DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the amendment filed October 31, 2025 in which claims 1, 38 and 40 were amended and claims 51-52 were added.
The rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) and 112(d) are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,12-17,19-49 and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertram (US 20110245120-appears on PTO 1449) in view of Honda (US 20180100112-appears on previous PTO-892) and Kamano (US 20100009876-appears on current PTO-892).
Bertram teaches a lubricating oil composition having a phosphorus content of up to 0.12 wt %, and a sulfated ash content of up to 1.2 wt %. The composition comprising (a) a major amount of an oil of lubricating viscosity; (b) an alkali metal or alkaline earth metal alkyl salicylate lubricating oil detergent providing from 7-15 mmol salicylate soap per kilogram of lubricating oil composition; and (c) one or more dispersants providing the lubricating oil composition with from at least 0.12 wt % to 0.20 wt % atomic nitrogen, based on the weight of the lubricating oil composition (see abstract). The lubricating oil composition is suitable for use in diesel engines (see para 0002; claims 10-12; para 0078).
The oil of lubricating viscosity may be selected from Group I, II, III, IV or V base stocks, synthetic ester base stocks or mixtures thereof. The base stock will have a viscosity preferably of 3-12, more preferably 4-10, most preferably 4.5-8 mm2/s (cSt.) at 100 C (see para 0009).
The composition comprises at least one alkali metal or alkaline earth lubricating oil salicylate detergent. The metal salicylate detergent may be C8-C30 alkyl salicylates or mixtures thereof. Preferably, the salicylate detergent will be a calcium and/or magnesium salicylate and will have a Total Base Number at 100% active mass (TBN) between 10 and 1000. The amount of metal salicylate detergent used can vary from about 0.1 to about 5 wt %. The amount of metal salicylate detergent used in the present invention provides the composition with at least 8 mmol soap per kilogram of the finished oil composition (see para 0017-0019).
Other metal containing detergents, such as metal sulfonates, may be present in the lubricating composition. Advantageously, the composition comprises a mixture of detergent types such as a mixture of metal salicylate and metal sulphonate detergents. The additional detergents may be either calcium or magnesium metal salts (see para 0021). The total soap content of the lubricating oil is suitably no more than 1.5 wt % (see para 0028).
Bertram teaches that the oil composition contains ashless dispersants such as succinimide dispersants (see para 0029-0030). The dispersant may be further post treated by boration. Useful dispersant contain from about 0.05 to about 2.0 mass % boron(see para 0032).
Preferred dispersants are borated or non-borated polyisobutenyl succinimide dispersants wherein the polyisobutenyl has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of about 400 to 3,000 (see para 0037). The dispersant comprises a combination of dispersants, the mixture suitable comprises a low molecular weight dispersant and a high molecular weight dispersant. A low molecular weight dispersant is a dispersant with a polymeric hydrocarbon backbone having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of about 500 to 1750. A high molecular weight dispersant is a dispersant with a polymeric hydrocarbon backbone having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of about 1800 to 3000. In one embodiment, the total dispersant present in the lubricating oil composition comprises less than 40 mass of low molecular weight dispersants (see para 0039).
Bertram contains standard oil additives such as antioxidants, friction modifiers and Zn dialkyldithiophosphates that introduces about 0.02 to 0.12 wt% (200-1200 ppm) of phosphorus into the lubrication oil composition (see para 0048, 0049, 0063). Examples 1 and 2 substantially set forth the present invention. Bertram meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Bertram does not specifically teach the HTHS of less than 2.7mPa*s. However, Honda meets this limitation in a similar lubricating oil composition for diesel engines .
Honda teaches a lubricating oil composition that may contain succinimide dispersants ( see para 0059 ); alkaline earth metal salicylates and sulfonates (see para 0055); phosphorus antiwear agents (see para 0056) and having a kinematic viscosity at 100 C of less than 8.3 cSt (see para 0050). The composition has a HTHS at 150 C of 2.0 to 3.5 mPas*s, as measured by ASTM D4683( see para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a lubricating oil composition having a HTHS viscosity of less than 2.7 mPa*s because Honda teaches that lubricating oil compositions such as those set forth in Bertram have such HTHS viscosities and that by controlling the HTHS viscosity within the above range that proper fuel efficiency characteristics can be maintained while also ensuring engine durability.
With respect to the TBN of the dispersants, it would be reasonable to expect that the succinimide dispersants of Bertram would meet the TBN limitations because he teaches low molecular weight and high molecular weight succinimides that encompass those of the present invention.
Bertram does not specifically teach specific PIB succinimides wherein the molecular weight is as claimed. However, Kamano teaches this difference.
Kamano teaches a lubricating oil composition for diesel engines comprising PIB succinimide dispersants (component D) and metallic detergents (see abstract; para 0056, 0060-0062). The succinimides are set forth at paragraphs 0043-0044. Kamano teaches that the number average molecular weight of the alkenyl group is 500 to 3000 (see para 0043). When the number average molecular weight is less than 500 the solubility in the base oil is reduced and when it exceeds 3000, the cleanliness is reduced and no targeted performances are likely to be obtained (see para 0044). The alkenyl group includes, for example, a polybutenyl group or a polyisobutenyl group *see para 0047). In addition to the alkenylsuccinimide compound described above, a boron derivative thereof may be used as well (see para 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected PIB succinimides derived from and 1800-2100 Mn PIB and a PIB succinimide derived from PIB with an Mn less than 1600 because Kamano teaches that when the number average molecular weight of the PIB is less than 500, the solubility in the base oil is reduced; and if it exceeds 3,000, the cleanliness is reduced, and no targeted performances are likely to be obtained.
With respect to claim 52 and the method by which the second PIB succinimide is prepared, it is well settled that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Examiner's combination of Bertram and Kamano is inappropriate on a technical basis. Applicant argues that Claim 1 explicitly includes "Mn" or number average molecular weight (Mn) and in an attempt to show claimed range of 1800 to 2100 Mn PIB as obvious, the Examiner combined Bertram's broad number average molecular weight of 900 to 2500 with Kamano's disclosure of mass average molecular weight (Mw) of greater than 500 leads to increased solubility and less than 3000, the detergent effect can be expected. Without more information, the Examiner has made no showing, and provided no evidence, to correlate Kamano's Mw range to the Applicant's claimed Mn range of 1800 to 2100 within Claim 1. As such, Kamano does not teach or suggest a first PIB succinimide dispersant derived from an 1800 to 2100 Mn PIB as provided in Claim 1.
Kamano 20160024417 is no longer being used in the rejection and has instead been replaced with Kamano 20100009876 which teaches the use of succinimides having the molecular weight of the PIB described in terms of number average molecular weight.
Applicant argues that neither Bertram nor Honda, alone or in combination, provides any teaching, suggestion, or motivation that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose the specific, narrow range of a first PIB succinimide dispersant derived from an 1800 to 2100 Mn PIB as provided in Claim 1. Applicant argues that the cited references of Bertram, Honda, and Kamano would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to use a first PIB succinimide dispersant in combination with a second PIB succinimide dispersant derived from a PIB with an Mn less than 1600 as provided in Claim 1. This specific combination of a first and second PIB succinimide dispersant in a low HTHS environment unexpectedly achieves superior performance as shown in Table 2. More specifically, the Applicant achieved improved fuel economy and improved wear scar performance as shown in Table 2.
Bertram teaches that the dispersant may comprise one dispersant or a combination of dispersants. If the dispersant comprises a combination of dispersants, the mixture suitable comprises a low molecular weight dispersant and a high molecular weight dispersant. A low molecular weight dispersant is a dispersant with a polymeric hydrocarbon backbone having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of about 500 to 1750. A high molecular weight dispersant is a dispersant with a polymeric hydrocarbon backbone having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of about 1800 to 3000. This teaching of Bertram provides the teaching, suggestion, and motivation that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose the specific, narrow range of a first PIB succinimide dispersant derived from an 1800 to 2100 Mn PIB as provided in Claim 1.
With respect to the alleged improved fuel economy and improved wear scar performances shown in Table 2, it is not clear to what Applicant is comparing this data. Bertram teaches that 2 dispersants may be used and Applicant is doing what Bertram has suggested. The examiner cannot ascertain if unexpected results are obtained.
Applicant argues that the Examiner's combination of references represents an impermissible hindsight reconstruction of the invention.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The examiner has set forth a prima facie case of obviousness in the above discussion of modified Bertram and will not repeat that discussion here. Bertram teaches use of two different PIB succinimides and Kamano teaches why the molecular weight of the PIB substituents are important for producing a lubricating oil composition that improves engine performance.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18027186/20260625