DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (USPUB 2021/0343993).
As to Claim 1, Yang discloses an apparatus for controlling charge and discharge power in an energy storage system including a plurality of battery racks, the apparatus comprising: a first direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter selectively connected to one of the plurality of battery racks to perform power conversion (Figure 1, S1-14, and 5a and 6a); a second DC/DC converter connected to the first DC/DC converter (Element 6b); and a controller configured to control the second DC/DC converter to perform an operation of maintaining an output of the first DC/DC converter while a switching between battery racks by the first DC/DC converter is being performed (Paragraph 36).
As to Claim 2, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to control the second DC/DC converter to perform a compensating operation for the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter after the switching between battery racks by the first DC/DC converter is completed (Paragraph 36-37).
As to Claim 3, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an energy storage device connected to the second DC/DC converter (Figure 1, Element 5B and 6B).
As to Claim 4, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter is a discharge operation or a charge operation (Paragraph 42).
As to Claim 5, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being discharging, the compensating operation is a low power charging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 6, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being charging, the compensating operation is a low power discharging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 7, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is a power management system (PMS) or an internal controller included in the first DC/DC converter (Paragraph 36).
As to Claim 8, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the energy storage device includes at least one of a capacitor, a super capacitor, and a battery (Figure 1, Element 2 and 5A).
As to Claim 9, Yang discloses an energy storage system comprising: a plurality of battery racks; a plurality of switches individually connected to each of the plurality of battery rack (Figure 1); a first direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter selectively connected to one of the plurality of battery racks through the plurality of switches (Figure 1, Elements S1-14, 5A and 6A); a second DC/DC converter connected to the plurality of switches and the first DC/DC converter (Element 6B); and a controller configured to control the second DC/DC converter to perform an operation of maintaining an output of the first DC/DC converter while a switching between battery racks by the first DC/DC converter is being performed (Paragraph 36).
As to Claim 10, Yang discloses the energy storage system of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to control the second DC/DC converter to perform a compensating operation for the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter after the switching between battery racks by the first DC/DC converter is completed (Paragraph 36-37).
As to Claim 11, Yang discloses the energy storage system of claim 9, further comprising an energy storage device connected to the second DC/DC converter (Figure 1, Elements 5B and 6B).
As to Claim 12, Yang discloses the energy storage system of claim 10, wherein, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being discharging, the compensating operation is a low power charging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 13, Yang discloses the energy storage system of claim 10, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being charging, the compensating operation is a low power discharging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 14, Yang discloses a method of operating an energy storage system including a plurality of battery racks, a first direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter selectively connected to one of the plurality of battery racks, and a second DC/DC converter, the method comprising: connecting a first battery rack among the plurality of battery racks and the first DC/DC converter to perform a charge or discharge operation for the first battery rack; upon a state of charge of the first battery rack reaching a threshold which is set in relation to switching between battery racks, reducing an output of the first battery rack; and performing, by the second DC/DC converter, an operation to maintain an output of the first DC/DC converter (Figure 1, S1-14, 5A, 6A, 6B, and Paragraphs 34 and 36).
As to Claim 15, Yang discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising, upon the charging or discharging operation for the first battery rack is completed, connecting the first DC/DC converter to a second battery rack to perform the next charging or discharging operation (Paragraphs 36-37).
As to Claim 16, Yang discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the second DC/DC converter is connected to a separate energy storage device to perform an operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter (Figure 1, Elements 5B and 6B).
As to Claim 17, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising performing, by the second DC/DC converter, a compensating operation for the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter, after the switching between battery racks by the first DC/DC converter is completed (Paragraph 36-37).
As to Claim 18, Yang discloses the method of claim 17, wherein, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being discharging, the compensating operation is a low power charging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 19, Yang discloses the method of claim 17, wherein, upon the operation of maintaining the output of the first DC/DC converter being charging, the compensating operation is a low power discharging operation to the energy storage device (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 20, Yang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the energy storage device includes at least one of a capacitor, a super capacitor, and a battery (Figure 1, Element 2 and 5a).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859