DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-32 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 have been canceled. Claims 16, 17, 19, 20, 25 and 28 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-33 of copending Application No. 18/026,569 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application ‘569 have claims drawn to an organic electroluminescent device comprising a light-emitting layer B ( “a light emitting layer” as recited by copending application ‘569) comprising a TADF material EB having a lowermost excited sublet state energy level E(S1E) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E (T1E) ( see TADF material in claim 16 and claim 31 of copending application ‘569); a small full width at half maximum (FWHM) emitter SB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1s) and a lowermost excited triplet stated energy level E (T1s), wherein SB is to emit light with a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV and to emit light with an emission maximum between 440 nm and 480 nm ( see emitter (ii) in claim 16 of copending application ‘569); an excitation energy transfer component EET-2 being selected from the group consisting of a TADF material EB and a phosphorescence material PB ( see claims 22 and 23 of copending application ‘569) and a host material HB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy E (SH) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E ( T1H) ( see host material recited in claims 16 and 31 of copending application ‘569). The instant claims and copending application ‘569 recite open claim language “comprising”; therefore, it would have been obvious to include other components in their respective invention. Furthermore, the organic electroluminescent device of copending application ‘569 comprises an exciton management layer adjacent to the light-emitting layer and comprising a triplet-triplet-annihilation (TTA) material ( see one adjacent layer adjacent to the light-emitting layer B comprising a triplet-triplet-annihilation (TTA) material in claim 25 of the instant claims).
The present claims indicated above also cover the method for generating light which overlap the claims of copending Application No. 18/026,569, and thus , render the present claims prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 18/026,328 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application ‘’328 have claims drawn to an organic electroluminescent device comprising a light-emitting layer B ( “at least one light emitting layer” as recited by copending application ‘328) comprising a TADF material EB having a lowermost excited sublet state energy level E(S1E) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E (T1E) ( see the at least one TADF material in claim 21 and claim 23 of copending application ‘328); a small full width at half maximum (FWHM) emitter SB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1s) and a lowermost excited triplet stated energy level E (T1s), wherein SB is to emit light with a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV and to emit light with an emission maximum between 440 nm and 480 nm ( see at least one small full width at half maximum ( FWHM) in claim 21 of copending application ‘328); an excitation energy transfer component EET-2 being selected from the group consisting of a TADF material EB and a phosphorescence material PB ( see “at least one phosphorescence material in claims 21 of copending application ‘569) and a host material HB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy E (SH) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E ( T1H) (see host material recited in claims 21 and 24 of copending application ‘328). The instant claims and copending application ‘328 recite open claim language “comprising”; therefore, it would have been obvious to include other components in their respective invention.
The present claims indicated above also cover the method for generating light which overlap the claims of copending Application No. 18/026,328, and thus , render the present claims prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-24 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 2020/0136059 A1).
Regarding claims 16-24 and 27-29, Hong et al. ( see abstract, claims, figures 2, 4, 7 and 8, examples and paragraphs [0106, 0134, 0138, 0165-0175, 183-0190 & 0231]) teach “an organic electroluminescent device comprising at least one light emitting layer B ( EML1-EML-3) comprising: a TADF material EB having a lowermost excited sublet state energy level E(S1E) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E (T1E) ( see Compound 1 or compound 6); a small full width at half maximum (FWHM) emitter SB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1s) and a lowermost excited triplet stated energy level E (T1s), wherein SB is to emit light with a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV and to emit light with an emission maximum between 440 nm and 480 nm ( see chemical formula 7, [0136] , ( blue light ; [0036]) and Table 1); an excitation energy transfer component EET-2 being selected from the group consisting of a TADF material EB and a phosphorescence material PB ( see BODIPY [0185], and derivatives page 27, FD-1 to FD-5 and BODIY dye implicitly or Compounds 2 and 6, Fig. 8 and Table 1) and a host material HB having a lowermost excited singlet state energy E (SH) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E ( T1H) (see Compounds 1, 3 and 5, Table 1 and fig. 8). The light emitter layer comprises less than or equal to 5% by weight of one or more phosphorescence material [0187]. Hong et al. discloses in Table 1 the positions of the triplet levels of the different compounds in accordance with present claims 17-19. Hong discloses in paragraph [0139] the subject-matter of claim 20 for a boron comprising FWHM emitter. The additional features concerning an ΔEst of 0.4 EV and the PLQY>30% of the TASF compound are disclosed in [0088, 0115-0016 and 0142]. Also, Hong et al. discloses the EET-2 is a phosphorescence material [0057-0059, 01014175 & 0175], which comprises a structure according to formula PB-1 [0141]. The position of the HOMO levels is disclosed in Fig. 8 and Table 1 according to presently claimed invention Hong et al. teach a method for generating light, the method comprising providing an organic electroluminescent device and applying an electric current to the organic electroluminescent device [0231].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136059 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Umeda et al. (WO 2019/186727 A1; citations from US equivalent 2021/0083218 A1).
Regarding claims 25-26, Hong et al. do not explicitly recite “wherein one adjacent layer adjacent to the light-emitting layer B comprises a triplet-triplet-annihilation (TTA) material as instantly claimed. Nonetheless, the examiner has added Umeda et al. to teach it is well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art of organic electroluminescent device to include an adjacent layer including a host material that can be adamantane anthracene as a Triplet-Triplet Annihilation (TTA) host material [0035], which meets the limitation of Formula 4 as instantly claimed. Umeda et al. and Hong et al. are analogous art in the field of organic electroluminescent device Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the organic electroluminescent device of Hong et al. to include to include an adjacent layer including a host material that can be adamantane anthracene as a Triplet-Triplet Annihilation (TTA) host material as disclosed by Umeda et al. in view of aiding in exciton and light emission.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Sharifidehsari et al. (US 2024/0049492 A1; see abstract, claims and examples) teach an organic electroluminescent device including one or more light-emitting layers B as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s principal arguments are the following:
A) Applicants request that the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections to at least amended claim and its dependents be reconsidered and withdrawn.
Examiner respectfully disagrees .The current amendments to claim 16 do not overcome the ODP rejections. Therefore, the rejections are maintained for reasons of records.
B) Applicants traverse the rejection over Hong et al. In the present disclosure, the components of the emissive layer ( e.g., the TADF material EET-2, FWHM emitter and host) are all contained within a single light-emitting layer B. In contrast, Hong appears to disclosure that these components are distributed across three separate emissive layers. A reference that instead distributes those components across multiple, separate emissive layers does not disclose the claimed combination arranged as recited within a single light-emitting layer B. Accordingly, the Applicants respectfully submits that the organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure is structurally different from the device disclosed in Hong and would have been anticipated by, or rendered obvious in view of Hong.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that the organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure is structurally different from the device disclosed in Hong and would have been anticipated by or rendered obvious in view of Hong. In response to applicants’ argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., single light-emitting layer B) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Hong teaches each and every component recited independent claim 16. See citations above. There is no mention that light emitting layer B is a single layer. It is noted that the present disclosure teaches more than one light emitting B as well as more than one sublayers may make up light-emitting layer B ( see page 29, lines 20-36). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737