DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 03/17/2023. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election Group I, relating to claims 1-9, and 20-27 in the reply filed on 09/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 20-25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/0359212), hereinafter “Chen“, in view of Huang et al (US 2021/0266780), hereinafter “Huang“.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a cellular architecture for enhanced privacy regarding identity and location of a computing device (Fig. 3 teaches a cellular architecture), the architecture comprising:
a privacy gateway (Fig. 3 shows a RSP Platform #360 which reads on a privacy gateway) connected to the core packet forwarding gateway (Fig. 3 shows a RSP Platform connected to the core packet network #330), the privacy gateway configured to authenticate the computing device while hiding the identity of the computing device by verifying authentication tokens that represent units of access (pars [0035] [0052-0055] teach the RSP configured to authenticate with the electronic device); and an over-the-air (OTA) gateway configured to select an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a pool of valid IMSIs and deliver the selected IMSI to a subscriber identity module (SIM) card of the computing device (pars [0009-0011] teach over-the-air through a process called remote SIM provisioning RSP),
Chen does not explicitly teach the SIM card to periodically shuffle the pool of valid IMSIs.
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the SIM card to periodically shuffle the pool of valid IMSIs (pars [0034-0036] [0040-0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Huang, in order to provide the different types of radio access networks and/or core networks such as identifying information of the UE (as suggested by Huang in paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein the OTA gateway is further configured to select the IMSI the pool randomly (pars [0015-0017]), incrementally (pars [0017] [0025]), algorithmically (pars [0010] [0017]), or pseudo- randomly (par [0025]).
Regarding claims 3 and 22, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein the OTA gateway is further configured to select a new IMSI when an IMSI collision occurs (pars [0010] [0020] [0025]).
Regarding claims 4 and 23, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein IMSI selection is triggered periodically using a centralized timer based on a clock time of the computing device (pars [0048-0049]).
Regarding claims 5 and 24, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein IMSI selection is triggered periodically on a per-computing device basis based on a period of time since previous IMSI selection (pars [0048-0049]).
Regarding claims 6 and 25, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein IMSI selection is triggered based on events related to the computing device (pars [0048-0049]).
Regarding claims 8 and 27, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein the authentication tokens are distributed via an oblivious transfer protocol (pars [0035] [0058] teach the authentication tokens that distributed via the transfer protocols).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen further teaches wherein the units of access comprise at least one of a fixed period of time and a fixed unit of data (pars [0048-0049]).
Regarding to claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
8. Claims 7, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/0359212), hereinafter “Chen“, in view of Huang et al (US 2021/0266780), hereinafter “Huang“, and further in view of Everett (US 2012/0239566), hereinafter “Everett”.
Regarding claims 7 and 26, the combination of Chen and Huang teach the cellular architecture of claims 1, 20, Chen and Huang do clearly teach wherein the authentication tokens are verified by being blind signed using Chaum's scheme by a billing system.
Everett, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the authentication tokens are verified by being blind signed using Chaum's scheme by a billing system (pars [0012-0013] [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen and Huang to Everett, in order to provide the authentication process by using David Chaum’s scheme to operate on-line services for making payments by securely system (as suggested by Everett in paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641