DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 23, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on March 16, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “5G MM – PCF originated policies configuration” as cited in IDS dated March 17, 2023 (hereinafter “Reference A”) in view of Velev et al. (hereinafter “Velev”, US 2020/0162919) and further in view of Sugawara (US 2020/0120751).
Regarding claim 1, Reference A discloses a method of an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the method comprising:
sending a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message (i.e., sending a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message as shown in Fig. 5.4.4.1.1 on page 2),
wherein the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message includes Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) (i.e., the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND includes allowed NSSAI as described in section 5.4.4.2 on page 2);
starting a timer in a case where the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message is sent (i.e., starting a timer T3555 as described in section a) on page 5); and
retransmitting the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message on expiry of the timer, and resetting and starting the timer (i.e., retransmitting CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message when the timer 3555 is expired, reset and start timer as described in section a) on page 5); and
wherein, in a case where the failure related to the radio link is detected before the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMPLETE message is received, the AMF continues running the timer (i.e., the network shall, on the first expiry of the timer T3555, retransmit the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message, and shell reset and start timer T3555, and repeats four time as described in section 5.4.4.6 section a) Expiry of timer T3555. In other words, the timer continues to run as the network waits for the timer to be expired before retransmitting the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND).
Reference A, however, does not expressly disclose:
wherein the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message includes rejected NSSAI; and
repeating the retransmission a predetermined of times in a case where failure related to a radio link is detected before a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMPLETE message is received.
In a similar endeavor, Velev discloses accessing a denied network resource. Velev also discloses wherein the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message includes rejected NSSAI (i.e., Configuration Update Command message containing rejected S-NSSAI as described in paragraphs 0081-0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to inform the UE of the network availability.
The combination of Reference A and Velev, however, does not expressly disclose repeating the retransmission a predetermined of times in a case where failure related to a radio link is detected before a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMPLETE message is received.
Furthermore, Sugawara discloses a user equipment. Sugawara also discloses:
repeating the retransmission a predetermined of times in a case where failure related to a radio link is detected before a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMPLETE message is received (i.e., in a case that the AMF cannot receive the UE Configuration Update Complete message from the UE, the AMF repeats the retransmission by a predetermined number of times as described in paragraph 0388).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to ensure that the UE could receive the update command and change the configuration accordingly.
With further regard to claim 3, since this claim recites a different statutory class and include similar features to those of recited within claim 1. Therefore, the Examiner also rejects this claim at least for the same reasons discussed above. In addition, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference A in view of Velev in view of Sugawara, and further in view of Shrestha et al. (hereinafter “Shrestha”, US 2024/0107335).
Regarding claims 5, and 7, Reference A, Velev, and Sugawara disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Shrestha discloses configuration and reporting of location information in conjunction with MDT. Shrestha also discloses detecting the failure related to the radio link based on a Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) message (i.e., NG-RAN initiates the failure indication message based on NGAP as described in paragraphs 0012-0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to communicate the connection status between the base station and the core network.
Regarding claims 6, and 8, Reference A, Velev, Sugawara, and Shrestha disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Shrestha also discloses receiving the NGAP message from a radio access network (i.e., NGAP as described in paragraphs 0012-0018).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644