DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species of A1 and B1 in Group I, encompassing claims 1-8, 14, and 16-21, in the reply filed on 4/3/2026 is acknowledged.
NOTE: claims 10-13 are further withdrawn due to the dependency to the withdrawn claim 9 (species A2)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a reagent dose controller” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al (PG-PUB US 2004/0033945) in view of Tarat (WO 2015/173589).
Regarding claim 1, Goodwin et al dis close a method of treating a material/substrate with glow discharge in a glow discharge chamber (i.e., … glow discharge plasma in a treatment vessel, ABSTRACT & paragraphs [0010] & [0020]). The method comprises steps of
(1) introducing a plasma discharge gas with a controlled flow rate from a gas source to ignite the glow discharge plasma (i.e., delivering gaseous forming feedstock … causing formation of a glow discharge plasma …, paragraphs [0010], [0020], & [0025]);
(2) simultaneously supplying a liquid/solid material with a controlled flow rate from a syringe pump 14, wherein the flow rate of the plasma gas and the flow rate of the liquid/solid material are separately/independently controlled (i.e., simultaneously delivering a reagent …, wherein the reagent is a liquid or a solid, wherein … allow independent control of the rate of …, Figure 1, paragraphs [0012], [0023], & [0025]); and
(3) exposing the material/substrate with the liquid/solid material and the glow discharge plasma (i.e., contacting the sample …, Figure 1, paragraphs [0017], [00200], & [0025]).
The limitation of “a reagent dosing controller” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The instant specification discloses that the reagent dosing controller may be a pump, such as a syringe pump (paragraphs [0028] & [0033]). Goodwin teaches a syringe pump 14 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]), reading on “a reagent dosing controller”.
Goodwin teaches that the plasm discharge gas is controlled with a certain flow rate (paragraph [0025]), but does not teach to use a gas flow controller to control the gas flow rate. However, Tarat disclose a method of treating a material with a glow plasma with an inert plasma gas (ABSTRACT & page 28 line 22 – page 29 line 3). Tarat teaches that the plasma gas is introduced to the treatment chamber 3 and the gas flow rate is controlled by a mass flow controller 13 (page 16 line 10-22).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a mass flow controller as suggested by Tarat in order to properly control the gas flow rate while using the method of Goodwin.
Regarding claim 2, Goodwin teaches a liquid material is supplied from the syringe pump 14 (paragraphs [0012], [0023], & [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Goodwin teaches a syringe pump 14 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Goodwin teaches a syringe pump 14 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Goodwin teaches a syringe pump 14 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Goodwin teaches a syringe pump 14 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Goodwin teaches that various liquid, including non-volatile liquid, can be used as liquid material (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Goodwin teaches that silane can be used as liquid material (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 14, Goodwin teaches to use a syringe pump for delivering liquid/solid/process material (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]). Tarat teaches that various parameters of performance conditions, such as the flow rate of process material, affect the treatment results (page 25 line 5-19). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust/optimize the flow rate of the process material in order to achieve desired treatment.
Furthermore, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA1954). Therefore, adjusting/varying the flow rate is within ordinary skill in the art because it only involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Goodwin teaches that the liquid material is atomized by atomizer 12 (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 17, Tarat teaches a mass flow controller 13 for controlling the gas flow rate (page 16 line 10-22).
Regarding claim 18, Goodwin teaches that residual gas is evacuated (paragraph [0025]0, but does not teach a vacuum pump or a vacuum valve. However, Tarat teaches that residual gas is evacuated by a vacuum system having a vacuum pump and a valve (page 16 line 9-11, page 18 line 16-18, &page 20 line 8-12). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a vacuum pump and a valve as suggested by Tarat in order to evacuate the residual gas while using the method of Goodwin.
Regarding claim 19, Tarat teaches that a programmable pressure controller along with a pressure transducer and a pressure sensor is provided for monitoring the pressure on the vacuum pump/valve side for properly monito the process conditions within the apparatus (page 18 line 19-21 & page 19line 4-6). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a programmable pressure controller along with a pressure transducer and a pressure sensor as suggested by Tarat in order to properly monitor the process conditions while using the method of Goodwin.
Regarding claim 20, Goodwin teaches that the material/substrate may comprise powder (paragraph [0017]). Tarat teaches that the material may be particulate material (page 10 line 20).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al (PG-PUB US 2004/0033945) and Tarat (WO 2015/173589) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walters et al (PG-PUB US 2013/0320274).
Regarding claim 21, Tarat teaches that the material is agitated by a screw conveyor (page 6 line 17-19 & page 18 line 2-5), but Goodwin/Tarat does not teach the agitating being achieved by rotating the treatment vessel. However, Walters et al disclose a method of treating material with glow discharge plasma in a treatment vessel (ABSTRACT). Walters teaches that the treatment vessel 4 is a rotatable drum, wherein the material is agitated by rotating the treatment drum, resulting in good results and improved performance of the treated material (Figure 1, paragraphs [0086] – [0087], [0097]. & [0128]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to rotate the treatment vessel as suggested by Walters in order to obtain good results and improve performance of treated material while using the method of Goodwin/Tarat.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/027079 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a method comprising substantially the same steps as that of the copendin application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 20-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/027084 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a method comprising substantially the same steps as that of the copendin application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8, 14, and 16-21 are rejected. Claims 9-13, 15, and 22-25 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795