DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 9/4/26, amended claim(s) 4 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening devices,” in claim 1, which corresponds to “Velcro” or “magnetic fasteners” (see para [26] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed); and “a receiving device,” in claim 1, which corresponds to a “smartphone” (see para [66] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claim 1, the claim language “generate a recommendation for adjusting a walking aid worn by the patient” and “display … the recommendation for adjusting the walking aid” appears to be new matter. The response filed 1/28/26 identifies para [0077]-[0088] as providing support for the newly amended claim language. Although the written description teaches “the system according to the invention already suggests the most suitable aid itself (based on the measurements and the reference motion data),” that is not the adjustment of an aid, it’s more a suggestion and/or selection of an aid (and one that is optimal at that). Further, that same paragraph of the specification discloses “This eliminates the need for time-consuming trials to adapt aids with repeated gait analyses.” So if aids do not need to be “adapt(ed),” then in a similar vein they probably also don’t need to be adjusted. As a result, Applicant’s specification appears to support the opposite of what is being claimed. The examiner respectfully requests assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claim(s).
Dependent claim(s) 2-7 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0110011 to McGregor in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0215324 to Mantovani et al. (hereinafter “Mantovani”).
For claim 1, McGregor discloses a walking and adjustment system (Abstract) (para [0015]), comprising
one or more inertial measurement units (14, 16, 18) (Fig. 1) (para [0023]-[0024]),
a number of fastening devices corresponding to a number of IMUs to fix the inertial measurement units to different parts of a patient's body (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2) (para [0023]-[0024]),
a measuring station with a first computer having a receiving device for receiving measured data from the IMUs (“user communication device such as a personal computer, digital assistant, or mobile phone,” para [0030]),
a second computer (“remote server,” para [0030]) for receiving and analyzing the measured data from the first computer (para [0030]) and for optional comparison of the measured data to data from other measurements (Examiner’s Note: this claim language being optional) (para [0030]),
a software residing on the second computer (“virtual coach application,” para [0030]) for calculating motion data from the measured data (para [0033]) (also see para [0035]-[0039]) and for extracting therefrom a plurality of gait parameters of the patient’s body (para [0045]) to generate a recommendation for adjusting a walking aid worn by the patient (para [0030], [0032], and [0042]-[0043]) (Examiner’s Note: both para [0032] and [0042] use the word “modification,” which reads on the claimed “adjusting”), and
a display in communication with the first computer (“user communication device such as a personal computer, digital assistant, or mobile phone,” para [0030]) to display for visualization the recommendation for adjusting the walking aid (para [0030], [0032], and [0042]-[0043]) (Examiner’s Note: both para [0032] and [0042] use the word “modification,” which reads on the claimed “adjusting”).
McGregor does not expressly disclose that the fastening devices are Velcro or magnetic fasteners (according to the 112(f) invocation).
However, Mantovani teaches fastening devices that are Velcro or magnetic fasteners (para [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify McGregor such that the fastening devices are Velcro or magnetic, in view of the teachings of Mantovani, because Velcro or magnetic fasteners would be a simple substitution of whatever fastening structure is being used in McGregor that would lead to the predictable result of keeping McGregor’s accelerometers attached to a human body.
McGregor does not expressly disclose the software further generating, from the extracted parameters, a three-dimensional digital representation of a complete gait pattern of the patient over one or more gait cycles, and communicating the three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern to the first computer; and that the display for visualization is for three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern.
However, Mantovani teaches generating, from extracted parameters, a three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern of the patient over one or more gait cycles (see Fig. 4) (para [0011], [0020], and [0083]-[0084]) (also see para [0094]-[0095]), and communicating the three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern to a first computer (as can be seen in Fig. 3); and that the display for visualization is for three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern (para [0083]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify McGregor to include the software further generating, from the extracted parameters, a three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern of the patient over one or more gait cycles, and communicating the three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern to the first computer; and that the display for visualization is for three-dimensional digital representation of the complete gait pattern, in view of the teachings of Mantovani, for the obvious advantage of clearly visualizing the user the user’s gait cycle so that any abnormalities can be readily seen by the user for aid in diagnosis and/or rehabilitation.
For claim 2, McGregor further discloses characterized by use of 1 to 8 inertial measurement units (para [0023]-[0024]).
For claim 3, McGregor, as modified, further discloses characterized by use of Velcro and/or magnetic fasteners (see para [0039] of Mantovani) for separate fixation of the inertial measurement units on different body regions (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2 of McGregor).
For claim 4, McGregor further discloses characterized by that each inertial measurement unit transmits the measurement data wirelessly to the first computer (para [0024]).
For claim 5, McGregor further discloses characterized by that at least one inertial measurement unit contains sensors for collection of further vital data of the test persons (para [0016]).
For claim 6, McGregor further discloses use of 4 to 6 inertial measurement units (14, 16, 18, 24, and 28) (para [0023]-[0024] and [0045]).
For claim 7, McGregor further discloses wherein the walking aid is an orthesis or prosthesis (para [0040] and [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/4/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the 112(a) rejection(s), the examiner understands that there doesn’t need to be verbatim support in the specification, but the concept/idea of “adjusting” a walking aid still doesn’t seem to be disclosed in the original specification. The outstanding issue appears to be that selection of a walking aid does not equate to recommendation that adjusts a walking aid, but the response appears to argue the opposite. The examiner maintains the rejection though because to picking a new thing (such as a walking aid) is typically not described as “adjusting” that thing. As an analogy, if a person were to “adjust” their car seat, they wouldn’t be installing a new car set into their car. The colloquial understanding of the term “adjusting” in that example would be the person moving the headrest or rotating the back support or something of that nature. But putting in an entire new car seat would be “adjusting” the seat that was previously in there.
With respect to the 112(b) rejection(s), Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the rejection(s) is/are withdrawn.
With respect to the 103 rejections, claim 1 recites “a three-dimensional digital representation.” Mantovani teaches “three-dimensional angles” (para [0020]) and “3D joint kinematics” (para [0095]). Both of these 3D parameters are digital representations of the gait pattern of the patient. Since Mantovani is sufficient for the reasoning above, McGregor does not need to be consulted for this claimed subject matter. As far as the combination, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Therefore, a skilled artisan considering McGregor and Mantovani would have found it obvious to take the visualization features from Mantovani and combine them with McGregor because the references suggest clearly visualizing the user’s gait cycle so that any abnormalities can be readily seen by the user for aid in diagnosis and/or rehabilitation, which is what McGregor wants to do (see claim 6 of McGregor).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791