DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant’s amendments to claims 5 and 19 resolves the previous indefiniteness issue. Therefore, the previous rejection of claims 5 and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2022/0171225) hereinafter “Wu” in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0279086) hereinafter “Wang” and in further view of Agahian et al. (US 2016/0370231) hereinafter “Agahian”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 5, 7 and 11 of Wu teaches a display panel, comprising: an array substrate (Item 71) and a functional device layer (Item 72), wherein the array substrate comprises a display region (Item AA) and a peripheral region (Item NA) surrounding the display region (Item AA), the functional device layer (Item 72) is disposed on a bearing surface of the array substrate (Item 71), and the functional device layer (Item 72) comprises a first photosensitive device (Item 10), a second photosensitive device (Item 20), and a plurality of light-emitting devices (Item P); wherein the first photosensitive device (Item 10) is configured to detect light, emitted by the light-emitting device, reflected by a finger (Paragraph 0030 where the device is a fingerprint recognition unit); and the second photosensitive device (Item 20) is configured to detect an intensity of ambient light (Paragraph 0033), where all of the respective layers of the respective photosensitive devices (Items 10 and 20) are on the same layer.
While one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the first and second photosensitive devices of Wu would each include a photosensitive layer and a bottom and top electrode, Wu does not explicitly teach where the first photosensitive device comprises a first photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer, and the first electrode being disposed on a surface, proximal to the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer nor where the second photosensitive device comprises a second photosensitive layer, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode, the second photosensitive layer and the first photosensitive layer being disposed in a same layer, the third electrode and the first electrode being disposed in a same layer, and the fourth electrode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer.
Wang teaches where a photosensitive device (Item 102) comprises a photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer (See Picture 1 below), and the first electrode is disposed on a surface , proximal to an array substrate (Combination of layers containing the TFT Item 107), of the photosensitive layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer, and the first electrode being disposed on a surface, proximal to the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer and where the second photosensitive device comprises a second photosensitive layer, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode because the first and second photosensitive layers are known to detect light and the first, second, third and fourth electrodes are known to electrically connect the respective photosensitive layers to other elements in the device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
When the structure of the photosensitive device in Wang is used as the first and second photosensitive devices in Wu, which has the respective layers of the first and second photosensitive devices in the same respective layers, the first and second photosensitive layers will be disposed in the same layer, the third electrode and the first electrode will be disposed in a same layer, and the fourth electrode and the second electrode will be disposed in a same layer.
Wang does not teach where the functional device layer comprises a color temperature sensor nor where the color temperature sensor is arranged close to the second photosensitive device, the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor are disposed in the peripheral region, and the peripheral region is provided with a frame, wherein the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region.
Agahian teaches Figs. 2 and 3 of Agahian teaches an ambient light (second photosensitive device) is present in a non-display (peripheral) region (Paragraph 0006; Item IA), and where a color temperature sensor is also present in the peripheral region (Paragraph 0025), where the peripheral region (Item IA) is provided with a frame (Paragraph 0029), wherein the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region (Paragraph 0029 where a component window is present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the functional device layer comprise a color temperature sensor, where the color temperature sensor is arranged close to the second photosensitive device, the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor are disposed in the peripheral region, and the peripheral region is provided with a frame because the color temperature sensor and second photosensitive device are used as ambient light sensors to provide the device with information on current lighting conditions (Agahian Paragraph 0003) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region because the light transmitting region allows ambient light to reach the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor (Agahian Paragraph 0029).
Picture 1 (Labeled version of Wang Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 11 of Wu further teaches where the light-emitting device (Item P) comprises an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode, wherein the anode and the cathode are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the light-emitting layer (See Picture 2 below); where the anode is disposed on a surface proximal to the array substrate, of the light- emitting layer.
Wu does not teach the anode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer.
Fig. 4 of Wang further teaches where an anode (Item 111) of a light emitting device (Item 112) is disposed on a same layer as the second electrode (Item 114) of the photosensitive device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the anode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer because this allows the anode and the second electrode to be formed by a one patterning process in a preparation process of the display device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
Picture 2 (Labeled version of Wu Fig. 11)
Regarding claim 15, Figs. 5, 7 and 11 of Wu teaches a display device, comprising a display panel, where the display panel comprises: an array substrate (Item 71) and a functional device layer (Item 72), wherein the array substrate comprises a display region (Item AA) and a peripheral region (Item NA) surrounding the display region (Item AA), the functional device layer (Item 72) is disposed on a bearing surface of the array substrate (Item 71), and the functional device layer (Item 72) comprises a first photosensitive device (Item 10), a second photosensitive device (Item 20), and a plurality of light-emitting devices (Item P); wherein the first photosensitive device (Item 10) is configured to detect light, emitted by the light-emitting device, reflected by a finger (Paragraph 0030 where the device is a fingerprint recognition unit); and the second photosensitive device (Item 20) is configured to detect an intensity of ambient light (Paragraph 0033), where all of the respective layers of the respective photosensitive devices (Items 10 and 20) are on the same layer.
While one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the first and second photosensitive devices of Wu would each include a photosensitive layer and a bottom and top electrode, Wu does not explicitly teach where the first photosensitive device comprises a first photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer, and the first electrode being disposed on a surface, proximal to the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer nor where the second photosensitive device comprises a second photosensitive layer, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode, the second photosensitive layer and the first photosensitive layer being disposed in a same layer, the third electrode and the first electrode being disposed in a same layer, and the fourth electrode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer.
Wang teaches where a photosensitive device (Item 102) comprises a photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer (See Picture 1 below), and the first electrode is disposed on a surface , proximal to an array substrate (Combination of layers containing the TFT Item 107), of the photosensitive layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer, and the first electrode being disposed on a surface, proximal to the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer and where the second photosensitive device comprises a second photosensitive layer, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode because the first and second photosensitive layers are known to detect light and the first, second, third and fourth electrodes are known to electrically connect the respective photosensitive layers to other elements in the device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
When the structure of the photosensitive device in Wang is used as the first and second photosensitive devices in Wu, which has the respective layers of the first and second photosensitive devices in the same respective layers, the first and second photosensitive layers will be disposed in the same layer, the third electrode and the first electrode will be disposed in a same layer, and the fourth electrode and the second electrode will be disposed in a same layer.
Wang does not teach where the functional device layer comprises a color temperature sensor nor where the color temperature sensor is arranged close to the second photosensitive device, the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor are disposed in the peripheral region, and the peripheral region is provided with a frame, wherein the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region.
Agahian teaches Figs. 2 and 3 of Agahian teaches an ambient light (second photosensitive device) is present in a non-display (peripheral) region (Paragraph 0006; Item IA), and where a color temperature sensor is also present in the peripheral region (Paragraph 0025), where the peripheral region (Item IA) is provided with a frame (Paragraph 0029), wherein the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region (Paragraph 0029 where a component window is present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the functional device layer comprise a color temperature sensor, where the color temperature sensor is arranged close to the second photosensitive device, the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor are disposed in the peripheral region, and the peripheral region is provided with a frame because the color temperature sensor and second photosensitive device are used as ambient light sensors to provide the device with information on current lighting conditions (Agahian Paragraph 0003) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frame corresponding to the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor is provided with a light-transmitting region because the light transmitting region allows ambient light to reach the second photosensitive device and the color temperature sensor (Agahian Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 11 of Wu further teaches where the light-emitting device (Item P) comprises an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode, wherein the anode and the cathode are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the light-emitting layer (See Picture 2 below); where the anode is disposed on a surface proximal to the array substrate, of the light- emitting layer.
Wu does not teach the anode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer.
Fig. 4 of Wang further teaches where an anode (Item 111) of a light emitting device (Item 112) is disposed on a same layer as the second electrode (Item 114) of the photosensitive device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the anode and the second electrode being disposed in a same layer because this allows the anode and the second electrode to be formed by a one patterning process in a preparation process of the display device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
Claims 3-9 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2022/0171225) hereinafter “Wu” in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0279086) hereinafter “Wang” and Agahian et al. (US 2016/0370231) hereinafter “Agahian” and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0122736) hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 11 of Wu does not explicitly teach a color filter layer, wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from the array substrate, of the functional device layer, and comprises a plurality of color blocks and a light-shielding structure disposed between the plurality of color blocks, wherein the light-emitting device is opposite to the color block, and the light-shielding layer comprises a fingerprint hole and an ambient light hole, the fingerprint hole being opposite to the first photosensitive layer, and the ambient light hole being opposite to the second photosensitive layer.
Fig. 3 of Kim teaches a color filter layer (Combination of Items BM and CF1 and CF2), wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from an array substrate (Item BP), of the functional device layer (Item PXL), and comprises a plurality of color blocks (Items CF1 and CF2) and a light-shielding structure (Item BM) disposed between the plurality of color blocks (Items CF1 and CF2), wherein the light-emitting device (Combination of Items PEL1, HTL1, EML, PEL2) is opposite to the color block (Item CF2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a color filter layer, wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from the array substrate, of the functional device layer, and comprises a plurality of color blocks and a light-shielding structure disposed between the plurality of color blocks, wherein the light-emitting device is opposite to the color block because the color filter allows only the color emitted from the light emitting device to pass through such that a subpixel only emits one light (Kim Paragraph 0133).
Wu further teaches where an opening (Item K1/K2) is present over the first and second photosensitive devices (Items 10 and 20) such that light can be transmitted to the photosensitive devices (Paragraph 0077).
Therefore, when the color filter layer of Kim is incorporated into the device of Wu it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to maintain the opening of Wu such that the light-shielding layer comprises a fingerprint hole and an ambient light hole, the fingerprint hole being opposite to the first photosensitive layer, and the ambient light hole being opposite to the second photosensitive layer because this allows light to be transmitted to first and second photosensitive devices (Wu Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu further teaches where both a width direction of the ambient light hole and a width direction of the second photosensitive layer are parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate and lie in a reference plane, the reference plane being a surface that is perpendicular to the bearing surface of the substrate and runs through a center of the ambient light hole.
Wu does not teach where a ratio of a width of the ambient light hole to a width of the second photosensitive layer ranges from 0.5 to 1.5.
However the width of the ambient light hole and the width of the second photosensitive layer are result effective variables (Kim Paragraph 0132 where a function of an optical system is determined by the width of the opening and Paragraph 0143 where the width of the sensing area is related to the width of the opening in which light travels to the photosensitive device). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the width of the ambient light hole and the second photosensitive layer such that a ratio of a width of the ambient light hole to a width of the second photosensitive layer ranges from 0.5 to 1.5 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where a center of one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole lies in a reference plane, and the ambient light hole and the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole satisfy a relationship as follows: in the case that a width of the ambient light hole is greater than a width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - d)/h, and tan β = (P + d)/h; and in the case that the width of the ambient light hole is not greater than the width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - D)/h, and tan β = (P + D)/h; wherein P represents a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, d represents the width of the ambient light hole, D represents the width of the second photosensitive layer, and h represents a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer, and 0 < α < β ≤ 42o.
However, the variables of the width of an opening over a photosensitive device, a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, and a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer (Kim Paragraph 0143 where Formula 1 shows a relationship between the variables and Paragraph 0132 where a function of an optical system is determined by the width of the opening). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the width of an opening over a photosensitive device, a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, and a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer such that a center of one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole lies in a reference plane, and the ambient light hole and the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole satisfy a relationship as follows: in the case that a width of the ambient light hole is greater than a width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - d)/h, and tan β = (P + d)/h; and in the case that the width of the ambient light hole is not greater than the width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - D)/h, and tan β = (P + D)/h; wherein P represents a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, d represents the width of the ambient light hole, D represents the width of the second photosensitive layer, and h represents a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer, and 0 < α < β ≤ 42o because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors.
Agahian further teaches where the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors (Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors because this allows the color temperature sensor to make color measurements (Agahian Paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the third photosensitive device comprises a third photosensitive layer, a fifth electrode, and a sixth electrode; the fourth photosensitive device comprises a fourth photosensitive layer, a seventh electrode, and an eighth electrode; and the fifth photosensitive device comprises a fifth photosensitive layer, a ninth electrode, and a tenth electrode; wherein the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, the fifth photosensitive layer, and the first photosensitive layer are disposed in a same layer; the fifth electrode, the sixth electrode, the seventh electrode, and the first electrode are disposed in a same layer; and the sixth electrode, the eighth electrode, the tenth electrode, and the second electrode are disposed in a same layer.
Wang teaches where a photosensitive device (Item 102) comprises a photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer (See Picture 1 above), and the first electrode is disposed on a surface, proximal to an array substrate (Combination of layers containing the TFT Item 107), of the photosensitive layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third photosensitive device comprises a third photosensitive layer, a fifth electrode, and a sixth electrode; the fourth photosensitive device comprises a fourth photosensitive layer, a seventh electrode, and an eighth electrode; and the fifth photosensitive device comprises a fifth photosensitive layer, a ninth electrode, and a tenth electrode because the photosensitive layers are known to detect light and the electrodes are known to electrically connect the respective photosensitive layers to other elements in the device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
When the structure of the photosensitive device in Wang is used as the color temperature sensors and the color temperature sensors are included in Wu in the manner that Wu has all of the respective layers of the respective photosensitive devices being on the same layer, which has the respective layers of the first and second photosensitive devices in the same respective layers, the photosensitive layers will be disposed in the same layer, the bottom electrodes of the photosensitive elements will be disposed in a same layer, and top electrodes of the photosensitive elements will be disposed in a same layer. Further this configuration allows for each of the respective layers of all of the photosensitive devices to be formed by a one patterning process in a preparation process of the display device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 5 of Wu further teaches wherein the light- emitting device (Item P) and the first photosensitive device (Item 10) are disposed in the display region (Item AA).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the functional device layer further comprises a transparent protective layer (Item 104); wherein the transparent protective layer is disposed on surfaces, distal from the array substrate, of the photosensitive layer (Item 102); and the transparent protective layer (Item 104) comprises a plurality of vias, the second electrode being connected to the photosensitive layer (Item 102) by the vias.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the functional device layer further comprises a transparent protective layer; wherein the transparent protective layer is disposed on surfaces, distal from the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer, the second photosensitive layer, the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, and the fifth photosensitive layer; and the transparent protective layer comprises a plurality of vias, the second electrode, the fourth electrode, the sixth electrode, and the eighth electrode being respectively connected to the first photosensitive layer, the second photosensitive layer, the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, and the fifth photosensitive layer by the vias because the transparent protective layer encapsulates the photosensitive layer (Wu Paragraph 0065) and the vias in the transparent protective layer allows electrical connection between the photosensitive devices and other elements in the device (Wu Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 11 of Wu does not explicitly teach a color filter layer, wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from the array substrate, of the functional device layer, and comprises a plurality of color blocks and a light-shielding structure disposed between the plurality of color blocks, wherein the light-emitting device is opposite to the color block, and the light-shielding layer comprises a fingerprint hole and an ambient light hole, the fingerprint hole being opposite to the first photosensitive layer, and the ambient light hole being opposite to the second photosensitive layer.
Fig. 3 of Kim teaches a color filter layer (Combination of Items BM and CF1 and CF2), wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from an array substrate (Item BP), of the functional device layer (Item PXL), and comprises a plurality of color blocks (Items CF1 and CF2) and a light-shielding structure (Item BM) disposed between the plurality of color blocks (Items CF1 and CF2), wherein the light-emitting device (Combination of Items PEL1, HTL1, EML, PEL2) is opposite to the color block (Item CF2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a color filter layer, wherein the color filter layer is disposed on a surface, distal from the array substrate, of the functional device layer, and comprises a plurality of color blocks and a light-shielding structure disposed between the plurality of color blocks, wherein the light-emitting device is opposite to the color block because the color filter allows only the color emitted from the light emitting device to pass through such that a subpixel only emits one light (Kim Paragraph 0133).
Wu further teaches where an opening (Item K1/K2) is present over the first and second photosensitive devices (Items 10 and 20) such that light can be transmitted to the photosensitive devices (Paragraph 0077).
Therefore, when the color filter layer of Kim is incorporated into the device of Wu it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to maintain the opening of Wu such that the light-shielding layer comprises a fingerprint hole and an ambient light hole, the fingerprint hole being opposite to the first photosensitive layer, and the ambient light hole being opposite to the second photosensitive layer because this allows light to be transmitted to first and second photosensitive devices (Wu Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu further teaches where both a width direction of the ambient light hole and a width direction of the second photosensitive layer are parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate and lie in a reference plane, the reference plane being a surface that is perpendicular to the bearing surface of the substrate and runs through a center of the ambient light hole.
Wu does not teach where a ratio of a width of the ambient light hole to a width of the second photosensitive layer ranges from 0.5 to 1.5.
However the width of the ambient light hole and the width of the second photosensitive layer are result effective variables (Kim Paragraph 0132 where the a function of an optical system is determined by the width of the opening and Paragraph 0143 where the width of the sensing area is related to the width of the opening in which light travels to the photosensitive device). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the width of the ambient light hole and the second photosensitive layer such that a ratio of a width of the ambient light hole to a width of the second photosensitive layer ranges from 0.5 to 1.5 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wu, Wang and Agahian teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where a center of one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole lies in a reference plane, and the ambient light hole and the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole satisfy a relationship as follows: in the case that a width of the ambient light hole is greater than a width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - d)/h, and tan β = (P + d)/h; and in the case that the width of the ambient light hole is not greater than the width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - D)/h, and tan β = (P + D)/h; wherein P represents a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, d represents the width of the ambient light hole, D represents the width of the second photosensitive layer, and h represents a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer, and 0 < α < β ≤ 42o.
However, the variables of the width of an opening over a photosensitive device, a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, and a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer (Kim Paragraph 0143 where Formula 1 shows a relationship between the variables and Paragraph 0132 where a function of an optical system is determined by the width of the opening). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the width of an opening over a photosensitive device, a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, and a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer such that a center of one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole lies in a reference plane, and the ambient light hole and the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole satisfy a relationship as follows: in the case that a width of the ambient light hole is greater than a width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - d)/h, and tan β = (P + d)/h; and in the case that the width of the ambient light hole is not greater than the width of the second photosensitive layer, tan α = (P - D)/h, and tan β = (P + D)/h; wherein P represents a distance, in a direction parallel to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the center of the ambient light hole and a center of the one of the color blocks closest to the ambient light hole, d represents the width of the ambient light hole, D represents the width of the second photosensitive layer, and h represents a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the bearing surface of the array substrate, between the color block and the second photosensitive layer, and 0 < α < β ≤ 42o because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors.
Agahian further teaches where the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors (Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the color temperature sensor comprises a third photosensitive device, a fourth photosensitive device, and a fifth photosensitive device; wherein the third photosensitive device, the fourth photosensitive device, and the fifth photosensitive device are respectively opposite to the color blocks of different colors because this allows the color temperature sensor to make color measurements (Agahian Paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the third photosensitive device comprises a third photosensitive layer, a fifth electrode, and a sixth electrode; the fourth photosensitive device comprises a fourth photosensitive layer, a seventh electrode, and an eighth electrode; and the fifth photosensitive device comprises a fifth photosensitive layer, a ninth electrode, and a tenth electrode; wherein the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, the fifth photosensitive layer, and the first photosensitive layer are disposed in a same layer; the fifth electrode, the sixth electrode, the seventh electrode, and the first electrode are disposed in a same layer; and the sixth electrode, the eighth electrode, the tenth electrode, and the second electrode are disposed in a same layer.
Wang teaches where a photosensitive device (Item 102) comprises a photosensitive layer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the first photosensitive layer (See Picture 1 above), and the first electrode is disposed on a surface, proximal to an array substrate (Combination of layers containing the TFT Item 107), of the photosensitive layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third photosensitive device comprises a third photosensitive layer, a fifth electrode, and a sixth electrode; the fourth photosensitive device comprises a fourth photosensitive layer, a seventh electrode, and an eighth electrode; and the fifth photosensitive device comprises a fifth photosensitive layer, a ninth electrode, and a tenth electrode because the photosensitive layers are known to detect light and the electrodes are known to electrically connect the respective photosensitive layers to other elements in the device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
When the structure of the photosensitive device in Wang is used as the color temperature sensors and the color temperature sensors are included in Wu in the manner that Wu has all of the respective layers of the respective photosensitive devices being on the same layer, which has the respective layers of the first and second photosensitive devices in the same respective layers, the photosensitive layers will be disposed in the same layer, the bottom electrodes of the photosensitive elements will be disposed in a same layer, and top electrodes of the photosensitive elements will be disposed in a same layer. Further this configuration allows for each of the respective layers of all of the photosensitive devices to be formed by a one patterning process in a preparation process of the display device (Wang Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 22, Fig. 5 of Wu further teaches wherein the light- emitting device (Item P) and the first photosensitive device (Item 10) are disposed in the display region (Item AA).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Wu, Wang, Agahian and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wu does not teach where the functional device layer further comprises a transparent protective layer (Item 104); wherein the transparent protective layer is disposed on surfaces, distal from the array substrate, of the photosensitive layer (Item 102); and the transparent protective layer (Item 104) comprises a plurality of vias, the second electrode being connected to the photosensitive layer (Item 102) by the vias.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the functional device layer further comprises a transparent protective layer; wherein the transparent protective layer is disposed on surfaces, distal from the array substrate, of the first photosensitive layer, the second photosensitive layer, the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, and the fifth photosensitive layer; and the transparent protective layer comprises a plurality of vias, the second electrode, the fourth electrode, the sixth electrode, and the eighth electrode being respectively connected to the first photosensitive layer, the second photosensitive layer, the third photosensitive layer, the fourth photosensitive layer, and the fifth photosensitive layer by the vias because the transparent protective layer encapsulates the photosensitive layer (Wu Paragraph 0065) and the vias in the transparent protective layer allows electrical connection between the photosensitive devices and other elements in the device (Wu Paragraph 0064).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS, filed 10/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Agahian.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891