DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A2, B2 , and C2 of Group I, encompassing claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17, in the reply filed on 5/13/2023 is acknowledged. NOTE: claims 9-13 are further withdrawn due to the dependency to the withdrawn claim 7 (Species A1).
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner failed to identify the corresponding special feature for the groups. This is not found persuasive.
As stated in the previous office action, the special technical feature linking the inventions, which is a treatment vessel with a temperature control system, does not provide a contribution over the prior art, such as shown in EP 2905096, and no single general inventive concept exists. Therefore, the restriction is appropriate.
The previous office action also states that should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention. However, the applicant did not provide any reason to support that the inventions have unity of invention.
Moreover, Group I and Group II are drawn into different inventions and each invention requires a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements, which introduces additional search and examination burden.
Furthermore, different species require a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the species are independent and distinct and the different species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species, which introduces additional search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a temperature control system” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a method, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “one or more steps”. However, the claim does not specifically recite any physical step how to perform the claimed method or what “one or more steps” are.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters et al (PG-PUB US 2013/0320274) in view of Stramke (U.S. 4,645,981).
Regarding claim 1, Walters et al disclose a method of treating a material with glow discharge (ABSTRACT). The method comprises steps of generating glow discharge in a vessel 4 and exposing the material to the glow discharge, wherein the vessel 4 is in a form of a drum to agitate or rotate the material (i.e., one or more steps … the vessel is rotated …, Figure 1, paragraphs [0019], [0080], [0128] & [0137]).
Walters does not teach a temperature control system. However, Stramke discloses a method of treating material with glow discharge (ABSTRACT). Stramke teaches that the material is treated in a receptacle R in the glow discharge path 11, wherein the receptacle R is provided with a jacket 23 for flowing cooling means to properly control the temperature required for the process (Figures1, & 4-5, col, 3, line 33-42, col. 3, line 59-63, & col.5, line 31-55).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a jacket for flowing cooling means as suggested by Stramke in order to properly control the temperature required for the process while using the method of Walters.
The limitation of “a temperature control system” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The instant specification discloses that the temperature control system is a fluid-based heat-transfer system comprising one or more fluid channels in or on the outside of the treatment vessel (paragraph [0011], & claims 3-4). Stramke teaches that a jacket 23 for flowing cooling means is provided around the receptacle R (Figures 4-5, col.5, line 31-55), reading on “a temperature control system”.
Regarding claim 3, Stramke teaches that a jacket 23 for flowing cooling means is provided around the receptacle R (Figures 4-5, col.5, line 31-55).
Regarding claim 4, Stramke teaches that a jacket 23 for flowing cooling means is provided around the receptacle R (Figures 4-5, col.5, line 31-55).
Regarding claim 5, Walters teaches that the vessel 4 is in a form of a drum and a lid 5 is provided to seal the vessel (Figure 1, paragraphs [0128] & [0131]). Stramke teaches that the receptacle R comprises a cover 21 and a jacket 23 (Figures 4-5, col. 5, line 31-45).
Regarding claim 6, Walters teaches a removable lid (paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 8, Walters teaches that the vessel 4 is in a form of a drum and a lid 5 is provided to seal the vessel (Figure 1, paragraphs [0128] & [0131]). Stramke teaches that the receptacle R comprises a cover 21 and a jacket 23, wherein the jacket 23 comprises inlet and outlet for flowing the cooling means and is divided into several segments (Figures 4-5, col. 5, line 31-65).
Regarding claim 15, Walter teaches that the drum may be non-fully rotatory with reciprocating agitation (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, Walter teaches that mild agitation of the particles in the vessel gives good results and the drum may be non-fully rotatory with reciprocating agitation (paragraphs [0086] & [0097]).
Regarding claim 17, Walter teaches to treat particles (paragraph [0133]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 20-21 of co-pending Application No. 18/027,082 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a method comprising substantially the same steps as that of co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 10 of co-pending Application No. 18/027,079 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims a method comprising substantially the same steps as that of co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 15-17 are rejected. Claims 2, 7, 9-14, and 18-26 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795