DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, species: miR-6739-3p, and preterm birth, in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged. It is noted, however, that the claims in Group II have been amended to be components within the method of Group I and that those claims are now directed to methods, not product claims. As such, the claims previously designated in Group II have been rejoined because they are no longer applicable to Group II.
Regarding the election of species requirement for different miRNAs, it is noted that the miRNAs in the claims is structurally and functionally different. Each miRNA’s structure determines which mRNA it hybridizes to, and there is no evidence of record that the different miRNAs function to inhibit the same mRNA. They would be regarded as having the same or corresponding special technical feature if the alternatives had a common property and shared a significant structural element that is essential to the common property or activity. In this situation, the structurally and functionally different miRNAs do not share a significant structural element that is essential to the common property or activity of being associated with placental bed disorders. They do not inhibit the same sequences nor do they share a domain that is essential to being associated with placental bed disorders. As such, they lack unity of invention a priori.
The species requirement is made FINAL.
Claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 25-27 are pending and examined herein with regard to the elected species of hsa-miR-6737-3p (all claims), and preterm birth (claim 7).
Objection to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The ratio presented on page 9 of the specification in paragraph 00111 recites (in the denominator) “ + SD (comprised))/2 ”, where the phrase “ + SD (compromised))/2 ” is likely intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural correlation/law of nature and an abstract idea without significantly more. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth below.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106. The unpatentability of abstract ideas was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme court in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 601 (June 28, 2010) and Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014). See also Myriad v Ambry, CAFC 2014-1361, -1366, December 17, 2014. The unpatentability of laws of nature was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71 (2012). “[L]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. Dia-mond v. Diehr, 450 U. S. 175, 185 (1981); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U. S. at 601 (2010).
Claims Analysis:
As set forth in MPEP 2106, the claims have been analyzed to determine whether they are directed to one of the four statutory categories (STEP 1).
The instant claims are directed to methods and therefore are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
The claims are then analyzed to determine if they recite a judicial exception (JE) (STEP 2A, prong 1) [Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293 (2012), Alice Corp. Pry. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014)].
The claimed invention recites methods of identifying characteristic groups in a patient population as well as identifying a pregnant human being as being at risk for a placental bed disorder by quantifying hsa-miRNA 6737-3p. This recitation is a natural correlation between the level of hsa-miRNA 6737-3p and placental bed disorders in pregnant patients. With regard to the natural correlation, as in Mayo, the relationship is itself a natural process that exists apart from any human action. The claimed invention also recites abstract ideas, including “segregating the patient population”, ”identifying”, and “comparing” which encompass mental steps because they can occur entirely within the mind. Additionally, the recitation of calculating a ratio in claim 16 recites a mathematical formula and concept. Therefore, the claims recite a number of judicial exceptions.
The claims are then analyzed to determine whether they recite an element or step that integrates the JE into a practical application (STEP 2A, prong 2) [Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc., v. West-Ward Pharmaceuticals, 887 F.3d 1117 (Fed. Cir. 2018)].
The claims recite steps of quantifying the level of hsa-miR-6737-3p, however this does not integrate the JE into a practical application because it is a mere data gathering step to use the correlation and does not add a meaningful limitation to the method. Although some claims recite “optionally treating”, not only is this not required, but the general recitation of “treating” is considered nothing more than instructions to apply the law of nature because no particular conditions are required by the step. As such, the “treating” step is merely a generalized “treat” limitation with no particularity that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. The Supreme Court does acknowledge that it is possible to transform an unpatentable law of nature, but one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words "apply it.” CLS BankInt’l, 134 S.Ct. at 2358; Prometheus, 132 S. Cl, at 1294.
In the absence of steps or elements that integrate the JE into a practical application, the additional elements/steps are considered to determine whether they add significantly more to the JE either individually or as an ordered combination, to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” [Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293 (2012), Alice Corp. Pry. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014)] (STEP 2B).
The steps of quantifying hsa-miR-6737-3p, including the recitation of generic “probe”, “primer(s)”, solid support, or microarray are generally recited and do not provide any particular reagents that might be considered elements that transform the nature of the claims into a patent eligible application because no specific elements/steps are recited. This step is not only a mere data gathering step, but the general recitation of detection of known nucleic acids is well understood, routine, and conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Furthermore, the instant specification (para 00131) teaches that the levels were quantified using commercially available microarrays. Applicant is reminded that in Mayo, the Court found that “[i]f a law of nature is not patentable, then neither is a process reciting a law of nature, unless that process has additional features that provide practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself." Further "conventional or obvious" "[pre]solution activity" is normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law”. Flook, 437 U. S., at 590; see also Bilski, 561 U. S., at ___ (slip op., at 14) (“[T]he prohibition against patenting abstract ideas ‘cannot be circumvented by’ . . . adding ‘insignificant post-solution activity’” (quoting Diehr, supra, at 191–192)). The Court also summarized their holding by stating “[t]o put the matter more succinctly, the claims inform a relevant audience about certain laws of nature; any additional steps consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community; and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately.” Therefore these limitations/steps do not “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.’” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
When viewed as an ordered combination, the claimed limitations are directed to nothing more than the determination that a natural correlation/phenomena exists including the recitation of abstract ideas. Any additional element consists of using well understood, routine and conventional activity, and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately.
Accordingly, it is determined that the instant claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b)
Claims 2, 5, 9, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The terms “relatively high” and “relatively low” in claim 2 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it recites the intended use “to determine whether the pregnant human being is at risk of developing preeclampsia, however the claim then recites at step c) optionally treating a pregnant human being identified in step b) as being at risk of developing a placental bed disorder. Therefore it is not clear if the claim more broadly encompasses identifying a patient as being at risk of any placental bed disorder, of more narrowly encompasses identifying a patient as being at risk of developing preeclampsia.
Claim 9 lacks antecedent basis for the recitation of the limitation “the control biological sample is” because there is no recitation of a “control biological sample” in claim 9 or claim 1.
Claim 16 is unclear over recitation of the phrase “a ratio (HC ratio) of” because it is unclear if the parenthetical recitation of “HC ratio” is intended to be a requirement or only an example of a ratio that is calculated.
Additionally, regarding claim 16, the term “about” introduces variability with regard to the recited values, but neither the claim nor the specification teach or provide guidance as to how much variability is encompassed by the claims.
Claim 16 is further unclear over what is the denominator in the ratio, where the text of the specification (at para 0111) recites:
… using as the denominator the average of the standard deviations (SD) of the "healthy pregnancy outcome" mean signal level and the "compromised pregnancy outcome" mean signal level.
but the text of the claim recites “the denominator comprises the average of the two standard deviations of the values for the first and second populations”. The specification thus is directed to an SD of means (which would require the determination and analysis of means from a plurality of samples), where the claims appear to be directed to the standard deviations of the miRNA quantity in the first and second groups of the population of claim 1.
Claim 18 is unclear over recitation of the limitations “said miRNA exhibits a signal consistency of at least about 85%; a mean signal strength of at least 5.0; and a p value of less than 0.05 (p<0.05)” because the claims do not set forth any steps related to measuring any consistency, signal strengths, or p-values. And so it is entirely unclear what measurements are required to determine that the miRNA meets these requirements.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 19 recites the broad recitation greater than or equal to any of 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3. 1.4, or 1.5, and the claim also recites or greater than or equal to about 1.3 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(a)
Claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, while being enabling for methods comprising the identification of a pregnant human subject as having preeclampsia, comprising the detection of an increased level of hsa-miR-6737-3p in a peripheral blood cell sample from the subject as compared to the level of expression of hsa-miR-6737-3p in a peripheral blood cells samples from a population of control pregnant human subjects that do not have preeclampsia does not reasonably provide enablement for the methods as claimed which encompass the analysis of any subject organisms, and the detection of any level of has-miR-6737-3p (election) for the identification of any placental bed disorder. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Nature of the invention and the breadth of the claims
The rejected claims are directed to methods of identifying reproductive disorder in a subject quantifying an hsa-miR-6737-3p (as consonant with the election) level in a sample to identify presence or any risk of a placental bed disorder. The claims include the detection of any level of expression level of hsa-miR-6737-3p in a sample from the subject, and a diagnosis of any placental bed disorder based on any level of expression. The claims generically encompass any subject organism.
Direction provided by the specification and working example
The instant application provides an example of the analysis (p.25) of the analysis of detected miRNA expression levels in control subjects (pregnant human females with normal pregnancy) and cases (pregnant human females with preeclampsia). The data of the analysis is directed to miRNA expression in blood samples of preeclampsia patients, and does not address any predictive analysis of gene expression (e.g.: gene expression elevated prior to preeclampsia).
The specification asserts that the expression level of hsa-miR-6737-3p is increased in the preeclampsia subjects versus the normal controls (e.g.: Fig. 10).
The specification does not teach any other associations between hsa-miR-6737-3p and any other conditions (i.e.: other than preeclampsia) or any analysis of non-human subjects.
State of the art, level of skill in the art, and level of unpredictability
While the state of the art and level of skill in the art with regard to the analysis of gene expression profiles in any sample is high, the unpredictability in associating any gene expression level with a phenotype or risk is higher. This unpredictability is demonstrated by the related art and the instant specification.
The claims generically encompass the analysis of gene expression in any organism (see for example the specification at para 0113), whereas the specification teaches only the analysis of human samples, it is relevant to point out the unpredictability in extrapolating results regarding the asserted association of an allele with a phenotype in humans to any other organism. Hoshikawa (Hoshikawa et al; Physical Genomics; 2003, vol 12; pages 209-219) teaches unpredictability with regard to applying gene expression results among different organisms. The reference teaches the analysis of gene expression in lung tissue in response to hypoxic conditions which lead to pulmonary hypertension (Fig. 1). The reference teaches that the gene expression profile in mouse is different from that observed in rat (Tables 1-4; p.209 -Abstract).
The claims broadly and generically encompass any expression levels as a basis for identification of a subject with a placental bed disorder. The prior art of Cheung (Cheung et al; 2003; Nature Genetics, vol 33, pages 422-425) teaches that there is natural variation in gene expression; so it is unpredictable if any comparison to any reference gene, as generically encompassed by the claims are indicative of a placental bed disorder.
The claims generically encompass any reproductive disorder, or any placental bed disorder. Ali (Ali et al; 2021; Int. J. Mol. Sci; vol 22; pages 1-22) teaches that miRNAs that are differentially expressed in some pregnancy-related disorders are not differentially expressed in other different pregnancy-related disorders.
Quantity of experimentation required
A large and prohibitive amount of experimentation would be required to make and use the claimed invention. Such experimentation would require analysis in a large number of cases and control samples from any subjects of interest to try to establish the broadly required associations of the claims. Even if such experimentation were to be performed, given the unpredictability of the subject matter of the claims, there is no assurance that the associations detected would be those specifically disclosed in the application.
Conclusion
Taking into consideration the factors outlined above, including the nature of the invention and breadth of the claims, the state of the art, the level of skill in the art and its high level of unpredictability, the lack of guidance by the applicant and the particular examples, it is the conclusion that an undue amount of experimentation would be required to make and use the invention in the full scope as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winger I (Winger et al; PLOS One; August 13, 2020; doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0236805; pages 1-22).
With regard to claims 1, 4, and 5, Winger teaches quantifying hsa-miR-6737-3p, segregating the patient population into groups based on the miRNA (development of a microRNA scoring system; page 8; table 5; table 6). Winger teaches using real time PCR as well Agilent technologies microRNA array kit for quantifying miRNA. Winger teaches predicting spontaneous preterm birth among pregnant women in an African American population using first trimester peripheral blood maternal immune cell miRNA (see whole document; abstract; discussion). Winger teaches this is clinically useful took for predicting the risk of preterm birth.
Claim 1, 3, 5-19, 21, 23, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winger II (Winger et al; American Journal of Reproductive Immunology; 2014, pages 1-12; doi.10.1111/aji.12287).
With regard to claims 1, 3, 5,-19, Winger teaches quantifying the expression of one or more miRNAs in maternal immune cells (PBMCs) using the Agilent human microRNA array kit. This array necessarily quantifies the level of hsa-miR-6737-3p (see Materials and Methods). Winger teaches using control samples for comparison. The claims do not require any particular level of expression quantification for any of the microRNAs claimed, accordingly, claims 1 and 5 are not distinguished from the teachings of Winger because the claims only require that those miRNAs be quantified. It is noted that Winger II does not anticipate claims 2 or 4 because those claims require detecting differential expression of at least hsa-miR-6737-3p. Winger teaches using miRNA quantification to predict pregnancy outcome, segregating subjects into group A and group B (table II), calculating mean differences. With regard to claims 21, 23, 25-27, Winger teaches quantification with PCR and miRNA arrays.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 25-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-29, 31-46 of copending Application No. 17/437,100 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to the detection of expression level of the same analyte (i.e.: hsa-miR-6737-3p) for the identification of the same disorders (e.g.: placental bed disorder) as the methods of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682