DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the device as outlined in at least claim 1 which is only using one laser diode must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 8 line 31 refers to the combinator as #3, however the combinator was previously labeled #8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 refers to “tune wavelength” and is believed to more correctly read “tune a wavelength”.
Claim 10 refers to “is having a geometry” and is believed to more correctly read “has a geometry”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 at line 1 refers to “the tuneable mechanism”. Claim 3 depends from claim 1 which does not outline the presence of a tunable mechanism. Use of the word “the” therefore creates an improper antecedent basis.
It appears claim 3 should depend from claim 2, which would provide proper antecedent basis. The claim has been examined as though claim 3 depends from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Alnis et al. (“Sum-frequency generation with a blue diode laser for mercury spectroscopy at 254nm”, Applicant submitted prior art).
With respect to claim 1, Alnis discloses a laser source device (fig.1) comprising: a pump laser system, made of one of more laser diodes (fig.1 688nm, 404nm), each of these laser diodes is adapted to generate one or more light beams (fig.1 688nm, 404nm), whose wavelengths are in the visible spectral range having a wavelength in the range 380 nm to 740 nm (fig.1 688nm, 404nm); a combinator (fig.1 splitter + lens) adapted to allow passing of the light beams from the pump laser system, and to combine them (fig.1 beams coupled at lens to left of BBO) and couple them to a next module (fig.1 BBO and elements to right); a nonlinear frequency generation module (fig.1 BBO with output lens) adapted to allow passing of the light beams, and while passing through, adapted to employ nonlinear optical phenomenon of sum-frequency generation for a UVC light beam (pg.1234 col.2 para.3, 254nm).
With respect to claim 2, Alnis discloses a tunable mechanism adapted to at least tune wavelength of the light beams generated by the pump laser system (pg.1235 col.1 para.1, pg.1235 col.2 para.2; each laser wavelength tuned), or to tune the phase-matching condition in the nonlinear frequency generation module.
With respect to claim 4, Alnis discloses the light beams generated by each of the laser diode is of different wavelengths (fig.1 688nm vs 404nm).
With respect to claim 5, Alnis discloses a laser beam generation controller (pg.1235 col.1 para.1 “drivers”) adapted to control each of the laser diode of the pump laser system for at least varying the intensity of the laser beams or enabling or disabling the laser diodes, or combination thereof (pg.1235 col.1 para.1, “current controlled” necessarily allows either or both of controlling intensity or enabling/disabling based on the changing value of the current).
With respect to claim 7, Alnis teaches the nonlinear frequency generation module comprises a second-order nonlinear crystal (fig.1 BBO).
With respect to claim 8, Alnis discloses the second-order nonlinear crystal is a material transparent in at least part of the UVC and part of the visible spectrum (pg.1235 col.1 para.1).
With respect to claim 9, Alnis discloses the second-order nonlinear crystal is from a selection of barium borate (BBO) (fig.1 BBO), cesium lithium borate (CLBO), lithium borate (LBO), potassium dideuterium phosphate (KDP), potassium dideuterium phosphate (DKDP), ammonium dihydrogen phosphate (ADP), yttrium calcium oxoborate (YCOB) or potassium fluoroboratoberyllate (KBBF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alnis in view of Shang et al. (US 2018/0342854).
With respect to claim 3, Alnis teaches the device outlined above, including the use of temperature control (pg.1235 col.1 para.1) and wavelength tuning (pg.1235 col.1 para.1, pg.1235 col.2 para.2), but does not teach the tunable mechanism comprises a temperature controller adapted to control temperature of at least one or both of the pump laser system, or the combinator, or combination thereof. Shang teaches wavelength tuning of visible wavelength laser diodes ([0018]) via temperature ([0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Alnis to make use of temperature based wavelength tuning of the laser diodes as demonstrated by Shange in order to allow for an extra element of wavelength stabilization affording both coarse and fine control (via current and temperature).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alnis in view of Arvidsson et al. (WO 91/12556; Applicant submitted prior art).
With respect to claim 6, Alnis teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the combinator is a photonic integrated circuit (PIC). Arvidsson teaches a related conversion device (abstract) which includes either separate optics (fig.2) or use of a PIC based coupler (fig.3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the combinator of Alnis to make use of a PIC arrangement as demonstrated by Arvidsson in order to create a more compact device with fewer elements needing to be aligned.
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alnis in view of Smeeton et al. (US 2014/0251949).
With respect to claim 10, Alnis teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the second-order nonlinear crystal is having a geometry of a rib waveguide, defined by a thickness, a width and a depth. Smeeton teaches a related nonlinear BBO device (abstract) which has a geometry of a rib waveguide (fig.2 VII/XI), defined by a thickness, a width and a depth (inherent that a 3d object has these dimensions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the BBO device of Alnis to make use of the BBO rib waveguide device structure in either configuration fig.2 VII or fig.2 XI of Smeeton in order to make use of a BBO device with improved conversion efficiency by making use of the waveguide structure (Smeeton, [0026]).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above, noting the depth is zero in the VII configuration (e.g. the height of the rib is gone).
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above, noting the depth is equal to the total waveguide thickness in the XI configuration (e.g. the formation of the ridge waveguide has a central depth equal to a total thickness when measured in the same vertical direction).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above, noting the nonlinear frequency generation module further comprises a substrate (Smeeton, fig.2 #4) having a material with lower refractive index with respect to the second-order nonlinear crystal ([0149]), and the second-order nonlinear crystal is coupled to the substrate (Smeeton, fig.2 #1 is on #4).
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above, noting the substrate is made of UV-fused silica ([0149]; it is noted that the fusing method, UV, is understood to be a product-by-process limitation not imparting a specific structural feature to the end product).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above, noting the nonlinear frequency generation module further comprises a cladding material (Smeeton, fig.2 #3/7) having a material with lower refractive index with respect to the second-order nonlinear crystal ([0148]), which surrounds the second-order nonlinear crystal partially (fig.2 both over and under) or completely.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection to claim 10 above, noting the cladding material is made of at least one of calcium fluoride (Smeeton, [0148]), magnesium fluoride, or combination thereof.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alnis in view of Sakuma (US 9696568).
With respect to claim 17, Alnis teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the UVC light beam is in the range of wavelength between 190 nm to 240 nm. Sakuma teaches a related sum frequency generation device (fig.3) and also the production of UV light at 190-220nm (col.9 lines 21-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the input wavelengths or nonlinear material of Alnis to achieve a 190-220nm UV range as demonstrated by Sakuma in order to enable an alternative UV output range to further enable expanding spectroscopy options.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the included PTO892 form for a list of related art.
The Corner NPL document is noted as teaching a similar diode laser to UV conversion device.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828