originally filed March 17, 2023.
Amended claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-21, filed December 16, 2025, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 3 and 8 have been canceled.
The rejection under 35 USC 112 2nd is withdrawn in light of applicants claimed amendments and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metcalfe (WO 2018/033712 A1) in view of Stumpf et al. (WO 2018/141318 A1) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Stumpf” and Morioka et al. (JP 2002-212646 A) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Morioka”.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-21
MetCalfe discloses in the abstract, a briquette comprising: (i) a particulate material; and (ii) a binder, the binder comprising (a) at least partially saponified polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) and (b) an alkali metal alkyl siliconate or polyalkylsilicic acid; wherein the particulate material is selected from a carbonaceous material, metal, metal ore, mineral waste or a mixture thereof.
MetCalfe discloses on pages 2 and 3, the carbonaceous material may, for example, be coke, graphite, carbon black, peat or coal. Coal may be any grade of coal, including lignites, sub-bituminous coal, bituminous coal, steam coal or anthracite. Mineral wastes include mill scale, mill sludges, fines from ores or metal containing wastes. The metal may be, or the metal ore mineral waste, may contain iron, zinc, nickel, copper, chromium, manganese, gold, platinum, silver, titanium, tin, lead, vanadium, cadmium, beryllium, molybdenum, uranium or mixtures thereof or elemental metal or in the form of, for example, oxides or silicates.
MetCalfe discloses on page 3, polyvinyl alcohol is typically commercially formed from polyvinyl acetate by replacing the acetic acid radical of acetate with a hydroxyl radical by reacting the polyvinyl acetate with sodium hydroxide in a process called saponification. Partially saponified means that some of the acetate groups have been replaced by hydroxyl groups and thereby forming at least a partially saponified polyvinyl alcohol containing vinyl alcohol residues. Typically, the PVA has a degree of saponification of at least 80% saponification.
MetCalfe discloses on page 3, typically the briquette contains 0.01-0.8% by weight of PVA binder.
MetCalfe further discloses on page 4, phenol formaldehyde resins are generally known in the art. Typically the resin is a resole resin made with formaldehyde to phenol ratios of greater than 1, typically around 1.5. The resin may be mixed into the finings as powder or as an aqueous solution.
MetCalfe disclose on page 6 and 7, typically the briquette comprises < 15%, < 10% or < 5% by weight of water (moisture content). Water content may be reduced by drying as, for example, adding burnt lime (calcium oxide) at up to typically 3%.
MetCalfe further discloses on page 7, the strength and resilience of the briquette made, can be further improved by addition of a suitable cross-linking agent. Suitable cross-linking agents include, for example, glutaraldehydes, for example at 0.01 to 5% w/w. Sodium hydroxide, for example 0.1% weight/weight, may also be used as a cross- linking agent. Other cross-linkers for PVA include glyoxal, glyoxal resin, PAAE resin (polyamidoamine epichlorohydrine), melamine formaldehydes, organic titanates (eg Tizor™, Du Pont), boric acid, ammonium, zirconium carbonate and glutaric dialdehyde-bis-sodium bisulphate. Typically up to 5% and more typically 3% or 2% by weight of the cross-linking agent is used. This allows, for example, the amount of PVA to be reduced from, for example, 0.8% by weight or 0.5% by weight to, for example, 0.3% by weight or 0.4% by weight PVA.
MetCalfe discloses on page 7, the water resistance of the briquette may be further improved by, for example, providing a waterproofing agent, such as a layer of waterproofing agent. Waterproofing agent is typically sprayed onto the outer surface of the briquette after the briquette has been formed. Typically waterproofing agents include styrene-acrylate copolymers such as Vinnapas™ SAF 34 (Wacker Chemie AG, Munich, Germany) which is typically a fine particles dispersion of a styrene acrylate copolymer, typically free from alkyl phenol ethoxylate, optionally this may contain 0.05 to 1% guar gum.
MetCalfe discloses on page 6, the particulate material is typically of a diameter of 4 mm or less. Typically at least 10% by weight of particulate material is capable of passing through a 100 µm sieve prior to forming into a briquette. The presence of the smaller particles of the particulate material improves the packing of the material.
MetCalfe discloses on page 8, mixing the particulate material with binders as defined above; compressing the mixture to form a briquette; and curing the briquette. Compressing may, for example, be the use of a mold or alternative, for example, by roller- pressing or extruding the material.
MetCalfe discloses on page 10, the binder may be used in amounts up to 4% total w/w up to 2% w/w phenol formaldehyde may be typically used by fixing as an aqueous solution or with the hardener. The hardener may be, for example, glycol triacetate and a gum such as guar gum, acacia gum, gum arabic. Typically 0.1 - 0.5% w/w glycol triacetate and 0.1 - 0.5% w/w gum are used. This may be cold cured. Methods of forming the briquettes for this and other embodiments are also provided and may be carried out as defined above, optionally with one or more features such as briquette size, waterproofing etc. as described above.
It is to be noted, MetCalfe discloses the production of a briquette comprising a particulate material and binders but fails to further teach the addition of fibers in particular properties (i.e. length, diameter and bulk density), as presently claimed in the present invention.
However, it is known in the art to add fibers to a briquette in particular lengths, diameters and bulk density, as taught by Stumpf and Morioka.
Stumpf discloses in the abstract, a briquette comprising the main constituents lime component in the form of burnt lime, burnt dolomite, limestone and/or dolostone and blackstock in the form of coke, anthracite and/or coal and comprising at least one auxiliary effective as a briquetting assistant may be produced in stable and simple fashion when the lime component is mixed with the blackstock having a standard particle size between 0 and 5 mm, with between 0.5% and 5% by weight of cellulose fiber material and with a binder in a proportion between 0.1% 5% by weight and subsequently pressed to afford the briquette.
Stumpf disclose in Example 4, the cellulose fiber material includes shredded paper. The cellulose fiber material as crude cellulose has gray fibers and has an initial bulk density of 75 to 110 g / l .
Additionally, Morioka discloses in paragraph 0014, a method for producing iron ore pellets, characterized in that an organic fiber, a clay material, and an organic adhesive are added to a mixed raw material for a pellet, mixed and fired by a conventional method.
Morioka further discloses in paragraph 0014, the iron ore pellet according to any one of the first to third aspects, wherein 80% by mass or more of the organic fiber is a fiber having a length and diameter of 1 to 2000 µm (0.001mm-2mm), overlapping the claimed length and diameter of the presently claimed invention. The organic fiber is a cellulosic wood fiber, a woven fiber, or a mixture thereof.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add fibers to a briquette in particular lengths, diameters and bulk density, as taught by Stumpf and Morioka to the briquette of MetCalfe. The motivation to do so is to add fibers to a particulate and binder briquette in order to aid in the stable framework and stability of the process of molding the briquette.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments, filed December 16, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-21 under Stumpf et al. (WO 2018/141318 A1) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Stumpf” in view of Sorensen et al. (WO 95/34517 A1) hereinafter “Sorensen”, Medoff et al. (UA 110339 C2) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Medoff” and Morioka et al. (JP 2002-212646 A) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Morioka” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Metcalfe (WO 2018/033712 A1) in view of Stumpf et al. (WO 2018/141318 A1) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Stumpf” and Morioka et al. (JP 2002-212646 A) hereinafter cited under English Translation “Morioka”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Michalek et al. (US 2007/0251143) discloses in the abstract, a synthetic fuel pellet, the pellet comprising a compressed agglomeration of: (a) coal fines; (b) a fibrous cellulosic material wherein the fibers of the fibrous cellulosic material have been substantially disintegrated; and (c) at least one binder, the binder adapted to form a pellet of the coal fines and the fibrous cellulosic material.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771