DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 12/17/25 have been received. Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 13, 17, 21, 23, 25, 30, 36, and 41 have been amended. Claims 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 15, 18-20, 22, 26-29, 31-35, 39, and 42 have been cancelled. Claim 43 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites monomers that are not acrylonitrile nor acrylonitrile derivatives such as allyl nitrile, 1-cyclohexeneacetonitrile, 3-cyclohexene-1-carbonitrile, 1-cyclopenteneacetonitrile, 1,2-dicyanocyclobutene, cyclovinyl-1,2-dinitrile, diaminomaleonitrile, ethoxymethylenemalononitrile, cis-2-(tert-Butyl)maleonitrile, 2,2,3,4,4-pentafluoro-3-butenenitrile, 1-cyano-2-propenyl acetate and benzylidenemalononitrile.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patel, et al., “Utilizing an ionic liquid for synthesizing a soft matter polymer “gel” electrolyte for high rate capability lithium ion batteries”, Journal of Materials Chemistry, 2011 August 25:21;17419-24 as cited in IDS dated 6/7/24.
Regarding claim 1, Patel discloses a gel electrolyte precursor(abstract, experimental, Fig. 1), comprising a gel skeleton monomer(acrylonitrile (AN), experimental), a flexible additive (N,N-methyl butyl pyrrolidinum bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide (Py1,4-TFSI), abstract, experimental), a polymerization initiator (azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN), experimental) and a lithium salt (lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide (LiTFSI), experimental) wherein the gel skeleton monomer comprises an acrylonitrile monomer(experimental); wherein the flexible additive is selected from an ionic liquid; wherein the ionic liquid comprises at least one of
1-butyl-1-methylpyrrolidinium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide salt (experimental).
Regarding claim 2, Patel discloses the acrylonitrile monomer comprises at least one of acrylonitrile (experimental).
Regarding claim 6, Patel discloses the polymerization initiator is selected from azobisisobutyronitrile (experimental).
Regarding claim 8, Patel discloses the lithium salt is selected from at least one of lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (experimental).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 10 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, et al., “Utilizing an ionic liquid for synthesizing a soft matter polymer “gel” electrolyte for high rate capability lithium ion batteries”, Journal of Materials Chemistry, 2011 August 25:21;17419-24 as cited in IDS dated 6/7/24 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Patel discloses polymerization was performed in an electrolyte solution comprising 0.5 M lithium bis (trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide (experimental). Patel discloses various ratios of AN to Py1,4-TFSI(maintaining a constant LiTFSI concentration = 0.5 M) were used to synthesize the polymer “gel” electrolytes (experimental). Patel discloses the crosslinked polymer network sustains fast ion transport via an optimized number of pathways (p. 17422, Col. 1, lines 3-4), the multifunctional polymer “gel” showed superior cyclability and rate capability battery performance compared to the ionic liquid (conclusions) but does not explicitly disclose based on that a total mass of the gel skeleton monomer, the flexible additive and the polymerization initiator is 100%, the gel electrolyte precursor comprises the following components: gel skeleton monomer 50-65%; flexible additive 30-45%; polymerization initiator 2-5%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gel electrolyte precursor of Patel with based on that a total mass of the gel skeleton monomer, the flexible additive and the polymerization initiator is 100%, the gel electrolyte precursor comprises the following components: gel skeleton monomer 50-65%; flexible additive 30-45%;
polymerization initiator 2-5% in order to balance ionic conductivity, cyclability and rate capability, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 43, Patel discloses a ratio of a molar amount of the lithium salt to a volume of the gel skeleton monomer is 0.1-2 mol/L (0.5 M, experimental).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is a solution for preparing a gel electrolyte, comprising the gel electrolyte precursor according to claim 1 and an electrolyte liquid.
In the instant invention, the gel skeleton monomer serves as the skeleton of the gel electrolyte, the flexible additive acts to soften the gel electrolyte, and subsequently, the gel electrolyte precursor is mixed with the electrolyte liquid, and then subjected to in-situ polymerization gelation and baking, so as to obtain a gel electrolyte with an elastic porous structure; the gel electrolyte can absorb electrolyte liquid inside the battery, thereby reducing the free electrolyte liquid in the battery, and improving the safety performance of the battery due to the reduction in the electrolyte amount([0010] US 2023/0335793).
Patel discloses the gel electrolyte precursor according to claim 1 (abstract, experimental) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious a solution for preparing a gel electrolyte, comprising the gel electrolyte precursor of claim 1 and an electrolyte liquid.
12. Claims 13, 16, 17, 21, 23-25, 30, 36-38, 40, and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-13, 16-17, 21, 23-25, 30, 36-38 and 40-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724